Minimum Wage - How can you survive ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Blarney_man

Came to Ireland in 2016 from another EU country. Started working for 19-ish grand at the time, that was just above minimum wage. Worked my way up, bought a house last year. Now working for just below 2x more than I started. Renting all the time and have a car. Not working in hospitality. Anyone over 25 shouldn't be working @ minimum wage rate, except if you move countries, continents, etc and starting from scratch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Breifne Blue

Thats why theyre desperate for Ukrainians to come in, they think they can exploit them for minimum wage and below jobs. Hotel and Hospitatlity always lobbying for relaxed visa rules. Can't even get other EU nationals to fill these roles anymore. And why would they, cost of living in Ireland and housing, car etc is sick. Minimum wage workers can't survive on it.

And if you ever get a good job, the Irish state will take most of your earnings and piss it away on some nonsense. Ireland 2022, only fools and horses work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Breifne Blue

When have you ever heard of politicians speaking up for low paid workers in Ireland. Never happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,203 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

€12 an hour isn't great pay either but I know its not easy for small business owners to pay their staff higher wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,709 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Its not great but it's a low wage industry retail is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Quitelife

No one has a problem with modest businesses paying 12 Euro an hour but it’s the Larry goodmans , Pat McDonaghs, Keelings etc that always want to pay minimum wage and less if they could get away with it .

extremely super rich individuals who want to get even more obscenely rich whilst their staff cant pay their rent - no morals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Quitelife

The Labour TD guy in Louth Ged Nash seems to be on the workers side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭maestroamado

Thank you for treating your people well... loyalty is two way thing...

You can have all of €14 an hour working in a state job with DAA...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

This wont be popular but there is a sense of learned helplessness amongst adults who are on min wage for many years. Im talking about people 30 and older giving out about their wages in the local Centra or Spar.."its crap money in retail it always was", and im thinking just get another job. You dont need to even upskill or go to college. There are lots of warehouse and factory jobs out there where you dont have to deal with the public and which pays very well.

Certainly beats just giving up on your career and financial prospects before you even reach your prime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,090 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

You know a good deal less about me than you think you do.

In the last 15 years, I've done a wide range of jobs. Few of them were my choice: supply and demand in the labour market meant sometimes I took what I could get - and showed up with a smile on my face. I also deliberately live simply, and match my living standards to my income.

The main issue with minimum wage for employees is not the absolute wage rate, it's the number of hours available, and their predictability. I've never quite been on minimum wage, but I've gone home with the same weekly income as it, when my temping job only offered 35 hours /week.

For people only getting 15 hours/week, even if you tripled the minimum wage (and drove inflation crazy), they still wouldn't be getting a "living" wage.

There's nothing wrong with taking a minimum wage job. The issue is with staying in it, if it doesn't offer progression.

Post edited by Mrs OBumble on

It's not just retail.. I know a variety of business owners (mostly services) who are struggling. Between covid, the changes over the last few years, increased taxes and greater regulations, it's become difficult to operate as a small business in Ireland, and many of them are up to their eyeballs with debt. They'd love to be able to pay their long-term staff better wages, but... yeah.

There's a lot of economic stuff in Ireland that never really makes it as far as RTE or the government publications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭a2deden

I live in the west of Galway, our life a million times better than it was 20 years ago ffs

Why do people just make up stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭TheTruth89

You don't it's mathematically impossible nearly, anyone thats on minimum wage imo would be nearly better off to just go on the dole and try get the whole lot off the government, slaving for 10.25 an HR is a waste of time.

Country is a disgrace tho, when you have both parents in a household working and still struggling to make ends meet.

Are you on the minimum wage... while i don't agree with all if what idaz said we need to have a look... i read recently that only 14% of the population can aspire to have a home of their own...

Correct about HSE... correct about over reliance on multinationals...

As a people i do not think our standard of living is overall as good as 20 years ago... it is for some and i am ok but overall the demands of modern life seem greater...

I may be completely wrong but thats what i think...

I just seen the above post and want to add couple 2 professionals i know said last year they were finding it difficult to buy ahouse...

Different perspectives, perhaps? My fathers family is from near Rossaveal (I've lived there myself for extended periods).. and there's little difference between now and twenty years ago, except for the continued population decline of young people (leaving for other parts of the country or abroad). Some improvements in convenience, and access to better tech has helped considerably, but most of the problems of twenty years ago remain there today.

Oh.. and you didn't counter anything I said... just a general dismissal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,203 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

This is true, I work in a warehouse, I'm on a good hourly rate plus overtime if I want it.

There is always a better job if people are prepared to have a look around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,553 ✭✭✭✭Varik

While some employers might be pulling a fast one in one way or the other for minimum wage that'd affect your take home.

It's minimum wage, in general you can't get paid less so it's not like your holding on to a decent paying job you hate.

Even if someone couldn't find a better paying job there's plenty of other minimum wage jobs that are less hassle, honestly I wouldn't work retail even if it was very well paid. It's not like it's an easy job and that's why it's paid poorly, it's just that it's more visible for people looking for work so they don't have to pay better as they can always find someone else.

There should be a rule brought in where the wages are reflective of the success of the company that way everyone has a vested interest, say the company is booming employee wages should be aligned with that success,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

There you go. While there are levels of course, at the end of the day they are trying to make as much profit as possible and are happy to squeeze employee wages to keep higher profits. And sadly its often the bigger ones get more help from the tax payer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,090 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

And what happens to wages if the company makes a loss? Do they get slashed to ensure breakeven?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭put_the_kettle_on

I think the department store in the uk John Lewis has sort of this as its business model, and pays its workers an annual bonus based on performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Right.. but do they brag about it as the OP maintains?

Yeah they go down it's only fair, but atleast everyone has skin in the game and you can imagine the work rate to improve things asap then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Hahah Sinn Fein will save us, will they? Worked out well in NI didnt it?

Can someone explain to me their economic policy in detail and how it will improve the situation for the average working person?

My instinct is the only people who will benefit from a SF goverment is dole scroungers, fake asylum seekers and the lads in balaclavas.

I dismissed your point because its flat out wrong. I lived in South Connemara, West Connemara and now Galway and just with technology the place is a million miles better. Just because the days of the auld fish/farming lifestyle is gone doesnt mean life is worse.

With a decent broadband, anyone in tech can and does work in galway easily again this is just technology

I was on minimum wage, some of my family still are. Life is easy in galway. Life on minimum wage in dublin, sure might be hard but galway lol

Tell us all the secret... ie rent would be a big one in Galway unless you stay with mammy...