Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I Love Punting , Providing Selections & Chatting Gibberish ; & I Intend To Do So On Hyah

• Registered Users Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭j@utis

Cam Hardie is on Madam not to steer her into right direction tonight, hard pass.

Two placers yesterday, two moneys back -2pt, no very good...

I have no time at all for this today, so two quickies:

2:40 Wolves - fav Artisand 1pt

4.57 Kempton - Cashew ~9/1 0.5pt

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Konny Rool

Ey Up!

@[Deleted User] 😂 saw ur post early this morn afore me didst venture - reet funny i thought; but some k3rnt deleted it 😒😓 FFS! Whaaaaat !!!! andya were speaking about inclusivity , and all that good jazz too :O(

if dey can do it to you - our no. 1 poster - who can dey no do it tee; dat's wat oi be thinkin. Summat rotten going on here m8 😒:mad:

narys the word about it - like something out of *North Korea or China - almost like it never happened #SMH

*we used to laugh at dem countries at their censorship etc,, and still do; but fool ourselves into telling usselves that it aint going on here - that's cos it's hard too hard to accept that this sh££t be going on over here an' all 😒

fukk this shítshow of a site - tune in and see a certain name just posted on a recent thread (not on this forum tbf) and it's better than 50/50 that that higher up poster has just 'killed' another thread,, worse still is when threads be deleted altogether (and not a word about it - just like ur stellar post @[Deleted User] - like as if it never happened.. )

may as fekk off to that new site GUBU - see they aint got much in the line of a punting forum over there - where we, all o' us regular posters here, would be KINGS , and t'wench, as u call @Msj@utis leff, wouldst a Queen be 😁 #iagreewitthemgolferswhatfekdofftosaudifortheirmuchooilcoin&notaratsassdotheycareasdeyonlysupportwokecauseswhenitsuitsthemandtheirbetterswhatcontroltheoverallnarrative

jolly Monaadhil looks well short here @ ~15/8,, won lto at the Essex Nick over seven on standard going, and if he were back o'er that C/D, then it'd be a fairish price

but he aint; he's going over the 7f trip at different course, and on the stan/slow going to boot.. not the most consistent sort, and i don't see him having ran before at Kempton - o'er any distance,, Looks about a 100/30 shot to me,, have chanced 3 & 4 place-lays @ ~1/2 & ~2/9

@Sweet Talkin Romeo good luck with ur two picks in that race mate - let's hope we both collect!! 😀

😊 good luck and fare thee well 😊

• Registered Users Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Sweet Talkin Romeo

not a great day, but not the worst; El Hombre wins at Wolves to make losses to be nt too much

looking forward:

quick look at Newcastle Friday

7.15 on the Standard going, where i'm tryna mekk case for @Lady Ziana @ ~25s here - #pillar2postperhaps

shame that KR - would've liked to gave seen that post meself,,, comes out with some gd'uns an all does @[Deleted User] - be a shame if yis lads left here :( might consider the @gubu me own selff 🙂

uno more 4m moi

Carlisle: H'dles Course: Good to soft-good in places

WHATABOUTYEH 10/1 EW Good price, first go over hurdles, but has had three spins in ptp sphere - will do me here

In case it gets wetter over there, the deserved fav Springwell Bay could be vulnerable, and looks a bit short @ 1/2; as well as that, it'll be his first go over hurdles after two very good Bumper runs,, nonetheless, at prices he's worth opposing imo. Sketon's Iorens ~11/4 can't be ruled out, and will keep watching brief only, won her Bumper well on top of the ground, can go well w/o winning is t'verdict

lay for win @ ~8/13 and 3 plcs @ ~2/9

gl

Any course specialists in Brighton today?

There's helluva support for Sporting Icon in 5pm Brighton, he's tackling 5f for the first time. Should we, or should we not?

ground goes Soft at Brighton & pretty much remains/stays Good at Carlisle = didn't suit me picks today :(

Tomorrow Friday 14th Oct

Happy Friday for all ye what work 😂

apart from a forum favourite what worketh allsorts of crazy hours/days 😂

Newcastle

Going - Liège, aka Standard

7.15 Newcastle

Jaminoz ~5/1 looks dubious to me over 7fs here; feel as if the trip will be too sharp for t'Goldie gelding. A lto winner at Ayr over ~7f (extra fifty yds + heavy going there and then = doesn't contravene me 'non-staying' the 7f trip here, opinion 😄) ; also has a poor enough low draw in box 2 to contend with,, will hope he goes off less than 4s, so's me can offer up 3/4 placey lays, at hopefully short odds

Hart Fell ~3/1 won lto over CD. Was a first ever win for the 6-y-o out of 10 runs; was also first time ever tackling 7fs (all previous races were over further) was on Standard/Slow going then, so don't know what to make of his chances tomorrow; if trading at less than 3s on t'moro, will consider also for 3/4 place lays,, could well be unexposed, but would rather be against overall

Pen landed on three here, for reasons various, and will go a lil each way on them all - hopefully 😃

JEMS BOND 18/1 EW , BEARCARDI 14/1 EW , BOBBY JOE LEG 14/1 EW ,, Was hoping Bearcardi & Bobby Joe Leg be ~25s each; will wait til laterer on, or tomorrow, for to see if proices improveth; just JEMS done out of da fhree atm 😛

Not liking any of the single-figured priced ones here at all

g'luck

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Konny Rool

2.50 Haydock

Soft ground there and me think @AIR RAID 13/2 & @COLD STARE 8/1 are worth WIN bet/s consideration at here ie Haydock, on t'moro

it has the feel of a race, that, if @Sweet Talkin Romeo were up in toime, he might consider doing some of his @lay/plce-lay bets, at or around @'Opening Show' time for this Class3 6f race, which be on HEAVY (me just checkee 🤗) going; ie a lot of the in-form horsies may have been running on good/good to soft going, in times recent, but may have narys da bit of soft/heavy ground form (or little of same to speak of)

seems a clever angle meself methinks ; verily also shall i chancee a reversee forecastee too with me @2SolidPicks

good luck to me & @[Deleted User] , @Sweet Talkin Romeo and @t'wench 😅 and every other poster nd punter nd thread-reader on here; apart from the bold ones what lurk in wait; altho, tbf, I think @no.1 poster in tandem with @forum mod didst their cough so soften, so to speak,,, mere speculation on me part that tho - don't quote me on dat 😆

☺️

cheers @Konny Rool 👊 have been trying to find a few at ye Haydocke meself - it looks like there be @potential there

3.25 Haydock LOGISTICAL 9/2 Win

fair price on his second run; based on him being by Dandy Man and should be liking the heavy ground, me hopes he can go well here and see out the ~1m trip well

hoping ~5/4 fav @Saxon King won't likee t'ground - me'll try 2-plce lay @ ~4/9

gl all

were looking at results of some o' t'progeny o' summat or other, when me saw a horse (different sire, but entered in t'same race) called ALFALFA (never heard of him before, but warrants ye 'paigejumpa' call here, i feel: ALFALFA (by Sir Prancealot) ---> ALFA ----> AlFA ROMEO -----> ROMEO -----> SWEET TALKIN ROMEO = ME!!! a top tier poster on this hyahh forum 😅😀

anyroad, it seemeth ALFALFA should like the ground (if gets softer) and he holds an entry in 1m. 6f. h'cap in luckee last 5.40 Wednesday upcoming at ye @NAVAN ,,, if have any coin then, me'll backee 😁

5.08 Haydock

could've picked six here, but narrowed it dahn to fhree 😎

QOYA 5/2 WIN , MAKETH BELIEVETH 7/1 EW , RICK BLAINE 11/1 EW

4.00 Haydock

too many picks here - may just go win on 'em all hyahh

CHANCE 10/1 , FAME AND ACCLAIM 16/1 , RHYTHM N ROCK 12/1 , AMOR VINCIT OMNIA 16/1 , BLENHEIM BOY 8/1 , DANDY MAESTRO 20/1

p'raps combi tricast me'll also dee 🙂

looking at 3/4 possible place lays on Al Mubhir 7/2 & Ascot Adventure 4/1 - if i'm up 😋,, think Ascot Adventure has stamina concerns on this ground and Al Mubhir may want further.. a lot of the field goes/can go well at 7f/1m on soft/heavy going, so no big surprise if both these two is beat out of places

enuf 4 me

g'nihht nd gud luk :)

LOL, those two have caught my eye too. At the end I decided against the clearly regressive Cold Stare, he's won off higher marks but showed nothing to work on this year, he can obviously run a surprise as a bottom weight but probably not...... Air Raid has won this two years ago, trainers seems to be targeting this race - his last run in York was a prep run - has "eased" in the comments, chances. Current favorite Punchbowl Flyer is not without claims either - he's been running over unsuitable ground to bring the mark down, his record on soft is much better and the worse the ground the better he gets - 2/2 on heavy. There's a few more with the claims, especially 3yos, so proceed with caution.

Interesting one at 4 o'clock Haydock - Unspoken. I have a note on him from a year ago, saying "tons of money just before off" but the gamble didn't materialize that day. He didn't show much on his return this autumn but money is pouring in today again. WTF like, somebody knows more somewhere... No bet.

Not the best result in that 2:50 Haydock race... I'll have a look at Newcastle later.

4.00 Ascot

We'll hope summat beats ~1/5 fav Baaeed ; chance lay @ ~ 1/4

EW on MY PROSPERO 22/1 I fancy soft ground and the ten furlong trip be suitable

me " 'opeful each way shot "

3.15 Catt

VENTURA FLAME 66s EW

☺️

OMG, did you see that 😮😅 now excuses are pouring in for the Baaeed 😅 Prospero 3rd.

no joy alas wiv Ventura Flame - finishes dahn field; very good run tho' for us supporters, as was in contention for a long way - drawn on 'wrong' side alas

Gr8 to see it j@u 😁 Poor ride from Crowley imo 🤔 altho, tbf, NO ONE were letting him oot ! nt even his own kennelmates 😂

😁

4.00 Ascot

We'll hope summat beats ~1/5 fav Baaeed ; chance lay @ ~ 1/4

EW on MY PROSPERO 22/1 I fancy soft ground and the ten furlong trip be suitable

marital arts expert

EW shot comes third

nd BAAEED gets beat - stops Romeo's Baaaeeleeeding 🙄!

5.00 Catterick

@Flamborough ~4/6 looks waay too short #2short here; not even seeing him have an obvious chance here; looks très short on overall form. chanced 2 plce-lay @ ~4/9

hae gawrn fo' MJ's other beast here @CHOIRMASTER nb 5/1 WIN, here in this trappy 5 (was 6 , 1 nr) runner affair,, a good second over a similar trip two runs back in a Class5 @ @Carlisle,, much softer today and a class up, but, on breeding (by Iffraaj) he should be liking the sloppyish/soft conditions here,,, not sure who'll lead here, but me hopes it aint t'selection,,, cud well be like a Bumper or Maiden/Novice h'dle - with no one wanting to 'go on' 😆 another prediction that 😂

🐎

Willie's 'sad for the people at home' (that @Baaeed lost) ; Don't be sad Willie - not many of us would've backed him at a best price 1/4 over t'last 24hrs 😋

No luck at Catterick there - me pick Choirmaster not involved at business end 'nd jolly wins too

Sunday 16th Oct

1.10 Leopardstown

Aidan's Dame Kiri is by relatively new American sire Justify - hope she won't like the softish ground, the prohibitively priced 1/6 fav,, will try laying between ~ 1/5 & 4/11 for the win here; fourth run, and will be stepping down in trip from three previous ones. Should be at least 1/2 imo

gone each way on Johnny's MERE ACCOUNTANT 15/2,. won Barrier Trial at Dundalk over the 6f trip; ground looks fine on breeding

25/1 shot PRESS PLAY EW,, she came 2nd in 6f Barrier at Dundalk also, in the race where Murtagh's horse won,, didn't go so well in her first race proper, when finishing a ~9L 6th of 12 lst month at Cork, when seeing some support,, hoping will like ground and will strip better this time, and that the step up to 6f will suit

3.15 Sedgefield

Light Em Up Nigel ~10/11fav,, been a while since last run; looks to be a few who can lead or be up with the pace here, which is how LEUN likes to run,, chanced 2-plce lay in hope @ ~1/2

THREE PLATOON 8/1 EW NB is capable of going very close here, based on his two hurdles' runs to date, and looks like he could well go off shorter for this Maiden,,

both the above races have eight down to go to post,, let's hope it stays that way and we'll do each way double with MERE ACCOUNTANT & THREE PLATOON

:) gl

One more nd that'll do me

5.25 Cork

thinking of doing @reverse forecast on t'two jollies here - SPACE TOURIST 11/8 & MY GAFFER 15/8

both should finish in places, so long as going stays ~Good

g'night nd gd luck :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,165 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Fantastic news from the states, Shark hanlons Hewick has won the American grand national. Not bad for a horse bought for €800 !

a good day then dan ? 😂 WD on Hewick !

did nae hear owt about him participating in that race at all; never knew there was an American GN

tomorrow Monday 17th Oct

Wolves - Standard

7.30 Percy Willis ~ 14/1

Goes in a Class5 here over the ~1m. 4f. trip; is very rarely far away over ~this trip at AW tracks like Wolves, S'well & Newcastle,, came 6th of 6th lto at the trip at Newcastle, but that were Class4,,, has won a Class4 at this distance over CD in March,, worth consideration..

Another Odyssey ~11/8 looks close to a cert, given that he has won his last two races, including one over CD; that is until ya look at the 2nd fav - MJ's Cavendish ~11/4 who had a facile victory at the course lto - and Haggas' third fav Foursome ~9/2 here, who didn't run so well lto when 5th of 5 over the same trip at Southwell lto as the 10/11fav,,

Birkie Girl ~14/1 is an 18 race maiden, and runs well sometimes; a bit like Del's Bird For Life (albeit a multiple winner that one 😃) who won last night at Wolves, Birkie Girl can be a bit of a cliff horse, as she often flatters to deceive and sometimes looks like winning/come with a winning/what looks like a winning run; however, this 3yo has yet to manage to get her head in front where it matters,, EW consideration ats atm 😄

runs her races between trips of 1m and 1 1/2m; her 2nd to 6th last races have all been over distances of between 10 and 12fs; however her last race was over the shorter trip of the extended mile at Wolves,,, wasn't fancied that day, and finished down the field - thinking is: they were trying to teach the 3yo more about running a hold-up race - a seldom used tactic which saw her go close over 10f the time before that at Lingfield (when she was well fancied 🤣😁)

have looked at only a few horsies in both the above races, and if i don't look again, then i'll go two small EW singles, and perhaps an EW dble on the above

gluck

Sunday 16th Oct

1.10 Leopardstown

Aidan's Dame Kiri is by relatively new American sire Justify - hope she won't like the softish ground, the prohibitively priced 1/6 fav,, will try laying between ~ 1/5 & 4/11 for the win here; fourth run, and will be stepping down in trip from three previous ones. Should be at least 1/2 imo

gone each way on Johnny's MERE ACCOUNTANT 15/2,. won Barrier Trial at Dundalk over the 6f trip; ground looks fine on breeding

25/1 shot PRESS PLAY EW,, she came 2nd in 6f Barrier at Dundalk also, in the race where Murtagh's horse won,, didn't go so well in her first race proper, when finishing a ~9L 6th of 12 lst month at Cork, when seeing some support,, hoping will like ground and will strip better this time, and that the step up to 6f will suit

______

1.10 Naas (don't know why I put Leopardstown down in me post - guess i was tired 😃) Mere Accountant is now a general 5/1 shot, so 'value got' there 😋 Still all 8 due to line up, which is what we like to see on here - us EW bakis 🤣

3.15 Sedgefield

Light Em Up Nigel ~10/11fav,, been a while since last run; looks to be a few who can lead or be up with the pace here, which is how LEUN likes to run,, chanced 2-plce lay in hope @ ~1/2

THREE PLATOON 8/1 EW NB is capable of going very close here, based on his two hurdles' runs to date, and looks like he could well go off shorter for this Maiden,,

both the above races have eight down to go to post,, let's hope it stays that way and we'll do each way double with MERE ACCOUNTANT & THREE PLATOON

All eight also due to go to post here - which is also good!

got us value on THREE PLATOON above, who is now a general 4/1 shot (tho, like the Naas pick, some books going 1pt/1.5pts bigger) - regardless, like Mere Accountant, those of us what backed the both picks, have gotten us t'value here an' all ☺️

hope they both land 👊

g'luck all

1.10 Leopardstown

Aidan's Dame Kiri is by relatively new American sire Justify - hope she won't like the softish ground, the prohibitively priced 1/6 fav,, will try laying between ~ 1/5 & 4/11 for the win here; fourth run, and will be stepping down in trip from three previous ones. Should be at least 1/2 imo

gone each way on Johnny's MERE ACCOUNTANT 15/2,. won Barrier Trial at Dundalk over the 6f trip; ground looks fine on breeding

25/1 shot PRESS PLAY EW,, she came 2nd in 6f Barrier at Dundalk also,

2nd Mere Accountant - got place bit anyhow 😊

jolly wins as she likes; about a 10L victor 🤣 didn't go off 1/6 tho! wins @ 2/7 - pretty much an unbackable one that

and @Three Platoon comes third behind the very well supported 7/4 (from ~7/2 earlier) 2nd fav Spirit Of Regulus (thought he'd have wanted further myself) in Sedgefield 3.15,, fav Light Em Up Nigel comes 2nd at 13/8 (from ~10/11 early doors)

Anyroad, collect on ew double, so not too bad 😊

Good read on it here in an interview with The Shark

Hewick lands American Grand National

Sun 16th Oct 2022, 08:27

Shark' Hanlon's talented chaser Hewick switched back to hurdles to land the valuable American Grand National at Far Hills, New Jersey on Saturday afternoon.

Always prominent, the seven-year-old hit the front three out under Jordan Gainford and soon went clear to win by eleven and a half lengths from Noah And The Ark.

It's been a great year for Hewick, who landed the bet365 Gold Cup at Sandown in the spring and the Galway Plate in July. He looked set to add last month's Kerry National at Listowel where he was on terms with Busselton when getting the last wrong and unseating Gainford.

After this latest success, an emotional 'Shark' Hanlon said in a television interview: "He travels so well. Everyone was saying that the (2m5f) trip was too short, that we were wrong to come here, but this horse has an awful lot more pace than what people think he has. He proved that in Galway and he definitely proved it today.

"It's a dream come true for us, for everyone. 'Tis me own young lad there looking after him, 'tis a dream come true.

"I just have to say, there was an accident in Ireland a couple of months ago, Jack de Bromhead, and we're all thinking of him. My young lad who led up the horse was his best friend and he cried there and he said, 'this is for Jack'.

"I'll tell you a little story that happened the other day. The horse was gone for a week, and my young lad looks after the horse at home.

"And we got out of the car the other day, down in the yard, and I got out of the car, Rachel got out of the car, and when Paddy got out of the car the horse he whinnied at him, wondering like, 'what are you doing here?!

"It's just a great feeling, and a beautiful track. They have such a good job done on it, oh my God, it's amazing. The ground was beautiful, the crowds here, lads, we would never get anything like this in Ireland, so we wouldn't.

"It's a beautiful place and fair dues, there's a lot of work after going into this place, and fair dues to the track and management."

Winning rider Jordan Gainford added: "Fair play to 'Shark', he always has him bang on, and to TJ (McDonald, owner) and all the lads in 'Shark's, it's a big gang of lads there and I'm just very fortunate to get on him.

"My agent at home, Garry Cribbin, got me on this lad back at Listowel nearly a year and a half ago now.

"Look it, they could have got anyone over here to ride him but, in fairness, they brought me over and I really appreciate that, it's unbelievable.

"When he hits the front he doesn't do much. In his previous runs he just loves galloping, he's a relentless horse to gallop really.

"The second one down the back the first time, there's a bit of sun on it, and he came out of my hands a little bit, but after that he was every foot perfect. Just for it all to go to plan is brilliant."

There was further Irish success on the undercard, with The Insider and Ted Hastings providing Gordon Elliott and Davy Russell with a double while Sean Flanagan also got on the scoresheet aboard Redicean, formerly trained by Alan King and now in the care of Leslie F Young.

https://www.irishracing.com/news/Hewick-lands-American-Grand-National/236378