Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do men need a license to be allowed socialise (MOD NOTE IN OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭kazamo

Different setting, not on the street so you’re ok…..you’re in your safe space

Oh right.

So you genuinely think that it should be illegal to compliment a woman on the street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭AdrianG08

Of course it all depends on what they look like aswell. The response to the cat calling/wolf whistling (which is juvenile and pathetic by the way) will not be uniform and the reaction will largely depend on who the person is giving it. Unwanted attention of this kind is usually judged on after the fact so to speak i.e when I get a look at the bloke i'll decide afterwards whether it was something I wanted or not.

If a stranger gives you the eye in a bar and approaches to ask a girl out its usually going to be perceived in one of 2 ways:

1) Average/below average looking bloke- Get away from me your creep, and tells girl mates about very "bad vibes" he was giving off.

2) Above average/Very attractive guy- "Well hello", "I admire that guys bravery, what a sweet guy"

Why should he answer if he doesn't want to no more than a woman should be spoken to if she doesn't want ?

Your posts being polite do not oblige him to reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭AdrianG08

I have to laugh at some of these "issues". Men are allowed to age in peace? As another poster said, for whose purpose are you wearing make up? Society tells you so?

I find there is a wealth of expensive creams/make up options on sale because its usually women who spend a fortune on them and see them as lifes essentials. A marketing executives dream. I'd try being a bit more thick skinned and maybe going without face paint and cream for a while, I think you might find the world doesn't give a damn that your face isn't as hydrated as it should be and the responsibility you feel has been summoned by yourself and your own perceptions.

Usually, its a perception to keep up with what other women are doing rather than for the benefit of any man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

all harmless fun , vast majority of people know the line between off colour humour and harassment but bar a North Korea sized state or religious police Saudi Arabia style , I dont know how the codes of behaviour some have in mind , can be enforced ?

I have. It's not the first thing I say to a woman, but it could be part of the overall conversation with someone I've just met. If I genuinely believed her to be beautiful. A compliment can be given without there being any expectation of anything coming from it.

The truth is that many women like to receive compliments (yes, from strangers too), and have the ability to know if it's honest or not. It's the body language, and behavior of the guy that is more important than the words themselves.

If the guy is acting aggressively, then regardless of what he says, the woman will be intimidated. However, if it's a relaxed, friendly atmosphere, without any crowding of personal space, then... there's no real reason to be intimidated by a compliment. And yes, as a bachelor in my 40s, most of my female friends are those who I had previously dated, and I know from conversations how they felt about these things.

Shocking as it sounds, many men will talk to women to find out how to have better success at dating and also to avoid the kind of situations which intimate or make women uncomfortable.

Your post seeks to create a "one fit for all situations". Life is not like that.

Like the girl i knew playing pool.

Guy she likes chatting her up

Guy she doesn't like coming on to her

Same behaviour on guys part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,146 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Sorry, but that really is so funny.

If you put forward an argument or make allegations against anyone, you need to be able to back them up robustly, otherwise, they are just hot air and conjectue.

That's very different than a woman out and about jogging saying nothing to anyone and being approached or shouted at.

Do I seriouly need to point out they are very different things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,586 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Are you suggesting that female suicides are under-reported more than male ones? Have anything to back that up? The last research I remember on it was that women were more likely to engage in "cry for help" suicide attempts involving methods likely to fail whereas men were more likely to use more certain "just do it" methods (a rather bleak win for the guys tbh: we're better at killing ourselves)...

Most of the expectations you say society places on women are, let's face it, placed upon them by other women. The anti-ageing / diet / cosmetic / fashion industries are all female lead. Want proof of that? Compare the models in a fashion magazine to those on a porn site that's aimed at men. You'll have far more variety in size, shape and age on the porn site.

I've never heard of "meggings" before but I'd be shocked if it was man who came up with the term. Any bloke I know whose worn that kind of lycra gear for sports tends to refer to them as "thermals".

"Karens" as a group earned their derison tbh. Anyone who's ever worked in retail knows the type: the pompous self-important middle aged woman who deems all others to be beneath her because she was so clever as to marry a successful (or simply wealthy) man. Having worked all kinds of retail and customer service jobs during my teens and college years, I don't think I ever met a male version.

Medical treatment is an interesting one to bring up when the facts show that more is spent on women's healthcare than mens, more public health campaigns and screening services exist for women than men (while anyone with an ounce of common sense would admit Ireland's recent cervical screening scandal was a horrendous failure of the HSE there was public outrage about it and the service is, if nothing else, well funded and promoted - do we even have a public screening system for prostate cancer? If so, I've never seen an ad for it...). I'm not sure where you're going with the cosmetic surgery angle... that's a market pretty much entirely driven by women: the demand is there so it's hardly surprising that in a free market, medical professionals will leave the notoriously stressful work environment of the public health service to make hay in the private cosmetic treatment market. If there's any blame to be dished up here, surely it's on the women (and to be fair increasing numbers of men) that are creating that demand and luring doctors away from the business of actually treating illness?

Your final sentence is perhaps the most worrying: you've listed sex as something to be mentioned alongside violence and abuse. Now, perhaps you meant to differentiate between sexual and other forms of abuse? Or are you of the extremist feminist view that any form of heterosexual sexual interaction is in fact a form of rape?

In today’s world, if you make a comment to a complete stranger that makes that person uncomfortable then I don’t think that is acceptable.

How do you know the woman’s back story, maybe she had a similar experience that started with a complete stranger saying you’re beautiful, and ended up with him following her home or worse.

We as a society need to respect all in our society, and if that means you can’t say you’re beautiful to complete strangers, is that not a small price to pay for another step towards making all of us safer as we go about our daily lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,586 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Now, this is **** hilarious.

You're arguing against freedom of speech... on the basis that it might cause offence... and try to make your point by deliberately insulting someone?!

Your response to SoulWriter is exactly why I don't want to engage with you. True to form.

I answered other posters questions directed towards me. That's it. Let's leave it at that. If it makes it easier, I'll go ahead and ignore you properly. Perhaps that's better.

I don't care what you point out i won't be replying.you seem to think you define rules for every one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,323 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

What really frustrates me about the reaction to this murder is thanks to all the gender focused distraction our Justice minister is able to get away with talking about women instead of actually addressing the problems in our criminal justice system which are so serious.

I'd rather know what they plan to do about crime and punishment in Ireland or would that be too difficult? Too afraid what the Irish Times would say.

Walshb, in all fairness, why should we get past it. It's the crux of the whole thing.

The discussions in the media, the stories on social media, the newspaper articles, the Late Late Show, all of them, all of them are about this topic. Women talking about their safety. Giving their experineces about running past a group commenting on their appearance. Their safety about not being able to go about in public, to go for a run, a walk, a coffee.

While it might suit you to say, not all females take offence, a huge percentage do. More do than dont. They are the people that have spoken out the past week on all forms of social media. Do they not have a voice? Should they get past it?

Who are you to say the vast majority of these incidents are not threatening. How can you say that, when they are not happening to you. How can you disregard the feedback from the hundreds of thousands of women who have come out and given their experiences over the past week or so.

The discussion should focus on WHAT should be done to stop it and HOW , rather than SHOULD SOMETHING be done.

Because following what happened to Ashling, hundreds of thousands of women have come out and said enough is enough, something should be done, about the murder, about the element of fear, about not being able to go for a jog, about not being able to sit at a cafe on your own.

ABOUT ALL OF IT.

YOU ARE NOT LISTENING.

What happened to that poor girl is not the fault of men or the fault of society.

It was the fault of that man.

To use it as a stick to beat men with or to further an untrue narrative that women are unfairly treated by society is delusional at best and evil at worst.

We are listening.

We just think you're talking shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭DontHitTheDitch

Most of us thought we were having a discussion about safety issues, not nuisance issues?

I walk the dog around here at night, don’t think for a minute guys are waltzing around at night or on their own whistling zipadeedooda as they pass a group of teenagers. There’s no monopoly on feeling vulnerable.

Ah here it is another example of a man telling a woman what she thinks. Where would I be if I didnt have a random man to tell me what I think.

If saying men should not shout or hassle women in the street is defining rules for everyone, then I'm guilty as charged. So are hundreds of thousands of others.

There's evidence that they are a physically weaker species. Also that males are sexually attracted to women. The point is they are vulnerable and feel vulnerable. A man goes out for a run and is thinking about his run. Going do 5km or I'm going to do 2 laps. A woman is thinking I'm only going to do 1 lap because it's getting dark soon.

My wife was victim of a road rage incident where she was followed to a supermarket car park by an aggressive man roaring and raging at her for being " a stupid fcuking woman". She left and he kept following her to a petrol station where she thought she would be safe and could get help. Not one person even acknowledged this man, who at this stage was out of the car and trying to open her passenger door while shouting and threatening her. Not a single person helped or even took any notice.

She drove out of there and he followed her a bit more before giving up.

It's a completely different world for a woman. Always having to think about and worry about their safety. ALWAYS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

Yea theres a lot of bs in that post. You must live on the top of a mountain if you never see garda patrols. I dont travel that much and I see several garda every day between cars, bikes and foot patrol.

Maybe you missed in the last 2 years the huge campaign undertaken by gardai to reach out to those in rural areas, particularly the elderly. Food etc was brought to them when needed along with guards calling to people for a social chat. Never mind the massive campaign across the country of stopping people driving asking them where they were going during the 5k, and county restrictions. Thousands of checkpoints.

There can always be more car, bike and foot patrols but its better than it was I think.

And no it does not take 3 days to fill out a report of theft. Like I said, a lot of bs in that post.

That is absolutely warped.

You want compliments to be illegal because people have no way of knowing if a woman has been complimented before and might have been assaulted?

And you think that by outlawing compliments, it's a step to keep people safe?

You would rather outlaw speech to prevent anyone be offended. But where would you draw the line? Offense is entirely subjective.

I would wager that you wouldn't want it to be illegal for someone to describe someone as a cis male. But some people find that description offensive.

I think what you are calling for is things that YOU think are offensive to be made illegal.

I wholeheartedly disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

Would that be the FG justice minister who presided over the cancellation of hundreds of thousands of emergency calls to 999?

Thousands of them from female victims of violent crime.

Helen McEntee couldnt give a sh1te.

Men have to deal with road rage incidents too.

Nothing about that incident, as horrible as it was, points towards her being targeted because she was a woman.

As, as Larry Gogan said, the questions didn't suit ya.

No problem with that.

Men aren't vulnerable to a physically superior species with a natural physical attraction to them. I mean I suppose it is possible, but not likely enough for the need to constantly have to look over your shoulder.