Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Anyone thinking of emigrating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,985 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Can you take a sabbatical or move to a role under your current employment where you get to work abroad ? You could always move abroad after retirement anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Board.surf

Absolutely, it's all perspective.

Tax in Ireland works out much better for us than the 2 states we lived in. That's on a full year basis including tax return. As for what you get for it in the US? Almost nothing. You literally pay to visit state parks. A fine military, failing infrastructure, no public services, and additional local taxes to cover the rest.

Our health system is a mess so we pay €200 a month for private health insurance in Ireland so no waiting around. We get a service on par with $1,700 a month insurance in the US. Then the drug payment scheme provides our whole family with meds in Ireland for €114 a month. The same meds in the US cost thousands. Braces? €3,200 versus $13,000. Cable tv and internet €59 versus $109. Mobile monthly €15 versus $59.

Regarding minimum wage of $15 (€13) in your state, people there actually pay hefty tax on minimum wage. Here, after credits it's likely zero. Throw family income supplement into the mix, rent allowance, fuel allowance, childrens allowance and other benefits, and it's a very different picture. Then social housing (which yes, lots of people have) and you can't compare €80k "starter homes" to irish prices(which are ridiculous). I also owned a house there. At $5,500 a year for property tax, I'm sure you can see the balancing effect versus mortgage. US property tax also sometimes includes the bin charge but at €48 here per month for pur bins here it's no comparison.

Then the schooling for kids is a huge ordeal. You effectively get what you pay for in the US. More property tax paid = better public school. Here, it's a mixed bag but at least not based on our wealth.

All in all, property issues aside, my point was that it's not "impossible" to move back. It's actually no more difficult than it would be to move from Ireland to the US. We moved over and back twice. My other point is that no, it's not any more expensive to the US here. It just isn't. I work in accounting and have done fairly robust analysis on a regular basis.

I wish you all the best whether you move back or not. But don't be too hard on yourself either way. I've been through the consideration far too many times. Some things are much cheaper here (for one) and some things are much cheaper there (for another).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

Not a prayer in my industry I'm afraid, even if such an option were available (it isn't) management wouldn't have any of it.

I could opt for a career break (after checking the effect on pension) which I might do someday, but I can't really move abroad for a career break due to care requirements and their COVID hysteria. I will likely opt for the shorter working year scheme for 2023 which will at least give me something to work on.

I did think years ago about moving to Bamberg for a time - they did 6 month learn German courses there but as it stands work would be the problem there. Something I would like to do.

Work really is a pain in the ass in general!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭tinytobe

Since, you asked, I've lived and worked in Dublin for various American IT companies in sales with foreign language skills, and can safely say that I know Dublin more than well, - albeit it was 2017 when I was there last. I gotten exposed myself, first hand experience. I loved the city, everything, except the housing issue. I've had many colleagues at work who felt the same and in the end left Dublin, just because of housing. At a certain age nobody wants to share a flat other than with their boyfriend/girlfriend or married partner. Other than that Dublin and Ireland is easy to settle in to, mentality is in general open minded and friendly and also forward thinking, - but again, except housing.

Health care has gotten better, I think, - my experience goes back to 1999 and it certainly improved, car insurance is still more expensive than most places in Europe, but there is more competition now, and it's also better now than it was back in 1999. Certain things certainly changed for the better, but housing isn't one of them.

The issue with sky high rents in Dublin are the bidding wars for it, the other issue is that this subject has not only very very little international coverage, but also Irish people interestingly like to play the issue down, saying London or Paris is also equally expensive and other cities also have issues with greedy landlords or sex for rent issues. Well, I've never experienced those bidding wars in these cities like London or Paris, also the choice is greater and I've also always had a single viewing with no other punters present. Certainly zone 1 in London is expensive to very expensive and mostly zone 2, but finding a one bedroom or studio for under 1000 pounds is possible with considerable ease in zone 3, and without all these bidding wars, having to deal with with 40 or 50 punters. ( at least that was my experience in Dublin back in 2017, things may have changed, demand subsided due to the pandemic? - I don't know. )

Ludwigshafen in Germany is actually an example of something run down. Last time I was there which was actually more than a while back, it felt, somewhere in Eastern Europe just a few years after they've opened up. Ludwigshafen is mainly run by BASF, it seems the only big employer as well and that is always tricky. Pirmasens is even worse after the shoe industry left for China and other places in Asia. But, then France and Alsace is around the corner, so it's good for short trips at least, and the food is exceptional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

Anyone got a problem with the city centre full of litter and graffiti just email the council to get it removed.

I left 12 years ago on the eve of turning 30. I had nothing to lose. I was single, I don't drink alcohol, never cared for sport or the pub, so there was frankly nothing for me in Ireland. While I hadn't a penny to my name, I also had no debt. An opportunity came up for me to leave, and I took it. I've since got married abroad, started a family and have made a lot of money. I don't think any of that would have happened for me had I stayed. There are aspects of Ireland that I love, and aspects that I hate.

It's very gloomy. The towns and cities generally aren't nice, aesthetically, when compared with English and French towns, or German cities for example. Ireland is also very small. This has its advantages but it also results in a lot group-think, big-fishes-in a-small-pondism, and an informality that is just a little bit too casual for my liking - everything from dress, to forms of address, to writing.

I think the brain drain effect resulting from centuries of emigration is very apparent, too. A lot of Irish people are rough and uncouth, and crime often goes unpunished. I don't rate Irish intellectuals, media figures and columnists highly at all. The proud-to-be-Irish mentality is overdone and cringeworthy at times, though on the whole it is far better that the Irish feel pride and not shame in their national identity, unlike some other western peoples. Access to healthcare, even for those with money, is a lot harder than it should be. And it's hard to get ahead and make real money. If you're not into drinking, or sport, or God forbid drinking AND sport, life can be pretty bleak and lonesome for a young lad.

On the plus side, the populace tends to be quite measured and moderate, though I worry that this could change. The climate, although gloomy, is rarely life-threatening. We have no risks of natural disaster. We are not near any aggressive states that might attack us in modern times. The countryside is very pleasant if a little unkempt and denuded of broadleaf forests, and most Irish people are generally easy to chat to. One of the great pleasures in life is chatting easily about the little stuff with an easygoing Irishman or woman in the countryside. Ireland is quite safe compared to most other countries and a good place to raise children, on the whole -- but you may well lose your children to emigration. The food is excellent. The sense of community, both locally and nationally, is positive.

My sense is that there are a lot of Irish people who don't like Ireland very much, but they tend to move away and melt into their new countries without much fuss. There are also a lot of Irish people who move away but never stop talking about Ireland. They live with Irish people abroad, join GAA clubs abroad, hang out with Irish people abroad, and often end up moving back to Ireland at some point.

Generally, life becomes very easy materially when you have made some money. If you are young and have a chance to make a lot of money abroad and think you might enjoy the experience of living abroad for at least a while, I say go for it.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭growleaves

House prices have risen sharply in the US but compare income to house price ratio across countries (via online charts), and you can also get income to house price ratio for all 50 states.

The dollar's status as world reserve currency has a deflationary effect on assets within the US.

Ireland is objectively dearer than the US average for housing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭growleaves

The whole city is cleaned daily every early morning as cleaners go around with large machines spraying everything and removing litter and emptying bins.

Posters should go to a third world country or even some UK cities to see what a dirty city really looks like.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Your cost analysis may well depend on what sort of a life you want to live, and as you say, each State can have a massive difference.

For example, I've two kids, and two houses. Both cost almost the same at the time of purchase (circa $620k). (The houses, not the kids). One is in Dublin, CA, the other in San Antonio, TX. Both in large metropolitan areas. The latter has a higher property tax, but the monthly payments aren't too different, $3400 vs $3700. (TX's is also a fraction higher interest rate). I don't mind paying the extra $300 on the same cost house, though, as the one is 110m2 on a third of an acre, the other is 390m2 on 2/3 of an acre. I think I get my values worth, especially considering the size of house my family can spread out in. So the cost of living is pretty similar, but the standard of living for that cost cannot be compared. I had a quick scan for 390m2 houses in Dublin Ireland. Yeah, not within my budget.

Then there are intangibles. For example, one of my hobbies is simply not legal in Ireland. (I shoot various rifles and handguns). Another is more expensive for less quality. (Flying light aircraft). And much though I appreciate Mark's Models, it's got nothing on the typical American hobby shop. Some people don't enjoy driving and just get a practical car. Ifind my utterly unnecessary cars to be a lot of fun. As result, finances aside, I have a good disincentive to return to Ireland.

If you don't care about hobbies and pastimes better supported in the US, your relative quality of life in Ireland will be higher. And vice versa.

Where I'm going, I guess, is that when determining quality of life to help a decision on whether to relocate, financial assessments should not necessarily be at the top of the list. Life isn't a balance sheet or an accounting exercise. It's "what makes you enjoy life" first, and then figure out where is the most efficient place to achieve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

politicians are very influenced by what media have to say about their every move , the media is overwhelmingly left wing progressive and the NGO sector is entirely left wing progressive , this doesnt mean the general population are in the same space but politicians care more about what the above think than the general population most of the time , hence the tone of both FF and FG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭tinytobe

The thing is politicians only care about getting re elected, it means more money and a good income for them. Otherwise they'd have to look for a job in the private economy and my not succeed there.

Ultimately we have to ask ourselves as a society, do we really want rainbow flags and gay parades everywhere or every other day, or rather tackle real issues like affordable and decent housing and excellent healthcare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭zweton

Always liked the idea of moving to portugal (porto) and giving it a go...anyone currently living there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭shillyshilly

tough choice... how big are these rainbow flags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,874 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Düsseldorf is a lovely city. It's lively, has great shopping, beautiful architecture, an amazing selection of bars and restaurants, great nightlife and there's a hell of a lot of money floating around here. I've seen more Bentleys, Ferraris and lambos in the last few months than I have in my entire life up to that point.

You might say it's pretty average but it has every amenity Dublin has and more.

The one thing it doesn't have is my family and friends.

If I could afford to live in Dublin, in an apartment even half the size of the one I have here, I'd move back in a heartbeat.

My family live in mayo. Once the knock cologne flights start up on the summer I'll be able to get home quicker than I could when I was living in kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Murph85

Untitled Image

this is from 2013, but i havent seen a more recent one, the figures now, if anything, are far worse, given inflation and cost of living. 36,000 a year and you are paying wolf of wall street rates of tax, over an absolute pittance.I suppose that is what happens when you have mental welfare, as good as no property tax, now as good as free motor tax. The system is a broken joke...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Murph85

I have to put up the family home for rent. 90 minutes on daft and it has 20 emails already. Its depraved and I hate disappointing the ninety something percent of people who will email me, perfectly suitable candidates, but not get the property. The government need to start building large scale proper apartment complexes. They can halt hotel, data centre and commercial construction on anything that isnt underway, until this disgrace has ended as far as I'm concerned...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,962 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

You do realise this isn't an either/or situation?

I also seem to have missed the daily Pride parades. What time are they on at again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭shillyshilly

looking for clarity on this.... does that mean that Ireland's high tax is 50 odd % with anything over €32,000 (sorry not quoting properly) is charged at this?

If so, it is incorrect, with Ireland's brackets current 20% and 40% on personal income... 40% kicks in at €36k roughly at the moment.

But the tax brackets aren't as simple as that.... it would be better to take and example (like what does someone on €40k come home with)

For example (single person examples): Ireland has PRSI, USC and any other levys to also consider. Tax credits are also lower than a lot of countries, but that may be subsidised by other tax credits for low paid earners.. I think personal tax credit is something like €3.5k, so anything over that you pay 20% tax on.

Where in the UK, someone on £36k (roughly €40k), has a tax allowance of £12.5k, so you only pay 20% after that. There is national insurance also, but that is much less than USC, and the 40% tax band kicks in at £37.5k... but what isn't factored in is things that aren't paid for in Ireland, such as council tax and water charges.

Ireland still fares out much worse in the above scenario, but just wanted to show it's not as clear cut as simple tax band comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 transik

I have to agree to everything in previous post unfortunately, Ireland and most definitely Dublin is a massive kip.

And this is from someone who moved here 16 years ago, learn how to drive here and got his degree here.

Tremendous housing crisis, lack of quality permanent jobs, bad public transport, expensive healthcare and services are just a few things that are hanging over people heads like a dark cloud.

Unfortunately I can see progressively bad attitude toward foreigners little bit each year also.

North side of the city is really bad with gangs of tanagers causing mayhem on the streets without any repercussions from garda or city council.

It like that part of the city got stuck in 70's.

Weather is really bad and as a result its is difficult to find open air events al fresco dining is limited, so as shopping.

Rip off culture as its finest where a loaf of sourdough bread can cost you 4.5E -same bread in Porto 99 cents and they will slice it for you for free.

Massive issue with drugs, especially heroin I been travelling all my live across the Europe and I never seen such a concentration of addicts in city center anywhere.

Shooting in buses shooting McDonald's, straight on the streets.

I once saw two guys shooting heroin while viewing a flat in that building on north circalunar road, (landlord did not even looked that way)

Obviously by no means this is a full list of issues, housing alone could take 5-6 pages to discect I honestly think, in most cases you would be better of to life on 1/3 of your wages in places like Prague or Krakow and get better quality of life, certainly you wont be forces to share a small moldy flat with 3 others dudes.

Quite a few guys(Irish)in my work left for Switzerland, even though they have mortgages and families here. Ithink that says a lot,

All of this is hugely disappointing as i find Irish very capable people. Its a shame really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

I've been in Dublin 10 years and not had much issue. Just thinking back though I used to like going into town to have a look around but now I can't be bothered as its very dirty and there are lots of empty units but that could be just the times we live in.

As WFH all over Europe keeps growing then what is the purpose of a city other than a big food court and Dublin does not have the climate for the al fresco part of that, so just leaves the pubs and indoor dining.

If I could get the right job then I'd like to move, give the kids the out door lifestyle.

Just to point out that a lot of European cities have similar climates and manage it. You sit outside under shelter with heaters and blankets. The one thing I would say is that they have more pavement area. They turn a two lane city street into a one lane and expand the pavements. Or just pedestrianize the streets. Ireland puts cars first. And that's a big part of the problem. When most european countries started building after WW2 they had far denser developments. Loads of apartment buildings. Dublin and other towns/cities in Ireland spread out with low density housing. And the few high rise developments they tried were things like ballymun. So this meant that we ended up with a spread out city, that's got a poor transport infrastructure, some of the worst traffic congestion in europe (if not the world), with low density housing and no history of building up. So our solution is always to build more houses further out and that doesn't help improve the situation at all.

If we add in that post 2008, thanks to Nama, a large amount of apartments that were built in the celtic tiger years are now owned by REITs, who care more about the value of the property than the rental income we end up in the situation we're in now.

This disaster has been brewing for decades. The last 10-20 years with FF/FG have just been the icing on the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,927 ✭✭✭HBC08

Agree wholeheartedly.

Just one issue,please don't put the whole of Ireland and then Dublin in the same category. They're like night and day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Pissy Missy

If I don't move up on the career ladder next year, I'm thinking of moving to Aussie (perhaps Sydney specifically) for a year or 2 in 2023/2024. Seeing as all my friends went in their 20s and returned, I'm the 'rebel' considering it in my 30s before the age limit expires and whilst I have no children or ties, it makes sense. So as I may be going by myself, I'm just wondering is anyone else in a similar boat and would rather avoid going it alone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,065 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

As I’ve endured ….

non existent employment laws

incompetent or non existent healthcare from an outpatient rehabilitative point of view

elderly family members in their 80’s losing medical cards

but here Mr Ukrainian, have a gaff, cash, transport and whatever healthcare you need, all paid for by Irish citizens.

the US ? id be there tomorrow now . This country is basically done for.

all politicians are interested in is creating a social media image that will foster and enable them to be voted into power again. All positioning themselves as popular for and with Ukrainians as those votes are desirable as are those of their supporters…

with all the problems in healthcare, public transport, housing and so on, the overall quality of life here is plummeting and about to do so further…we’ll be decades before this is ever repaired. IF ever…..I’m going to bet we’ll leave the EU in the next 20 years, I’m going to put 100 euros on it. Italy, Greece, Poland and France will be gone in the next 10 years

I also hate this country, or what it’s become and what it will further become…. the only way is down…

ive loads of family in the US including a very prominent lawyer with certain connections, I’m never one for knocking on doors for favours but who knows, it was offered before.

to have a country that pays its politicians to work for and then to inform them that they are second class citizens in the country of their birth, where they are citizens, living and paying tax is an incredible amount of bullshît bullying, vomit inducing, thuggish buffoonery….on behalf of politicians, NGOs and more besides…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭zweton

How is life in Dusseldorf? Enjoying it there still?

Like it or not, you're visiting their locality, not the other way around.

That's not true though. If I take a train into Heuston, and then walk from the station towards the city centre, I'm pretty much guaranteed to encounter a variety of drug users. Either side of the river. Begging, squatting in corners, or simply wandering around the area. The same happens with some of the back/side roads in/around the city centre encountering drug users openly off their heads isn't uncommon. (considering property/rental prices in those areas, I can't imagine too many of these junkies living there)

I don't spend much time in Dublin, but I've had to go there recently multiple times for document processing.. and I've seen plenty of drug users on my trips.

Dunno much about Dublin being safe though. I've had a few friends who live there who say that their own habits have changed, and are generally more aware of who is around them, vs how they lived previously in Dublin. Like walking home after a night in the centre to Donnybrook, but now, considering that to be a little too risky. The perception of safety is important.. and I've heard too many friends say that Dublin isn't safe at night. It's not Paris.. but it's not safe either (like Kyoto would be).

Great. There's been a few days where it hit 38 degrees and as an Irish guy, trying to sleep in that was annoying.

My sister came over with her husband and kids. The kids loved it. There's parks and playgrounds near the apartment. I brought them to places like phantasialand.

My sister now loves and hates Deutsche Bahn. She's amazed by the 9 euro all you can travel ticket. The frequency of the trains. How extensive the network is.

She hates the delays and the way they change platforms at the last minute (Trying to get three adults, three kids and a large buggy accross a station at the last minute is stressful)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭maninasia

I recently returned to Ireland.

Dublin has gone backwards with the northside in particular not invested in by the state. Dirty roads, streets. Migrants and refugees shoehorned into tenement type accomodation in the North inner city (as long as its not Ballsbridge it seems ok).

On the other hand the provincial towns and cities have massively improved, country roads and motorways good. Clean roads, pavements, spruced up, painted up

Its shameful how little investment parts of Dublin are getting in comparison. Im a Dubliner and I have little interest in moving to Dublin, other parts of Ireland are highly preferred now.

I highly resent the massive funds and huge amounts of accommodation , hotels, community facilities , going to refugees in the middle of a huge housing crisis and at the same time crucifying levels of taxes for anybody on 60k euro plus and no national healthcare system.

I was on the dart during the heatwave few weeks back, nightmare. Its like it hasnt been upgraded since the 1980s. No attendants at the stations. No comminications almost. There's a lack of policing everwhere. No transport police and no police in most city neighbourhoods to be seen!

Connolly station is grubby and badly planned having one entrance and exit to the place for a main interchange station!

Then the whole area of Talbot is awful with addicts and homeless hostels or tenements stretching throughout the area.

Seen gangs and youths driving their scramblers everywhere no traffic enforcement.

Dublin council and the guards are not fit for purpose state of the place.

Its honestly very disappointing as a returnee to see how many things they are getting wrong especially how they threw the North inner city and parts of the Northside under a bus while frittering money away on other 'social causes'.

Post edited by maninasia on