Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tiernan Kelly Incident

1234568»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Clare in Exile

You are just showing how much the culture of this rubbish is ingrained in many GAA people. I did play, and never engaged in that crap. As someone earlier said, rugby is a much more physical game yet it doesn't have half as much rubbish going on.

I like to see a good, hard physical game with some nuance to it, played within the rules. The other stuff is best left to the Neanderthals...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭SunnySundays

What are the GAA actually waiting for? Serious sight impairment or loss of an eye.

There's no place for eye gouging in the game and inconsequential punishments like this won't do anything to eliminate it from the game.

It's also a joke that Sean Kelly will have to appeal him ban, which we all know will be rescinded. He was one of the most calm on the pitch and was trying to calm things down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,956 ✭✭✭Russman

Apologies, I haven't been through all 12 pages so this may have been covered, but if yer man wasn't part of the match day squad, wasn't a sub or a player or a medic etc., he's essentially a spectator in the stands and yet gets away with running onto the field and assaulting someone. If it was me who ran onto the pitch and did that, the authorities would definitely be involved, why are they not in this case ? Can't quite get my head around that bit tbh, regardless of what county he's from or not from.

Also, how can rugby players and soccer players and players of other sports make their way through a tunnel at half/full time, but somehow its a problem for GAA players ? I fully get its far, far from "all" GAA players, but the narrative that some commentators put out, that its crazy to have players using the same tunnel really just seems to justify these brawls. Almost a "....ahhh shur what do you expect....."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭SunnySundays

And it's about time they started using dressing rooms the opposite side of the pitch.

Genuinely think the GAA are happy to facilitate the "occasional melee". If they weren't they would be doing more to reduce/eliminate them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

6 months suspension definitely correct for tiarnan kelly imo.

Can anyone recall if these gouging incidents received similar length suspensions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,029 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

They wont do that. Much too sensible.

Armagh have accepted the ban and will not appeal. What a surprise.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭squigglestrebor

Absolute imbecile. So you want it to keep happening? Cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Shank Williams

Gutless stuff from the GAA- what a surprise

I suppose at least TK can turn up to a game as a spectator (effectively what he was in this case) in his trackies and hop onto pitch if he gets a hard on for a bit of eye gouging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

Whoa whats with the name calling?

Absolutely do not want gouging to continue. Its always been highly dangerous. I just asked if previous incidents received similar suspensions.

Do you happen to know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭squigglestrebor

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,956 ✭✭✭Russman

If only there was some middle ground between a dig and a cuddle, eh ? like, I dunno, maybe standing tight to your marker and not punching him……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

No, it is most certainly a Tiernan Kelly issue too. He let himself get so wound up that he stuck his fingers in a guys eyes and could have caused serious, permanent damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Great stuff, thanks for the suggestion there lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,614 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

So, he’ll be back for January.

miss SFA in the way of inter-county football…

I presume he is banned also at club level due to the severity of the offence… im open to correction but that used to mean both matches and training….

Like I said earlier in the thread, 2 people were convicted of assault for a shoulder and shove on the referee after the incorrectly awarded try goal for Meath v Louth in 2010. If someone put his fingers in my eyes I'd be straight to the Gardai.

For your second point it's because of a pathetic bitch "hard man" culture. Ball is out of play for 40 seconds and the camera will show 2 or 3 different pairs of players shouldering and trying to get a reaction. But now that's a real hard man supposedly, goading and goading and hoping you can lie down and pretend you're injured to get him in trouble. It's the kind of thing that even when I was a kid if someone did they'd get a hiding when there was no teacher around and they'd cop themselves on. It's pathetic and I struggle to get through a football match in the last 5+ years. If they want to have a fair fist-fight then go for it but it's sneaky, pathetic stuff they prefer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭celt262

Mayo Supporter gets 1 year ban and didn't lay a finger on anyone. The Armagh supporter got 6 months for assaulting a player. Doesnt make any sence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Will you go away out of that. Realistically Cork should have beaten Meath in 1988 but the referee who was a Kerry man played 8 mins overtime and allowed Meath to draw game. Cork were better team in 1988 in both games but somehow lost. Meath were better team in 1987 no doubt. Cork were better team in 1990 as scoreline reflected. Meath were terrible against Down in 1991. Meath were better than Cork in 1999 I will admit. But the hammering Cork gave Meath in 2007 made up for a bit of that. Meath haven't been seen since 2001 though for a county that supposedly is producing all these fine conveyor belt of talented forwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭celt262

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭pgj2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭Sonny678

Between 1987 and 1990 Meath played 5 massive games in Croke Park and lost once. Meath are considered by everyone the better team. Any of the lists of the greatest teams ever 87 88 Meath team are always there. Cork 89 90 are rarely mentioned above Meath. Meath had better manager better players and particularly better forwards. Cork were heavily reliant on Tompkins. Meath were the better team in most games. Even when Meath played poorly Cork struggled to beat Meath.

1987 All Ireland final Meath won pulling up by 5 pts. Much the better team. The game was over as contest with ten minutes to go.

1988 Draw All Ireland final. Yes Cork were better team. But still couldn't beat Meath. When Meath played well Cork always lost. Cork played well they couldn't beat Meath only once in 1990.

1988 All Ireland final replay. Meath were better team. Meath had 14 men from 10th minute and still Cork couldn't beat Meath with extra man. Meath showed great grit determination and were deservedly winners. Meath in those years had Cork in mental straight jacket.

1990 League semi final in Croke Park. Meath again beat Cork and were much better team. It was 4 pt win it could 7 r 8 r 9. Meath again the much better team dominated the game and kept Cork scoreless for last 20 mins of 2nd half.

1990 Cork won at last by 2 pts. Probaly poorest performance by that Meath team. Harnan was huge loss for Meath. Meath unbelievably had great goal chance at the end that could have won the game.

Yes Cork won in 07, but Meath have won last 2 matchs. And are unbeaten in 3 of the last 4 games between counties. Meath beat Cork by 9 pts and 6 pts in last two game and drew v Cork in Cork in recent years also.

Meath 87 88 were better team than Cork at that time. 5 games between counties 1 Meath loss. How come everyone in the media anx in the country was saying in 1987 1988 1989 1990 up to 90 All Ireland final Cork couldn't beat Meath. That's what's everyone was saying. The reason was because it's true. No one outside Cork r Meath thinks Cork were a better team. Of course in langerland they believe different. I have yet to find a person outside counties that thought Cork were better team.

Meath have some greatest players of last 50 yrs. Other than Tompkins who was kildare man, name 1 player on Cork that could be considered the best or one of the best in his position in the last 50 years.

O Malley is considered best right corner back by many along with Marc O Se of the last 40 r 50 years

Martin O Connell is officially the greatest left half back ever.

Colm O Rourke is considered one of the greatest forwards of the last 40 r 50 years

Brian Stafford is considered one of the best freetakers of last 40 r 50 years

O Rourke Stafford Flynn is concerned greatest full forward line of last 40 years and only Egan Liston Sheedy is better.

Meath had better footballers and only lost in 5 games between counties. Meath were better team. No one think otherwise outside Cork.

1987 All Ireland final Meath beat Cork by 5 pts

1988 All Ireland final Meath draw with Cork

1988 All Ireland replay Meath beat Cork by 1 pt

1990 League Div 1 semi final Meath beat Cork by 4 pts

1990 All Ireland final Cork beat Meath by 2 pts

5 games in Croker Park Cork won once, Meath lost one of the 5 games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Succinct if nothing else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 The Notorious Larry Duff

Meath introduced thuggery to the modern game.

The 96 team were worse than any team that ever came out of Ulster on that front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

🤣

Are you the writer of Hi and Lois? Because you are making me laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,690 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

Well what an entirely useless contribution.

Only two extremes possible.....either an entirely blind Armagh fan or someone who has absolutely zero direct experience with Armagh ball.

Enjoy your laugh, and continued naive cluelessness about club level football in Armagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,589 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

If there is any justice Comer will be lifting Sam Maguire this wknd en route to winning player of the year, and this Tiernan idiot will get stung by a very nasty wasp.

I'm afraid it is the vague and vacuous nature of your comments that are simply there to support what looks like a rant.

"An awful lot of Armagh clubs...", or "to a much greater extent...", or indeed "...many more generations than in any County I know".

Just throwaway remarks that don't really provide anything in terms of evidence to support your viewpoint.

Here was me thinking I was making a passing comment on a random website, not standing to give evidence in a court of law.

Wind your neck in, I'm giving my opinion and have zero requirements beyond that.

To be dragging a thread back up that no one was talking about for a fortnight for this nonsense.....ah get over yourself.

Post edited by Fionn1952 on

Perhaps, but it beats the pointless and whinging approach you're going for yourself.

Amusing for someone who has contributed absolutely nothing of substance in this exchange to complain about the vacuous nature of another post.

Keep going with your much more high brow laughing emojis and concentrated nothingness though buddy. I'm sure it'll make you feel better when you're out coaching the Crossmaglen under 9s to lead with an elbow or to, 'accidentally' catch an instep or two with the studs.

Some lads need to get over this. Time to close this down. The lad got 6 months suspension and rightly so and people need to move on from it.

To be fair, I don't think there is any quibble with the suspension. Six months is - in my opinion - appropriate.

My own issue was the nature of the response or responses. There was justifiable anger amongst many posters about the incident, but that quickly developed a momentum that saw the discussion descend into hysteria, with much of that based on premises that were simply absurd. I simply tried to call one of those out but got nothing in the way of substance in return.

If the Mods thought it appropriate, then by all means close the thread.

You offered nothing of substance and received it in return. Get off your high horse, your pseudo-intellectualism is incredibly transparent.

I've a long stretch of experience dealing with club level Armagh GAA, I have family involved at club level Armagh GAA.....you have added precisely zero beyond sticking your fingers in your ears and shouting.

If you'd bothered your arse to actually make a point, perhaps I could've addressed it, but you've landed in with a few throwaway nonsense comments and now you're trying to pretend you've some sort of highground?

Catch yourself on, take a deep breath and if you want to actually discuss the topic, I'd suggest you respond with a counterpoint (or even a starting point) rather than the vapid nothingness you've added thusfar. I'd be happy to discuss specifics, but you literally haven't presented a point to discuss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,589 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

I don’t think TK should be allowed into Croke Park on Sunday. He should be made give his tkt to a homeless person or a charity. If his bird is going with him then sane should be done with her tkt.

'Bird'! Please tell me you are a child of the sixties / seventies! Brought me right back to the Benny Hill / Dick Emery Shows, did that!

Thanks. 😀