Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭HalfAndHalf

You didn’t say any of that in your OP.

And you’re missing the point that I made which is the U.K. still have the majority of services open and now require a Covid pass to use those services. We did what we were supposed to do and still have restrictions imposed. It’s laughable.

As for case numbers, ours included a 3000 backlog but the UK’s ‘may’ be much higher because cases go unreported. So we don’t have any unreported cases but the U.K. have 100% that go unreported.

If we stick to actual facts then yesterday the cases were comparable per capita but we’re back being restricted and they’ve just to take their pass to the pub. Not comparable at all!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭revelman

People are going to mix like crazy over the next couple of weeks notwithstanding the restrictions. Omicron will spread over Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,492 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

As I say, snowflakes.

Even with restrictions people have a better lifestyle than 50 years ago when every one was emigrating.

I didn’t say that we have no unreported cases. I think everyone can agree that the U.K. is ahead of us on Omicron transmission. We will catch up soon. I’m not sure I follow the rest of your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,559 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Because NEPHT won't lift restrictions until they're on the road to zero covid. We had six months of lockdown at the start of this year so I'm being optimistic saying three months this time around.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Shilock

This whole thing is showing us who a lot of people really are for sure. Some people who call themselves liberals and social justice warriors suggesting that the unvaccinated should be shunned from society or let die, just listen to that now they're out there with their blue hair and screaming and hopping mad over Donald Trump saying bad things but yet they want people who didn't get a medical procedure to die or shut out from society. I think I'm the only vaccinated guy I know who's against the medical apartheid.

There's a lot of people who would miss all the control and chaos, it's like a new religion for the NPC's and mass hypnosis. People like this who are brainwashed remind me of reincarnated sheep or something.

A lot of us rolled up our sleeves expecting to be back to normality, no they said we're still going to restrict ye, get an upgrade and powered up or boosted like a field of soy being saturated with chemical's.... then you can chase the carrot and we'll torture ye again and again....

Supposedly viruses weaken when they mutate, I learned that in biochemistry in the mid 90's in Edinburgh....

Now we're being told that this omnicron varient is going to rip through the nation....for the love of Abraham we're nearly all vaccinated and probably 2% of the unvaccinated had covid already...so we're still having to show papers when almost 98% of us are immune.

Wake up, we're being hoodwinked....

You don’t think people will be mixing over Christmas? Omicron will spread over Christmas like wildfire (hopefully mild for 99.9% of people who get it). We will then peak in January. No need for extended lockdown. Just my own view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭B2021M

That's one of the main issues with our society. About 80% of the stories on Six One are about how the government needs to do more or provide more resources for some group or some issue. It's neverending.

And acting as if there is a magic money tree with an endless supply of cash. It is quite juvenile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭B2021M

Yes as if the government is some huge mean monster who won't help out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭HalfAndHalf

You didn’t say we did either, you said ours were so high because of backlog but the U.K. have 200,000 cases because half go unreported.

The rest of my post is easy to follow, yesterday we had a comparable case load per capita yet we’re going back into high restrictions with hospitality yet the U.K. have only now introduced Covid passes for hospitality.

Same position, vastly different measures. Plus they came completely out of restrictions 6 months ago, we still haven’t made it out of some form of restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,559 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I agree there's no need for an extended lockdown, Tony Holohan doesn't and that's the problem we're facing.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭tomgrange1978

The very idea the youngsters will not meet up and party and take drinks and drugs and screw over Xmas is laughable

it will happen and good luck to them, I hope they enjoy every bit of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,719 ✭✭✭celt262

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

You mentioned Tony Holohan`s guest appearances and his popularity on Twitter as somehow being the reason you believe he is now our overlord. Now it seems those guest appearances are one night on The Late Late Show, (which no I did not see btw) and those that follow him on Twitter. On that basis Niall Horan from Mullingar should be our overlord as I recall him being on TLLS a number of times and his followers on Twitter leave Tony Holohan`s in the halfpenny place.

Even Leo Varadkar has over twice as many followers on Twitter and Micheal Martin, who is not even popular within his own party, isn`t far off having as many as Tony Holohan. Even Simon Harris has more and I cannot see him ruling as a dictator any time soon.

I have no idea why you believe governments would have Chief Medical Officers as advisors and then not seek their advice on medical matters.I recently saw Chris Whitty England`s CMO sharing the stage with Boris Johnston where he explained why England are now taking the measures they are. The Netherlands have just announced restrictions that are much more severe than anything announced here. For the government in the Netherland`s to do that without taking advice from their CMO Jaap van Dissel, a virologist and a infectious disease specialist, as well as being the director of their Institute for Public Health and the Environment, is very far fetched imho.

The simple facts are Tony Holohan has no more usurped the power of government here that Chris Whitty has in England or Jaap van Dissel has in the Netherlands. It`s a complete nonsense from some here who are so obsessed by Tony Holohan he is now living permanently rent free in their heads. Not only is it a nonsense, it cannot be good for their mental health.

People have to say no at some stage. Otherwise this is going to go on forever. The real cost of the restrictions : loss of jobs and the economy being propped up by debt, is going implode on us if we keep this up.

We can’t criticise someone because they fell for the vaccine and then woke up to the never ending BS a bit late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,492 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

No one abides by restrictions now...... they just don't get caught

The gift that keeps on giving...

I was beginning to lose hope there would be no more restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,938 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Indeed. The government may be able to legally shut businesses down on a whim, but when it comes to all the covid theatre people are just doing what suits them at this stage. They aren't scared of covid, so even the worst of the virtue signallers will be having their house parties and meeting people over christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Firstly, you’re talking bollix. I’m currently Jane Doe from the HSE HR office, housemate has Covid so I have to self-isolate for 5 days even though I’m 100% fine. Double jabbed and 5 negative antigen tests over the last few days. Can’t get back into the office until Wednesday. I’d love to be chilling out, but I’m up for work at 9 tomorrow as I’ve been sent home with a laptop and paperwork to do. Close contacts get 5 days off, no more. They also have to fill in a HR108 C-19 form (available online for those who have any doubts), and -also have to provide the close contact text they got from the HSE to work out when their 5 days are up.

Secondly, I know this first hand because I request these daily, we don’t have any discretion otherwise I’d be off until Xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,938 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

So you are paid to sit at home as a close contact?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,146 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

Sorry, only just saw the notification for this. No condescending was intended, apologies.

What was the point of your original posts even the CMO acknowledged there would be house parties after pubs close.

Exactly what is the point of it all

good to see some sense

MM, or rather his extremely expensive PR people would have vetted the questions and allowed this into the discussion. It’s a blatant, look at his “human side” PR stunt. It is horrific that they thought this was a good idea, and that he went along with it.

No, I’m paid to work from home as a close contact. If I don’t work for the 2 days I’m out of the office quite a sizeable amount of people won’t get paid as our cut off time is noon on Weds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,104 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I'm not at all getting why this issue being dragged into this Thread, a one on one interview is not vetted and as I've said repeatedly an annual intervie with current TAOISEACH not anything new. I've also said it was wide ranging and touched on personal issues . Why the need to focus on one element of an interview (which incidently has been discussed by MM in numerous previous interviews) to throw muck, criticism of his management of this Pandemic is absolutely justified and I'm a cheer leader on the front but it's quite another thing to use a personal Tradegy as a stick to beat any individual just because a person disagrees with that person.

I'm no fool, I agree there was an element of a stunt to the interview but seriously does it need to be brought up here, There is enough tension, disagreement and discourse on this Thread without personal attacks on individuals.

We've moved on from this issue, I've said my bit, agree to disagree, let's get back on Topic, which is restrictions not someone loosing two children in tragic circumstances 🙄

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.