Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland? - Threadbanned User List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 23,673 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

They’re not mutually exclusive groups 🤔

I know the guy you’re talking about, didn’t hear the interview though. Would love to know he meant by claiming Germany accommodated 1 million Syrians, because those they did accommodate certainly weren’t accommodated in a short period. There were a good few reports done in 2020 because it was the five year ‘anniversary’ of when Germany took in 1 million refugees, and some of the findings were positive, some findings made for grim reading -

337000 People in Germany are Without a Home

The largest group of people experiencing homelessness were refugees with protec- tion status, who had not yet been able to find independent housing (despite having full entitlement to job seekers benefits with a housing component and full rights to rent a home). Depending on the size of the municipalities, between 1.1 (small towns and rural counties) and 4.0 (large cities) refugees with protection status out of every 1000 residents were homeless. The data in the participating municipalities also indicates that these numbers are significantly lower in the east German states when compared to the west – this can partially be explained by the fact that for a long time housing markets in the East were more affordable than those of West Germany, which at least temporarily made it easier to find housing for refugee families with protection status specifically.

Depending on the group, a quarter to a third of homeless people are women.

https://www.feantsaresearch.org/public/user/Observatory/2020/EJH/EJH_14_1-RN1-Web%5B1%5D.pdf

(they must be copying the NWCI’s homework 🤨)

But seriously though, on the labour market front, the findings are more positive, but still mixed -

Syrians are the main beneficiaries of refugee protection in Germany, yet many are still forced to rely on state welfare to survive. New figures show that only around 35% of Syrians of working age are able to make a living.

Things seem to be moving in a positive direction for Syrians, however. The proportion receiving state benefits is lower than last year: in March 2020 it was close to 70%. Since then, many have got jobs as doctors – according to the German Medical Association, Syrians now make up the largest group among foreign doctors, with 4,970 employed throughout the country last year.

As of April 2021, about 27% of Syrians in Germany were of working age. Those attending integration courses or professional language courses are not included in unemployment figures but are counted as "underemployed". But benefits are also paid to those who earn so little that they cannot support themselves on their income.

https://www.infomigrants.net/en/post/33597/germany-twothirds-of-syrian-refugees-unable-to-support-themselves

Five years on, the integration of this population is impressive. By December 2018, there were 1.8 million people with a refugee background in Germany (including beneficiaries of international protection, asylum seekers, and those who had their request rejected). 75 percent are younger than 40, and most have higher levels of education than other migrants. Today, about half have found a job, paid training, or internship. On arrival, only about one percent declared having good or very good German language skills. By 2018, that figure had increased to 44 percent. Such contributions are badly needed within an aging German labor market, which is facing skill shortages and needs trained migrant labor.

Such successful integration also has impacted the local German population. For example, between 2008 and 2015, the number of employees in companies founded by migrants grew by 50 percent (to 1.5 million). It has also mobilized civil society. A survey by the Allensbach Institute for Public Opinion Research suggests that 55 percent of Germans have contributed to the integration of refugees since 2015, either financially or through their own involvement in supportive actions. Such engagement has increased support for migrant populations overall and has demonstrated the success of Merkel’s move.

https://www.cgdev.org/blog/five-years-later-one-million-refugees-are-thriving-germany

Two years on from 2020, the previous cohort of refugees might be forgiven for thinking ‘Scheiße’, with Germany finding itself facing exactly the same issues as Ireland regarding the integration of refugees into society -

More people will have sought refuge in Germany in 2022 than at the height of the European migrant crisis, Welt am Sonntag newspaper reported Sunday.

The newspaper said the country is on course to see 1.2 million new arrivals this year — a 35% increase from 2015 when 890,000 migrants and refugees, mainly fleeing the Syrian war, came to the country. 

This year's tally was calculated from the more than a million Ukrainian refugees welcomed in Germany since Russia's invasion unfolded in February and an expected 200,000 asylum seekers by the end of the year.

By the end of October, some 181,612 asylum applications were recorded, Welt am Sonntagreported, mostly from Syrian, Afghan, Turkish, and Iraqi nationals. 

https://amp.dw.com/en/migration-to-germany-to-hit-12-million-in-2022-report/a-63978746

• Registered Users Posts: 4,836 ✭✭✭enricoh

Green TD Joe o Brian on primetime, sweet Jesus what a clusterf#$k. If only I owned a hotel , I'd pick a number out of my head n treble it as the government will pony up! Another 70k to come this year, be grand apparently!

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭Kyokushin Grappler

They seem to be grasping defeat from the jaws of victory with this stunt. I guess it's better that they show their true colours now and instead of once they're in power.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,098 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Actually lads I think blaming the EU is a cop out.

Likewise UN.

Countries like Hungary, Poland, others in Eastern Europe told EU that they couldln't foist asylum seekers, "Syrian refugees" on them.

We on other hand jumped at the chance to best boy in class. (Expect nice fat salary positions for our chief ar** lickers).

The EU couldn't force us to take in and keep dodgy chancers that have destroyed their identification.

No entity could force us to do that if we chose otherwise.

No one is forcing us to fatten the legal profession by dragging out the review process and keeping fookers for years when they should be forcibly deported.

WE, or rather our government, state entities, our media, our teat sucking NGOs are the ones that are enabling all this.

A pox on the lot of them for what they have done to our country.

He might just have to head back to the UK so.

No reason for him to be here at all as he has left a safe country.

I do wonder if the Got are sneakily trying to shift the like of him back to where he came from ie a safe country?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,673 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Countries like Hungary, Poland, others in Eastern Europe told EU that they couldln't foist asylum seekers, "Syrian refugees" on them.

We on other hand jumped at the chance to best boy in class. (Expect nice fat salary positions for our chief ar** lickers).

We didn’t, and those other countries you mention didn’t do that either. It’s been pointed out numerous times in the thread already the tiny amount of refugees from Syria Ireland took in, failing miserably to meet the numbers Ireland actually had committed to taking in -

A total of 3,775 people, mostly Syrians, have been resettled in Ireland since the IRPP was established in 2015. These people are interviewed and Garda vetted before travelling and do not go through the direct provision system.

The State committed in late 2019 to resettle an additional 2,900 Syrians from Lebanon and Jordan by 2023, along with a very small number of Eritreans from Ethiopia. However, the pandemic pulled the brakes on these plans and Government officials who travelled to Lebanon in March 2020 had to suddenly abandon their interview schedule and depart for Ireland. Officials did not get clearance to return until September 2021.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/ireland-cannot-afford-to-pit-one-group-of-refugees-against-another-1.4850241

• Registered Users Posts: 24,824 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Can’t find any media on this but presuming it’s a valid story…. It’s pretty indicative of the mindset of some of these people arriving here and the sense of absolute entitlement that they believe they can jump onto private land, start playing football there…..no questions asked. 😣🙄

Saw it with the demand to walk into the gym here and exercise free gratis… some belief exists obviously that this country and its people are just here to convenience them, comply with every wish, whim, and demand…..that services, public or private shall facilitate them with an open door mindset.

As regards the EU. It’s time to GET OUT. They’ve no loyalty or interest in the citizens of their member states….leave. Its failing us and failed.

Please give some examples as to how the EU failed us.

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭Miadhc

Seen the same in my own gym. Pure entitlement. You can find the Bluebell incident on twitter I wont post here for fear of upsetting the usual suspects.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Nope. The EU bashing crap is up there with the nonsense the Brexit morons come out with. They're out, their economy has taken a massive hit(ours would be even more utterly fúcked if we left) and yet their stream of non EU migrants hasn't stopped. Funny that.

As a sovereign nation within the EU we have a lot of choice whether to take or not take in migrants from ouside the EU. This is that uncomfortable for some thing called a fact.

Examples? The Syrian war and refugee crisis that wasn't far off the size of the current Ukrainian one. The numbers of Syrians accepted by nations across the EU varied a lot. Germany took hundreds of thousands. Ireland? Three thousand, over ten years, each vetted to beat the band, even under pressure from other EU nations for us to take more. Our Choice.

Last year, Ukraine. Naturally nations like Germany and Poland right next door took the lion's share, but Ireland per capita are now up there with Germany. We didn't vet them unlike some others, didn't require visas, like the UK for example and gave them far more in financial and other supports than anywhere else. To a point where we're struggling to keep up with those open ended promises. Our Choice.

The Jus Soli loophole we had until 04 that led to a huge number of "asylum seekers" getting residency? Our Choice. The EU weren't too happy with that, as it was an easy in to get into the wider EU.

We also have one of the highest rejection rates for asylum seekers within the EU. Problem being and again our choices, kicking the scammers out is a heel dragging exercise. Justice minister McEntee's amnesty for the 20,000 plus illegals, sorry "Undocumented"? That wasn't the EU either.

Too often we in Ireland blame the outsiders for our woes and don't look in the mirror. It was the English, then it was the Church, now it's the EU. Of the three the EU is by far the most positive mover for Ireland and Irish people.

Whether you see it as a problem, and both the "right" and the "left" see problems with our immigration policies and practices, but they are ours, or at least our political classes.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 296 ✭✭Ham_Sandwich

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

We pretty much were before the EU. That's what I never understand with British Brexiteers. They were pretty buggered before the EU too. The war emptied their coffers and they owed money to the US, their empire gone, rationing until the 50's, an upswing in the 60's and then the 70's of three day weeks, power cuts, rubbish left uncollected on British streets and the IMF called in.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭Marcos

One thing that get's forgotten when it comes to blaming the EU for "forcing" Ireland to take in unlimited numbers of Refugees/economic migrants/asylum seekers is that under the Lisbon Treaty Ireland has specific opt outs on justice and immigration affairs. So the powers that be could say we're implementing that opt out on immigration overnight. If they so wished.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭Marcos

Brexit came about because they EU brought in laws to deal with money laundering and curb the power of the City of London. It was pushed by a couple of hedge fund billionaires, like Crispin Odey. Every thing else was just window dressing and "collateral damage". Follow the money.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,815 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I was wondering why the 26th of February was now a Thursday instead of a Sunday...🤨

the EU has aspects of it that have been overwhelmingly positive for both Ireland and other member states.

that aspect has been flittering away for some time.

The Irish authorities consistently has the lowest rate of or one of the lowest rates of refusal to applications from asylum seekers of any of the EU’s 28 member states last year.

One year..Only 15% of first-time decisions on asylum applications in Ireland were rejected, compared to an EU average of 63%.

A total of 1,275 asylum seekers in the Republic were granted protection in 2018, of which 815 were awarded refugee status. Add the Ukrainian situation and other on top now…massive numbers… not only numbers on a spreadsheet….lives, requiring money, housing, services.

leaving the EU would not be without risk, but when it’s impossible to achieve sensible reforms from within, impossible to guarantee citizens and taxpayers basic needs like timely healthcare , adequate housing…..questions need to be asked.. ARE being asked.

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭Kyokushin Grappler

Their one size fit all economic policy. Remember when we were looked down on from them for being part of the PIIGS [Portugal,Italy, Ireland and Greece. Smaller Countries that they thought were bring the EU down]

• Registered Users Posts: 15,287 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Great to see protestors rising up against the likes of Shinners over open borders.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

Could it be infighting Grassroots had enough ?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,254 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

If I may add a slight addendum to the post preceding this one, the UK is now experiencing elevated levels of immigration from places like India and the Philippines to replace lost workers from Europe. Heck, the NHS is probably actively importing people at this point given its absurd vacancy levels.

As for Ireland, my aul fella went on and on about how undeveloped it was prior to joining what was then the EEC and how it was utterly transformed by membership. Of course, he's the typical DUP type who thinks Brexit is brilliant. Go figure.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 34,045 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Leaving the EU would be bonkers. Probably the most stupid thing this country or any other country in our position could do.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭lmao10

The whole Irexit thing is hilarious because it exposes the lack of intelligence and knowledge in the people espousing it.

I don't think people who have genuine concerns about immigration... the rate at which it is occurring... the impact and drain on state resources and by proxy the impact on the quality of lives of taxpayers and citizens..are unintelligent people... of course your argument is suited by lamely attempting to push that... see through and disingenuous

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

• Registered Users Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,254 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

People can be concerned about whatever they want. Anyone in Ireland who wants the British disease for their country isn't someone who's intellect commands respect IMO.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

They can indeed, in a democracy, it just about still is one…also in a democracy my own belief is that if the EU cannot be reformed to enable every facet of the safety and successes of its member states and their citizens that alternative decisions need to be given contemplation time by EU citizens. We are not a charity.

That’s all no sign of a ‘British disease’… it’s pretty common sense…. I don’t want to see multiple terror attacks, our economy up shît creek due to a spiralling, increase in a dependent population .. putting up with further inconveniences like even larger housing and hospital waiting lists…

again, in 2019, the Irish Times claimed In 20 years, Direct Provision has cost Ireland €1.3bn: