Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Murph_D wrote: »
    Came across a few stouts myself the other day. Cheers! ;)

Yeah, bloody stout!!! Talk about the Connemara yokel.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,621 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Trying to get the runs in while on a family holiday is a challenge and the functional strength routines have been a resultant casualty.

Mon: took the Passage East ferry to Wexford and spent the day at different beaches. Dollar Bay beach was like something you’d find abroad, beautiful secluded and sheltered cove. After a late evening meal it was a struggle to get out at all.

Plan: 10 miles
    Actual: 3 miles recovery along the Greenway with the young lad, body a bit stiff from the weekend efforts and all the driving.

When we first arrived the 2 min ferry journey across to the island was great fun and a novelty, a day or two later and it’s still a bit quaint, almost a week later, for a family of impatient boggers, it’s now that f’ing ferry is such a pain in the hole!!!!!

Tue: more swimming around Newtown Cove, and another run directly after dinner!

Plan: 10 miles easy
    Actual: 4 miles with a belly full of sea food with my daughter. Gave up a half arsed attempt at a functional strength routine and retired to the couch with a protein bar and a bag of nuts.

Wed: horrible weather so into the cinema to see Kong v Godzilla, fell asleep!

Had a very short window to run today and was testing Mrs TbLs patience so I’d to trim the wu/cd miles more than planned here!

Plan: wu/cd with 16 (yes feckin sixteen) 400’s off 400 jog.

I’ve never run that many 400’s in a session before and if I’d time to think about it I’d have bricked it, but as it was I’d 75 mins to get this done and dusted, so headed to the greenway and got going! Only a mile warm up and into the faster stuff, wasn’t entirely convinced that the watch was picking up the paces correctly but bashed through it. Struggled in places with this and the last couple were very hard but I actually found this easier than both the 8 x 800’s and the 6 x 1k. At the end I was doing my usual heaving when an (even) older runner asked me if I was ok!

Rep splits were a bit all over the place:

6.06; 6.08; 6.05; 6.12; 6.12; 6.10; 5.44; 6.01; 6.04; 5.52; 6.33; 5.57; 6.13; 6.23; 6.31; & 6.04.

Happy to have it done.

Looking for a bit of advice, I’m supposed to race a 5k next Tuesday, plan is going well and I don’t want to balls it up so just looking for inputs on how to approach it?

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

You can’t race a 5k leave it, don’t beat yourself up over it. Run a good hard session that will bring you up to something similar, 8x800, 5x1km along those lines.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

What exactly are you hoping to get from the 5k race? Is it an option in the plan as a session or just something you want to do?

Had hoped to break my 5k PB at an actual race.

No it’s not on the plan, I’d be swapping it out with a session

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭MrMacPhisto

I would just drop the faster speed session and go pretty close to full gas for the 5k race. 5km race shouldn't take too much out of ya, but if you don't feel recovered enough by the next session then I would push that session back by a day.

If it was a 10k or ten miler, I would probably replace one of the tempo sessions for that rather than the speed session, and run those races at my goal half marathon pace, with last few kms at a slightly faster pace. More jeopardy here as these are longer efforts and ultimately not the main goal.

Thats the way I tend to work around the Hanson SOS plans and racing. Don't be afraid to push sessions a day or two if necessary, but don't try and catch up either if you miss one or two along the way.

Had hoped to break my 5k PB at an actual race.

No it’s not on the plan, I’d be swapping it out with a session

TbL

If it was me i'd go for it, a 5k isn't too demanding on the body & the fact that it's a real race would seal the deal for me! But I'm no expert, so I'm sure you will be well advised here :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Lambay island

If it was me i'd go for it, a 5k isn't too demanding on the body & the fact that it's a real race would seal the deal for me! But I'm no expert, so I'm sure you will be well advised here :)

Also agree with this. I hugely regretted not running 5k races last summer when races were actually happening,to only run virtual stuff with all my training a few months later.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Run it on feel, ignore the watch.
    Decent dive entry, although the crossed legs would drop it to a 5-5.5/10 :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭ariana`

Far from any kind of expert here but right now I'd jump at a chance to race. At the end of the day none of us here are elites, we're all doing this for fun and personal achievement - it's about what you want to do and what makes you tick, it was me I'd be thinking it's been too long since real races to pass up the chance :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

If you think you will fully commit to a PB effort then I'd go for it if I was in your shoes...But if I had any doubts about whether I was really committed to the pain of it then id go with the session.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Plenty of good advice there. If it's a real PB attempt it's going to take plenty out of you for a few days and I'd consider not doing the tempo session at all that week - the specificity of a raced 5k will give you more than enough stimulus for the week. The timing of the race means the speed session is out too - but you should be recovered enough to put something into the long run - depending on whether the schedule calls for one of the easier LRs or one of the 'steady' ones (assuming your plan has both types).

Good luck and mind yourself!

End of week 4/12 Hanson’s hm plan

Don’t think I’ve ever completed as taxing a 4 week block of training, both mentally and physically, before! Happy to have come through it in ok shape though.

Was on holiday in Waterford with the family and all the driving and being out of a routine took its toll. I usually stretch every day but barely did it half arsed on holiday and had no time at all to do my functional strength routine that I’d normally do 3 times a week. Also missed my weekly session with the physioterrorist. Think this all caught up with me by the weekend as I was tired and stiff/sore.

Thur: 4 easy boring miles looking for a river trail but ended up mainly through housing estates.

Fri: almost didn’t run, zero motivation. Was wrecked after a day cycling the greenway and then overdid it on the nuts and Diet Coke at the cinema. The kids wanted to see the Fast & the Spurious and it didn’t finish till after 10 o clock. Took huge will power to lace up and plod a 5k around the hotel in the dark. Really didn’t enjoy this and I was started to get as stiff as fcuk!

Sat: wu/cd and 5 miles at HMP.

I’d zero expectations for this run and I’d have happily accepted 7 min pace as I felt drained and sore all over. Hit the Greenway and did a short warm up of 1.5 miles. Whatever is going on with my body it decided to play ball and I hit the pace handy enough, actually had to dial it in a bit. Did 2.5 miles out and back and definitely tired over the last 2 miles but the average pace on this session continues to fall week by week. Was very happy and surprised with this given the state of me at the start.

Splits: 6.34; 6.36; 6.35; 6.43; & 6.44

Sun: plan had 14 mile long run. Long drive home and bringing my daughter to her GA game (she scored 2-3 and the winning goal :)) meant I didn’t get out till after 8pm. Was very stiff, glutes, back and calf were protesting and after a mile I decided to just run home. I probably could have continued and finished but with one eye on Tuesday I decide I’d prefer to try and save myself to run “fast” on Tuesday rather than get the LR easy miles in and add to the aches. Only got 4 miles done.

Need to get back into stretching and clean diet as I’ve developed a holiday belly!

Also have a bit of a tan but it’s more cedar than mahogany on the AMK tanning index :)

Hopefully I can get a good week in this week!

TbL

Best of luck Tuesday:D

Start of week 5/12 Hanson’s hm plan

Last weeks holiday, lack of routine, poor diet and all the time spent driving definitely caught up with me. Body was in bits and definitely feeling my age :(

Mon: physioterrorist was away today and the badly needed session was pushed back a day which didn’t suit me at all.

Plan: 10 miles easy
    Actual: 5 miles very easy with my daughter.

Did some stretching and functional strength routine in the evening and had an epsom salt bath before bed.

Tue: visit to the physioterrorist, good news was there was no issue with the back but the rest of the body failed the NCT and I was in bits leaving. I’d usually never have a session on a race day but I felt I’d no choice.

Plan: wu/cd 6 x 1 mile @ HMP minus 10 seconds off 400m jog.

Actual: Seo Leat 5k race.

Drove the short distance over to the Connemara airport with the young lad at 5.45. He was doing the 6.30 race and I was doing the 8pm one. As usual the guys from Pop Up races organise a very efficient race. I was surprised with the turnout though and it was disappointing that more runners didn’t support this race. Fantastic setting for a race. Young lad is more interested in football and Fortnite and I’d to almost force him to do it but he was happy out when he finished.

I wanted to give this race a good crack and the recent boards 5k TT saw me hit 19 mins so I was hopeful of a better time. Did a long stretch and then a warm up on the course. The course was on the apron and runway and after a lap warm up I knew I was going to struggle with the turns. The route was 3 laps with 9 (I think) 180• turns.

A bit of a breeze picked up just before the start and that helped as it was warm.

Line up at the start and got going without too much fuss. The speedy guys took off and I tried to settle into my groove. 6.07 pace should see the job done and after a quarter of a mile I was on 5.40 pace so pulled it back, was passed by another runner at this stage but just focused on getting it done. Mile one beeped at 5.59 and while not comfortable I wasn’t dying. Around half way through lap 2 my hamstring started to ping and if it got worse I was going to drop out. Lap 2 came in at 6.07 and I was now starting to feel it a bit (mentally especially), I don’t like the hurt of 5k’s always preferred the slow torture of longer runs.

On the last lap I passed a runner in front of me on one of the turns and found this very hard to manage/maneouver. Looked at the pace and I’d fallen off to 6.20, gritted the teeth and managed to salvage a 6.07. Was very pleased with myself with that mile until I realised I was using Garmin distance/pace and it was a bit out, stupid bloody novice mistake. I was pissed off big time and sprinted as fast as I could, almost caught the lad who’d passed me, but I’d left too much to do. Even 5.14 pace for the .16 mile wasn’t enough and I crossed the line in 19.06.

Was seething at the end but I suppose a nights sleep brings some perspective. I wasn’t in great shape toeing the line, course while very flat was difficult and the 18.59 (Strava time) I ran for the Boards TT obviously wasn’t a real PB, Strava gave me a 5k time of 18.45 for the race. Next time I’m racing a unmarked course I’ll have to run Garmin splits of 6.02.

The positives are, a while ago I thought sub 20 was unattainable and I’m pissed of with a 19.06 (an official PB) :)

Might try another 5k if I can find a race in a few weeks.

Back to the plan for now though, I’m going to take the next few days easy. I’m supposed to run 6 miles @ HMP on Saturday but I might try and incorporate this into Sunday’s long run instead.

Wed: plan rest

Actual: recovery 3 miles very easy, hammy needs some attention as it very tight. Passed 1000 miles for the year so far.

TbL

As I said on strava, "**** course, great time, congrats on the PB." I don't think you should be beating yourself up for that performance. It's a good lesson anyway - Garmin data has a big margin of error, especially on a **** course!

Fair play - not a bad time at all for a Jumbo. ;)

Well done on the official PB :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Fair play on that - I reckon 9x180's must cost about 2.65478 secs each!!

that's a superbly executed race and to get a PB out of it while feeling $hit - you have to take that!

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Congrats on the official PB. Shows that you are course for a good run in Antrim. Keep the head down and keep hitting the sessions and you will have a great run!

End week 5/12 Hanson’s hm plan

Getting aulder is a b1tch!!!

Why can’t Amazon sell me back 20 years of my life, they do everything else :(

Happy I raced the 5k but not sure I’ll do another one on this plan. I could feel the hammy tighten during the 5k, right under the lip of the arse, and it’s annoying me since. I hoping it’s auld man rigour mortis rather than a small tear. Little to know pain when I walk but it aches when I run although it doesn’t get progressively worse.

It currently doesn’t like “pace” though and I might need to back next weeks sessions towards the back of the week.

Thur: plan 10 miles easy

Actual: 6 miles easy around Dangan

Stretching and Functional Strength routine

Fri: plan 10 miles easy:

Actual: ran just under 6.5 miles at a steady pace with my work buddy

Sat: plan wu/cd 6 miles at HMP

Actual: tried a longer warm up to test and see if body could manage this but it became quickly apparent that while the mind was gung ho the auld bag of bones had downed tools!

Managed just over 8 miles easy.

Stretching and functional strength routine

Sun: plan 14 miles LR

Actual: 14 @ 8.27.

Lots of tourists on the road not paying attention to their driving so I veered off my planned route and went on a small lovely quiet road for part of this.

Apart from aching hammy I actually felt ok on this and could have kept on going.

I’m trying every trick to loosen it out, Thera gun, foam rolling, hot/cold baths, magnesium, even the odd ibuprofen, oxygen tents (well more like a methane chamber after the extra protein :)) but it’s a deep stubborn fcuker!!!

Have the physioterrorist tomorrow so hopefully she’ll be able to witch doctor it better.

Off to Dublin then for 2 nights and then abroad with work. Not looking forward to sessions in 28• heat :(

I’ll try my session early Tuesday morning but if it’s still acting up I’ll try again on Thursday and do the next one on the Saturday.

There’s no chance of me breaking my HM PB in Antrim and the goal is still to run 6.40 pace but it’s all geared towards a year end (early next year) sub 3 marathon attempt.

Physio wants me to get another back mri but I’m hoping to put it off till I’ve tried the marathon again.

TbL

Start of week 6/12 of Hanson’s HMP 

Mmmmm…

Things starting to derail a little and had a bit of a psychological blow on the session.

Mon 5th: plan 10 miles easy.

Actual: 5k easy my daughter provided a bike escort. The physioterrorist visit was painful, I’ve hammy, hip flexor, glute and piriformis tightness that even after a week and treatment hasn’t gone away. Apparently my internal hip rotators are being also stressed. Drove to Dublin later in the evening and was staying in a hotel near the airport. 

Tue: meetings in Dublin and a visit to my functional strength guy (went well said I’m making progress) but he advised me against doing anything too strenuous afterwards so that put the kybosh on the planned session.

Plan: wu/cd 4 x 1.5 miles @ hmp minus 10 sec, off 400m.

Actual: 9 miles steady. Horrible running weather, lashing rain and loads of traffic. I took a detour into Santry park (used to run there a lot when travelling with work a few years ago) and did and couple of laps. Had to dry my new runners with the hairdryer when I got back to the hotel! 

Wed: plan: rest

Actual: 5m very easy.

Was up at 4am to get a flight to Barcelona. Airport very quiet and I couldn’t get anything to eat as almost everything was closed. Managed to get a nice breakfast in the W hotel in Barcelona before my first meeting. Also had a great late lunch in a fantastic restaurant, beside the Olympic diving pools, overlooking the city. I’m staying in Tarragona in Le Meridien, great hotel right on the beach! Once I checked in I got the gear on to get a stiffness reliever NHS in. There is a promenade that goes for a couple of miles which is great but it’s a concrete surface that’s a b1tch on the joints :(. Very very warm for a choc ice eating hanky wearing bogger! 

Finished the 5 miles roasted like a pig on a spit and immediately jumped into the sea for a cool down swim. 

Thur: plan 10 miles easy.

Actual: epic fail. Got up at 6am to get the Tuesday session done, 4 x 1.5 miles @ 6.30. It was warm but there was a breeze so can’t use that as an excuse. Didn’t take long to warm up so after a mile I hit the quicker stuff. Hammy and other niggles have eased out but the left glute med/piriformis is still very achey. Start felt awful but I settled into it and hit the first 1.5 mile rep bang on 6.30. Walked for a few seconds before jogging the rest of the 400m recovery. Started the second rep and was labouring big time! The mile binged at 6.34 and the fight just immediately drained outta me and I came to a full stop and sat down! After a couple of mins I tried to go again but was on 6.40 pace after a quarter of a mile and stopped again. Tried convincing myself to salvage something and get another fast mile done but again after half a mile at around 6.35 pace, I’d nothing left and just capitulated to a slow drudge back to the hotel. Jumped into the sea again before having a nice breakfast al fresco. 

Thur: pm: 5k very easy with work buddy

Starting to get concerned and doubtful now. I’m supposed to do 6 miles at 6.40 pace on Saturday and there’s a cat in hells chance that I’ll be able to manage that. Running out of time and not baking a contingency week into the plan looks like it’s coming back to bite me!

TbL 

I wouldn’t panic, you have to write off the week and go again when recovered. Not the end of the world (yet). Shows you the risk of an off-plan tune-up race if nothing else. I’d consider a few rest days or at most recovery days and see how you are on Monday.

Thur 8th: pm. Another easy 5k in the late afternoon sun. 

Fri: another 5k double. Early morning very easy followed immediately by a sea swim and out again in the afternoon. Niggles not getting any worse but not much improvement either, frustrating. 

Trying to get a PCR test to get home was a pain in the ass. Mainly antigen tests being used where I was and they couldn’t believe I needed a PCR test to get home despite being vaccinated :(. Eventually had to travel to a clinic to get it done and thank got my work buddy tagged along for the spin. I’ve no Spanish and they’d no English so I’d have ended up getting an STD test if he wasn’t there :) Handed over my passport and got the form, short wait and got done, it was only when handing over the form that my buddy noticed that they’d my name as “Conor Eireanach”!!!! (she used the nationality section as my surname!!). Took an age to get it bloody sorted!!

Sat: up early for the planned 6 miles at hmp, wasn’t looking forward to this as I’m still rigid. Spent a while stretching and got out around 7am in the 21• for this. Everything was annoying me on this run and I was right crotchety! The heat, the concrete, the bloody pidgins that didn’t move till the last minute, the lads cleaning the street…

First mile 6.40, hey ho let’s go, mile 2, 6.40 you can do it put your back in to it, mile 3, 6.50, slip sliding away, mile 4, 6.54, it’s the end of the world as we know it, and the auld surrender soldier make a reappearance, I died to a walk/jog back to the hotel for a swim.

Spent the day on the beach/pool eating like a lord and trying to chill. 

Sun: plan 16 mile LR. Still very achey and niggly but managed to get 15.2 miles @ 8.23. The body can handle plod but it’s not liking the faster stuff at the moment.

Only redeemer for the week was the mileage at 57, biggest week in years.

I’m not going to push things next week as I feel like I’m on the edge of an injury, and I’d prefer to keep the show on the road rather and not hit my HM target rather than risk injury. Thanks to Phisto for the pointers.

I’m on the wait list for Valencia but unlikely to get in as I’m # 1520 on the wait list.

TbL 

Thanks D.

yep unfortunately this week has seen minimal improvement, no session so far. Niggles slightly better but I started a session today and stopped immediately.

I’ll try the HMP session on Saturday and just try and redo this weeks session next week.

Not panicking just frustrated, but it was never going to be plain sailing so I’ll keep going even if it means I’ve to adjust my target.

TbL

Not jealous at all of that pic😎

Do you regret racing the 5k? Do you think it is the reason you are having these few issues?

The break was great, sun and great (sensible) food.

id love to buy a place there as it’s not very touristy and it’s amazing

No I don’t regret running the 5k but I did learn some lessons

the deep tissue massage the day of the race was a bad idea.

the race obviously didn’t help but I actually think the holiday two weeks before were the root cause of the flare up.

out of a routine, 3 big sessions, no weekly physioterrorist, little stretching and no strength sessions when added to all the driving I was doing was never going to end well.

it’s unfortunately a fact of life that I seem to get waves of flare ups every now and then, I can handle the mild daily discomfort but the flare ups push me to the edge of injury.

I was on the phone with the physioterrorist today and when doing a muscle self check, the muscle from the inner knee to the top of the groin was so tight it was sore to touch. Either it was missed initially or it came on over the last week, but if that’s the issue I’ll be happy out as I should be able to ease it out over the next few days.

you’re flying, keep it up.

TbL

Ah thanks a mill, I'm ticking over nicely & enjoying it!

Ok cool always wonder if it's worth racing something fast when you are training for something else...is it a recipe for disaster?

Hopefully you have sourced the root of it & as you say it would be great if you can work on it yourself:D

Yeah that's the dream isn't it, heading off into the Sun to enjoy an easy life!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Oh man. What I wouldn't give for a view like that and meal handed up to me!! Sorry... Nothing constructive to add running wise. Other than.... You were on the right road and hope you get back on to it.

Jazus over a month since I’ve posted.

Horrible horrible new site format (don’t know how they can get it so wrong!) and not great on the training plan front.

Just as my injury issues were starting to improve we got the heatwave and I’m unable to run fast in the heat. I tried to jump back into Hanson’s plan with a confidence boosting 3x2 miler at HM pace. The only thing I remember about this was the heat and a complete and utter blow up.

I did manage to get a few of the long runs and the paces on these were ok and improving but everything else was mainly short and easy.

I did manage a 6 miler around targeted HM pace (6.40) and I still had a glimmer of hope for a decent result.

Went up North for 2 weeks holidays and during the first week I managed a decent 13 miler and, what I felt like was, a excellent run with 8 miles at 6.40 average finishing the last mile in sub 6.30. The weather was so bad that for the second I booked flights on a whim and dragged the family to Tarragona for some sun. Lovely weather but doesn’t suit an old Bogger for running, so just tipped along with very short and easy stuff.

Last Sunday I then attempted what I thought should have been an attainable run (especially after the 8 miles at 6.40 the 10 days previous), 10 miles @ 6.40.

Dear Lord whatever happened here is a complete mystery but I died a horrible death and what was most shocking was that I blew up from 3 miles in. It was horrendous and I ended up slowly jogging home.

The glimmer of hope was well and truly extinguished and I was back to thinking I’d struggle to break 95 mins in Antrim.

Went out this Wednesday evening and felt ok so I decided I’d try do miles @ 6.40. Felt ok so I kept going, first 5 went very well and I only really struggled when I got to mile 8 where I started to tire but I finished out 10 miles @ 6.41 average.

Antrim half is next week and I genuinely haven’t a clue what set of legs, lungs and head will turn up on the day

I'm not even sure how to approach it.

A sub 90 would be ok after coming back from years out but I’ve done it a fair few times before so it wouldn’t have me break dancing!

The plan all along was to go around at 6.40 pace but I’ve no quantity or quality done to justify that. The 6 miles at HM base was a pleasant surprise the 8 miles had me believing I could possibly do it the 10 mile blow up had me thinking I’d just jog it with my daughter and last Wednesdays 10 @ 6.41 has just left me confused.

Balls out for 6.40 or conservative to ensure the sub 90?

Rather than toss a coin I thought I’d ask the collective 😃

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭healy1835

I think it's worth just taking a step back and seeing how far you've come in the last while. You've come from almost writing off your entire running career save for maybe shuffling a few sub 25 min 5k's, to thinking that another craic at the Sub 3 holy grail might just be a runner.

Like you said, the sub 90 half may not be a milestone for you as you've done it many times before,but I reckon that what's more important is that you have a positive race experience that leaves you in a better place and with a better mindset for future races, whatever and wherever they may be.

I reckon 5 miles @6:50 systems check, 5 miles creeping towards 6:40, and then see what's in the tank. If you leave a minute or two out there, so be it, you'll have other days to right that.

That's my two cents anyway 😁