Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Know it's called a calender it tells you when a bank holiday is, obviously the government don't have one. Maybe they should hire another adviser to advise when the next one is

So you think the government might change the opening date based on nothing at all so?

Grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭MOR316

Degag wrote: »
    Is this actually happening though or is it all a bit anecdotal.

Sure. You can choose to break any number of laws.

That doesn't make it right though.

Of course...

But, life is full of antics and behaviours , much worse than not wearing a mask, in which we choose to turn a blind eye to or never bother getting bothered about. I don't know you personally but, I know you do on a daily basis...As do I...

Comes back to when I pinpointed Boggles post from a few weeks ago, when he dismissed people struggling...It's all fun and games until you're affected by it.

The "have a go heroes" talking about mask wearing and saying people are just being impatient under lockdown because they want pints and how we must save lives and save the world etc etc etc...

OK...The TV adverts of dying children in Africa on TV...The homeless appeal for people on the streets of Dublin...The fact the planet is in a massive environmental situation...Do they give to these causes? Do you? Do you try to cut back on the carbon footprint?
    I highly doubt it...Because of two things...

1. Majority of people are selfish
    2. "Well as long as it doesn't affect me, I don't care"

Harsh reality...No one in this thread would give a **** if the virus ended in China and didn't come over here and affect our lives. In fact, you'd be making jokes about it.

Harsh reality number two...When this is over, you and everyone else will climb down off the soapbox and will eat their dinners in front of a TV, as adverts are shown of pain and suffering in Africa and not one of you will donate a cent to try and combat it and to make the world a better place.

Deny it all you want...Come back with a thoughtful post about how great you and how I'm a cynical fool and then twist it against me...

Bottom line is, as I stated above, you and many others couldn't give a **** if the virus was only in China or even on the Aran Islands.
    The hero type jargon on Boards.ie, it only gets you so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Could that possibly be because 61% of their population have received their first dose and 57% their second of a vaccine ??

That the restrictions being applied are ridiculous is so far as I can dine indoors in a bookies and break no law but in a coffee shop I am.

Last time

By your logic you could have dined in the supermarket at any stage during restrictions so.

I use the word “logic” in the loosest possible sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0523/1223460-covid-sport-and-events/

Anyone have thoughts on this?

I just feel its to make it look like their trying to do something to support these industries but I don't actually expect any trials to happen at all, something will conveniently happen to let them push it out and out and by that stage the rest of Europe be allowing these large events while we beginning trialling them!

Also comments of maybe PCR tests needed beforehand. So I'll have to my way to some PCR testing place a couple days beforehand and pay €100+ for my test on top of my concert ticket is it? It just feels so little so late. Most other European countries have already done these trials at this stage and we are only starting to talk about them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,234 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Klonker wrote: »
    https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0523/1223460-covid-sport-and-events/

Anyone have thoughts on this?

I just feel its to make it look like their trying to do something to support these industries but I don't actually expect any trials to happen at all, something will conveniently happen to let them push it out and out and by that stage the rest of Europe be allowing these large events while we beginning trialling them!

Also comments of maybe PCR tests needed beforehand. So I'll have to my way to some PCR testing place a couple days beforehand and pay €100+ for my test on top of my concert ticket is it? It just feels so little so late. Most other European countries have already done these trials at this stage and we are only starting to talk about them now.

Devils work most important things from that article are in bold. Cant be doing that stuff esp with the 'INDIAN VARIANT' in the country

'On live events, Culture Minister Catherine Martin has drawn up proposals for music concerts as well as comedy and theatre.

These include proposals for both large and small events both indoors and outdoors.

However, this all depends on health advice.

The Government will also announce a date for the return of indoor hospitality with the first week in July suggested by some senior sources.

NPHET's advice will be key to the decision-making.'

They meet Thursday and this will be followed by a gathering of the Cabinet sub-committee on Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,855 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

This was posted in the Electric Picnic thread earlier I'm quite surprised it didn't make it here yet. The Government are planning on opening live entertainment from June. https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40296770.html?utm_medium=referral&type=amp&utm_source=upday

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

Huge crowd at Temple Bar on Saturday night which was dispersed by the Gardaí.

Young people drinking and socializing and enjoying themselves is being called "shameful" by the maskurbators.

No such "outrage" over an anti semitic march in Ballsbridge cheering on jihadist terrorist attacks on Israel? Or protests last year cheering on burn loot and murder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Michael O'Leary talking a lot of sense on Newstalk again this morning re the ridiculousness of restrictions on UK visitors when we have an open border with the North, and EU countries that can freely travel from other states into the country without issue.

Eamon Ryan got a well deserved roasting as well, as did the Government for their abdication of the decisions to Tony and NPHET.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,099 ✭✭✭prunudo

PTH2009 wrote: »
    As was said here before is there a danger of the reopening of Outdoor Hospitality been moved to the 8th June because of a potential **** up by someone in the government who forgot the 7th was a bank holiday ?

Thank God for that, the virus was gearing up for Super Spreader Monday knowing all the people who were planning on enjoying themselves doing risky activities such as sitting outside a cafe drinking coffee or meeting a few mates in a beer garden for a few beers on a June bank holiday Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,458 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Penfailed wrote: »
    You misread my post. They weren't gathering to protest restrictions but the gathering was outside what restrictions allow.

No i didn't, you are the one that brought up protests for restrictions.
    You appear to be okay with that but because the organisers requested that people who attended wear masks which isn't required under the restrictions, you have a problem with people who didn't.

Again, I'm not okay with 1000s of people gathering at all right now, I base that on public health advice during a once in a generation pandemic when we are trying to get the country going again.

As for wearing a mask in a crowded situation outdoors, again it's public health advice, the vast majority of which you stated took on board.

I don't really see why or how you could have issue with that, particularly considering you were at the "event".

MOR316 wrote: »
    Comes back to when I pinpointed Boggles post from a few weeks ago, when he dismissed people struggling...It's all fun and games until you're affected by it.

Nope, again I dismissed hyperbolic nonsense that everyone in the country was under "severe suppression" for 15 months, but you do know that.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Michael O'Leary talking a lot of sense on Newstalk again this morning re the ridiculousness of restrictions on UK visitors when we have an open border with the North, and EU countries that can freely travel from other states into the country without issue.

There is 3 EU countries on the MHQ list, the UK isn't.

Michael being a rock of consistency as usual.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,338 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Huge crowd at Temple Bar on Saturday night which was dispersed by the Gardaí.

Young people drinking and socializing and enjoying themselves is being called "shameful" by the maskurbators.

No such "outrage" over an anti semitic march in Ballsbridge cheering on jihadist terrorist attacks on Israel? Or protests last year cheering on burn loot and murder?

Threadbanned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Boggles wrote: »
    No i didn't, you are the one that brought up protests for restrictions.

Again, I'm not okay with 1000s of people gathering at all right now, I base that on public health advice during a once in a generation pandemic when we are trying to get the country going again.

As for wearing a mask in a crowded situation outdoors, again it's public health advice, the vast majority of which you stated took on board.

I don't really see why or how you could have issue with that, particularly considering you were at the "event".

A gathering of thousands of people isn't just going against advice, it's not allowed under the restrictions. Wearing a mask outdoors isn't mandated but is advised in crowded situations. My issue is that you pulled me up for not wearing a mask outdoors (allowed) but not for actually attending the protest (not allowed).

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

A gathering of thousands of people isn't just going against advice, it's not allowed under the restrictions. Wearing a mask outdoors isn't mandated but is advised in crowded situations. My issue is that you pulled me up for not wearing a mask outdoors (allowed) but not for actually attending the protest (not allowed).

No I didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭Penfailed

No I didn't.

You're correct, you didn't. Here's what you did say -
    So the vast majority did what the organizers asked and wore a mask.

Fair play to them.

Which was in response to my post saying -
    I'd say a quarter or maybe a third of people (including me) weren't wearing masks.

So, no, you didn't pull me up directly for not wearing a mask outdoors in a coastal location on a breezy day. Good save.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

You're correct, you didn't. Here's what you did say -
    Which was in response to my post saying -

So, no, you didn't pull me up directly for not wearing a mask outdoors in a coastal location on a breezy day. Good save.

So the accusation you made was false? I fail to see how anything was saved so.

Fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

I've seen a lot of criticism levelled at the government, a lot of it deserved, but you know people are running out of ammo when they're accusing them of not knowing the days of the week....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

If you were a betting person when would you expect all Covid restrictions to be lifted in Ireland

I would guess the Tuesday after the August bank holiday .

And us being the last country in Europe to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

If you were a betting person when would you expect all Covid restrictions to be lifted in Ireland

After the october bank holiday I'd say. Though that's very close to the christmas bank holidays, so might be safer to wait until the bank holiday after that. Depends how concerned Tony is, given we are all just small children with no self control who cant be trusted to risk assess or exercise judgement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

By your logic you could have dined in the supermarket at any stage during restrictions so.

I use the word “logic” in the loosest possible sense

You know nothing about a bookies environment obviously. A bookies environment would be a great deal closer to a pub environment than a supermarket .
    My logic is perfect .

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

M_Murphy57 wrote: »
    After the october bank holiday I'd say. Though that's very close to the christmas bank holidays, so might be safer to wait until the bank holiday after that.

You really don't expect the vaccination program to have changed things since the Christmas fiasco?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Mimon wrote: »
    I have bad asthma developed from having Covid last year. Why would I put myself at unnecessary risk because people are too bloody minded to wear a mask when in a large crowd. Hardly too much of a sacrifice to make to allow more people to go.

One thing Covid has shown up is the me feiners in our society.

Do you really believe that masks outdoors make any difference whatsoever to transmission ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

August bank holiday 2022 yeah ?

But being serious, I don't know but I don't think Ireland will be the longest in delaying restrictions in Europe... Norway comes to mind, doesn't look like they'll open their border till 2023 to be honest , and don't get me started on Australia.... but that's for the travel thread ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

Eamon Ryan got a well deserved roasting as well, as did the Government for their abdication of the decisions to Tony and NPHET.

Micheal only talks the bottom line. And thats bums on seats regardless.

Eamon lord help him.

Nphets role (love them or loathe them) is to advise the government on covid related issues. The government can chose to ignore their advice if they decide to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭BigMo1

We're due to get married at the end of July, third time rescheduling. Hoping for at least 50 guests at reception. Any guesses on how likely that is, given Friday's announcement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Unlike most countries, one thing our Government/NPHET have never promised us is a return to full freedom. Its very notable they have not once have they mentioned it.

Whereas in the UK they are setting targets for things like full crowds at events, non mask wearing, people returning to offices.

I will bet my left testicle that if Masks mandates were removed at the end of Summer (of which is unlikely), Holohan or the other NPHETers will be calling for masks in winter.

Its very important that we do not let them normalise restrictions and rules. The world is littered with Temporary/Emergency things that ended up lasting forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

They have been talking about "Test Events" in July or August. Why do we need our own test events?

They have sports test events in the UK. A full crowd at the snooker, 10k plus football matches, they have had full concerts in Spain, Netherlands and UK. All have seemed to go very well.

The US (Florida) were having the Superbowl and golf tournaments back in February. No adverse findings. They have had full crowds at baseball in Texas. No adverse findings.

The events have been tested. As far as we know, they all went without a hitch. Why do we need our own tests???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

Unlike most countries, one thing our Government/NPHET have never promised us is a return to full freedom. Its very notable they have not once have they mentioned it.

Whereas in the UK they are setting targets for things like full crowds at events, non mask wearing, people returning to offices.

I will bet my left testicle that if Masks mandates were removed at the end of Summer (of which is unlikely), Holohan or the other NPHETers will be calling for masks in winter.

Its very important that we do not let them normalise restrictions and rules. The world is littered with Temporary/Emergency things that ended up lasting forever.

Best outcome will be that NPHET will plead for mask wearing during winter but that they won't be mandated - they will absolutely be calling for them though.

There will be heel-dragging on things like crowds and return to offices. I suspect it will all be very incremental and ridiculously slow, with a carrot dangling at each teeny bit of normality that is returned to us. NPHET will want to prolong whatever compliance remains once vaccination rollout complete.

Once outdoor organised crowds get the go-ahead things will get interesting. There won't be rational reason to keep organisation of peaceful protests illegal - and once it's sanctioned, the people will show their dissatisfaction. A march for 'Housing' will attract many thousands of citizens disillusioned by more than just the housing crisis (me included).