The creeping prominence of the Irish language

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I challenged you on two points and proved you wrong. You denied the first (claiming the constitution was robust) and haven't actually countered the second (the ifalse dea that if something hasn't been proven then the opposite must hold true).

You've gone off on serious tangents to avoid these, but I've ignored these and just reiterated the challenges because that's all I'm interested in - that's all that's relevant to my post - only for you to go off on even more tangents.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,255 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Where is Irish aggressively promoted in Irish society it has been relegated to the background. I suggest you watch Lig Dom on the RTE player. And look at the struggles BniC has ( Peadars auld wan) in wanting to speak Irish / in daily life car insurance on phone etc

‘Blanhnaid Ni Chofaigh talks passionately about her relationship with the Irish language and how she has grown impatient with the difficulties she sometimes faces as a native Irish speaker living in Ireland.’

Also read this ESRI report the majority of Irish people while not speaking Irish daily value the Irish language. Which is why it has some protection. Due to its importance culturally to Ireland.

Most Irish people are glad of such protections. But aggressive promotion is a myth. Irish is firmly in the background.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,953 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

That's a great example of asking a soft, wishy-washy question in a survey to get the result that you want.

Never are the financial costs and opportunity costs of compulsory Irish in the education system and the public sector mentioned, all the grants etc. Which appear to achieve nothing useful as the Gaeltachts are still shrinking.

I've no issue with people who want to promote the Irish language on its own merits but they need to engage with reality and that starts with accepting that the policies pursued since 1922 have failed and will continue to fail.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,953 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

The RCC wanted an all catholic constitution. They did not get it.

In a democracy, what a church wanted should have been irrelevant. But it's well documented that McQuaid had an influence on the draft constitution.

In the Irish constitution had provision for all religion in A44.2. A44.2.1. A44.2.2, A44.2.3., A44.2.4., A44.2.5, and A44.2.6.Basic constitutional law stuff (in the fundamental rights area - the RCC were not happy)

Again, their desire for a catholic theocracy is irrelevant

Constitution gave them a "special position" until the 1970s. They felt entrenched enough by that stage that their position was unassailable (they thought) and were agreeable to abolishing this in the delusion that that would somehow make a de facto RCC theocracy, where all social legislation reflected RCC teaching, acceptable to Unionists.

A44.2.1 - Freedom of conscience and the free profession and practice of religion are, subject to public order and morality, guaranteed to every citizen.

Then you try to enrol your child in school and discover that 90% are catholic and most of the remainder are protestant. They will try to convert your child unless you "opt out", and often even if you do.

A44.2.2. The State guarantees not to endow any religion.

Yet it funds religious indoctrination in schools every day.

Also approx. 1bn euro towards religious order abuse compensation, the orders were only asked to pay €128m. Sweet, sweet deal.

A44 2.3. The State shall not impose any disabilities or make any discrimination on the ground of religious profession, belief or status.

Religious oath to become a judge or President.

You might as well forget about becoming a primary teacher if you're not a christian, as 95% of state-funded primary schools will not employ you, and this is legal. If you are willing to lie to your employer you'd better be good at it, as you will be required to teach a specific religion as fact during your state-funded day of work.

A44 2. 4 Legislation providing State aid for schools shall not discriminate between schools under the management of different religious denominations, nor be such as to affect prejudicially the right of any child to attend a school receiving public money without attending religious instruction at that school.

As above. The vast, vast majority of primary schools violate that right every single day.

A44 2.5. Every religious denomination shall have the right to manage its own affairs, own, acquire and administer property, movable and immovable, and maintain institutions for religious or charitable purposes.

This makes the state unable to force them to pay compensation - even the paltry amount they agreed to pay. Yay constitution.

A44 2.6. The property of any religious denomination or any educational institution shall not be diverted save for necessary works of public utility and on payment of compensation.

As above. Property should be seized in lieu of compensation.

Returning to the issue at hand. You seem to imply there is a grave problem with article 8 of the constitution and the Irish language.

I think it's ridiculous nonsense, supported by fantasists, which imposes a heavy cost onto the taxpayer for no benefit.

If there was a groundswell of support for its removal, why has it not happened? Surely, the people would vote in politicians on the basis of the issue?

Which party should I vote for on that basis?

Even just floating the idea that we might consider making Irish optional at Leaving Cert nearly got Enda Kenny lynched.

The constitutional status of Irish is a sleeping rabid dog the politicians all want to let lie.

Small but very vocal groups will cause hell for them, meanwhile everyone else has been numbed into passivity over decades, shouted down and beaten down.

In other words, doing nothing loses no votes, doing anything is guaranteed to lose some votes is how they see it.

Exactly the same as abortion was and it's how the politicians came to be years if not decades behind public opinion on the issue. Right up until late 2017 there were politicians (who were not No campaigners) saying that they couldn't see repeal of the 8th ever happening.

Our political parties (even SF) are ridiculously socially conservative and always have been. They've now adopted a pseudo-liberal veneer but that's for another thread.

I think you will just have to accept that you are in the minority on the Irish language issue, and have to accept the will of the majority.

Maybe. It would help if we could get honest surveys on the issue not commissioned to push an agenda. But majority or no majority there is no good reason to keep fantastical nonsense (religious, Irish or otherwise) in our foundational law.

Until that changes - you and small cohort of like minded people are just the oddballs in the corner howling at the moon.

I was wondering when the abuse would start.

How to win friends and influence people, Irish language lobby style.

It's always the same.

Anyway, keep doing what you've been doing for 99 years lads, it's working great and not a massive waste of money and effort at all.

Post edited by Hotblack Desiato on

It is not a wishy washy survey. It is the ESRI!!

Reported in the paper of record as-

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/positive-attitudes-towards-irish-but-citizens-shy-on-fluency-1.2309262

There are various other studies on the attitudes to the Irish language. But I fear you will also have to try and ignore and them because they are not the results you wish. Your post is great example of boards.ie.

Poster A - 'Have you a source for that?'

Poster B - Source given

Poster A -disparages source as it does not suit their narrative

--

I found another source which was a TCD thesis from TCD which echoes that of the ESRI study I previously mentioned. In regard to respondents valuing Irish as a cultural identity/ethnic symbol.

It involved the study of fourth class students attitudes to the Irish language.

http://www.tara.tcd.ie/bitstream/handle/2262/94246/Luke%20O%27Halloran%20PME.pdf?sequence=1&isAllowed=y

"The findings of this study yielded that the attitudes of the participants mirror the attitudes held by the public towards the language. Despite the vast majority of the participants expressing a negative attitude towards learning Irish during class discussions and reflections, there was a unanimous agreement amongst the participants that there is a place and need for Irish as our national language (CILAR, 1975; ITÉ, 1984, 1994). Participant 1 remarked “ I don’t like learning Irish in school but I know it’s important for us to be able to speak Irish because it’s our own language” whilst participant 2 said “Irish was the only language spoke hundreds of years ago so it’s important that we learn how to speak it to honour the people form our past”. This mirrors the findings of Devitt et al., (2016) that state there is a distinction between attitudes towards Irish and towards learning Irish."

Other posters on this thread have also mentioned this fact in various different ways. Some saying most Irish people are happy with the status quo. People don't want it lost but many are not too bothered to speak it in their daily lives.

Posters such as yourself the OP and Princess CB - are outliers in this debate with a large antipathy towards the Irish language. And view it as attack/enveloping/creeping and so on. Which is not true in any case as I have already said.

The majority of Irish people do not feel the same way that is just a fact of life. Otherwise the situation would have changed long ago through the ballot box and the parties in power would change legislation and the Irish constitution. There is no evidence that the majority of the Irish people want to remove the protection Irish currently has in law. If there was I am sure you and likeminded posters would have produced such evidence. I have yet to see it. Why? Because such views are fringe views on a small corner of the internet on this thread.

Successive Irish governments have tried to protect the Irish language in line with the EU and its views linking cultural diversity and language/endangered language. That is upholding the majority EU view as voted for by EU states. Which again shows how much of an outlier posters such as yourself are in the grand scheme of things.

It is not abuse you are an outlier in this debate that is the point I am making. And I have responded to your points in succession in your post. Your subsequent comments after your claim it was was 'abuse'. Reveals your true agenda. You want to lambast the Irish language at every opportunity. You feel safe doing so on boards.ie. But do not have the self awareness to realise that your views on the Irish language debate are that of an outlier. A fringe group.

If you created a political party with you as the leader. With the aim of removing the Irish language or removing protections of the Irish language - how many votes do you think you would get?

If there was even a large minority similar view why has this not happened or something similar?

Public opinion does not want it that is why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Posters such as yourself the OP and Princess CB - are outliers in this debate with a large antipathy towards the Irish language

Ha! And you say I don't read your posts?!

The problem is that you see ANY criticism of the language as 'oddballs howling at the moon' before thinking - hang on - someone might actually have a point here - and that the system might not actually be helping the language thrive after all.

Again, you care more about the status of the language than either the language itself or the people it's supposed to represent.

It involved the study of fourth class students attitudes to the Irish language.

LOL

Did they ask about their attitudes towards Santa Claus while they were at it?

My views on the Irish language - all Irish schools etc would be outlier views as well. But at least I realise that. But yourself and other posters seem to think they represent public opinion. Basically smashing the Irish language and view the Irish language as an attack. When at the very least the majority of Irish public opinion view the Irish language as part of the Irish cultural identity - but would not speak it as a language of communication daily. That is the reality the middle ground.

I think I have twigged @Hotblack Desiato by the way. The poster seems to equate the Irish language with the Catholic Church. Which you yourself tried to do by erronously claiming the RCC created a Catholic constitution when in fact. It was the opposite it pushed against the Catholic Church at a time it was very strong in Irish society. As shown by A44.2.

It is the same old narrative with yourself and @Hotblack Desiato Irish Language - Catholic Church - Backward - and so on.

The really funny part is I am not even religious. It is not true that the Irish language is linked 'conservatism' and backwardness.

In the marriage referendum debate = on Gay Marriage. I have saw members of the Irish language community wear pins such as these -

Also there are such things as Irish language poets who are strong feminists such Ciara Ni E - who is strong on female empowerment

Also the President of Ireland - a fluent speaker of the Irish Language views himself of a feminist

It really smashes the backward Irish language narrative that some wish to perpetuate. From my experience the majority in the Irish Language community are big on equality and inclusiveness.

--

It is not simply any criticism of the Irish language, it is an attack on the Irish language that you and other posters are engaged in. I have criticised the Irish language and how it is taught in Ireland. But I have not attacked it.

--

Also I don't care more about that status of the Irish language than the people. I believe it was not done correctly and needs to be done properly. Helping people engage in the Irish language and become immersed in it more.

None of that rambling attack on a different poster challenged anything i posted.

And no, I don't think I represent public opinion either. I represent people making a personal choice - that's called 'freedom'.

YOU, however, seen to think YOU do because you assume that the silence about Article 8 is support for it, which I've prudential to be Fallacy.

Well the studies I have seen say it is more complex than that - as does the ballot box. Many Irish people may not speak Irish daily but it is clear the majority value it. And the middle ground are happy with the status quo. You can call that apathy if you wish. But the Irish people are happy with it. I don't think they should be IMO as more should be done to further the Irish language for future generations. I don't think I represent public opinion on the Irish language. I am not the middle ground

--

However, there definitely is the 'Irish is backward' view among a small cohort in Ireland. Such as @Hotblack Desiato who entwines the Irish language with the Catholic Church as so on. And erroneously repeats the myth that McQuaid was fundamental creator of the Irish constitution. That was not true it is overstated. Similar to how it is overstated that DeValera was a fundamental creator of the Irish Constitution. The real creator of the Irish Constitution was John Hearne.

But that does not fit the narrative/agenda for some. It is fairly transparent at this stage for those on this thread who are Anti-the Irish language. They come out with the usual stereotypes and tropes. Revealing an agenda and/or a lack of knowledge in the debate.

Now you're being totally disingenuous.

It was YOU who brought up how great the constitution is, another poster and myself pointed out that it has some serious defects, you denied this, I engaged with the points you made. That's it. It just so happens that most of the major defects with the constitution are in relation to the interface between religion and the state and the position of education. You then accuse of being obsessed with the RCC etc. Can't win.

Nobody said that McQuaid was a 'creator' of the constitution so you have proven yet again that you are not worth trying to discuss anything with honestly

And there you go again

I'm anti-compulsion, anti-fakery, anti-cutehoorism, anti-political opportunism and anti-vast waste of public money

Not one of those things can remotely be equated to being anti the Irish language.

For the record, I have never once started that speaking Irish is backward. Beyond that, I'd be very surprised that ANYONE is happy with the status quo regarding Irish - even the Irish speakers themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Upforthematch

I am relatively happy with the status quo. Sure I'd like if the gaeltachts were a bit stronger but Irish isn't just for people living in Gaeltachts, it's for all Irish people. There are equal opportunities to learn it, it's never been earlier to learn it and there have never been more opportunities for those with Irish. Slow progress but it's not oppressive and gives people freedom to engage with Irish as much as they wish in adulthood.

Cost of National self delusion or investment in national self building?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭deirdremf

I've seen this claim about more Polish speakers than Irish speakers made on many occasions.

It's like that other claim, that there are as many people in Manchester as there are in Ireland.

Wikipedia tells us that there are 2.8 million people in Greater Manchester - there are around 5 million in the republic of Ireland, and between 6.5-7 million living on the island.

In relation to languages spoken in Ireland, well around 250,000 speak Irish on a regular basis, and 1.8 million claim to be able to speak it. I think there are around 150,000 Polish speakers in Ireland, North and South.

There's no progress being made - that's the problem, slow or otherwise. The amount of people speaking Irish doesn't appear to be going up and from what I've been told by other posters the State is not living up to its obligations to provide services in both langauges. Certainly, they weren't hapy about it. But if you are , then I'd argue that maybe you're expectations aren't all that high.

(ESRI 2015) 'In the Republic, almost two-thirds (64 per cent) believe that Ireland would lose its identity without the Irish language.

'Until that changes - you and small cohort of like minded people are just the oddballs in the corner howling at the moon.

That figure - 64% - is an interesting one.

Last year - 2020 - an exit poll was carried out after the general election, and one of the questions asked was "Can you speak Irish, and to what extent"

Overall, 64% of those polled said that they could speak Irish. So a substantial majority of those who voted claimed to know Irish!

Now, not all of those who can speak Irish actually do so, but overall 36% said that they in fact actually use the language.

We should make sure our politicians know these facts. They might be more responsive if they were made aware, and kept aware, of the facts.

Do you think that Banana and friends might begin to realise that Article 8 of the constitution is unlikely to be changed any time soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

We are in the midst of a pandemic , social distancing rules, etc some people have problems talking to people in irish, what a shock,

considering maybe 5 per cent of people can speak irish fluently, everyone speaks english, are you going to go to strangers in the street saying do you want to speak irish, you are wearing a mask, the person is wearing a mask ,that would be weird

1.8 million people can speak a few sentences of irish, an will cead agam ,conas ata tu, etc 2million irish people are catholics, yeah they go to church to go to a wedding , funeral, maybe once a month, the last time i heard someone speak irish is about 30 years ago when i went to school.

irish is part of our culture, playing the fiddle,bodhran is part of our culture, how many young people actually play irish folk music ?

i think theres more people speaking polish or russian everday than people who actually speak irish in daily life ,excluding those who work for tg4,pr irish teachers .

you can get the euro commisiion to say anything about anything if you hve enough votes or people on a board or discussion group.

How do you know that 99% speak fluent English? I don't think that the question is even asked in the census, so in the light of so many adult immigrants, I would doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,549 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The question was worded differently true...

the question....

“How well do you speak English ?”

1 Very well

2 Well

3 Not well

4 Not at all

very well is reasonable to assume is equivalent to fluent I’d say.

I think I have twigged @Hotblack Desiato by the way. The poster seems to equate the Irish language with the Catholic Church. Which you yourself tried to do by erronously claiming the RCC created a Catholic constitution when in fact. It was the opposite it pushed against the Catholic Church at a time it was very strong in Irish society. As shown by A44.2.

There's a lot of people out there who equate the catholic church (but never any of the protestant churches) with backwardness. I cannot see any logical reason for this, other than that some people see the Church of Ireland as a civilising (i.e. anglicising) influence, and manage to ignore its connection with the class that exploited Ireland for centuries. They completely ignore the presbyterian church, the free presbyterian church, and a whole range of minor sects each one more rightwing than the next.

These same people see Irish as a backward thing, i.e. a non-anglicising force. Most of them won't say this directly, many of them try to dress it up as something else but it comes across very strongly nevertheless.

Still, they equate these two forces and consider them backward. But if we dropped English and learned Chinese instead, they'd be singing the praises of Chinese and still tell us that Irish was hindering our ability to speak Chinese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭BarraOG

There’s over 53,000 children now in Irish medium schools. http://www.gaelscoileanna.ie/en/why-choose-a-gaelscoil/

I lived in Sweden for many years and started learning Swedish by going to night classes. It was hopeless. I then decide to only speak Swedish with friends and colleagues and refused to allow people to speak English with me. Within two years I was fluent.

The Swedes are very good at English but it is not down to their schools. Instead most tv programs are in English (no dubbing) and they travel a lot. They learn English naturally as it has practical importance in their lives. There are also lots of English schools now in many parts of Sweden:

https://engelska.se/our-schools/where-find-us

I learned Irish from a blackboard for 13 years and I was better at Swedish after a few months. This is why I sent my children to Gaelscoil and they are amazing at Irish.

Its great that the Gaelscoil option exists for more and more parents because so many of us only wish we could have had the same opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,906 ✭✭✭Evade

It was a question on the last census. About 86,000 indicated they could not speak English well or at all so it's closer to 98%.

Page 55 https://www.rte.ie/documents/news/census-2016-summary-results-part-1-full.pdf

1.8 million people can speak a few sentences of irish, an will cead agam ,conas ata tu, etc 2million irish people are catholics, yeah they go to church to go to a wedding , funeral, maybe once a month, the last time i heard someone speak irish is about 30 years ago when i went to school.

Again, here we have someone equating one of our religions with the Irish language. Does that make you a Protestant of some sort, or do they get a free pass for everything?

i think theres more people speaking polish or russian everday than people who actually speak irish in daily life ,excluding those who work for tg4,pr irish teachers .

I've dealt with Polish above. As for Russian, in 2011 there were 22k speakers in the Republic and 1k in the North.

But if you enjoy your cliches, who am I to put you right?

Thanks, I didn't remember that - as it was only for non-official language speakers.

As with Irish, the figure is self-reported - and I have to say that I'm touched by some people's belief regarding the validity of self-reported ability when it comes to ability in English, but not when it comes to ability in Irish.

If the number of regular Irish speakers doubled then a lot of the current issues would be resolved e.g. state services. That would still leave Irish as a minority language which a comfortable majority would continue to ignore.

That isn't all that difficult to achieve given the infrastructure now in place. That's why Im happy. But it's up to individuals to go and learn Irish as adults and I recognise that this isnt always possible.

Lots of us have a bit of the Brit in us, it's what you do with it that counts!