Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which industry has the biggest laugh at their customers' expense?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,543 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

You haven't heard of the 'quiet quitting' trend pervasive across all industries then? You clearly haven't heard about the current working conditions in the public service either.

It's a bit difficult to just the level of service of any public body, until you also look at the level of funding they get and the level of demand for their services. Maybe if landlords stopped expecting the RTB to be their own personal legal advisors, maybe then they might have more time to do their jobs?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,868 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Spiritualists and mediums.

I'll wager they dont believe the absolute hogwash they peddle to by and large vulnerable people.

• Registered Users Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Juran

People who break the law and cause distress to other. I know its not officially and industry, but people convicted of crimes ate laughing at us, the gardaí and the victims of the crime.

See this guy, caused series distressed to cabin crew & passengers during a flight to Dublin, plus broke aviation laws. 2 months suspended, no fine, no charity donatiin, zero compensation to the victims or airline. And I bet he got free legal aid. He claims he has a business, then make him pay €10k or 100k, hit him where it hurts the most.

Big laugh at the expense of the passengers, crew, the airline, airport staff and airport police.

https://www.thejournal.ie/drunk-passenger-ryanair-5887200-Oct2022/

• Registered Users Posts: 41 cokeiscrap

The 'soft' drinks industry, especially Coca-Cola is having the biggest laugh at consumers.

Their flavoured, fizzy water is one of the biggest contributors to global obesity yet they are sponsors of many sporting events and teams, including Fifa and the Olympics, two of the worlds largest sporting organisations. There has to be corruption at the highest level for them to have such influence.

Then they have a Global Human Rights policy about inclusion and their employees rights to have collective bargaining but then they recently threatened employees here in Ireland with their jobs after years of bullying and intimidation from senior management.

This was their UPDATED Human Rights Policy after been fined $192m for racial discrimination against their African-American employees in the United States.

If you go into any public house or hotel bar now in this country, you can have a wide range of options if your preference is a beer, ale and even now a stout, but if you want a soft drink or mixer your options are usually down to just Coca-Cola products of which Schweppes is also one of their brands.

Then they tried to sell 'pure spring water' in Europe when they were taking water from the Thames river in the U.K. I'd assume that their brand here, River Rock, isn't exactly pure spring water either.

As if all this wasn't bad enough, they have now wormed their way in to trying to dupe the World in to believing that they are trying to be a leader in climate change and Egypt, the host for COP27 UN Climate Change Conference has announced this horrible company as its major sponsor.

This to me is like getting the KKK to be a major sponsor of the Black Lives Matter movement.

They really are having a laugh at the Global consumer.

• Registered Users Posts: 37 captain dildano

Taxi industry.

I'll see your overpriced hoovers and raise you American style fridge freezers with a tablet built into the door. Why? Do people not have enough electrical devices already. I just see it as something else to go wrong with the appliance. I mean what do they actually even do? Now if it locked me out of the fridge to stop me picking at food when I'm bored or shouted 'step away from the fridge chubster' when I opened the door, then it might be worth it. 😂

I broadly agree with you but having ice on tap would be a huge bonus for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Sweet Talkin Romeo

the NGOs with their pitting white blokes against everyone else, as well as their general race-baiting

a homegrown & prime example = Pavee Point

still a long ways behind the banking , insurance & legal industries tho

Ice I have no problem with. It's the high tech gadget that I don't get. Maybe it orders your online shopping or something, I don't know. I'm happy to make a list on a bit of paper or on my phone. Meh, I'm just being middleaged and cranky.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,866 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Thank you for reminding me. This has to be up there for taking the piss award:

The anti hayfever medication Beconase has Beclometasone as the active ingredient. This is patent expired so is available as a generic.

Beconase is available over the counter, you do not need a prescription, but if you want the generic Beclometasone, you can only get that with a prescription, which means a chemist would charge a dispensing fee, so while the Beclometasone might only cost €5, add a €7 dispensing fee and your cheap generic comes in at the same price as - you guessed it - Beconase - except for the privilege of not being able to buy the generic cheaper, you first have to get a prescription for €50-60.

Rip-of Ireland at it's best. You can buy generic Beclometasone in the UK, over the counter, for a quarter of the price you pay for Beconase in Ireland. €5.12 for 200 doses in the UK vs €11 for 100 doses here

• Registered Users Posts: 24,904 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Totally…In addition, many consultants are working in both public and private practice.

I’ve worked for companies who had in their contract, terms which rightly and rigidly prohibited employees from doing ANY paid work for anyone else.

there is a notable consultant who works in the Mater, Mater private and another privately owned and ran facility …. How exactly is that permitted. ? I view public healthcare patients as customers due to the fact we pay taxes…

• Registered Users Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

The consultants have seperate car parks in the private clinics for fear we would see the luxury that they drive to the trough in.

Sick to teeth hearing their representation claiming more needed to deal with expected Winter covid/flue spike.

At this stage, thinking outside box, would point to existing disciplines like nurses being trained up to specialist levels to replace those 4 minute day consultant visits.

Post edited by Andrea B. on

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

The property industry, they unlikely all of the above have managed to convince an entire nation that:

• That money spent on rent has no value
    • A housing policy based on people taking on huge amounts of debt or relying on social services to put a roof over peoples heads is a good idea
    • That investing in property is a low risk activity despite every piece of investing research showing it to be that opposite
    • That people should break every rule of investing in order to buy a property - don’t invest in a high risk asset class, diversify your holding, don’t borrow to invest etc…
    • They have convinced people that their downfall in 2007 was nothing to do with bad investing choices propagate by them, it was just bad luck, the bankers, bond holders and the government.

In fact they have done such a good job that people don’t consider any other possible approach to solving the housing crisis but build more houses. And will unhesitatingly defend the policy that best suits the industry.

I don’t know any other industry that has been so successful in bending an entire population and maintaining it.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,989 ✭✭✭✭rob316

OEM printer manufacturers, your paying more per ml of ink than the finest champagne.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Insurance industry - cartel

Glasses industry - cartel

Landlording - if you have your BTL mortgage cleared it's a money printing scheme, so don't bellyache about paying tax on passive income. It's also a heavily protected "asset class" in this country with strong political, legal and constitutional safeguards.

Chain pizza restaurants like Dominos - awful gloop, ridiculously overpriced. Did a double-take at the prices when the other half wanted to order a delivery the other week.

Gambling industry - I'd shut this down tommorow if I had my way. Toxic industry that ruins lives and has infected sports like football really badly. Get rid.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,904 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

gambling I’d shut down, literally what percentage of customers over a year end up in profit..? a tiny percentage I’d believe. A piss take of a profession, if regulated properly it would be shut down.

think what the markup on pizza is….

example…a 13.5 inch Big Brekkie Pizza in one of the more popular pizza places..

2 mushrooms, 1 sausage, 1 slice of bacon, 2 grams of processed grated cheese, sauce and a bread base.. based on their photo now…

including delivery.. 26.50…

no drinks, no sides… just that single pizza… tip the guy ? 30 euros or so down the drain…. About a 5 euro cost tops between product, petrol etc… it’s shît food… never filling….

much better value in getting a decent half pounder and chips from the local Italian chipper.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,941 ✭✭✭6541

Great thread - Everywhere I look now I see price gouging and the more threads like this that hopefully open peoples eyes the better. keep it up folks.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,743 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Plenty more in the Business Forum. Rip off Ireland, Consumer Affairs, Online Shopping etc. On the other side Bargain Alerts.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,743 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Possibly not too well known, but in Ireland there is a Long Term Illness Scheme since 1970 which gives free prescription meds to people with specified medical conditions. The problem is that it never added any new medical conditions to the list as far as I know. So people with things like Crohn's do not qualify. Even better than free medicines with a Medical Card, no 50 cent charge, if that is still a thing. No means test, free to millionaires if they want it.

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/health/drugs_and_medicines/long_term_illness_scheme.html#:~:text=If%20you%20have%20a%20medical,for%20at%20least%20one%20year.

Organised religion. Charitable status. Cash payments. “Work” maybe an hour a day reading out of a book. Chat to a lot of oul wans for First Friday. More cash. They know it’s all a load of b****x.

• Registered Users Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Kurooi

Car insurance. Mandated by law, costs an arm and a leg, and when people get into an accident they will specifically not make a claim OR ELSE.

Zero actual value-add to society, price hikes constantly based on lies.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Also the lads who give the SafePass and other safety courses.

Tell a class of 20 or 30 people stuff they already know for a few hours, charge them 100-200 a head and their customers are forced to keep showing up every few years if they want to keep their job. The government also limits the number of people who are allowed to give these courses so the crowd who give these courses are absolutely guaranteed a good income

Zero value? Who do you think pays for the vast amounts of damage done to people and property by drivers?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,796 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Shur no point sitting on he side lines cribbing, get that green jersey on

• Registered Users Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Institutes of third-level "education".

• Registered Users Posts: 8,364 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

His point is false so I am not sure how that is nit picking. I am sure there are plenty of people who still believe it and think I am the clown. It doesn't change reality

• Registered Users Posts: 8,364 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

I never told anybody where to live SO that is all in your head. Just you don't get to dictate our constitution and if you don't like it you will have to move because it isn't going to change.

I worked with people on social services and strangely I don't think they are parasites like you. I am not the one telling people how to live it is you.

I am Irish but never claimed to represent the people but I do know our constitution which you don't. You can be sure more of the tax is mine than yours and I have just as much right as you to complain or applaud how it is spent so we have equal rights. You just don't know what you have a say in. If you don't like the constitution that will remain your problem

• Registered Users Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Coffee shops

The increase lately in the price of a cup of coffee is beyond a joke

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭maninasia

You told me to move I'm not moving anyhwee certainly not for some eejit who insists there only viewpoint to being Irish .

We don't have a constitution that forces us to pay humungous taxes really not sure what you are waffling on about. You are just typical of those who like to tell others they are 'wrong' or 'bad people' because they don't agree with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,714 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

The Department of Public Expenditure and Reform