Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Amazing listening to the news at One and demand for pharmacies for the younger cohort, some pharmacies have waiting lists of 500. My thoughts is the younger ones want to get out of dodge!

Now being reported that some of the pharmacies were never notified of them providing the jab for the younger generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Archeron wrote: »
    Is it just me or does it seem that NPHET are actually deliberately undermining the government lately? Late data, wrong data, baseless predictions, plastering themselves in the limelight again while whipping the media into a frenzy with headlines using words like tsunami and hurricane of destruction. Absolute bollixology and no answers at all from government except repeating what their NPHET masters tell them.
    They are doing what they do, which is not an intentional effort to undermine government but as the government won't go against them they can advise as they please. What we've seen since Monday are efforts to back up their predictions and decisions. Meanwhile in another corner the government is trying to figure out what to do. That seems to be very little apart from waiting for the UK data these projections are based on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Arturo Delgado

I've watch the Taoiseach since he came to power and it's obvious he is one of the weakest we have ever had. He has no courage, no questions about NPHET, no real plan, no conviction. Just utters inane statements. We're not coming out of this at all over the next few months and it's simply the governments fault. Hopefully people will get so fed up they will peacefully show themselves on the streets in their tens of thousands soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Padkir wrote: »
    I haven't read everything over the last couple of days as there is too much posting, so apologies if this has already been addressed.

If NPHET's advice that only fully vaccinated people are allowed to access indoor dining and drinking is accepted and implemented by government, will they be recommending that these businesses open with zero restrictions, given only vaccinated people can access them?

I suspect I know the answer... If not, why not?
    Most likely some precautions would remain in place - such as wearing a mask when leaving your table, and hygiene measures such as handwashing, etc. These are low-cost measures which do not impact the business or the customer, so it's better to have them in place than just stop. The staff remain unvaccinated.

If it's vaccinated only, then they would likely have no need for distances between tables or limits on table numbers.

If it's vaccinated or those with negative tests, then the distance would probably remain, with restricted table numbers. Maybe 8-10 max.
    There is tomorrow at 12 at the GPO

https://www.instagram.com/p/CQuSSY0nPDL/
    Being promoted by anti-vaxxers, quelle surprise!

This is always going to be the issue with any protest about restrictions in general. It'll be hijacked by anti-vaxxers, the nazi party and scumbags who are hoping for a scrap with the Gardai.

Unless a protest has a better focus (e.g. just maternity care, or just business closures), then you're going to be wasting your time going to it. You'd be merely giving impetus to imbeciles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

It has plenty to do with his judgement, his rash decision making and it’s the perfect example of his over cautious stance towards socializing.

People need to see that he is wrong about some things because in some peoples eyes he is infallible

The poster stated he was having a shot at redemption and then that he would burn the country to the ground

This is contradictory , regardless of what anyone thinks of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

seamus wrote: »

This is always going to be the issue with any protest about restrictions in general. It'll be hijacked by anti-vaxxers, the nazi party and scumbags who are hoping for a scrap with the Gardai.

Unless a protest has a better focus (e.g. just maternity care, or just business closures), then you're going to be wasting your time going to it. You'd be merely giving impetus to imbeciles.

This is exactly my problem i do want to protest and make my voice heard about how i feel things are currently being completely mishandled but i do not want to be associated with the crazies who will turn up and make it all about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Level 42

I've watch the Taoiseach since he came to power and it's obvious he is one of the weakest we have ever had. He has no courage, no questions about NPHET, no real plan, no conviction. Just utters inane statements. We're not coming out of this at all over the next few months and it's simply the governments fault. Hopefully people will get so fed up they will peacefully show themselves on the streets in their tens of thousands soon.

He has no balls the man- to emphasise his points in speaches he makes these mad hand gestures like fr Ted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭MOH

That's a self-fulfilling prophecy though. If 300 people go to a protest and 100 cause severe trouble, they get the focus they're happy with.

If 50,000* people go to a protest and 100 cause trouble, they're just seen as the fringe and not get the main focus.

(*Random sample number. Not like 50,000 people here are going to protest anyway)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,845 ✭✭✭facehugger99

SAMTALK wrote: »
    The poster stated he was having a shot at redemption and then that he would burn the country to the ground

This is contradictory , regardless of what anyone thinks of him

You're unaware of past figures who have destroyed their countries while portraying themselves as infallible heroes?

You need to read more history books buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Most likely some precautions would remain in place - such as wearing a mask when leaving your table, and hygiene measures such as handwashing, etc. These are low-cost measures which do not impact the business or the customer, so it's better to have them in place than just stop. The staff remain unvaccinated.

If it's vaccinated only, then they would likely have no need for distances between tables or limits on table numbers.

If it's vaccinated or those with negative tests, then the distance would probably remain, with restricted table numbers. Maybe 8-10 max.

I don’t have an issue with that protest saying it’s against vaccine coercion (among all the other things)
    I am fully vaxxed.
    I see telling people they can’t dine indoors or fly without being vaccinated as vaccine coercion and I’m against that.

we have the worst opposition in the history of the state to not upset the apple cart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭basill

He was never meant to be in power. He was put in first so that FG and leaky Leo can then take over for the 2nd part of the term and do the usual give aways.

Its really boils down to the parish pump political system in Ireland. If you look at the popular vote from the last election none of these people should be in power. The only reason they are there is for the fact that over a period of approximately 140 days they essentially tore up their own political parties manifestos in order to cling to power and form a government that was not democratically elected. If people made protest votes and voted tactically just once in their lives then just maybe we might get rid of all these idiots and have some real change in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

Level 42 wrote: »
    we have the worst opposition in the history of the state to not upset the apple cart

To busy sucking up the young vote for next time round to actually oppose anything haha.

But seriously given the poor job the Gov have done in recent months I am shocked the opposition (all of it not 1 party) have not connected with WHO, ECDC etc, to provide a second scientific opinion.

Surely they can request the modelling and submit for review even if the Gov does not want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Sky news reporting England's R number has fallen slightly again. Where the hell are we going wrong?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

You're unaware of past figures who have destroyed their countries while portraying themselves as infallible heroes?

You need to read more history books buddy.

Not your buddy thanks!

How does he redeem himself by burning down the country, or to whom does he redeem himself by doing this ?

You seem to blame all on Tony Holohan. You do know the buck doesnt actually stop with him ?

He has a job (whether he does it right or not is another thing ) but all he does is give advice and it's the government who have the final call , but they are too weak to stand up and be counted.

Sky news reporting England's R number has fallen slightly again. Where the hell are we going wrong?!

R number falling despite all the p1ss ups and euro matches .how contagious is this delta or is it all made up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

basill wrote: »
    He was never meant to be in power. He was put in first so that FG and leaky Leo can then take over for the 2nd part of the term and do the usual give aways.

Its really boils down to the parish pump political system in Ireland. If you look at the popular vote from the last election none of these people should be in power. The only reason they are there is for the fact that over a period of approximately 140 days they essentially tore up their own political parties manifestos in order to cling to power and form a government that was not democratically elected. If people made protest votes and voted tactically just once in their lives then just maybe we might get rid of all these idiots and have some real change in the country.

Not sure how you can claim the leader of the largest party in the Gov was never meant to be in power? Maybe you mistyped.

Or is it your love of Leo that has clouded your clarity :D:D:D:D

Our elected officials as a whole (gov and opposition) have been appalling this year. Then again none of them are really qualified for leading nations or handling health crisis.

Hate him or love him - Leo at the start with his 2 stooges actually did better than anyone ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

R number falling despite all the p1ss ups and euro matches .how contagious is this delta or is it all made up

and indoor dining since April

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,679 ✭✭✭✭rob316

To busy sucking up the young vote for next time round to actually oppose anything haha.

But seriously given the poor job the Gov have done in recent months I am shocked the opposition (all of it not 1 party) have not connected with WHO, ECDC etc, to provide a second scientific opinion.

Surely they can request the modelling and submit for review even if the Gov does not want to.

You must be joking, its a republican party with socialist ideals, they scream bloody murder when the PUP is about to be cut that's it. If SF had been in power they would have been giving out €500 a week in PUP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,307 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Quags wrote: »
    The "Delta" variant has a case fatality rate of 0.1% (Public Health England, 11 June 2021).

The true infection fatality rate is lower than this.

Common symptoms are said to include a headache, sore throat and runny nose.

In other words, it is a cold.

This is not true. 0.12% is not the case fatality rate. It is the fatality rate amongst the severe cases. Where severe cases are people needing hospital attendance or stay or worse.

So that what's the percentage of cases that need hospital attendance or worse? Is it 5%, 2%? I dont know. 5% seems high but if its 5% you can divide that 0.12% by 20. That makes it 0.006%. That would be abetter approximation of the case fatality rate.

And to get to infection fatality rate we need to take into account undetected cases also. Could be another factor of 3 or 5 or 10 or godknowswhat. We'd have an idea if we did representative testing like real scientists demanded many many months ago.

It's minuscule either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,449 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

and indoor dining since April

They had a full house for the snooker final in Sheffield 2 months ago. We still can't have any organised indoor events except for, bizarrely enough, weddings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭voldejoie

https://www.thejournal.ie/pharmacies-vaccinate-18-34-monday-5483412-Jul2021/
    Deputy Chief Medical Officer Dr Ronan Glynn said the announcement paves the way for every adult in Ireland to be vaccinated by the end of August.

Dr Glynn added that he would encourage everyone to get a vaccine as soon as it is available to them.

However, he warned that, regardless of today’s announcement, Ireland is still facing into a significant surge in coronavirus infections in the next two months because of the Delta variant.

“That will not materially alter the course of what we’re going to deal with in July and August, it may well alter what we have to deal with beyond that,” he said.

I mean, I would HOPE that if it is possible that the adult population will be fully vaccinated by the end of August it will materially alter things after that, otherwise what is the POINT? Christ I despair of this crap, nearly annoyed at myself for reading it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,986 ✭✭✭acequion

And considering he was part and parcel of that toxic FF administration that ran this country over a cliff and caused almost a decade of economic carnage it really beggars belief that he is now Taoiseach and that he was comfortably voted back in every election since. "You get the Govt you deserve" is an unfortunate truism.

And I agree with the posters who don't want to be associated with protests run by nutters and anti vaxxers. We need protests run by reasonable people with credibility but we have a leadership vacuum in that respect.

It's incredibly depressing. I'd advise any bright young person to start looking into a future overseas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭bloopy

Isn't the delta variant just the renamed indian variant?
    What happened in India that their cases dropped so much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭agoodpunt

opps 5m double vaxed in UK given an indian version of AZ it was not approved and they will not be able to travel

while 1m here got pfizer not allowed dine in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Quags

acequion wrote: »

And I agree with the posters who don't want to be associated with protests run by nutters and anti vaxxers. We need protests run by reasonable people with credibility but we have a leadership vacuum in that respect.

Think this could be a major issue, why not everyone is anti vaxxer you are automatically assumed to be one of them if you go to a protest that some of them appear as. Its not mainly over a vaccine its lockdown, business closures & other services (cancer appointments etc) being delayed for this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭TefalBrain

BBC World news had an expert on yesterday that stated the virus is no more dangerous now than a common cold for unvaccintated under 40's. Hospital numbers in the UK have seen no surge or even risen that much in the last few weeks. He also added that although Delta is more transmissible it is it anything less dangerous than the original Covid strain of the virus.

Don't expect RTÉ to have views like that expressed on radio or TV under threat from their main revenue provider at present the government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Quags

TefalBrain wrote: »
    BBC World news had an expert on yesterday that stated the virus is no more dangerous now than a common cold for unvaccintated under 40's. Hospital numbers in the UK have seen no surge or even risen that much in the last few weeks. He also added that although Delta is more transmissible it is it anything less dangerous than the original Covid strain of the virus.

Don't expect RTÉ to have views like that expressed on radio or TV under threat from their main revenue provider at present the government

They will have Claire Byrne on instead