Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tiernan Kelly Incident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Morgan. I do not know how he was left on by Coldrick. Booked at one stage as far as I remember but was still at it knocking lumps out of Shane Walsh off the ball. Linesmen could see it clearly but still did nothing about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

There was enough thuggery going on by those Meath teams and cynical play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I gather that that tends to be imagined memories by teams who they beat (Cork for example) being bitter and looking for excuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭riddles

The Tadgh Kennelly hit on Nicholas Murphy which received zero sanction was pretty bad in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Typer85

I saw the incident live, was seated 6 rows in from the sideline. Comer was isolated from his teammates heading for the tunnel. Kieran Donagh noticed this and grabbed two Armagh lads, pointed at Comer and more or less said “get him”. I have no affiliation to either team but this is what started the brawl Kieran Donaghy - Armagh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,781 ✭✭✭threeball

The amount of lads claiming to know who started what after watching the game on TV is a joke. Comer instigated it being the general consensus as that's when the cameras started picking up on it.

Morgan ran from 6 or 7 meters away and charged into Comers back as he was taking out his mouth piece and walking towards the tunnel. A dirty cowardly act, to add to the others he committed during the game.

Comer then confronted him and was promptly surrounded by 4 Armagh players at which point Donaghy tries to intervene and the Galway players start pulling the Armagh players away. Comer is held by 2 of the original Armagh players when the thug who has charged 80m across the pitch to get involved comes to comers side and starts gouging his eyes. A Galway sub dispatches him with a right hook before he is jumped on by 2 more Armagh players.

Apart from the right hook to the gouger (fully deserved and probably needed given what could have happened). Galway were completely in the right in this instance.

Armagh also have a case to answer for two assaults during play. A punch to Shane Walsh's face by Morgan and a punch on Conroy by Rian O'Neill. All of which 7 officials managed to ignore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭Grats

You have to wonder if officials are too hell bent on letting the match flow as was the case in the Munster Hurling Final. Officials ignoring unsavoury incidents is happening all too regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,781 ✭✭✭threeball

If they took the decision to deal with them then there'd be a whole lot less incidents to stop the flow of the game. Unfortunately come championship all willingness to follow the rules goes out the window. I cannot understand how they can let the players who make the game worth watching like Walsh and Clifford get the abuse they get. I know of no other sport where being elite is a licence to foul and abuse you at will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

"Morgan ran from 6 or 7 meters away and charged into Comers back as he was taking out his mouth piece and walking towards the tunnel. A dirty cowardly act, to add to the others he committed during the game."

This. I was at the match and this is absolutely true. I could see yer man running at Comer and knew when I saw it that a brawl was going to happen. Fair enough Comer ran after him, but only after bring barged into from behind...

I think this is the most interesting point tbh. Kelly wasn't a player or a sub on the day so what's he doing on the pitch in the first place? If i walked onto any pitch in any sport and hit a player i'd almost certainly get a ban of at least a year from attending matches, in football it'd probably be a lifetime ban. I also presume I'd be hauled off by the Gardaí and charged with assault like the Louth fans were a few years back.

Kelly probably should get the same punishment as anyone else here would get but I doubt anyone thinks he will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Creenkillfeen

Ok, so everyone seen the lads hand on Comer's face but what is absolutely unbelievable is the fact that there wasn't a mark on his face in extra time. I have seen first hand the effects of eye gouging. This was not it. Did TK attempt it? Probably. Did he actually do it. Doesn't actually appear so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,799 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

exactly why the Gardai should have beeen involved but in good old Ireland and the sway this organisation have in society…

Years ago now but I remember a Kildare club player receiving a 92 week ban for head butting a referee.

that’s how seriously the GAA take violence… he head butts a referee and he can return to play football looking for that article it was 96 weeks … https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/gaa-strikes-back-on-violence-26299057.html

The GAA is soft on violence….likes to set itself up as a standard bearer of this and that in society but..l

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

None of the Armagh players grew up during the troubles so it is wrong for people to assume that Northerners are rougher or more aggressive than any Southerner, it is not 1985.

The real issue is male egos, they don't want to be seen as weak men. I personally abandoned my ego as I accepted my place as a low tier man in society. What else can you do as a 5'6 weak man?

It is just the same as how young men fight outside nightclubs. They want to appear as the alpha Infront of their girlfriends. It's a horrific world when you sit down and think about it.

That's not true, maybe if the person is over 45 but growing up in rural Tyrone or Derry in the 2000s and 2010s was not really any different to any southern county. Of course there are towns with bad reputations like Lurgan, Portadown and Omagh but I am sure there are rough towns in Republic too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Sorry but comer was free and clear of the thing after a couple of seconds and couldnt get back into the eye of it quick enough. He chose to engage in it and that is clear from his actions. Also, he could always just, you know, actually let go of the various guys jerseys that he was hanging onto. A dirty act was carried out on him but that doesnt make him innocent of blame.

Ulster was the most important region in Irish history. Southerners like you try to belittle us but any well read Ulsterman will be content with his history. Southerners only wish they had the ancestry we have, the formidable clans we had. That's the reason the plantations occured in the first place, because of the fear the English had of the native clans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Cork also beat Meath in 1990 just in case you forgot.

I lnow that referee.

Couldnt hit him hard enough to be fair. Just joking. He should have gotten a life ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Poor Tiernan been getting dogs abuse online. Poor lad is a victim now. He must be a delicate and sensitive type, and likes to listen to Michael Buble in his free time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Even after the eye gouging attempts, poor victim Tiernan was very agressive when Galway 3 was chasing him and remonstrating about what he had just seen him do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

What are you saying, that there should be less condemnation of Tiernan Kelly because he didn`t achieve what he was attempting to do, or that you believe he was really only arrempting to dry the sweat of Comer`s brow ?

The scumbag was attempting to gouge his eyes intentionally.. He should be banned for life, including from all GAA pitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

That's right. It makes absolutely no difference to me. I'm just aware that Cork were very bitter against Meath in the 80's. That they beat them in 1990 didn't seem to change that fact. Maybe some still hold that grudge, but there hasn't been that much between them in terms of important games since then.

Post edited by Donald Trump on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

You do realise that other parts of Ireland were planted as well and had formidable clans to repel the invaders don't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭Quitelife

What about the garda that stood 5 metres away and just looked on doing nothing?? looked too lazy to move unless there was a free meal been served.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

He should be looking at cooling his jets playing basketball or something for most of his career, the dirty tinker.

If the GAA won't deal with this carry on after the whistle then they should be the ones sanctioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭HBC08

This nonsense has been trotted out by a few clueless people including yer wan on The Tonight Show on Virgin Media.

So a row is happening between a large group of males,all physically strong lads and going at each other,you expect a one Gard on his own to wade in there?

I was sat a few rows back,it was the worst row I've seen in Croke Park since Mayo Meath in 96 which I had a good view of aswell.I imagine a Gards training would say if he's on his own not to wade into a crowd of 20 lads fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

The 'fear' in Mayo is beginning to kick in. It probably won't happen.. Then again it might...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭spurshero

Would be funny if it does … I have a couple of Mayo pals and there good lads but they have told me straight up they wouldn’t be able to handle Galway winning an all Ireland after they have being so close for the last decade ! I think for some it would be nearly worse then them losing another final .. if we beat Derry they will really start to panic !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,511 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

It's true, and if two people on the street (in the crowd) started fighting you'd imagine they'd be arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

What was one Garda going to do in a melee of about 30 players? Start lashing the closest players with a baton?