Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Al Porter at it...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

I still think what granpappy did was a lot worse.

That "sentence" remains an absolute disgrace to this day.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,299 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Oh totally-imo, it was far worse. Especially when a guy who was a accused of throwing a cigarette butt out of a window got a week in prison. Granpappy got community service, and a fine.
    A complete scumbag.

But with Joshua, who'll be in a drug treatment centre over the holidays, there's the added problem of 'purchasing with intent to supply'.
    If he was caught with, say, 200 euros worth of cannabis, and the bag of cocaine-he could spin it as 'It was only for me-not for distribution'.

€22 000 worth of drugs is harder to spin as 'just for myself'.

But this is from the family that said Tim's 'child porn' was on the 'lesser' scale of child pornography.

They're all as disgusting as one another,tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 614 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

There's more than meets the eye regarding him getting done for that if you're to believe the local whispers.

I don't-too many conspiracy theories to make that a reality

Sometimes the simplest answer is the easiest answer.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

They have already proved they are above the law when granpappy got off with a fine.

Lots of paedos get away with that kind of stuff in the courts, it's not just because of who he is.

Effects wrote: »
    Lots of paedos get away with that kind of stuff in the courts, it's not just because of who he is.

Most don't have the money to pay a 40 grand fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Effects wrote: »

He wasn't tried by the usual paedophile sympathiser judge who let's paedophiles off daily in court with either a suspended sentence or a friendly warnimg. It was different so called judge.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,403 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

apparently he “wants to make people laugh again”

There’s an underlying sense of entitlement in his latest posting IMHO- like the world owes him a living somehow and because he was young and reckless, all should be forgiven and he deserves a second chance.

Which is all well and good except the world has moved on strangely enough even since 2018 and his style of “humour” is even less popular today than it was back then.

I really don’t see him being successful - radio stations won’t touch him due to commercial sponsors, a limited audience might pay a few quid to heckle him in some open mic night but I don’t see him scaling the dizzy heights of international TV or even Irish TV anytime soon .

Still not taking ownership for his really awful actions.

Your right it's a sense of entitlement, ready to make people laugh again...vomit. It looks very co-ordinated clearly spending some money on his PR.

If he turned up at an open mic I would walk out.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Not angling for a comeback. Announcing it, I would say.

Yep very much so. I honestly don't think people will forget, I won't.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,949 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

He must be dreaming.

And the media that carried it as a story today should take a long hard look at themselves.

The Late Late Show are dribbling over getting Al as a guest for the autumn season - they’re so desperate - it would be a very sad affair though if they did, especially for Al - I honestly thought he’d change career and start again- we’ll see how this goes but I feel he’s ill advised, whoever is giving the advice - I don’t wish Al any harm at all, in any way, and I imagine he has been through quite a lot mentally over the last number of years-but this is Just pie in the sky - the sooner he moves on and changes career the better

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭hunter2000

Was it Mickey problems that ruined his career? Schofield had Mickey problems and he is in his 60s.

He's been gone 5 years. How much penance is enough?

• Registered Users Posts: 616 ✭✭✭BoroMan32

Nobody is going to touch him.....

Now if only Al had committed to the same policy.......

• Registered Users Posts: 19,264 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I suppose it is a bit unusual for Al to want his comeback at this stage.

You should really do the decent thing and just give it back to him.....why you kept it in the first place is another question altogether.

Mickey problems? Huh?! If you mean he groped men against their will (and was charged but not convicted of sexual assault) then yes.

No idea what you mean about Schofield he came out a while back, what do you mean?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Dante

I thought the same. Obviously I'm not condoning whatever he did, but I feel like 5 years in the doldrums is a substantial punishment.

He should never be on a stage or TV screen imo. The site of him makes me sick, he was well known for groping men etc, I know one from first hand, he is still acting like the victim...he can f#ck off for good. Maybe do a different job and thank himself lucky he wasn't locked up.

The public and more importantly sponsors and businesses will decide- and I can’t see them signing up for his kind of humour - he’s done some writing for pantomime in the past I believe so maybe he could get a role as a gag writer or similar but I just don’t see the commercial value in on stage comedy that he’s trying to push- he’s going to have to accept that being a comedian means that not only do you have to be funny, you have to be socially acceptable so that the audience can relate to you - personally I think that train has left the station years ago - at this stage I think he’s just going to waste time and money on PR when it’s better spent on developing an alternative career

• Registered Users Posts: 3,934 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

• Registered Users Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Was looking at the responses on his twitter to his little letter. sickening how he can just show all the positive responses from deranged people who love him for some reason, what about all the people who are furious about him trying to weasel his way back into comedy? like how come OJ cant just show positive tweets on his twitter?

if it was women he was grouping I wonder would you have all them people saying thigs like " we all make mistakes AL, head up and cant wait to see you back on stage"?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

If he is a comedian then he can turn up at open mic nights and try to make people laugh. If he is that good then he'll be booked and his career will progress naturally. It seems like he wants the easy route of being welcomed back by Official Ireland and given a show on RTE or whatever.

Funny comedians are unavoidable. If he is funny then he'll make it. He'll sell out the venues and he'll be given additional gigs. It seems to me like he doesn't actually believe that he is funny.

If he wants to get his gig back with official Ireland then he has to accept the career is over and he has to do what other Irish showbiz types do when the gig is up. He has to become an activist or "nutritionist"

• Registered Users Posts: 16,510 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Interesting the number of people replying to that tweet including some that would be in the media welcoming him back and saying he had a difficult few years.

If the victims were women I doubt the responses would be the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,128 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Rather than not being convicted of anything the charges were actually dropped.

So he wasn't charged with anything.

Your right they were dropped before it got to that stage.

He is still playing the victim and blaming his flamboyant personality for shoving his hands down men's trousers, the fact some people are welcoming him back with open arms is disgusting.

I’m not in anyway “outraged” like some people here in his attempt to relaunch his career - I just think it’s naive, somewhat egotistical and I’ll informed - a PR company will take your money but that’s a simple commercial transaction, not an endorsement that they think you’re great and are going to be successful- and considering the level of coverage in all papers this morning, it’s definitely a PR campaign- and there’s certainly print and tv interviews to follow

He would have been better off studying for an alternative career like interior design or fashion or even plumbing 😂

I wonder what talk shows will have him on and to what degree he’ll get a grilling - I imagine Joe Duffy will entertain the “cranks” who are as we speak, emailing his show “outraged” 😂

A comedian by their very nature need to have a level of credibility - you can’t take the pizz out of things and make people laugh if you have a case load of baggage yourself - you’ll just look quite sad and pathetic on stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭GalwayMan74

What did he say in his whatsapp again ?

"ripped a young lads hole open last night" or something like that ?