Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Djokovic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,537 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭bertiebomber

Goerge Best got a liver despite continuing to drink - he got a liver cos he was rich so its not a level field and only the poor are penalised

George Best got a liver and he continued drinking he never stopped but he was very rich ......and the rich do get better treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭growleaves

That's true.

In fact he was able to arrange to get two liver transplants, and was a known wife-beater.

At this stage I think I want him to take part in the tournament so I can hear all the boos and watch all the riots some of you mention. It would be must watch TV and if he does play, I bet the viewing figures are gonna be huge.

If he does get the boot what if all his games were played on some cruise ship off the coast in international waters. Would also be great TV.

And in Australia getting the boot really means the boot

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭MTU

They can vaccinate him give him surely.

There was a time when the ships brought people TO Australia not from it 😂

He could serve from the ship? I know you’re meant to swap sides but they could make an exception for good ol’ Novak!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭BurgerFace

The old asshole was 15+ feet away on the other side of the street. But sure make it sound like I walked up to him, pinned him against the wall and proceeded to splutter repeatedly into his face. You accuse me of being Walter Mitty and you dream up scenaria like this?

Djokovic has done nothing wrong by refusing to get vaccinated, esp since he already had covid. He is attempting to dodge potential side effects.

Nope. You're correct that he has done nothing wrong by refusing to get vaccinated, but that's where his lack of wrongdoing ends.

He is attempting to dodge the rules, regulations and conditions of entry to a country which knows all too well the dangers of allowing unfettered access to their country. He is doing so in the most insidious manner, by lying and attempting to cover up those lies with the most implausible of scenarios that change on a day to day basis.

He went swanning around the place, knowingly exposing young athletes to a potentially deadly virus without telling them. He lied, then tried to get his manager/PA to take the fall.

It is quite telling that he was being defended to the hilt all week while he was concocting his little spiel around his movements at Xmas time. Up until this morning of course when he admitted most of it. Now the narrative has shifted from "he did nothing wrong" to "the unvaxed aren;t the ones cancelling your ingrown toenail operations". Quite telling indeed, almost like his actions are indefensible, even for his most hardcore acolytes.

Yeah, big man refusing to cover his gob like a normal person, then swearing at the pensioners. I've a puppy here if you want to give her a kick?

Leave some fanny for the rest of us, pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭growleaves

I acknowledged upthread that he has messed up and made multiple errors of judgement.

Don't recall anything about ingrown toenails you've lost me there.

There goes the lizard-people slur again.

Answer me this and answer it truthfully if you can. Did you panic-buy/hoard jacks paper in March 2020? And if so why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭TheRepentent

Vaxtard gonna do what vaxtards do.....get covid , don't isolate and then lie to try and get in somewhere...this time a country.Hope the Aussies give him the boot and a heads up to other countries to double check the clown when applying elsewhere.

I coughed. I wasn't near anybody yet this clown took it upon himself to admonish me. I posed no threat to him or anyone yet he chose to stick his oar in. That right there is a fcuking dick who should mind his own business and stop trying to dictate to others what to do. Cough into my elbow. The guy was told to do this and then goes around telling other people to do it. If he was told that scratching one's head was a threat to public health he wouldn't question it (neither would you apparently) he would go round lecturing people if he saw them scratching their damn head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭redlad12

Good answer to be fair! The way my brain works though I'd feel if I made the decision not get vaccinated from covid ( definitely a fine personal decision ) then I should also be prepared not take a bed in a hospital if I got covid. More of a personal morality maybe I guess.

Coughing into your elbow is basic common decency. It has been around for years, long before covid came to town.

Showing this common courtesy during a global pandemic should be a no-brainer, it costs nothing, helps everyone around you, and demonstrates the most basic of altruistic traits. Not only did you refuse this common courtesy to your fellow man, you decided to verbally abuse an old man who had the temerity to ask you to think of others.

He wasn't told to do this. He was told that doing this is beneficial to everyone else, so he chooses to do this out of compassion and decency. The fact that you refuse to do the same speaks volumes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭LillySV

U remind me of a gobshite who reads childrens horror books

Do you agree that all opinions are equally valid and deserve the same respect?

Or do you recognise that some opinions are so outlandish and ludicrous and should be derided for the nonsense drivel that they are? (e.g. Kerrymen are stupid, women can't drive, Jews are inferior etc)

Because I'm in the 2nd camp. And anyone who is dumb enough to think that space travel is all fake and that satellites are made up deserves to be ridiculed for holding that opinion as it is so blindingly stupid.

Anyone dumb enough to think like that cannot, and who refuses to engage in any sort of exploration or questions about it, has zero footing to start demanding answers from anyone. In fact, I'd go so far as to suggest they should be openly mocked for falling for such nonsense.

I include jacksroll hoarders in that category also. Idiots being blindly led down the garden path by shite they see on social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,331 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Pity he didn't give you a slap while he was at it. You sound like a spoilt teenager with no manners and an attitude problem. Embarrassing.

No not at all but he got 2 livers 2 families gave their dead family members organ to him and he continued to drink & pissed them away . Two other people could have benefited it was wasted on him with all his money. It was wrong to heal him he was intent on drinking himself to death & two other families would have been made happy and appreciated the donations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

You should see what some Aussies think of him

Hell even their TV presenters have been caught out off camera calling him a lying scheming ar**hole.

And most Aussies agree with him but much less complimentary language.

If he plays his supporters will turn up with their Serbian military hats and Serb flags wrapped round them along with the anti vaccination loons.

Then watch normal people boor and jeer him.

All it takes is anyone spoiling for a fight like Bosnians or Croats to turn up and it is a shyteshow.

Is that what the organisers want?

Yeah they want viewers, but do they want points being jeered and booed with subsequent riot outside?

As I said they had crowd trouble in 2007 and 2009 so there is precedence.

I couldn't imagine the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club would want anything like that at the Championship.

Will UK allow him enter if he is unvaccinated ?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,143 ✭✭✭sporina

Coughing into your elbow is "basic common decency"?

Is it? I have never heard of this requirement, EVER.When did you start doing this? Was it recently or since you could wipe your own nose and arse?

Simple question. I understand that it's protocol to hold one's hand in front of one's face when one coughs or sneezes and yet here you are saying that anyone who doesn't do so is guilty of attempted manslaughter. Would you ever F.O.

But do you know what is also basic common decency? That's right...not running across the road and pointing and barking at someone because you think you know something that they don't.

How would you feel if I was walking down the road and saw you cock your leg and farting and having a laugh with your kid. Your fart is no more a threat to public health and safety than my cough. But yeah, keep defending the moron. Keep calling me a dick because some cretin dashed across and pointed his finger.

If I was such a health risk then wouldn't you agree that he put his life in danger by approaching me? Should he have been not given hospital treatment because he came close to a leper such as myself who coughed on the other side of the road?

Whats this got to do with a tennis player who lied to and cheated the Aussie border police ?

Yes, covering your mouth when you cough is common decency

No, it's not a requirement

Yes, I've been doing it years - my nephew was taught it in high babies and he's in 5th year now

No, I didn't say it was manslaughter

Yes, they used to tell you to cough into your hand but that was done away with donkeys years ago, cos now your hand is covered in germs.

You should brush up on your comprehension lessons, maybe take a look at your decorum while you're at it, might stop you from swearing at pensioners.

All these extra little convenient details about him running across roads that you never mentioned at the time, but now are painting you in a better light......snells like BS, I've gotta admit.... Is your surname Djokovic by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,976 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

He tested positive....but then didn't self isolate, not a great look imo but hey. Up to Serbia to deal with that.

And seems they might

Novak Djokovic could face a fine or even prison in Serbia after his admission that he broke isolation while he had Covid last month, lawyers have said, as the Serbian prime minister warned his behaviour appeared to be “a clear breach” of the rules.

No matter how much they're backing up his efforts to play in the Open, I'd imagine the Serb government can't have him openly flouting their rules.

Why are you bringing up moon landings and flat Earth and whatnot?

If all opinions are valid then why are you trying to lambaste those who don't share yours?

You just called me a "tuff guy" for telling some dick to piss off and stop trying to tell me what to do. And you go with the dickhead.

I won't be told what to do. I'll think and then exercise my own free will. Strange concept, huh? Free will? You see, somebody told you that your safety is contingent on other people bending and if they don't like it then you say that they are threatening you and encroaching upon your freedom to live your life in peace, safety and harmony.

But what I HAVE noticed is a sea-change. People no longer swallow this crap. Slight cracks even amongst the most intransigent minions. People are seeing this nonsense. Green shoots? There are still the cretins who will defend the idiocy of elbow bumping or some other such stupidity. Keep 2m apart but you can bump elbows? Must have really long arms. 2 billion masks now in the sea and btw they are not biodegradable.

In the Netherlands they had a 9pm curfew.....FOR WHAT?