Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭Penfailed

The opposition is SF. They've never called for a zero covid policy.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

Well we are supposed to be building natural immunity on top of the vaccine. For example I got Covid after being double jabbed it was asymptomatic, so I have even stronger immunity now.

however Nphet has told people to lock themselves under the stairs cabinet, the population will never get herd immunity doing that, it’s the wrong policy. It’s why in rates are falling in the uk and here they are rising despite having a higher vaccination rate.

vaccines will loose effectiveness within 6 months, that why you need to challenge your auto immune system before the 6 months to keep it fit against Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,100 ✭✭✭prunudo

Because they're making it up as they go along, introducing meaningless restrictions that will have no effect on spread. All so when they stand in front of the microphones they can say they haven't closed various sectors and everything is open as they said it would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭SupplyandDemandZone

They've also "disappeared" a leading tennis play after she made rape allegations against a former senior CCP party member.

The usual China defenders and of course the race card pundits will be along in a minute with their stop Asian hate mantra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,447 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Philip Nolan on Newstalk doubling down that they were right not to reopen fully during the summer. That's 2 years in a row they've done that. What's the bet it'll happen again next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,399 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

That's the only breakdown that's been reported on cases (plenty of ICU reports and tweets from Paul Reid about breakdown in hospital)

Figures from the Health Protection Surveillance Centre, which collates data on the coronavirus disease, show that of 58,361 new cases between September 5th and October 16th, some 25,433 or 43.6 per cent were fully vaccinated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

They seem to be under the impression they are some form of new celebrity. Public health figures are the new rock stars in their own minds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭PicardWithHair

Incredible!

So vaccines not working then ... Jesus!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Data from the HSE about the last 2 weeks has hospitalisations now at about 1.1%(11 cases per 1,000). If NPHET are going to use data it should use post-vaccination data and not add in the huge numbers from the first part of the year.

That is remarkable data. 75% of the population only had 44% of cases, 25% had 56%. And yet we continue to have countless posts everyday claiming vaccines do not prevent infection. That's a 74% transmission reduction right there.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

He is outright wrong on that.

I see the HSE are engaging RocDoc, the private comapny offering testing at the airports, as part of their testing regime, and are considering engaging other private providers too, as the testing centres are swamped.

Wonder how many more ICU beds they could afford for the amount they will eventually end up paying these companies.

Can't ask that question though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

They are still spending money on idiotic vaccine badges too. I know someone who came back from getting a booster with one recently. They spent something like half a million on them last year.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

How in the **** does Nolan get away with stating this without any challenge. His last projections weren't worth wiping your ass with and here he is again with his "optimistic" scenario of 200000.

1) Approx 511k cases total since March 2020 here - Nolans projections have nearly half of that entire 18 month span occurring in December.

2) At no stage and at no point in the last 18 months have we approached anywhere near 450 ICU. Nowhere.

Why is he not being dragged out in front of the cameras with this bullshit and grilled to explain every single assumption and where it came from, what data is it based on and has the data been even verified by anybody else outside of NPHET. It cannot be allowed to continue that this poor data and completely inaccurate projections from this absolute spoofer be used to drive public health measures without a peer review of some sort.

The Chair of NPHET’s Irish Epidemiological Modelling Advisory Group said the possibility in an “optimistic scenario” of 200,000 cases of the virus in December is “not inevitable”. 

Speaking to RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, Nolan said those models are based on what might happen if nothing changes over the coming weeks in terms of people’s level of social contact and the care taken to prevent transmission. 

He said if nothing else changes the country is on “a trajectory towards very large case numbers and very large numbers of people in hospital coinciding with Christmas”. 

Nolan said a risk that 450 people might need intensive care by Christmas is “possible”, but added that “we’re trying now to do everything we can to avert that scenario”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭RunningFlyer

Getting very fed up of hearing "not inevitable" now also, it's definitely the new buzzword floating around Merrion St.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭foxsake

I didn't avoid it , it was introduced in the late 1980s . I'd guess most over 35 didn't get in unless retrospectively.

sadly i'm over 35 now. I had all the vaccines that were about at the time.

it would be weird to report people to tusla for medical choices but i guess if covid taught me one thing is that people like reporting others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭floorpie

Pfizer Phase 1 & 2 clinical trials were to deterine the safety, immunogenicity and optimal dose levels were the not ?

Yeah. This interim data was released by September 2020 (e.g. Pfizer: Phase I/II study of COVID-19 RNA vaccine BNT162b1 in adults | Nature)

Maybe I misunderstood you but it sounded like you said we didn't know if there were vaccines or whether they could work.

yet you think those that did read it and once made aware of the risks and decided "no thanks "

so one might as well not read it in that case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

You'd have to guess again, I was given no no patient information leaflet. Only a HSE web page that made no mention of myocarditis etc as a side effect.

We found out about that when some countries started banning certains vaccinne brands for certain age groups, which was odd, because these were the most tested vaccinnes in human history.

Here's the thing, you may have the ability to recaliberate your memory to fit the current moment but some of us tend to remember the lines we were fed.

A few weeks ago the Phase III trials weren't good enough, and now you are saying we knew enoughafter Phase I and II. Make up your mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭floorpie

and now you are saying we knew enoughafter Phase I and II

I didn't say anything like that. I was pointing out that we knew the candidate vaccines and whether or not they were promising (re: immunogenicity/safety).

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

This is a prime example of "feed numbers into model, look at results".His models may have produced those results.But what he should doing is taking those results and then looking at past performance in comparison.This happened last time round too, in the summer I think it was.Feed numbers in, get numbers out, but ignore the fact that the we didn't even reach the dizzying heights predicted by the model in 2020, with no vaccines,or at the height of Jan/Feb 2021, so why would we reach them with half the country vaccinated.It is a very black and white interpretation of a black and white result, and it is where they should not be driving decisions and where people other than NPHET should be interpreting.The assumptions are too wide I believe, and human behaviour is just too hard to account for.And to be honest, I am still extremely sceptical of any models at the moment.The data is not consistent enough, the vaccines are preventing transmission/ serious infection enough to disrupt any clear link that you try to make between case numbers and ICU admissions, but not enough to say that the link is broken.I still really doubt any models are reliable for now.

News for you - you are not a young lad

might be sensible for a young lad

i'm over 35 now

And even if you were a young lad, you are more at risk of "heart issues" after covid than the jab, and even in case of breakthrough infection post vaccine, the risk of serious issues is massively reduced. So it is in no way sensible for the hypothetical young lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,151 ✭✭✭✭JRant

These models should never be used as a basis for forming government policy. Almost every variable they input into it is an unknown and unknowable number. They are using a best guess approach for these variables, nonetheless they are total unreliable outside of a purely academic exercise.

Having experience in putting together modelling programs for other endeavors I can sympathize with the team carry carrying out the work. However, they are trying to model something we have very little understanding of with values that are guesstimates. It's an impossible task to do with any degree of accuracy.

The problem lies with the weak government ministers at the moment who are only too happy to hide behind them when in reality that isn't what they are designed to do. Nolan is for want of a better phrase simple "pulling numbers out of arse" when he quotes them. Sure, one of the models "may" be in the ballpark but trying to determine which one that is would be impossible.

We have a government basing official policy on something that is just a little bit better than a random number generator. That's completely nuts IMO.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Hard to challenge these people when we've the most pussyish media out there.

Claire Byrne put farage down but hadn't the balls.. literally.. to question our own shower of steady now politicians and wannabe celebrities.

We are far too docile to do anything but scream "ah for feck sake.. ah well what can ya do eh"

3 weeks it lasted and even then they'd rolled back on removing all restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

This is lockdown talk if I ever seen it. Buckle up folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭shockframe

The contrast between Farage's remark and the damage inflicted by Government/NPHET.

Thanks for coming on the show today Dr Tony, Michael, Norma 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,803 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

I see many nightclubs in our country are now shifting to "late afternoon clubs" fair play to them for trying to make lemonade from lemons, hopefully the govt can realise they are wrong to restrict hospitality to midnight closing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭choronzonix

Absolutely. The other issue is that the outcome - whether they prove to be wildly off the mark or completely accurate (which they never have been up to this point, and which no one in the media ever bothers to bring up) - is completely unfalsifiable. If the outcome turns out to be way below the predicted model (i.e. like the summer) then NPHET and the government can simply say "well this is because of our restrictions! See, they worked!" and there is no way to prove it either way. Similarly, if the model turns out to hit the mark, the same actors will tell us "see! The models worked!" so either way they can hide behind them. It is absolute nonsense, and anyone with any sense at this point can see it, but we have a media class simply unwilling to offer any sort of real challenge to this status quo.

news for you, i've sons who are young lads any any reasonable measures.

some of us have a perspectives beyond their own hole.

edit ,

we have some countries suspending covid vaccines due to hearts issues, why? if it's so clear cut. the truth is the data is evolving and the full extent of the vaccines side effects won't be known nor collated for some time to come especially if the side effects werent identified initially as vaccine related.

We were sold a pup on the vaccine , sure it helps but it doesn't work as we were told - despite the reassurances that this was the greatest effort ever in history , nothing like this can be rushed . despite the resources thrown at it.

you and many of the pro-lockdown/ pro vaccine people (esp in the media and Dail) debate this as if we should follow a textbook of instructions and that everybody's needs/wants and risk/reward thresholds are the same.

news for you , they aren't.

Post edited by foxsake on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Common sense solution to a problem they didn't create.