Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,428 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Yes, and what is his game here.

We are making decisions based on NEPHETs modelling and being far more restricted in how we live our lives because of it.

PhilipNolan said we would have a few thousand in hospital so the Government deferred indoor dining, elsewhere in Europe people have been socialising indoors for months.

So are these covid hospital numbers people who are ill enough to be admitted, this would make us think caution is right, if however covid is now endemic in the population to the extent that s large number of people needing limbs etc put in cast are testing positive then we do need to re open faster in line with our neighbours.

Our young people are watching their peers in Europe living their lives snd then listening to NEPHET, they will leave in their thousands and their skills and education will be put to use elsewhere.

we will lose the best and brightest of our graduates and they wont come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

At least he's finally raising it, he'll probably get chastised by some of his cabinet colleagues for even mentioning it and going against the narrative NPHET want to show. It's especially important now because vaccinated people are now showing up in hospital numbers which is scaring a lot of older people. It would be great if it could be shown that a lot of these vaccinated people are in there for other reasons and their covid symptoms are mild.

He is a medical Doctor so should have raised this long before now.

He knows we are a complete outlier in Europe now and this is because he allowed a group of medical advisers to tell him what to do.

when are we going to have proper political leadership again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,753 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Only asking for this now... This should have been asked for a year ago

Potentially vulnerable vaccinated adults!?

Is this where we are now? Back to where we started as if no vaccine program ever undertaken?

How about this miniscule cohort stay at home if that's how they see themselves and let the rest of society get on with life? Living with the handbrakes on for the rest of eternity because of a tiny minority is hysterical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

It makes sense to have visibility on both, acute CoViD patients who need active in-hospital treatment and those being treated for something else but needing isolation because of a coincidental but not needing treatment CoViD infection, so there is visibility on the overall impact on hospital resources.

How much information does the general public need before information overload makes it difficult to see the wood for the trees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

141 in hospital as of 8am. Would expect a big portion of them to be discharged today.

I was once referred to the conspiracy forum when I suggested that there was lots of people in hospital "with" Covid as opposed to "Of" Covid.

Several posters attacked me with things like "As if people with broken arms, legs are included in the numbers".

Well there you have it folks. The Tanaiste has confirmed it for us. It would have been useful to have this information a year ago.

How many actually needed treatment back in Jan when Covid was spreading mainly in the hospitals?

I'm also pretty appalled if the government used this data to make decisions and didn't have the full picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭dubdaymo

Sorry, I don't have an exact link and don't remember the date as it seems like light years ago now. The archive is at the link below if you fancy doing a search.

Oireachtas committees video archive – Houses of the Oireachtas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭TefalBrain

They needed to frighten people a year ago. Varadkar in fairness to him has read the room and now realises they have lost the narrative and indeed the dressing room, problem is a lot of the Irish people are gullible enough to buy his and his PR crews spin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭OwenM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

But he's not Taoiseach and getting to this point might have taken a level of persuasion of Martin. There are at least 3 wings in government, the worriers in the Martin camp, those more open to looking more closely at what NPHET says with Leo and then a flip-flopping bunch who mostly can't make up their minds.

It is where we are unfortunately.example on the radio this morning mark Cagney on with ciara Kelly.he was hysterical and has swallowed way too much of the koolaide to the point of giving out about people taking off the bloody mask outside of the shop door.this type of bs is going to be harder to break than a turbo charged flu we’re all going to die from unless we stay hidden forever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Someone with a broken arm or leg wouldn't have been included as they would be treated as an outpatient.

Inpatients being treated for something else who coincidentially had very mild or asymptomatic CoViD would have only contributed a small error to the reported figures.

It's the default response to any questioning of models, data etc. It's, once again, a consequence of a non-functioning fourth estate. In a country with a functioning fourth estate such things would be questioned by the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Mark Cagney is what my Dad would refer to as an amadán , an eejit .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I have it on authority that in normal times he is a very nice man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,620 ✭✭✭timmyntc

No - this came up months ago also, and some figures were available for a time about hospital acquired infection and hospital admissions with infection. The figures showed a substantial number of "covid patients" tested positive after admission, but were listed as covid patients in general reports. No doubt same is happening now.

As virus becomes more prevalent (higher cases), people who admit to hospital for other reasons are more likely to test positive simply because the virus is circulating in the community. It doesnt mean they were admitted with covid, or that they need covid specific treatment. There absolutely needs more transparency on this as it should drive govt response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,546 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

The figures on how many were catching covid in hospital would be big, hopefully we will see the figures soon but I think it will be a significant difference

A broken leg is just one example. People are in hospital for all kinds of reasons. Covid spread a lot in hospitals last winter.

The Tanaiste has admitted that there are people in hospital "with" Covid but not getting treated for Covid.

We won't know what percentage until the data is shared. I wouldn't be surprised if its a lot higher than people think.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

ahh look, I agree with you! I am just debating that IF you decide not to allow unvaccinated adults into dining/pubs, then it contradicts that allowing unvaccinated children into those establishments. I couldn't give a feck, and will be in the pub. But there is a contradiction, as children can transmit as much as adults (I think), so it's stupid. That's all!

Sure there's contradictions everywhere in government policy

Just this weekend, we sat dining outside a guesthouse while the bar and restaurant inside were full of residents enjoying themselves. Of all ages and unknown vaccination status..

It's a complete clownshow.

The only angle that makes sense to me is a puritanical anti alcohol position that seeks to reduce alcohol consumption for as long as possible.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,044 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Hospitals are testing everyone in A+E on arrival.

You go in with a broken arm and are then classed as a covid case - its about time someone called them out on this - and dont get me started on deaths.

Ive posted previously about an uncle that died of a heart attack and he went down as a covid death because he was tested positive after he died.

This **** going to hit the fan!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,312 ✭✭✭rameire

That is not true for Connolly Blanchardstown Hospital.

nobody tested for Covid in A+E.

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

I was in Connolly hospital A+E in January. Didn't get tested in A+E but they were going to admit me to hospital so tested me then.

I believe they test everybody that gets admitted to hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Interesting statement regarding the Saolta hospital group:

”Tony Canavan, CEO of the Saolta Hospital Group, told RTÉ's Morning Ireland last week that "nearly all the [coronavirus] cases" in the group's hospitals "are being admitted for other reasons" than Covid-19.”

“Of those that do test positive for the disease, "the majority are exhibiting mild or moderate symptoms".

Either way, when all of this is done, I think there should be an investigation into the numbers.

It is clear to anyone with a few brain cells that the numbers are constantly presented in the most negative way imaginable. I think it would be hugely beneficial for society to know the full extent of the exaggeration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Icantthinkof1

I was in A&E recently, thankfully didn’t have to be admitted and was not tested for COVID while I was there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)