Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tiernan Kelly Incident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Well to be honest, if that is the attitude people would take, then Id support the gaa appealing themselves so the process continues. They can then play the semi final in the meantime with bans standing pending appeals.

At the end of the day, they ARE contributing to a melee so they deserve punishment. Everyone pricking about with loopholes at every turn is only bringing the game into disrepute and dragging it where it shouldnt be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,549 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Not how it works. The highest appeals body in the GAA is the Central Appeals Committee. It cannot appeal against it`s own rulings.

It was the Central Appeals Committee that overturned the Competitions Control Committee penalties imposed on 4 Armagh players from the melee with Donegal in the last league game of the season. The Competitions Control Committee can again impose sanctions for Sunday for contributing to a melee, but it would only be farce as Armagh`s successful appeal to the Central Appeals Committee set the precedence and an appeal to the Central Appeals Committee would again be successful.

Until the GAA clarify what constitutes a melee then it is what it is, and something being the county that went through that appeals process and seeing the outcome off, Armagh and their management would have been very aware of having nothing to lose from being involved in their third melee this year alone. Handy to be aware off if in such a melee a player throws a punch are grab a player in a headlock as it is then a completely different offense with little chance of a successful appeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭Sonny678

I phrased that wrongly above. I knew Dwyer and Boylan are only the managers who won All Ireland with pile of U21 players. Sean in 1996 and Micko in 1975. I meant to say that, just phrased that wrongly. They also took teams from nowhere to win Sam along with Heffernan, McGrath and John O Mahony. And Heffernan and Boylan are the only managers to win football All Ireland with no underage sucess. Micko nearly did it with kildare. Underage sucess is winning or least reaching minor or U21 All Ireland final.

The new All star footballer of the year award not Texaco, began in 1995. The only players to win that new player All star footballer of the year award twice is Trevor Giles and Brian Fenton. When Fenton won it recently, people said he was only 2nd player to win this award twice, referring to the new All star Footballer of the year award.

All Star Footballer of the Year Award 1995 to 2022 Giles and Fenton won it twice, the only players to do so. This is the only footballer of the year award now.

Texaco Footballer of the Year Aaward 1958 to 2011 Jack O Shea won 4 times

We are both right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭BarneyJ

The GAA should amend the rules to introduce 3 levels of melee, a bit like Met Eireann's weather warnings. So you'd have:-

Yellow level melee - basic melee consisting of pushing and shoving, squaring up to each other with handbags dangling, chests out and bumping up against each other, "feck off ya bollix", that sort of stuff.

Orange level melee - yellow level melee with added kicking, ripping jerseys, the odd haymaker thrown, and some headlocks.

Red level melee - orange level melee with added eye gouging, spitting in the face, or stamping on someone's head.

No punishment required for yellow level melees. Red cards for orange level plus a ban for a few matches. Offenders caught at red level melee behaviour - 6 months ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Formosa

Great nostalgia there...I'm a Kilkenny man so not greatly qualified on the subject but I loved that Meath team of the late 80s...they really took no ****.

Even though they lost that day, Mick Lyons getting Colm O'Neill sent off in 1990 was a classic GAA moment and legendary Lyons.

I can't remember now, had they anybody that played on the 4 winning teams, 87 to 99?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭Sonny678

Martin O Connell and Colm Coyle won 3 All Ireland medals in 1987 1988 1996. Martin O Connell played in 1997 and was injured in 1998. Sean decided to drop him in 1999. So Martin lost out on being only leinster man outside Dublin to win 4 All Ireland senior football titles in last 100 years.

Outside Dubs only 4 leinster men have won 3 All Ireland football medals in last 100 years they are

Sean lowry 71 72 82 Offaly

Martin Furlong 71 72 82 Offaly

Colm Coyle 87 88 96 Meath

Martin O Connell 87 88 96 Meath

Outside great Wexford team players 1910s 4 in a row team and Dublin players no player from leinster has won 4 All Ireland senior medals in football. 4 All Ireland football medals Outside kerry Dublin players and that Wexford team in 1910s 4 in a row team are unusual. Of course Galways Mattie McDonagh won 4 All Ireland senior medals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

5 and a half months for eye gouging, absolutely pathetic by the CCCC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭squigglestrebor

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭NedsNotDead

And what exactly does any of this have to do with Tiernan Kelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭threeball

Pathetic, as well as giving Sean Kelly a one match ban for doing nothing. He already missed 20 mins of a game he should never have been sent off in and now a potential semi final too. Time to wrap up this CCCC mess and move to a proper system with proper rules, administered in a proper timeframe. This will now trundle on til next friday or Saturday and Galway won't know where they stand. Armagh who caused the whole thing will lose lads for a league game or McKenna cup. Total farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

Kelly will be back for McKenna Cup.... Truly is a pathetic response by the GAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

GAA has truly bottled it here - effectively its a green light for this to happen again. Very disappointing.

You'd have to worry about player welfare on the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

Incident needs to be taken very serious by GAA if they want to show they will no longer accept this as 'normal' behaviour & part of the game.

Buck should stop with the head GAA not just the Teams & players that bring the shame on thier specific county.

The field of play should not be a free for all - every player should know they will be punished when caught.

GAA organisation needs to be punished (eg advertisers withdrawing)

Team Management need to be punished

Players need to be punished

Socially it needs to be agreed that these serious incidents should no longer be tolerated as part of the physical game.

"Daytime TV for family to watch sporting entertainment" - Allowing these incidents develope makes a complete joke of that.

Unless the GAA are financially punished, nothing will change.

Sligo Metalhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭gigantic09

The Kerry player ,o Sullivan I think got a longer ban in 2016 for using a contaminated product containing a banned substance(they acknowledged his action wasn't deliberate).

Kelly getting 6 months in the off season makes no sense .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭rolling boh

No real surprise that the usual ridiculous sanctions are handed out. The lack of proper discipline in GAA matches is a huge problem and I think its high time clear rules were established and players and managers respected them . Almost after every game beaten teams are blaming officials for them losing the game . County boards etc should stop trying to look for loopholes at every opportunity to get their players off no matter what they did .Not a fan of rugby but I admire the general respect the refs get and proper bans are dished out as far as I know .

One big gripe I would have with this incident, and the thread title here highlights it, is the emphasis on Tiernan Kelly.

This is a long way from being a Tiarnan Kelly issue.

Its not even an Armagh issue, its a GAA issue and Armagh appear to have incorporated it into their gameplan.

Which is the big mill, where everyone piles in.

Also, by far the most dangerous thing that happened on Saturday was the shoulder to the head. Another common occurence in GAA matches.

I wonder if someone is blinded in a match could they sue the offender and also the GAA ? theyve proved they dont give a shite about player welfare.

Yeah, & you'd think back to Tony Keady and the 12 month ban he got for doing next to nothing.

• Administrators Posts: 54,929 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

These x week bans are something that they do in rugby too and I really don't agree with it. It allows the system to be gamed too much. It sounds like a decent suspension, but in reality what's he going to miss here, club matches and 1 Armagh match? He's getting off light. I'd bet anything that when calculating this ban they looked at when Armagh will play again etc, it's totally wrong.

Kelly should be banned for a specific amount of Armagh senior fixtures, or else banned for the entirety of the 2023 league and championship. Forget about the number of weeks.

He committed the offence in an Armagh jersey, and that's what the punishment should be depriving him of. Should not be allowed to serve punishment for offences committed playing for Armagh in club games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭Xander10

I felt the opposite. I'm not one bit surprised that the GAA again have been lenient on violence. It's tolerated week in week out and they have a record of sticking two fingers up to media and public opinion.

They policy of giving two week bans that then expired midnight before the player was due to play the next game was a laughing stock.

Post edited by Xander10 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Disgraceful, it should have been a minimum of two years.

I stupidly thought this time would be different. The amount of pure buffoons on here talking about dublin and meath teams doing similar , thats exactly the shagging point, it needs to be stopped. Deliberate eye gouging should come with a career ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Far be it for me to defend a Meath man but you leave Sonny alone, he knows his stuff and loves a good aul write up. Game ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,408 ✭✭✭Gusser09

6 months is about correct. Hopefully the young man and Armagh learn from this and move on. I wouldn't be for crucifying a young man too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

So currently Sean Kelly is going to miss captaining his team in an All Ireland Semi Final for reasons unknown to all and Tiernan Kelly is going to miss zero Armagh games.

Presumably common sense will be applied and the former will be reversed but jeez this disciplinary process is an absolute farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Galwayhurl

As things stand, Sean Kelly is punished more than Tiernan Kelly.

Sean is to be suspended for the semi while Tiernan won't miss any county matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

They might as well be honest about it and write it into the rules - clearly the GAA will happily tolerate a certain amount of on and off field fistycuffs and wrestling. Once it doesn't get too much out of hand or get too much exposure on TV etc. Just part and parcel of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Fattybojangles

6 Months is about right to be fair hopefully no one gets off on dodgy technicalities like usual.

Totally agree. far as I know the league does not start until January so he will not even miss a league game. The only team to suffer will be his club side. Armagh made a total joke of the system when they appealed and won getting four off after the melee with Donegal. The GAA had to have seen that but sat on their hands, which to me, went a long way to causing last weeks scenes.

Even the latest sanction show the GAA know that the whole procedure is not fit for purpose with the one match bans on two Armagh and one Galway player. Especially if the Galway player is the one that deservedly decked Tiernan Kelly. It`s just show on the GAA`s part hoping for no other embarrassment by anyone appealing.

The whole disciplinary procedure needs to be overhauled and these loop holes that are being exploited by lawyers on appeal shut off once and for all. Increasing the penalty when an appeal is not successful would make counties think twice before appealing. A sanction system should also be put in place to sanction team management where there are repeated infractions occurring under their stewardship as a lot of what is going on is not dreamed up by individuals or groups of players off their own bat.

It`s not just a case of them bottling it. It`s a case of them knowing that after Armagh winning their appeal two months previously the sanctions for contributing to a melee were unenforceable and they did nothing about it.

How could they do that though, when they had set a precedent with philly mcmahon in 2015 getting much less than that? It would be overturned on appeal.

This rubbish with appeals and loopholes is sickening. The reality is nobody wants to fix it because it isnt coming before congress.

The thing should be run like the English FA. Strict and no bs. Dodgey appeals see bans extended. These threats of court proceedings shouldnt be tolerated.

Irrelevant to the process in fairness. It is a knockout competition, that is the nature of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,408 ✭✭✭Gusser09

I see TK has accepted his ban. Well done young man. Best of luck for your future GAA career.

They need to switch to an x number of games for inter county team ban. The team you committed the actions as part of should obviously be the team that pays the price.

Sure at the moment, if you’re not overly concerned about club (fair enough majority of players would be) and you’re losing by ten points with a couple of minutes to go, you have a licence to do almost anything.

Ah here….

Some of the reaction to it was over the top but at the same time, he hardly deserves praise for accepting a ban that will have zero impact on his inter county career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,807 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

So everyone but Tiernan Kelly gets a ban.

Fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

The old dig as you come on is just a welcome to championship. Never any real intent in it. It happens in club games all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,465 ✭✭✭jacool

Lads, can we please wait until perhaps someone loses an eye or gets partially blinded or whatever?

Then we will reconvene, do a bit of tut-tutting and hand-wringing, while complaining about the "meejia making a mountain out of a molehill".

Finally, we can then do nothing, or perhaps, apply a ban that doesn't actually cause any hardship at all.

We are, after all, an amateur organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭threeball

Load of muck. Finnerty had 40mins of championship behind him on top of 3 other games. Which was a lot more than the lad throwing the digs had. Coming on and throwing shoulders and digging lads should have been consigned to the 80s. Happens all the time and only ever leads to bother. Immediate yellow for anyone coming on doing that regardless of where you're from.

Not so sure - Armagh county board would be under a lot of negative scrutiny if they went appealing this one given the amount of attention it got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,664 ✭✭✭irishgeo

I suggest you bring that to your club have it put forward for the annual rules convention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,084 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The former GAA president on Drivetime now is absolutely spoofing. Terrible interview. Just waffle. Bad reflection of GAA mindset.

24 weeks is a joke. Not a single intercounty game. Well done CCCC.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Clare in Exile

This is at the heart of the issue, and needs to be addressed. "The old dig" is not part of our games, I don't watch them to be "entertained" by such crap and I would question the IQ levels of anyone who finds such rubbish acceptable.

Why oh why do we still think it is part of our games to see a lad coming on as sub proceeding to engage in a rutting contest with his marker, and just laugh it off? Also, a bloody great game in Croke Park last Sunday has been totally overshadowed by the crap that went on at the end of normal time. It's a massive own goal for the GAA.

As for the six month ban - it should definitely include a fixed number of intercounty matches as well. As things stand the Galway captain has received a greater punishment thus far, missing a semi-final. His "crime" seems to be that he was...the captain.

The mind boggles...

Yeah and he was only captain because his club won the county title. First time ever I believe.

I do think he will play the semi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭thesultan

Should they not state that possibly that half the suspension would be for the intercounty season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Have you ever actually played GAA... Do you expect a cuddle off your opposing player?

Armagh county board have no notion of appealing. The Tiernan Kelly 6 months will not even effect his being available for selection for the league. The only team it will effect is his club for the rest of their games this year.

The point I was making is if other Armagh players that were sanction was on the basis of contributing to a melee, then if Armagh did appeal, they would win that appeal as the contributing to a melee offense went out the window when Armagh won their appeal on the four sanctioned after the melee with Donegal, and that the GAA were well aware of that for the preceding 8 weeks and did nothing about it.

To me it`s why the sanctions were so lenient. The GAA by doing so are hoping nobody appeals to save further embarrassment. Galway as far as I know have appealed Sean Kelly`s red card. If that was issued for contributing then the GAA could save everybody the time and expense of a hearing and an appeal as they do not have a leg to stand on.