Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How can we integrate Unionism into a possible United Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭ittakestwo

The type of person who would relocate would be a stanch unionist. Realistically these people are more different to any other breed of a person in Ireland and Britain so they would be better staying here in Ireland amongst their own.

One thing brexit has done is shine the light at them and educated people in Britain and the rest of Ireland on how archaic they are. Could you imagine these people trying to settle into a place like Manchester and being constantly called a paddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,688 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

In the discussion about 18% (In a NICRA survey) saying they could not live in a UI. So what do you do with those among that 18% who simply cannot, like Arlene, afford the move? Force them to stay? Or create a fund to which they can apply.

Somebody who is not thinking about such things is not preparing properly in my view. Maybe there is another way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

You need to pay better attention, I've never once decided your identity for you, not my style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,871 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Fionn1952 in urging me to give you the benefit of the doubt in considering your proposal naive rather than malicious.

In general, I am prepared to do that. However, the problem is, as with so much of your thinking, you keep repeating the same discredited stuff even when people on your own side go so far as to say:

"I think it is a very naive idea, entirely implausible in practical terms and absolutely would be susceptible to the, 'when does voluntary relocation become....heavily suggested relocation' factor that Blanch highlighted."

It is at best naive, at worst malicious ethnic cleansing. In that context, the more you repeat the idea, the more people will be inclined to consider it from the worst rather than the best perspective. Accept it was a dumb naive idea, drop it, move on and people will forget it. Keep raising it, and people will start to believe you mean it from the worst perspective.

I know people on 'my side' who thought the GFA naive and it worked out. With the greatest respect, Fionn is not an oracle.

Why don't you tell us what you propose to do to assist people like that or would you just ignore them? No worries if that is what you would do. As well as working to integrate people who accept a UI, I would also try to help people who can't.

We made the mistake of consigning people to a state they didn't want to live in before and they were ignored too.

Well, first of all, I wouldn't have a united Ireland now, as there are too many people in that category.

I have also outlined various proposals that would greatly minimise the number of people who would fall into the category.

As such, while the problem wouldn't disappear, it would be greatly diminished. Maintaining some autonomy for the existing Northern Ireland state in a federal united Ireland together with membership of the Commonwealth is going to go a long way towards meeting objections. As for the rest, you can't please everybody, all you can do is make as many accommodations as possible to respect them.

I certainly wouldn't be introducing any scheme that had a whiff of "we don't want you here" about it. Your scheme does that and is hugely disrespectful as a result.

My problem is with those who won't consider alternatives to a single unitary state and propose voluntary displacement schemes to get people out of the homes they grew up in.

Not at all, my answer didn't fit your limited worldview and within your view of how this discussion should be controlled, so you dismiss it.

It is a valid and comprehensive answer and it fully addresses the issue. There is no need for any kind of a naive voluntary location programme in a properly constructed federal Ireland member of the Commonwealth.

You did not address what you would propose if a UI happened. You sidestepped the question.

I did. I explained what type of United Ireland is most likely to happen, and what the implications would be. My answer doesn't fit within your worldview of an exclusionary nationalist united Ireland (an outdated 19th century idea) and you cannot absorb it. You are stuck, a bit like the robot roaming around in Lost in Space shouting "Does not compute".

I won't be constrained by your artificial limiting of the discourse.

And you have been told )by me and Fionn) that there are a chort who will never accept a dilution of the union.

And you have zero plan for them. We can take it you will ignore them so.

*I don't have an exclusionary nationalist view blanch, that is another lie.

Look, I am not going to engage in a Fantasy United Ireland game, based on something that I don't believe will ever happen.

Much prefer to talk about realistic objectives for a united Ireland.

Those people will exist whether it is my 'fantasy' or your 'fantasy' sadly.

I wish to plan for that, you will ignore it, as far as we can see from your contribution.

Fine, we'll leave it there.

Yes, well, the problem of unionists who feel left out after a united Ireland is settled are the very last problem to be addressed in any plan. It is good to hear that your plan is so advanced that you have managed to get to the very last question.

So, now that it is in place, we can return to all of the other details in your plan about health, education, social welfare, taxation, language requirements, flag, etc. that you have obviously solved before getting to the end.

I'll leave that to the experts in those fields. I don't listen to random stuff about it from people with a negative agenda nor for that matter with unrealistic projections.

As for other stuff, I am only expressing what I would like to see as somebody who has no wish to force people into doing something they cannot stomach. You don't need expertise to express that, all you need is empathy.

As you are only leaving things you don’t know to experts, that must mean that you are an expert on voluntary relocation schemes. So, Mr. Expert, tell us about the long list of previously successful schemes you are aware of.

Or is this just one of those things that looks good on the back of an envelope after a few drinks on a Saturday night?

I'll tell what I have experience of, dumping people in a state they want no part of and ignoring them. And it isn't a re-location scheme no matter how much you snidely project. It is a response to people who need it, people who will decide themselves what it is they want to do.

So you have nothing, other than a silly naive idea that could have been construed by a few lads on the beer on aSaturday night with about as much thought and analysis. Think we can all agree to bin the idea once and for all.

Would you help them if they became refugees? When does your empathy kick in?

I think the last few exchanges shows your lack of understanding of your fellow country men and women, there will be a cohort who will try to leave whatever their resources.

http://www.orac.ie/website/orac/oracwebsite.nsf/page/refugeestatusdetermination-criteriaforthegrantandrefusalofasylum-en#:~:text=A%20refugee%20in%20Irish%20law,to%20avail%20himself%20or%20herself

A refugee in Irish law is someone who "owing to a well-founded fear of being persecuted for reasons of race, religion, nationality, membership of a particular social group or political opinion, is outside the country of his or her nationality and is unable or, owing to such fear, unwilling to avail himself or herself of the protection of that country......"

Are you seriously suggesting that in a future united Ireland, unionists will have a well-founded fear of persecution? Like, seriously?

I really hope this is another one of your late night back of a beermat ideas as the implications of your question are worse than the potential worst excesses of your "voluntary" relocation programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,680 ✭✭✭✭downcow

Francie any chance of answering my question. How much would you suggest would be sensible to give me to relocate to gb? A wee guesstimate will be fine.

Yes, the cohort I am referring to most definitely would believe that. Have you ever stopped to listen to them? That is what they believe. It doesn't matter what you or I tell them.

How much do you need?

Or a better question, 'how long is a piece of string?'

By the way, it isn't an offer to re-locate, the applicant would have already decided they can't live in a UI and wish to leave. Arlene has already said this is what she will do. Not everyone would be as well disposed as her to do that, though

I would imagine it would be a British administered fund with a contribution from Dublin.

No worries if you just want them to fend for themselves, I wouldn't support that.

No, Francie, to be a refugee, it has to be a well-founded fear of prosecution. That means a state apparatus, so what measures will your united Ireland state be taking to give unionists a well-founded fear of prosecution?

😁

Yes, I am sure you might lecture a refugee and tell them their fears were groundless.

When leading politicians there are capable of telling their faithful that some of those likely to vote for a UI are 'subhuman' what chance would you think there are of some of that faithful having 'irrational fears of persecution' etc?

It's got nothing to do with what you or I think blanch but how the refugee thinks.

People will try to leave this island if there is a UI, whatever their means. A sad reality, but a reality none the less.

We still have no proposals from you on being prepared for the possibility or how to help them if they need it. In your world they will be ignored, just like those trapped before were ignored and abandoned.

Francie, again, you don't seem to understand. There are clear legal criteria for someone to be declared a refugee. It isn't what you or I or a refugee thinks, there is law around the issue. Irrational fears of persecution don't buy it.

I am also unsure of where you think they can apply for refugee status.

"In practice, the application of the Protocol means that applicants from EU States will not be allowed to enter into the asylum process."

Now, there is an exception to this.

"These exceptions flow from failure to meet obligations relating to respect for human rights and the rule of law under the European Convention on Human Rights and the EU Treaties."

So, can you tell me, which parts of the European Convention on Human Rights is your puted united Ireland going to withdraw from so that unionists can claim refugee status.

Once again, Francie, you have been caught with your pants down, spoofing away as if you know something when it is clear that you don't have a clue. You tell us you have a plan for what happens to unionists after a united Ireland and it seems it boils down to the united Ireland abusing and persecuting unionists so that they can legally be refugees. I don't think you will persuade many people to vote for your version of a united Ireland.

Here we go with the pedantry again and the rabbithole.

Legal refugee or not, people will leave this island or attempt to, as per their stated intentions. You can challenge them in court if you want.

My empathy extends to not wanting anyone to feel they have been forced to do something.

Yours seems to extend to either abandoning them to their fate (that didn't work out the best the last time) or challenging their status in a court...I presume to compel them to stay put.

Whatever, you seem to have pulled the eject button on the substantive discussion and I ain't going down your rabbithole.

Christ almighty Francie, you really don't get it, do you?

You are the one who has said that they will be refugees, and when it is pointed out that you are completely spoofing about this, you call that pedantry. I have produced links to back up that you are spoofing, yet you haven't even explained what kind of united Ireland would cause them to be "refugees" as you tell us you are not expert enough to do so.

You haven't even thought through your idea thoroughly enough to realise that if a border poll goes against a united Ireland, you should be offering a resettlement programme to nationalist refugees if your idea has any merit at all. It just shows what a completely stupid idea it is.

It's been a good laugh though, working through this fantasy idea.

It has been explained to you now several times by posters that there are those, a not insignificant amount, who will broach no dissolution of the Union...ever.

Yet blithely on you go with your fantasy that constitutional change can be achieved pleasing everyone.

You want to go down a rabbithole with a word I used, go ahead. Nobody is joining you.

The FACT remains, you have zero to offer people who say they cannot live here if a UI happens or if the connection to the Union is tampered with.

You will ignore them apparently, whatever they are called.

That is all we need to know. And no, I wouldn't be laughing at that.

Yes, it is possible, that in the end, if you believe what they say, that there are a small number of people who may not want to accept a united Ireland, but it is impossible to know at this point what they might wish to do then, having been through the process of creating a united Ireland. Setting up a big plan to deal with "refugees" in advance of all of that is just silliness. Even silliness is too nice a word for it, especially as it turns out you didn't even know what a refugee is.

You are also mistaking my position. You accuse me of a fantasy that constitutional change can be achieved pleasing everyone. You seem blind to the fact that constitutional change has been achieved many times by not pleasing everyone. For example, Sinn Fein have opposed every single EU constitutional change and obviously weren't pleased but kept going, and now, according to you, they accept all that constitutional change. So maybe the same thing will happen unionists, in time they will accept it.

However, there is a bigger fantasy out there with your name on it - that a united Ireland on your exclusionary nationalist terms will ever be achieved.