Meath GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

An all Ireland **** hell lads steady on maybe find a coach that would make ye competitive with Clare and Cork first eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,617 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

what age are you??? you mite want to do some research on Paddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭rpurfield

I think its a good move to bring O'Rourke in. He's well placed in terms of knowing players within the county between managing Simonstown and being involved in Pats. I think it will get supporters rowing in behind the team too, which is needed. As regards his full ticket, it will be interesting to see. Hand on heart I would be shocked to see Fitzmaurice come in. I actually seen someone post on social media they heard he was taking over in Pats from O'Rourke and getting involved in the coaching team with meath. I can't see it. Its a long way to come either commuting or for a job when you have a young family. He's also established himself as a very good co-commentator on the live games and that is a lot handier than being on a coaching ticket

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Colm has managed Meath U21s and he's managed at club level very successfully with Simonstown (as well as with Pat's school and the International Rules).

I'm on the fence with the appointment. If I remember correctly, his stint with the U21s wasn't exactly a roaring success (though when has it ever been at that age group) but he will surely command the respect of the players. He also knows the club scene inside out so fingers crossed he finds some hidden gems.

Fair play to him for actually giving it a go. Very easy to sit on the sidelines with a cushy pundit job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭dobman88

Interesting comments from Bernard Flynn. With what looks like a stellar backroom team he had supporting him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Fattybojangles

Yeah very poor form from Meath Country board not to at least ring the man first to tell them they had gone elsewhere he surely earned that little bit of respect? It did seem like quite the team he had put together alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭dobman88

Yeah i had a tweet of his linked in my post but he seems to have deleted it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

Looks like he deleted the tweet soon after it was posted. Fair play to you for spotting it because it was a small window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭2018na

It’s common manners in fairness to inform other candidates of the situation which doesn’t seem to have happened here. Could be hearsay however I have never heard a good word said about Flynn off anyone. Orourke is just on a completely different level and it’s not even a competition once colm showed any interest

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

By all accounts, Flynn and all other applicants were informed that they weren't successful prior to the announcement. They just weren't informed who was successful (as is obviously the case with every job application). I think Flynn is attempting to make a mountain out of a molehill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Whatdoesitmatter

Mod Note:

@Sonny678 Do not post in this thread again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

I am sure O'Rourke will guide Meath to the Hogan steps, for Tailteann Cup glory in 2024. I am sure Meath people are hoping he will be a Rory Gallagher style saviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭Sonny678

Why. You are not moderator. I listen hammer and the other lads here. I am a Meath supporter, I don't insult or degrade anyone I haven't said anything bad anywhere. I have posted on boards ie for 15 years not one block not one issue. I have not Insulted one person in 15 years on boardsie. What your problem.

I am delighted with Colm and his fantastic brillant management team. What's wrong with that.

With the announcement of Colm and his brillant top class management team, hopefully the ladies can end a great week for Meath GAA.

And be also only second senior Meath team to win back to back All Ireland. So hard to do, but I think they are better team than kerry. This Meath team clearly is the best team in country. Mary Kate Lynch is best full back in Ireland, Emma Troy the best defender in the country. And McGurk is top class goalie. We have strong midfield and quality forwards and one of the best freetakers in ladies game Stacey Grimes. Vicki Wall was the best footballer in the country last year. But Emma Duggan really is the star, best young football in the country and if she continues she could become of the greatest lady footballers ever. Murray is turning into Sean Boylan of ladies football. To win 2 in a row would cemet their status as one great gaelic football teams to come out of Meath and one best ladies team of last 2 decades.

They're not a mod, correct. Disregard what they said.

Bernard had a strong management team with Robbie Brennan, Stephen Rochford and according to Irish Independent Mick Dempsey Brian Cody's assistant manager for years also was part of the management team. But U20s was mess last year. Results even before he left were dreadful and how he has handled after Colm getting job, allot of people are not happy with. Colm is the best man for the job. And hopefully after Colm sucessful tenure we will have choice of Cathal O Bric after sucessful period with U20s or Kevin Reilly with more success with Trim or Brian Farrell or Barry Callaghan, one of them ready to take over. Colm gives us a chance to have a real sucession plan when he leaves. Thats sort of stability we need.

The Star newspaper national newspaper said at end of last week Eamon Fitzmaurice and Donie Buckley are linked to Colm O Rourkes new management team, the star said in their words " Former kerry boss Eamon Fitzmaurice is linked to the Royals great new set up". The article was written by sports Journalist Paul keane who I think is a Meathman from Rataoth now living kilmessan.

The star said Colm O Rourke was specifically asked about Eamon Fitzmaurice and Donie Buckley as part of his management team. According to the star newspaper O Rourke didn't rule either of them out.

If Fitzmaurice was not in talk with Meath, O Rourke would have said straight out no. When O Rourke was asked about Fitzmaurice being part of his management team he didn't deny according to reports in the national media. And in the local media LMFM asked Colm O Rourke was there any substance to rumours in Meath that were circulating everywhere that Eamon Fitzmaurice and Donie Buckley were part of his management team. He didn't rule them out or deny it eitheir to LMFM, Meaths main radio station. Remeber Colm is very experienced with the media after decades of punditry & journalism.

The media asked Colm O Rourke straightout was Eamon Fitzmaurice and Donie Buckley part of his management and he didn't deny it. Fitzmaurice has being talking with Meath county board for a while now, even attending interview.

The Star newspaper also mentioned Eugene Eviers from Meath Ladies S and C could also be part of O Rourkes management team as well as Fitzmaurice.

According to the star Newspaper O Rourke said he is great believer in having a structure where the people around him are better at things than he is and it has worked in every organisation he has been involved in and he continues to do that here.

Kerry had 22 on their management team last Sunday. O Rourke had 19 people as part of his management team when he managed Simontown to 2 senior club titles. He will have much bigger team for Meath. It will probably biggest and most varied Meath management team ever. O Rourke said it will take time to get everyone sorted out so we will have to wait. If that 30 to 40 it could take a few weeks before we hear his huge management team. If Colm pulls this off and hopefully it happens gets Fitzmaurice and Buckley, as getting All Ireland winning manager at his peak and one of best coach's of his generation, it would be one of the most impressive management team put together in leinster football. Time will tell. I think all Meath fans would be delighted if Fitzmaurice joins the management team and of course our neighbours would not be happy, they wud be raging.

Best of luck to ladies today and hopefully end a great week for Meath football. Onwards and upwards for Meath, as Meaths begins the next chapter new exciting era for Meath football.

Post edited by Sonny678 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭snowgal

Best of luck today ladies! Will be there to shout yee on for a 2nd, here’s hoping 🤞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,713 ✭✭✭enricoh

Think the ref wants to be the star of the show! Duggan misfiring but our better forwards should see us out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,975 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Well done Meath. Richly deserved. Defended brilliantly and played some lovely football.

Some acheivement to do back to back coming up from intermediate.

They've improved every round and peaked in the final.

Good game. Only gripe was the Ref, not playing advantage on numerous occasions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Terrible card for Vikki.

Even the refs don’t know how to handle her!!

Absolute legends!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,379 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

That ref is dreadful, she makes a mess of every game she gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭rolling boh

what was the attendance did they announce it ? .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

She’s too whistle happy. Ruins even club games but they keep giving her large profile games because she’s a woman. Regardless of her gender, her performance should be what she is judged on.

Meath much the better team. Kicked an awful lot wide and into the keepers hands. I thought number 7 Aoibheann Cleary was very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭rolling boh

not bad if that was the case hard to tell looking on tv and some if not a lot of earlier match crowd leaving after their game hard to get fans to stay for more than one match in general I have found .

46000 I think was the attendance. Think if it wasn't on the bank Holiday weekend, it could have been higher.

Was nice to be able to enjoy the last 10 minutes or so without the usual heart attacks. Thought Kerry's tactics, while admirable, were quite naive and just played into our hands. Emma Duggan didn't have her best game going forward but Niamh O Sullivan stepped up and was magnificent. Her point late in the first when she turned her marker inside out was sublime. Hard to pick between Troy or Cleary for POTM.

It's hard to believe the success that this team has achieved in the last few years. Division 3 champions in 2019, All Ireland Intermediate champions in 2020, division 2 and All Ireland Senior champions in 2021, division 1 and All Ireland Senior champions in 2022. Such a shame they're losing the players they are for next season.

Homecoming in Navan this afternoon at 3pm in the Fair Green car park.