Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,152 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

His health or indeed his stance of Vacinnes of absolutely no concern to me whatsoever, and yes my Ire is primarily focused on organisers, Local government.

Djokovic's tweet announcing his participation was also very telling of the Man, he starts by saying his just enjoyed the festive season with Loved ones, I'm sure all those locked up, restricted, curtailed in Australia we're thrilled for this arrogant Clown.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,999 ✭✭✭Russman

No, he's not dead right IMO, he's looking to enter a country but not abide by that country's rules, and he's getting an exemption to do so - its pretty easy to see why the residents are upset in fairness. Requiring a vaccination to enter a certain country is hardly a new thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Jaysus, take it handy for a bit there. The aussies have lost the plot completely and most of Europe isn't that much better if you ask me.

He's a fit and healthy individual that I'm sure will be tested continually if the regime allow him in at all. He's probably at more risk flying over there than from this virus anyway.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭DLink

Not sure if this was shared today, but the idea of hassling people to get vaccinated, especially in the face of a mild variant and rampant spread no matter how many jabs you have, is bad news for everyone.

With Germans heading for mandatory vaccinations, and the French hassling their population to get vaccinated, this **** is never going to end.....

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-59873833

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Post edited by is_that_so on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

It’s called ‘displaced anger’ which is a psychological defence mechanism when a person redirects a negative emotion from its original source to a less threatening recipient.

Remember that Hogan ‘golfgate’ circus, another good example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,829 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

It's up to Australian authorities to enforce their own rules. End of.

I'm not getting into the health of the Australian population, I'm simply pointing out this is a different strokes for different folks decision and Australians (who incidently were locked down, not out of personal choice) will be rightly pissed off at different rules for the rich. It stinks to high heaven in my humble opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭noraos

Can I ask, if the anitviral pills is a treatment for when a person has it, does this mean that the 'stopping the spread' policies will all be abolished.. I know prevention is better than the cure etc.. but the prevention to date is restricting peoples liberties and breaking our economy.. I would imagine once this is available.. then every single rule and emergency regulation should be instantly abolished.

Here is hoping I guess

"To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all."-Oscar Wilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

Every pub and hotel closed here due to Omicron lol

Every takeaway open lol

Go figure eh, who's not declaring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭cannonballTaffyOjones

True, but they should direct that anger at govt rather then Djokovic ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

In theory they should but they do need to get to people very early on in the disease. By the time we get any decent supply of them many of those policies should be limited or gone.

But there have been exemptions for professional sports since this thing began. This is no different for me. What's happening with this is that the politicians are whipping up a frenzy blaming an individual rather than the public directing their ire at the authoritarian running their country and states. It's a classic diversion tactic that is completely transparent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭MilkyToast

I keep seeing this and sure, it's not a new thing. But it would be a pretty rare thing for most people and it's usually only vaccination against yellow fever (which has a CFR many, many times higher than covid) that's required if arriving from an infected area. The yellow fever vaccine is a one-and-done, single-dose vaccine that offers lifetime protection. Only twelve known cases of yellow fever after vaccination have been recorded.

Needing an injection every 6-12 months to hop over to the UK or take a short break in Prague is a completely new thing. Given that it is unlikely to remain a free vaccination for people outside vulnerable groups, that also has implications for the cost of travel for most people.

“Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience." ~C.S. Lewis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

New York Congress woman Alexandra Ocasio Cortez an advocate of strict mask wearing and social distancing partying and hugging away in a packed bar in Florida over the new year...... and why the hell not!

Restrictions are for the plebs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭bloopy

I didn't know he was responsible for the lockdown over there.

That puts a completely different slant on things.

What a p***k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭BuildTheWall

Listening to the radio and all I can hear is “PCR, Antigen, Isolation, HSE, boosters” it’s non stop, all the time. The presenters are excitedly talking about getting a PCR test with delight. People feckin love this ****.

Have to turn the bleedin thing off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭timmyntc

You do realise that flu vaccines are changed every year to target the latest predicted strain? (of which there are many)

Covid vaccines on the other hand lose most of their efficacy against infection after several months - covid vaccines have not changed 1 iota since they first debuted last year. The booster you take is the exact same as the first 2 doses, and there is no sign of that changing. Trying to equate it to a flu shot is totally misinformed on your part.

The issue is nothing to do with general sporting exemptions , this is clearly a wink and nod decision and simply beggars belief there's suddenly a medical reason to ignore this players stance.

Again, that's his personal decision but the rules were quite clear until a way out found to accommodate him.

Ultimately, I actually care less but those who can't see what's occurred here need to consider an appointment at spec savers.

Give it a break misery-guts. Glad our anti-vax hero isn’t letting himself be pushed around. This insanity has to stop somewhere.

Folks, its over. Everyone of us will have been exposed to the virus by February. ICU admissions in the predominantly vaccinated population ( not even counting boosted) are very low.

Vaccine + Omicron = Endemic. That is why with 20k cases per day schools are opening and no one is talking about further increased restrictions. They are just not letting things go completely as hospitals are still under some pressure

My Prediction: By April or possibly May, no vaccine certs with be required, no testing will be required for Travel(within the EU at least), all businesses will be permitted to open as normal.Boosters for the vulnerable and those who wish in the future will be available but it will no longer be a major issue in public health discourse.

Your being a clown now, read my post .I've not blamed him for anything, just pointing out how this looks to Australians who know full well what the rules are, resorting to personal insults doesn't make your argument anymore coherent I'm afraid.

Just out of curiosity are you more interested in defending the players ant vaccine stance or trying to find away to defend the indefensible.

Don't bother mentioning me in response, I don't engage with posters being insulting.

Welcome to my ignore list

Are you being serious, my anti vax hero😳

What planet are you on. Perhaps, get someone to show you how to Read, take your time, go back and slowly read my posts before posting such nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭MilkyToast

“Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience." ~C.S. Lewis

Obviously not your anti-vax hero as it upsets you so much that a perfectly healthy anti-vaxxer should be « allowed » the same rights as anyone else. He is our hero and his rubbing-it-in-your-face tweets are almost as sweet as his « medical exemption ».

it would be a good way to bookend this last two years of a sham if he could go on and win the tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭cannonballTaffyOjones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Quags

Let's be fair here - your contributions betray quite a level of anger towards Djokovic. You can claim you don't care less but your contributions say the opposite. Is it the not falling in line that upsets you? Arrogant and petulant aren't words used by someone who couldn't care less.

Either way - the dispensation or accommodations afforded here are all on the Australians authorities/organisers themselves.

It's very strange that the PM of a country is so interested in an individuals personal medical records. Must be fantastic for him to have nothing better to be doing.

I can see very clearly what's going on here, it's blindingly obvious. Distraction and deflection by politicians at its finest.

our?

Who are you including with yourself in that?