Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F1 2022 thread - see post 1 for rules

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

It genuinely amazes me that some people still think what happened at Abu Dhabi was absolutely fine and that there is nothing to see here.

Anyway. To the race thread we go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,044 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

#butwhatabout. Why always whataboutery?

The decisions in the final laps had direct impact on who would win the championship and in reality they determined who would win it. They chose to err on the side of showbiz with a one-off interpretation of the rules. If you don't see why that gets more scrutiny than #buywhatabout whatever other instance, then I think you're being unfair to yourself.

Yeah that's true. There were regular calls for Masi to be fired in the F1 2021thread. In fact, some posters wanted Masi fired, but when they found out Toto and Lewis also wanted him fired, they changed their minds and wanted him to remain.

Great soap opera, to be fair. Liberty media won't mind any of this one bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,773 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Can ye get a room lads?! 🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭quokula

I see the FIA have changed the rules to allow floor stays for teams suffering from porpoising. As predicted, good news for Mercedes in their attempts to try and get back closer to the front.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,980 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Yes and no, it just stops the floor flexing but it won’t solve the bouncing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

That was allowed from last week during testing. Sky had a thing on them and basically they offer nothing other than prevent the floor from flexing. If anything the tiny bit of drag they cause is not optimal either.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Watched the first of 2 episodes of Duel tonight, a good enough watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,903 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I'm sure it's very complex but you would imagine even crudely limiting ride height would be better than what Mercedes are running at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭ricimaki

FP3 was interesting. Red Bull still looking the best, with Mercedes closer to the Ferrari's. Porpoising was much reduced on Hamilton's car, but still bad on Russell's. I'd say that will be gone by qualifying

Haas and Alfa Romeo look like they have some pace. I think there were a few fastest sectors for the Haas!

Aston Martin, McLaren and Williams looks further down the grid.

Hard to gauge Alpine and Alfa Tauri's position.

Hopefully we have a 3-way battle for the pole and the race win, and a tight mid-field. Less than 2 hour until we find out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Masi hung out to dry by a multi billion dollar sport which uses pen and paper to identify lapped cars

Or you can actually finally admit that Masi did not observe the rules properly.

Its always someone else’s fault when it suits you. You were one of the very people giving out about Masi when he made judgements that you didn’t like and now you claim that he’s being ‘hung out to dry’.

The sporting body has admitted it, but yet you’re still claiming there is nothing to see here.

Masi made a mistake. The results stand. Move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

No, I feel he has been hung out to dry by a multi billion dollar sport which gave him very little support which they admit they failed in and he was having to identify lapped cars manually. That's insane.

F1 got it badly wrong way more then Michael Masi did.

I never said he didn't do things correct, the narrative around that was "Lewis was robbed" completely ignoring anything else that went before (which IMO is very relevant) and even yesterday Damon Hill on Sky was pushing the narrative in the interview with Christian Horner.

The upshot has been clarifying what constitutes the race track, a hugely improved system for race Control, rules clarifications and a beefed up team overseeing race weekends. If F1 had got this right to begin with maybe the end in Abu dhabi would have been different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

It's terrible timing to release it just before the first qualification of the year - Dragging the whole thing up again.

Croft and Hill getting their chance again on Sky to cry about it - no mention of the fact that Merc more than likely lobbied Massi as much as Redbull last year.

It was a season, not just that one race. Hopefully we can have a great season ahead of us here now with more than two teams and two drivers fighting it out.

They’ve changed everything from the RD to the rules around the safety car and lapped cars because of what happened to Hamilton.

You can dress it up whatever why you want, he was absolutely robbed. For anyone to say he wasn’t now that the FIA said someone made a mistake in the procedures backs it up.

However, I maintained from the start that you can’t blame Max for any of that. You can say Hamilton was robbed but also acknowledge that Max is rightfully World Champion. It doesn’t always have to be a dick-measuring contest between one or the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Nice interview from Toto there on Sky - open and honest from him as were his feelings about the report.

This is it. I was delighted when max won, but I acknowledge that Hamilton was robbed. If the normal rules were followed, it would have been a boring finish, huge anticlimax and Hamilton would have won race and championship.

But they came up with a unique interpretation of some rules and failed to follow other rules in the name of making the show better. The championship was decided in that process and it happens that Hamilton was shafted. I don't think there was any anti Hamilton or pro Max bias. They were just collateral damage in the showbiz.

Have to agree, as soon as it was brought up I was ready to mute but he spoke very eloquently and said it needs to be out to bed now!

Expecting delays for debris today once they're pushing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,346 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

From listening to the commentary it seems most teams fixed the porpoising issue by stiffening the suspension, will that cause problems on bumpier tracks like Baku?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,197 ✭✭✭✭klose

First qualifying was interesting as we all thought and it does indeed seem to be between Red Bull and Ferarri for now, Mercedes never got near the sort of times they were posting, I don't think P9 was representive of Russell's pace as he was giving a tow to Hamilton but he will have a tough job tomorrow.

I suppose one of the main talking point is Haas are looking punchy as does Bottas too, and that Aston Martin could be in for a long season, Mclaren way off the pace too.

Won't know really untill tomorrow have these new regs improved the cars ability to follow in dirty air, hopefully we are in for a good race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,609 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Seems like the Ferrari power unit has made a step, judging by the performance of Haas, Alfa and Ferrari. Mercedes-powered teams meanwhile are all struggling. Given that power unit development is now limited to only reliability, it could be a long season (or more!) for those teams.

Obviously early days but Ferrari look in good shape for the Constructors, given that Leclerc and Sainz are so evenly matched, relative to Max and Checo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,197 ✭✭✭✭klose

To be fair to checo he was "relatively" close to max today compared to last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,419 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Naomi Schiff is a good addition to sky's team so far.

If Mercedes are off the pace this year then a ferrari/red bull challenge won't have the British bias for sky, so that should be good for overall coverage too.

Did a rolleyes when I saw her, happy to withdraw it. 😂 She's been fine so far, if the channels were hiring that stand of female presenter across the board there would be a lot less resistance and quite quickly more female presenters on. I don't remember seeing Rachel Brookes before she started anywhere else but she's been solid-to-good in all I've seen her do.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Naoimi is a breath of fresh air. Doesn't overdo it, articulate and seems to really know her stuff. Great to see a change and I hope she has a good season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,419 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Is she replacing someone from last years coverage I wonder? One of the generic former drivers?

The only regular from last season I can’t remember seeing so far is Rosberg?!?

4 out of 5 of the teams disqualified in q1 wee Mercedes powered. One Honda and no ferrari powered car. That's pretty telling. The

After all the sh1t-talk people did about Bottas, I doubt many noticed that Bottas beat Russell. Great performance from the ferrari powered cars.

It's only the first race so its only one data point, but it was an interesting quali.

I wish people had noticed Bottas doing well...

image_2022-03-20_112355.png image.png image.png image.png image.png

Just a minute on the front page of Formula Dank. Lot of others, dupes, slagging Russell with his comments about P9 last season (bit harsh, but funny in contect). But yeah, well done to anyone who came along late last night with the air of a farseer to smugly point out something that everyone else had noticed.🤣