F1 2022 thread - see post 1 for rules

Honestly to me that's a bit of a showing up when the battle is won and taking credit act. The new cars will mean a massive, massive fall in track limit piss-taking and a couple of kerbs/drop-offs per track would get rid of it completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭Hijpo

100%, no way the sides would go over a kerb as mush as they could last season anywhere without sausage kerbs was vulnerable. However, now in qualy Im guessing its a major thing of they skirt a kerb and incurre no damage, lap time is still gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

And he's standing next to Max! Hamilton not there, he knew what was up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

What about overtaking off the race track? Like lap 1 in Abu Dhabi?

Regulations are clear in that regard (Bahrain for example) but they were manipulated in Abu Dhabi with a "give up the advantage" crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,304 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Awe OK urges I see it now. Still why is the bottom picture upside down?

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭TheRona

I'm assuming the pic was taken on the other side of the car, and was flipped to match for comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,862 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,103 ✭✭✭✭flazio

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,789 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Not sure what point you're making and how does it address the question in the post you quoted? . But to be fair, I glaze over when there's a "whatsbout X indtance"

It would be the exact same story but in reverse. The same people would swap scripts, from team principals and drivers, to fans and even Drive To Survive. DTS would always prefer to tell the underdog being shafted story and it would be even easier to sell of the underdog was the young guy with 0 World championships rather then the old guy with 7 championships. But, they worked with what they had.

I don't think these things to need to be viewed along the really basic tribal lines.

Hold on.

You said the procedures were not applied correctly in regard to a rule change which led to Masi being "sacked".

You previously said it was a sporting disaster in relation to the race ending and was wide open to allegations of corruption.

The FIA report gets released today IIRC so the weekend is going to be dominated by one topic. But there will very little or no focus on decisions which had every bit as a big a bearing on the outcome as the SC at the end.

LH gaining a position on lap 1 by cutting a corner to a huge degree which goes against every previous example where you cannot overtake by going off track. Max was ahead going into the corner. He was behind after he exited. LH didn't bother with the corner.

Why is there no focus on that, or Toto telling the RD not to deploy the SC? Is that not examples of the sport being wide open to allegations of corruption?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,900 ✭✭✭Dave0301

The officiating was all over the place last season, and both Wolff and Horner had a role to play in that with their constant hounding of Masi. The culmination of which was an incorrect procedure being applied in the last lap that resulted in Max winning in the title. However, there were plenty of other incidents involving these two, this one is obviously just the most high profile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,960 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

It genuinely amazes me that some people still think what happened at Abu Dhabi was absolutely fine and that there is nothing to see here.

Anyway. To the race thread we go.

#butwhatabout. Why always whataboutery?

The decisions in the final laps had direct impact on who would win the championship and in reality they determined who would win it. They chose to err on the side of showbiz with a one-off interpretation of the rules. If you don't see why that gets more scrutiny than #buywhatabout whatever other instance, then I think you're being unfair to yourself.

Yeah that's true. There were regular calls for Masi to be fired in the F1 2021thread. In fact, some posters wanted Masi fired, but when they found out Toto and Lewis also wanted him fired, they changed their minds and wanted him to remain.

Great soap opera, to be fair. Liberty media won't mind any of this one bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Can ye get a room lads?! 🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭quokula

I see the FIA have changed the rules to allow floor stays for teams suffering from porpoising. As predicted, good news for Mercedes in their attempts to try and get back closer to the front.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,862 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Yes and no, it just stops the floor flexing but it won’t solve the bouncing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

That was allowed from last week during testing. Sky had a thing on them and basically they offer nothing other than prevent the floor from flexing. If anything the tiny bit of drag they cause is not optimal either.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,980 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Watched the first of 2 episodes of Duel tonight, a good enough watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,004 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I'm sure it's very complex but you would imagine even crudely limiting ride height would be better than what Mercedes are running at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 851 ✭✭✭ricimaki

FP3 was interesting. Red Bull still looking the best, with Mercedes closer to the Ferrari's. Porpoising was much reduced on Hamilton's car, but still bad on Russell's. I'd say that will be gone by qualifying

Haas and Alfa Romeo look like they have some pace. I think there were a few fastest sectors for the Haas!

Aston Martin, McLaren and Williams looks further down the grid.

Hard to gauge Alpine and Alfa Tauri's position.

Hopefully we have a 3-way battle for the pole and the race win, and a tight mid-field. Less than 2 hour until we find out

Masi hung out to dry by a multi billion dollar sport which uses pen and paper to identify lapped cars

Or you can actually finally admit that Masi did not observe the rules properly.

Its always someone else’s fault when it suits you. You were one of the very people giving out about Masi when he made judgements that you didn’t like and now you claim that he’s being ‘hung out to dry’.

The sporting body has admitted it, but yet you’re still claiming there is nothing to see here.

Masi made a mistake. The results stand. Move on.

No, I feel he has been hung out to dry by a multi billion dollar sport which gave him very little support which they admit they failed in and he was having to identify lapped cars manually. That's insane.

F1 got it badly wrong way more then Michael Masi did.

I never said he didn't do things correct, the narrative around that was "Lewis was robbed" completely ignoring anything else that went before (which IMO is very relevant) and even yesterday Damon Hill on Sky was pushing the narrative in the interview with Christian Horner.

The upshot has been clarifying what constitutes the race track, a hugely improved system for race Control, rules clarifications and a beefed up team overseeing race weekends. If F1 had got this right to begin with maybe the end in Abu dhabi would have been different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,308 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

It's terrible timing to release it just before the first qualification of the year - Dragging the whole thing up again.

Croft and Hill getting their chance again on Sky to cry about it - no mention of the fact that Merc more than likely lobbied Massi as much as Redbull last year.

It was a season, not just that one race. Hopefully we can have a great season ahead of us here now with more than two teams and two drivers fighting it out.

They’ve changed everything from the RD to the rules around the safety car and lapped cars because of what happened to Hamilton.

You can dress it up whatever why you want, he was absolutely robbed. For anyone to say he wasn’t now that the FIA said someone made a mistake in the procedures backs it up.

However, I maintained from the start that you can’t blame Max for any of that. You can say Hamilton was robbed but also acknowledge that Max is rightfully World Champion. It doesn’t always have to be a dick-measuring contest between one or the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,308 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Nice interview from Toto there on Sky - open and honest from him as were his feelings about the report.

This is it. I was delighted when max won, but I acknowledge that Hamilton was robbed. If the normal rules were followed, it would have been a boring finish, huge anticlimax and Hamilton would have won race and championship.

But they came up with a unique interpretation of some rules and failed to follow other rules in the name of making the show better. The championship was decided in that process and it happens that Hamilton was shafted. I don't think there was any anti Hamilton or pro Max bias. They were just collateral damage in the showbiz.