Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Chat. (MOD NOTE post# 3949 and post#5279)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭Richard308

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    So he just magically appeared on the political scene and walked into the FG job in Carlow??No one noticed this guy representing the good citizenry in Carlow then for a decade or so ...Cmon Man! People VOTED for this ignoramus,same as they vote for every other incompetent, selfish, self-centred slob with a thick neck and a good line in promises that they never intend to keep.[Bar Trump that is;)]

The original post was referring to Eu commissioner Hogan, which is not a position us voters get a voice in.

In reference to promises that politicians never keep. “How’s that border wall that Trump was going to make the Mexicans pay for”

BTW Happy 4th of July to you all as well folks.:D:D

Happy 4th Of July buddy. I’ll be having a beer later with my American friends on a video call.

557573.jpg

Happy 4th of July Grizz ... starting on the hot dogs moving onto the burgers next.... and ohh the occasional beer or three

Firstly, hot dogs look ok. That Faxe Danish beer is good. Lastly whoever did the mosaic tiling would they not have used a trim to finish it nicely. Forgive my OCD.

4th July Menu.... keep it simple!

Beer garnished with a simple hamburger....

557576.jpg

It must be the light but that beer looks more like cat piss in the light. Happy 4th of July Cooki

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Happy 4th to Grizzly, I must send a few msgs to the American cousins.

First they came for the socialists...

Richard308 wrote: »
    Firstly, hot dogs look ok. That Faxe Danish beer is good. Lastly whoever did the mosaic tiling would they not have used a trim to finish it nicely. Forgive my OCD.

Just on the beer, 10%!!!

I find at the 6% mark I can taste the alcohol which I don’t like. But each to their own.

Feisar wrote: »
    Just on the beer, 10%!!!

I find at the 6% mark I can taste the alcohol which I don’t like. But each to their own.

I’d say you’re trying the wrong ones. There’s a few Belgian ones. Gulden draak. And others absolutely savage.

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭Fils

Does the fella with the 10% beer give the night drinking it or is he horsing them back as when you would be out on the lash?

Fils wrote: »
    Does the fella with the 10% beer give the night drinking it or is he horsing them back as when you would be out on the lash?

I would think it’d be more akin to wine drinking pace?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,855 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

I would think it’d be more akin to wine drinking pace?

They're one litre cans.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

They're one litre cans.

Feck me a few of them and I’d be a mess!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,956 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

The original post was referring to Eu Commissioner Hogan, which is not a position us voters get a voice in.
    BUT we do get a choice in voting for them when they are councillors,Td,etc...Looonnngg before they are appointed EU reps... Simply put if the guy was an asshole as a councillor a TD and minister, why d'ya think he would be any different as an EU minister?
    In reference to promises that politicians never keep. “How’s that border wall that Trump was going to make the Mexicans pay for”

Was going fine until the Biggest Idiot Democrats Ever Nominated stopped its funding,appointed Ka MA La to become the "Border Czar" who didn't bother her ass going to the actual border until Trump announced he was going to view it last month,and neither of the idiots in charge have done anything much about the "kids in cages" started by Obama,we might recall...So now the Governor of Texas and private funders are finishing off the job...Thanks for asking.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Was going fine until the Biggest Idiot Democrats Ever Nominated stopped its funding,appointed Ka MA La to become the "Border Czar" who didn't bother her ass going to the actual border until Trump announced he was going to view it last month,and neither of the idiots in charge have done anything much about the "kids in cages" started by Obama,we might recall...So now the Governor of Texas and private funders are finishing off the job...Thanks for asking.

Simply put how can the Democrat stop the Mexicans paying for it?

Charlie Haughey did irreversible damage to Irish politics.

Were they all as pure as the driven snow before him?

You’re naive to even be posting that. Do a quick google of the man. I’m not suggesting you read the 700 page moriarty tribunal but it will become evident very quickly what kind of a man he was.
    Didn’t Bertie learn from the best.

Eamon de Valera was as bad. Conning Irish emigrants in America

Yet another teacher in politics....Seems to be a thing here.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Simply put how can the Democrat stop the Mexicans paying for it?

They were" paying for it "in worse trade deals and less cooperation in the NAFTA agreements.
    Why did the Mexicans suddenly decide to start prosecuting and arresting illegal aliens and border jumpers when Trump was in charge?
    Now every man and his dog making it over the border fence is saying they are doing it because they belive under Biden they have a better chance of staying in the US .

You’re naive to even be posting that. Do a quick google of the man. I’m not suggesting you read the 700 page moriarty tribunal but it will become evident very quickly what kind of a man he was.
    Didn’t Bertie learn from the best.

I know what sort of operator he was. I was asking obliquely how he changed the face of politics? Lads eyes opened to what they could get away with/showed the way etc?

Didn’t he teach Bertie all he had to know. ‘He’s the man he said’

They were" paying for it "in worse trade deals and less cooperation in the NAFTA agreements.
    Why did the Mexicans suddenly decide to start prosecuting and arresting illegal aliens and border jumpers when Trump was in charge?
    Now every man and his dog making it over the border fence is saying they are doing it because they belive under Biden they have a better chance of staying in the US .

Not what Trump said. He promised they’d pay directly for it. They didn’t. You can blame anyone you want, trump said he’d do it.

I don’t promise my kids to take them to Disneyland and then say it’s my bosses fault. He wouldn’t let me take the companies money to pay for it.

Most politicians make empty promises it gets votes. Not mine, but……

Didn’t he teach Bertie all he had to know. ‘He’s the man he said’

He said Bertie was the most dangerous of the whole lot of them.
    A fly will recognise another fly all the time.

Not what Trump said. He promised they’d pay directly for it. They didn’t. You can blame anyone you want, trump said he’d do it.

I don’t promise my kids to take them to Disneyland and then say it’s my bosses fault. He wouldn’t let me take the companies money to pay for it.

Most politicians make empty promises it gets votes. Not mine, but……

Funny how people literally expect Trump to be taken literally all the time but free passes are handed out to the rest...Funny how that works.:)

I suppose people expected the Mexican president to be dropping a cheque in the mail to the White house:)

What grinds my gears with Haughey was he was so blatant about it,and lived literally like an English overlord up in his Gandon manor with all the trappings and mistress on the side, and there were fools who cheered this slimy little gun-running shyster on while he was screwing us all over. "Tighten your belt there,but I must have my silk shirts and yacht repaired by your peasants taxes"

" Good man Charlie...Your Da MAN for pulling the stroke on us again and costin us more money,but sure so long as the mother has the free buss pass its grand!."

God help us!!!

He said Bertie was the most dangerous of the whole lot of them.
    A fly will recognise another fly all the time.

Charlie said lots of things and did the opposite.

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭yubabill

CH was only one in a long line, unfortunately.

I am going to defend Charlie in part, at least, while openly acknowledging that he was far from an unimpeachable character.

A long time from now, I predict the partial rehabilitation of CH when the events around the 1970 Arms Trial become more clear.

Even Dessie O'Malley's own son is not privy to the background dealings. He wrote a book recently and got only the scantest details on the events from his own father, who then came out and defended Jack Lynch and his government in the most anachronistic way.

I have no way to prove it, but I believe that Jack Lynch did a deal with the UK over NI at the "not stand idly by" time : I believe it will come out eventually that the UK agreed to help our accession into the EEC in return for keeping NI as a policing operation, thus avoiding an international incident and keeping the UN out.

I believe there was unofficial government knowledge of what CH and Neil Blaney were doing and that they were the fall guys , along with Capt. Kelly, when a deal was done.

just my 2c. You don't have to believe it.

The one guy who should be really pardoned out of that utter clown show is Capt Kelly.
    He only got sucked into this comedy because he went on holidays to Northern Ireland when this all kicked off in 69 and was the Irish Govts "eyes on the ground" and did like any good soldier reported back what he saw to his CO, and then was sucked into something he had no control over and became a convenient scapegoat for the politicians.Everyone else came out of this story in a better political position and street cred than when they went in.Except for Kelly he was broken by this.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,855 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

yubabill wrote: »
    CH was only one in a long line, unfortunately.

I am going to defend Charlie in part, at least, while openly acknowledging that he was far from an unimpeachable character.

A long time from now, I predict the partial rehabilitation of CH when the events around the 1970 Arms Trial become more clear.

Even Dessie O'Malley's own son is not privy to the background dealings. He wrote a book recently and got only the scantest details on the events from his own father, who then came out and defended Jack Lynch and his government in the most anachronistic way.

I have no way to prove it, but I believe that Jack Lynch did a deal with the UK over NI at the "not stand idly by" time : I believe it will come out eventually that the UK agreed to help our accession into the EEC in return for keeping NI as a policing operation, thus avoiding an international incident and keeping the UN out.

I believe there was unofficial government knowledge of what CH and Neil Blaney were doing and that they were the fall guys , along with Capt. Kelly, when a deal was done.

just my 2c. You don't have to believe it.

I honestly thought this was the commonly accepted view.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

Was there anything morally wrong with the gun running at the time?