Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

The next variant should be called the WTF variant. Suits the situation we're in IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭TefalBrain

Deaths are on the floor. The vaccines work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭duffman13

The graph is crazy when overlapped with a lag, huge increases in cases, minor increase in deaths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

It's too early to say we've platued as much as I hope it is true. A few more days and we'll have a much better idea.

I don't agree on the indoor stuff causing the UK Delta wave, sure we've our own one now and we haven't reopened it. If we did reopen indoor dining on 5th July as we were supposed to indoor stuff it would of been blamed for the increase of cases we've had since but it can't be blamed for it now. It possible would have more of an increase if we did reopen it but we don't know that. The UK has almost consistently had more cases than us pro rata throughout the pandemic even when restrictions are similar. Behaviour analysis has shown that Irish people have been generally a lot more compliant with restrictions than our UK counterparts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭I see sheep

This vaccine passport stuff is a nonsense.

I know at least 10 people who are fully vaccinated that have got Covid in the last month, so could have had a 'vaccine passport' to get in places but still transmit Covid to other people.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭Azatadine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If we've plateaued, then we have plateaued at about a quarter of the number of cases (per capita) that the UK did, without having taken any mitigation measures. This would indicate, as Lumen suggests, that the opening of indoor dining at a lower level of vaccination was the primary driver of the UK surge. No open indoor dining and a huge surge in vaccinations would explain our case numbers being 75% lower than theirs. Yes, behaviourally we have traditionally fared better than the English in particular, but not 75% better.

Any road, it's academic. Hopefully both states are peaking and we're truly entering the final furlong of this clusterfuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭TefalBrain

The UK made the correct decision a few weeks back by letting people enjoy the euros and get on with life. Cases are completely irrelevant now as it is no more than than a common cold to the unvaccinated under 30's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,059 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Or you know the UK were in the Euros and doing well in it and as a result huge amounts of parties and resulting in covid cases. Similar to how Scotland spiked a week or so after that England game. I think it's got feck all to do with indoor dining as even if it was closed and they had the same measures as here, people were going to party with the Euros no matter what restrictions were there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Anyone following this page on Twitter??

seems real… but obviously still have some doubts.

Good page for realistic stats on our hospitals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭airy fairy

Some consultant, applauding colleagues that are sharing their Covid certs to the public in protest of the restaurant restrictions. I find it very odd.

And seems to belittle the Covid admissions of the youth, only needing oxygen as if it were a thing of nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,334 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It's far too early to be jumping to conclusions about a plateau, we've had a couple of days of slightly lower than could have been expected cases given the recent trajectory, the significance of that won't be immediately apparent. It really is still early enough days.

I, personally, don't think it's anything more significant than the extremely good weather leading to people doing things almost exclusively outside and a proportion putting off going for tests because of the sunny weather.

It's a pause, we'll be back to growth soon enough again. I'd be very, very confident of that.

It's a fake account. Also sharing nonsense from anti-vaxxers about the dangers of masks, claiming A&Es are full of suicidal and depressed people.

Possibly someone who works in a hospital, but overall a complete spoofer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

It would only be effective in conjunction with a fairly strict lockdown.

Our vaccine supply is mostly one of the two dose mRNA vaccines. Even ifyou could give everyone their first shot within a week it would be seven weeks before everyone is vaccinated. Allow for those who test positive during the vaccination schedule having to wait and there could be a long tail that extends the plan well beyond seven weeks.

@landofthetree wrote

As I predicted. They wont fully open up till 12-16 year olds are vaccinated. Then they will say we need to vaccinate 2-11 year olds. Then it will be the vulnerable who need a third jab. Then it will be everyone who needs it etc.

If that's the case, then what's the goal here? Endless lockdowns? For what purpose?

It was "Just another 20 weeks" before. Now "Another few weeks".

Sounds like a person with no desire to get back to normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Relax brah

Nobody knows because we have no leaders telling us what the actual plan is. It is just always a bunch of negative soundbites.

Its looking more and more like no normality in 2021 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,603 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

If the UK numbers stay low then surely we will be back to full capacity sports events etc soon, I thought after the euros their numbers would get to the hundreds of thousands a day but they leveled off, so far opening up has been a success for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gral6

Not a chance we'll ever be back to full capacity sports events or concerts. It is a shame but to attend these we'll have to go to the UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭landofthetree

We will have to go to the UK to randomly walk into a cafe to have a cup of tea never mind a concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Another drop in the uk today.

Starting to look good for them

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭corkie

https://twitter.com/roinnslainte/status/1418602553764352010

As of midnight, Thursday 22nd July, we are reporting

1,386* confirmed cases of #COVID19.

22 in ICU. 106 in hospital.

*Daily case numbers may change due to future data review, validation and update

Hospital figures on the rise again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

It honestly feels like the situation just before the lockdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,345 ✭✭✭giveitholly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

It also worked in China pre-vaccine days but this level of restrictions is not possible with large and interconnected population centres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Essentially, Claire Byrne ran at least four live role play sketches complete with mock-up settings for pod-based pubs and hairdressers respectively, Electric Picnic style festivals with each person inside a giant plastic zorb-like hamster ball, and Christmas dinner with minimal physical contact or social mixing between branches of extended families. Each of these was presented as a neutral "this is how the scientists are saying we can live safely for the indefinite future" news report and a bit of craic - and I must emphasise that this was not in the context of living within pandemic restrictions, but that horrible, soul crushing concept of "the new normal" as if this is just it for the rest of our lives. The key issue here is that they were presented vaguely and neutrally as "best advice from some top scientists", not as packaged propaganda from a privately funded lobby group with absolutely no connection whatsoever to the government or any sort of official body.

This isn't the particularly dystopian aspect though. The dystopian aspect is that ISAG were at this time privately admitting to, and encouraging eachother to continue, intentionally hyping-up this horrific "new normal" with the express intention of causing the general public to lose their minds with fear and anxiety, drum up anger at the lack of an alternative, and ultimately cajole people into lobbying the government to adopt the ISAG-favoured "Zero COVID" approach. It was never about how they actually felt life would be after the pandemic, and it was never about public safety. It was literally, in black and white, about manipulating peoples' emotions to provoke a political response - quite literally, "let's show people a future so horrifically depressing that they get upset enough to demand a policy U-turn from the government in order to avoid it". An all stick and no carrot approach to social engineering, essentially.

Now we can debate the ethics of lobby groups engaging in this kind of sh!te all day long, everyone knows that propaganda is rife in Irish politics and indeed in worldwide politics generally. And we certainly don't have to look very far to see other examples of lobby groups who are given absolutely incredible amounts of air time in the media and have exceptional influence on government policy. But in this case, in my view, RTE crossed a line. Maybe it's not the first time they've crossed this line, but it's the first time we have written evidence pointing towards it - they literally colluded with a lobby group and gave them a direct platform from which to spew their propaganda, and they didn't clearly label these segments as having been written not by RTE's journalists, but by this private lobby group.

In effect, they gave ISAG the cover of the respectable, nationally trusted on a wide scale, semi-publicly funded broadcaster RTE. They took content written by a private lobby group and presented it as original in-house content, not disclosing to the public that these segments were privately produced propaganda and not merely the result of work by the journalists working for the program. They also, as I have previously mentioned, referred to ISAG as if it was some kind of official body as opposed to clearly stating that it is a private pressure group with a hifalutin name, just like Iona, and nothing more.

This, in my view, is a massive betrayal of public trust, of the people who pay RTE's license fee, and more generally of the sacrosanct principles of journalistic ethics, ethics which we should be demanding that our national broadcaster adhere to without even the slightest hint of any exceptions.

As I mentioned previously, it does beg the question - just how many other well-produced segments for RTE current affairs debates were dreamed up by the marketing departments of private lobby groups, and not the journalists for whom the public has a lot of respect, and would have been easily misled into thinking were the actual authors?

This kind of carry on simply cannot be tolerated. If it is, we may as well formally declare that public service broadcasting in Ireland is over, and consign RTE to the same category of agenda driven propaganda as the likes of Fox or CNN. Which would be an utterly depressing development in the history of this Republic, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gral6

Sure, we need to lockdown hard till all the children are vaccinated!