If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,495 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

I did, the 7 comments make no mention of fast food consumption being encouraged, so what's your point?

Probably just tested positive while in for something else.

Hospital figures became a useless stat when they started to admit that over 50% weren't actually in there due to COVID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

And this post ladies and gentlemen is exactly why we were locked down and restricted for so long. “Don’t question anything or anyone, we are right you are wrong. No responsibility or accountability for anything, just shut up and do what you are told”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭DLink

As I said on the other thread, there has got to be a reckoning over what they did to us as a nation, otherwise they'll just rinse and repeat.

They need to know there are repercussions when messing with the lives of an entire nation, make them think twice.

Look at Mehole FFS, he's just after admitting that there's going to be an increase in cancer deaths due to missed diagnoses because of the covid lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭walus

The last two an a half years are an example of what it will prove to be catastrophic misapplication of ‘precautionary principle’. By taking actions and assuming the worst about the virus of a largely unknown characteristic initially on one end, the authorities failed to consider the negative consequences on the other. They were utterly blind to the harms of lockdown and related restrictions.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭jackboy

The main issue was the refusal to change tack as the pandemic went on. Fair enough for the first few months when there were lots of unknowns, throw the kitchen sink at it. However, completely going against the science a year later and just repeating the same old restrictions was unforgivable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭walus

It is because the regular, open scientific discourse was suppressed. The dissenting scientist who questioned the narrative were quickly labelled ‘granny killers’ or worse and their ideas were ridiculed. I don’t remember anybody getting an equal chance to challenge predictions of Ferguson, McConkey or NPHET modelling for that matter.

All the information that the politicians had available on hand was only confirming the initial course of action. In a way they were duped into thinking that they were following the science. What they did not know is that science was not mature or complete enough.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,632 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

You sound depressed about the past. Exactly my point.

Can we do math on how many lives were saved Vs how many will be lost?

I don't really care for doing any maths, maths and statistics are being used by lockdown supporters and apologists to justify something that didn't need to happen... maths are being used justify the lockdown and restrictions and it's just a death spiral of pointless conversations trying to argue otherwise.

The bottom line is that my personal freedoms & normal everyday activities, along with those of the nation, were repressed or taken away, for very little benefit, but at massive cost mentally, financially, and as recently admitted by the person personally responsible for the lockdowns, health wise.

As far as I'm concerned, someone needs to go to prison, or at the very least lose their pension for needlessly doing that to me and the rest of us.

It was a fairly bizarre few years and still is and I think we do need a proper analysis and debriefing, without the conspiracy theorists. There are lessons to be learned and there are also ongoing issues that need to be addressed.

I can understand the extent of the early lockdowns and panic. There was a massive problem and there had been really horrible impacts in various comparable counties.

However, as it rolled on there weren’t really adjustments being made and a lot of science seemed to be (and still is being) ignored.

For example, we got bogged down on lockdowns, hand washing, surface cleaning and Perspex screens, long after it had been proven to be primarily airborne. We should have been pumping resources into improving building air quality with better heat recovery ventilation etc and using large scale rolling off HEPA filtration. It would have made schools, colleges, offices, gyms, food/drink venues a whole lot safer and easier to open quickly. A bit of capital expenditure could have saved a lot of hassle and huge current expenditure and economic disruption.

I’m still seeing utterly stupid situations like when I went to a GP in Dublin with my very elderly, immune compromised relative, with an appointment, the waiting room was packed to the gills, all the windows and doors closed, no air filters … and this is supposedly a medical professional with scientific knowledge. You’d have been safer on a bus!

All we seemed to do was keep applying draconian closure orders and over cautious refusals to see patients face to face. Even at the moment my own GP is pushing everything to phone consultancy in a way they never did before, and it’s really not great for a lot of issues.

I’d also query some of the crude and unscientific way that the lockdowns were planned. There were crazy situations like being unable to buy clothes and shoes etc, I remember Dunnes telling me I couldn’t buy socks! Big, open, well ventilated spaces like garden centres, DIY stores etc etc also were closed for no logical reason.

Kinda hard to know what to make of the last few years tbh.

I know hindsight is 20:20 vision, but at the same time we do need to look at how this was handled and not just in Ireland.

There’s a lot of broader discussions to be had, and also we need to be able to plan for how we could handle a future pandemic a lot better than we handled this one. The level of economic and social disruption in many countries was far too extreme and it exposed an enormous vulnerability that I don’t think really knew we had.

It's extending to other areas too, I mean we have been a complete disaster at handling this energy crisis because of a mix of “ah sure it’s grand / it’ll do” and bonkers NIMBYism as well as high but rather impractical ideals that accidentally have resulted in no LNG storage, minimal oil storage and huge delays to offshore wind etc.

We can’t drift on with no/very poor contingency planning and a health infrastructure that’s in a state of permanent crisis for decades. It’s really not good enough. We’re a wealthy, modern country, yet we seem to think we can just do these things on a badly organised basis or a shoestring budget.

We have to get much better at strategic planning or there’ll come a point where flying by the seat of our pants won’t work…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,247 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

You don't really care for maths and statistics?

This is just someone refusing to engage with the scientific evidence because they are incapable of understanding it.

If you can't understand the evidence, then when you make a statement like 'for little benefit', it is a statement with no standing or foundation.

You are basically second guessing the data and expert decisions, while admitting you aren't able to understand the basis for the decisions.

No wonder you come out with nonsense about people going to prisons if that's where you are coming from.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

I most certainly don't care about "the science", especially because "the science" can be made to fit any agenda you want.

My Mark 1 Eyeballs tell me that the world still hasn't collapsed due to covid, and quite frankly, that's all I need to know.

Someone needs to pay the price for locking me in my house and preventing me from travelling, it's as simple as that in my mind, lock him / her / them up.

Thankfully you and your opinions are in the minority now, circumstances have overtaken covid and the utopia that you keep pushing for is moving further and further away.

covid is over, and no amount of statistics is bringing it back, but unfortunately we're going to paying for the disgraceful behaviour of the last two years for years to come.

Post edited by DLink on

The world didn't collapse because of the restrictions. You're looking around as what protected you, incapable of understanding why it was there, and saying well we didn't need them because it wasn't so bad.

The rest of your post about "the science" and putting people in prisons is a deluded fantasy, an emotional rant not worth engaging with. You may as well rant away to the wind as think anyone serious here will give oxygen to it.

Nobody in Ireland will be going to prison for following international best practice from the WHO, similar measures to the CDC etc in a global pandemic. Cop on.

Firstly we had two people who led the country and both made lots of stupid decisions. There was a multitude of people giving advice to these people. You had scientists and medical professionals who had our and the country's health as their primary concern and you had public relations advisors telling them what was the best thing to do for their careers.

Secondly we seen the horrific scenes in Italy which were frightening and harrowing. Nobody here wanted to see that happening in our country. It was a long time before we knew enough about this virus.

I was against opening up for Christmas 2020 and was proven right. You can go back and check the threads before then and you'll see me predict the number of infections which would occur by opening up for Christmas.

Can you tell me why I still have to wear a mask entering a hospital, my local GP's practice and nearly every medical facility in the country? Are all these medical people stupid?

Can you tell me what qualifications you have in the science and/or medical fields which bring you to the conclusion that these lockdowns were unnecessary?

There were mistskes made, lots of them from not shutting the country down earlier and preventing people entering the country without proper quarantine to continuing with lockdowns when it was not necessary in the eyes of the majority of scientists and medical professionals.

Fact of the matter is that in almost all instances the decisions made were done in good faith to prevent illness and death. Things may not have been much worse if there were no lockdowns but the expert advice at the time was to continue with lockdowns.

Let's not forget that one of the key components in making these decisions was the health service not being able to cope with the numbers if we didn't lock down. As soon as the threat to the health service went away the lockdowns eased off.

I personally have a sister-in-law and niece who still haven't fully recovered from this thing. They contracted it at Christmas 2020.

Looking for people to blame because you were locked down for a while, well I'd perceive it as somebody whose never had a hard day in their lives unlike people who lived through a couple of depressions where we were basically locked down by struggling to survive financially.

We got through it though and it made us stronger and more adepth at dealing with any crisis that came our way. I found the lockdowns easy. In this day and age with video calls, movie and TV streaming services and smartphones it was pretty simple to keep yourself busy and keep your mind off things. I was out every day walking my dogs as I have always done.

The only things you couldn't do were go visiting other people, go to pubs, clubs and restaurants. None of these things are necessary and with video calls it made it easy to stay in touch and see the faces of your family and friends.

It's pretty much over now for the regular person and you should go enjoy your life instead of harping back, being angry and sad about things. Learn from the past but look forward with positivity and intent.

One of the realisations for me from this thing was that I thought, despite not trusting them, politicians were in general pretty intelligent. I realise now that they certainly are not.

More excuses.......

The only things you couldn't do were go visiting other people, go to pubs, clubs and restaurants.

Oh, you mean we stopped all forms of person to person social interactions, you know, the small, irrelevant things that make us human?

• How about not being able to go for a walk, cycle or drive ANYWHERE you wanted at ANY TIME?
    • How about not being able to SIT OUTSIDE on a big EMPTY beach?
    • How about not being able to SIT OUTSIDE on a park bench on a beautiful day while trying to have a sandwich during you "essential job" lunch break? Essential job.... Imagine, having to produce a letter to the dancing idiots to prove you worked in an "essential job".
    • How about not being able to TRAVEL OFF THIS DAMP PRISON ROCK that was full of people just waiting to point the finger at you for not toeing the line or call the guards for going to the supermarket in the next town over?

As for "protect the health service".... Was there ever a time when the health service wasn't up shít creek? Did we lock down in previous years on behalf of the health service?

Yes, people died from and with covid, and people had adverse reactions to covid, but so what?

Something is going to get you in the end, and some people are going to have adverse reactions, but that's no reason to lock us up. Plough on and get on with it, take your chances just like Sweden did.

We need to review our response as otherwise they'll do this all over again, and that can't happen.

I'm quite confident you never had a hard day in your life before COVID. The sense of entitlement in your post is extraordinary.

Just so you know, I've had a few hard days before covid, but I had lots of hard days during covid, same as many others I suspect.

And it's not entitlement, it's called living one's life. Decades of being able to do everything I mentioned in my last post, and I / we were expected to stop all of that overnight, and be thankful for it? Oh and whatever you do, don't complain about it, watch Netflix, be grand.

You're the person with a sense of entitlement, expecting me to lock down for something that most likely wasn't going to kill me, and most likely wasn't going to kill anyone else either.

On yer bike.

Now, when is the tribunal starting?

Do you understand that the vast majority of the country were scared as hell of this thing?

Iirc it was close to 94% that were in favour of the initial lockdown. That number diminished as time went by but it was still a very high number in favour of lockdowns before the first vaccine became generally available.

This is a democracy so the majority rules.

We didn't know in 2020 how bad this thing was and how many people it would kill. We collect data and make educated guesses off of them. We didn't have enough data in six months or nine months to make any sort of prediction about anything. It looked like old people were in more danger but younger people were dying from it too and we had to find out why that was happening.

I'm quite confident you never had a hard day in your life. What you'd consider a hard day wouldn't be anything of the sort to me and most people my age.

I had to live off of noodles, a decent meal was Dunnes Stores pasta and tomato sauce. We always ate well on a Sunday though with a proper dinner of potatoes, veg and normally roast beef. There was no money for the pub or fancy clothes. You bought two pairs of pants and two jumpers and t-shirts and one pair of footwear unless you needed boots or something for work and you stuck with them until they were pretty much worn out. There was no money for the pub anymore than one day per month.

I realise it wasn't that tough for everybody but for young people not long into their careers on crap money it was like that. I was trying to save money to eventually have enough for a mortgage, it was a struggle to save £500 per year.

I experienced all this as a young child too when my parents struggled to get the money to pay the mortgage. The last time I went through this was from about 2010 to 2014 I think but I was in much better shape financially at that stage so it wasn't that difficult.

So I was basically stuck at home for years with no internet, smartphone, Netflix etc. I didn't even have a dog because I couldn't afford to have one. I worked, went home to my two channel TV, slept, rince and repeat.

And you think the lockdown was tough. Lmfao.

Democracy put the government into office, but then they let King Tony pull their strings in the name of public health. After the first few months they should have relented, but no, they kept doubling down, for the craic almost. Unfortunately we have no way of voicing opposition to government decisions other than to protest, and guess what, protests were made illegal on public health grounds, and the media took the party line, so we couldn't complain, therefore we had no democracy.

Opinion polls are not a majority by the way, they are only an indication. They are organised by for profit companies and and they can be manipulated many different ways to get the desired result. It only counts as a majority if there's a proper, regulated, monitored vote, so 94% in favour of the initial lockdown counts for nothing.

As for having a hard life... I grew up in the 1980's, our house had an outhouse and no heating, I wore socks that were darned, and also wore hand-me-downs. I don't drink, and I wear clothes bought in Dunnes with vouchers I get from work at Christmas.

Anyway, back to covid... lockdown was tough for me mentally, it affected everyone differently. I absolutely resent the government locking me down for no good reason, and I don't care if you decide to "lmfao" at my "soft life", the government overreacted & overreached, simple as that.

Post edited by DLink on

From what I can see of it the pre-vaccine and post-vaccine scenario is where things changed enormously.

We're at a point now where most people are vaccinated and boosted and the most vulnerable are absolutely vaccinated and have had multiple boosters. That's really where we've managed to get back to pretty much normal again.

If you look at the situation 2020, it was an absolute mess - and it was an unknown risk.

However, I would stick by my previous post - we need to be doing a lot more to understand how we handled it - what was useful and what was not or was an overreaction and how we can handle something like this again, or some resurgence of it, without causing the level of disruption that happened in 2020.

It's not an 'only in Ireland' issue either. It's something that's right across the board and we should be looking at what other countries did well and did badly too.

We've a much better understanding of the virus and how it's transmitted too, so we need put that into practice and make everything work smoothly again, both avoiding lockdowns but also avoiding outbreaks too. I really don't think we've learned the lessons on the simple stuff like adapting building ventilation systems and so on - I mean the schools in particular could have done with proper investment in that regard and it just didn't happen.

The focus should be about getting on with life and dealing with risks in a way that isn't causing disruption to people's lives. That's the only way forward on this really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Relax brah

Got a text today from HSE suggesting I get another booster “as it had been 4 months since my last one.”

Bare in mind I’ve already had 4 jabs (because i am high risk at 32) and the virus twice - I don’t think im even bothered getting this booster.

feel like upon reflection we were sold a pup (excuse the pun) with the whole pandemic tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Simply living your life and going to visit friends and family or going to the pub/cinema/restaurant/coffee shop or gym is now considered “entitlement”. What a fcuking time to be alive eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

In the UK so probably here too, excess deaths are now higher than during covid, very little media reporting of it?

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Hindsight is an invaluable tool that no one had in 2020. Was it understandable that there was a lockdown at the start? Absolutely. But once it became clear where the threat with Covid lay, particularly with older and vulnerable people, our response should have changed accordingly which it never did. I’ve seen some posters on here mention ‘international best practice’. The fact of the matter is Ireland was an outlier in that regard and locked down for longer, for more prolonged periods and more severe restrictions imposed. If we remember the coveted NPHET and Government ‘levels’, many countries eventually functioned at a level 3 with indoor dining & pubs closed, adapted options re shops & barbers which remained open, schools open & instead of 5km travel limits - county travel limits. The response was solely focused on lessening the spread of Covid, without taking into account the severe societal impacts the restrictions would have, particularly as they dragged on. When the Covid vaccine appeared in 2021, people were offered a way out by taking it. What we know now is it doesn’t prevent transmission or infection but seems to have lessened the impact on hospitals. Multiple boosters should be questioned & vaccine passports for societal participation are criminal in my opinion. Taking a medicine of any kind should be done via informed consent of a medical professional and patient, period. A reflection and evaluation of what went wrong and right during Covid is vital for figure crisis going forward.

This is simply false medical misinformation about the vaccines

Multiple studies (Sweden, Qatar) have shown they provide signifcant protection against infection.

The protection was better against pre Omicron variants and wanes after 6 months hence the need for boosters.

This real world data shows why vaccine mandate were important.

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/35131043/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭cuttingtimber22

What is the advice now in respect to prior infections and the timing in getting a booster vaccine? Is there any point waiting? Better to wait a few months or boost up for the next wave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,929 ✭✭✭Xander10

I'm fully vaxed but I see no evidence today, that the vaccinations prevent infection or transmission, which was what we were all lead to believe initially would happen when rolled out.

We now live with the narrative that they stop us getting more severely ill.

Read the linked study above.

When the vaccines were rolled out - that is the data relevant to that period. Vaccinated people two thirds less likely to be infected up to 6 months from vaccination. That translates to many prevented infections and therefore transmissions.

There are other studies showing even if infected you clear the virus faster from your system and infectious for shorter period.

Today we have omicron - the vaccines arent as good a match for it, the infection protection isnt as strong, wanes faster and more time has elapsed since vaccination.

Unclear yet if the new bivalent vaccine will be more effective v Omicron.