Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Joe Rogan downplays the need for a vaccination and gets covid

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Good so we agree it has both human and veterinary uses...

Many media sources citing it as a sheep dewormer is wholly disingenuous and paints a picture that it isn't for human consumption...

That is were my issues lie...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,136 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

It's not remotely disingenuous. Taking random medicines because some eejit said to do so is the height of stupidity.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 7,685 ✭✭✭growleaves

@Blaaz 'The smug satisfaction people on reddit/interwebs take in noted anti-vaxxers/covid deniers dying is a horrible quality'

This doesn't help promote vaccines much imo.

Prominent people have also dropped dead shortly after taking a vaccine, and the media will insist it was 'unrelated' every time.

The overall effect of an untrustworthy official/media culture is more scepticism, for good or ill.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,347 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

He is trying to deflect from that obvious truth by focusing in on the fact that it's "not just sheep worm medicine"

Same. I have no skin in this game and found the sudden "You aren't a horse so why would you take this?" memes that flew around the internet pretty absurd. I only looked into Ivermectin for the first time a couple of days ago because of it.

It sounds like Hydroxychloroquine 2.0. That was seen as some alt-right thing, and then in the biggest medical scandal of the entire Covid-19 saga, the world stopped researching it based on 100% false science submitted to the Lancet.

Surgisphere, whose employees appear to include a sci-fi writer and adult content model, provided database behind Lancet and New England Journal of Medicine hydroxychloroquine studies

Everyone, including governments, latched onto that research because it perfectly conformed to this notion that alt-right retards were pushing nonsense onto the masses. It was politically easy for the world to say "We told you so." and not even check the data.

The subsequent trials of its effectiveness don't actually here because my point is that we're seeing the same thing happen again with Ivermectin at the early stages. It's a "conspiracy theorist" drug, only used by anti-vaxxers, and only a horse should take it. You are an animal if you see this as an option. Remdesivir was lambasted by the same people because Trump took it. It's like the opposite of being an anti-vaxxer is becoming pro-vaxxer-and-everything-else-is-useless.

Again, I don't specifically care about Ivermectin. I don't even think it's used in the country I live in. But I do care that everything that is not a vaccine is being attacked by politically associating them with the other side. Meanwhile, many of us know people who are alive because of off-label use of things like anti-malarials. We're not convinced by stupid "Are you a horse?" answers to genuine questions.

Vaccines are all that matter, because responsibility can be tied to getting one, and that lets people attack others for being stupid not getting one. That's all a lot of people care about. They don't want Ivermectin to work because it would make them wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,005 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Prominent people have also dropped dead shortly after taking a vaccine

Like who?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,979 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

That's true but Joe Rogan is a wealthy man , he can afford to access/buy the proper human version of Ivermectin - which likely did sod all for him , but most importantly won't have poisoned him.

But the huge issue in the US is cost and availability of medications for most people. Massive numbers of people have no healthcare and/or the costs of medication through their healthcare provider puts it out of their reach.

So , they hear "Joe Rogan caught COVID and took Ivermectin and now feels great" and because they have no healthcare and/or no money they go and buy the only Ivermectin they can access , which is the Animal version - And that is very very bad.

Oklahoma's ERs are so backed up with people overdosing on ivermectin, gunshot victims are having to wait to be treated

A doctor in rural Oklahoma says the number of people overdosing on horse deworming medication ivermectin is so high that emergency rooms are filled to the brim.

The situation is so dire that even people with gunshot wounds have to wait their turn to get treatment, said Dr. Jason McElyea, an ER physician affiliated with multiple hospitals in Sallisaw, Oklahoma.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

I totally agree with you however it is the ultimate "I told you so" and it is hard for humans to be overly empathetic to the strife of others far away without some sort of connection.

First they came for the socialists...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,136 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

If the media are untrustworthy, why are you sharing links from the media?

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭OMM 0000

This is scientifically inaccurate. The reason the virus is mutating and continuing to spread has nothing to do with the unvaccinated. If everyone in the world was vaccinated we'd still be getting variants like delta.

You shouldn't be insulting people when you can't get basic facts right.

This is nonsense. The virus is an RNA-based virus which typically have higher rates of mutation than DNA-based viruses. The virus can only mutate when it replicates. Since the whole world isn't getting vaccinated any time soon, it's not going to stop replicating but if everyone were to be vaccinated tomorrow it would have a vastly smaller reservoir of areas in which to do so.

H. H. Asquith

Does the vaccine not decrease your viral load making it harder to pass on

• Registered Users Posts: 17,391 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

This. Joe isn't anti vax at all. He encourages anyone that wants a vaccine to get one. His own personal choice was not to get one, that's on him, he's not looking for sympathy or donations, joe will be grand. Yet everyone is here bashing him. You all have your vaccines, why are you all worried about what one man in America does?

I don't believe this to be honest. It's the sort of non-committal defence we see of various libertarian edgy types. What Rogan does by himself is his business but if he's going to use his influence to spread disinformation then he's fair game for criticism.

H. H. Asquith

• Subscribers Posts: 40,978 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

That's an incredibly ignorant and frankly WRONG comment. If everyone in the world was vaccinated then the transmission levels would drop to a level of small enclosed and more importantly manageable outbreaks, which is obviously the point of mass vaccination. Mutations from these will occur much much faster in the unvaccinated

So how about you actually get some education before spewing rubbish on topics you have no idea about

It's purely a business move from him the way he has sat on the fence by being kinda pro vaccination but also not and seems very sketchy about telling if he got it himself. Clearly afraid to lose half his audience whatever answer he gives

It's not just one man in America.

His decision not to get a vaccine affects the society in which he lives.

If Rogan was living in a cabin in the mountains, fair enough, but he doesn't. He lives a very busy life and is in constant contact with people, both acquaintances and strangers.

• Registered Users Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Real Life

I used to listen to him a good bit but for me I started to lose interest around the time he started his obsession with Jordan Peterson.

Between that and the airtime he was given Ben Shapiro and then getting Alex Jones back on to spout nonsense, at least he challenged him on things then but still it was becoming more of a sh1tshow by the day. His insistence for getting on people to talk about diets and nutrition who are complete con artists and have no scientific basis for their claims also annoyed me.

Brett Weinstein and the other IDW guys talking nonsense constantly, even Sam Harris has come out with concerns about the nonsense being spread on the show.

I feel like his move to Spotify and subsequently moving to Texas finished him off with me, I couldn't take any more of the nonsense at that point.

That's some gaslighting.

Let's make this really simple:

The virus will or will not continue mutating and spreading when everyone is vaccinated?

It spreads and mutates amongst vaccinated people.

H. H. Asquith

Stop spreading misinformation.

The virus is spreading easily amongst the vaccinated (look at Israel and Maldives).

You are lying to readers by trying to pretend if we are all vaccinated the mutations and spreading will end.

Of course, you can't admit you're wrong, so you'll just start gaslighting, moving goalposts, and of course use personal attacks.

You refuse to answer the question because then you'll have to admit you're wrong.

I remember why you were on my ignore list on the old boards. Going back on it now.

I explained myself clearly. You're trying to use a false dichotomy to simplify a complex problem.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

It's hilarious how people twist criticising Joe Rogan taking horse de-wormers for covid as some sort of Freedom of Expression issue.

He's an anti-vaxxer tosspot with the biggest podcast in the world. It's because of morons like him and the message they spread that we're so slow to get out of this pandemic and the next strain of covid will be even more contagious and dangerous. I would never wish ill health on anyone but if antivaxxers who catch covid have absolutely no sympathy from me.

• Subscribers Posts: 40,978 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

more lies and ignorance

you said verbatim "the reason the virus is mutating and continuing to spread has nothing to do with the unvaccinated"

that is lies, pure and simple.

Unvaccinated transmission is the singular most significant reason for mutations, and not being vaccinated is the singular most significant reason for transmission.

so stop right now telling lies and spreading misinformation.

Post edited by sydthebeat on

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,565 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Ignorant idiotic imbecile (although a rather dangerous one at that, given the reach of his web-based platforms etc.) who willfully ignores all the best medical advice on Covid gets the virus. It’s really that simple.

Time to move on, nothing to see here folks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

Well, I'd ask again but he's clearly so upset that he's had to make a song and dance about putting me on his ignore list.

H. H. Asquith