Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Mimon wrote: »
    People like you are the reason I didn't go so thanks for your zero consideration for other people.

What's the rate of spread for outdoor transmission? I'll never wear a mask outdoors unless it's made into law. I'm not the reason you didn't go. You didn't know how many, if any would be wearing a mask. Thanks for your zero support for the issue. You could have went anyway and stayed back from the crowd.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

What event was this?

The mica redress protest. There were gatherings in Buncrana and Letterkenny.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,458 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Penfailed wrote: »
    I, and thousands of others, broke restrictions yesterday afternoon. One of the largest outdoor gatherings in Ireland in over a year...and it failed to make the 6pm or 9pm news on RTE. Even UTV managed to report it. They also downplayed the numbers on the RTE website. I spoke to a guard on traffic duty who had watched the whole march pass by and he estimated 5-6,000 people. RTE reckon there were only 2,000 people there. I'd say a quarter or maybe a third of people (including me) weren't wearing masks.

So the vast majority did what the organizers asked and wore a mask.

Fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

Boggles wrote: »
    In my local bookies, masks are mandatory at all times.

You go outside if you want to consume.

I was there yesterday and today.

Also you frequent bookies, I worked in one for years and you know and I know what you just said above is a rock of ****e. Generally bookies have the same lads their every day and their is no way on god's earth they go out side to "consume" BUlL****

So the vast majority did what the organizers asked and wore a mask.

Fair play to them.

The gathering wasn't within restrictions. You happy enough with that? Is it only some restrictions you think are valid?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,236 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Will we get a warning like last year by MM saying 'if ye don't behave your not getting your pubs on xxxx date '

Again, the bookie is choosing to ignore enforcing the mask mandate if he is permitting drinking coffee and eating a sandwich on the premises and so are punters.

It may not specifically be called out that eating and drinking in the bookies is not permitted, but it’s kind of hard while wearing a mask. Essentially you have two pages here tilting at windmills.
    Last go at this.... it is legal to eat and drink in a bookies at the moment but not in a coffee shop. that is a fact of law. The bookies do not have to enforce anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

I wouldn't take a pension to go that sectarian, murdering state. Hey whatever floats your boat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Will we get a warning like last year by MM saying 'if ye don't behave your not getting your pubs on xxxx date '

Did he say that though?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Last go at this.... it is legal to eat and drink in a bookies at the moment but not in a coffee shop. that is a fact of law. The bookies do not have to enforce anything

and?

Also you frequent bookies, I worked in one for years and you know and I know what you just said above is a rock of ****e. Generally bookies have the same lads their every day and their is no way on god's earth they go out side to "consume" BUlL****

But not during this pandemic.

Okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Obviously in a marks and Spencers shop you will get ****ed out but in abookies ....

Look there are many holes in your argument but there is little point in trying to debate with you because you seem fairly steadfast in your viewpoint.

You are allowed to go into a clothes shop to buy clothes. You are allowed to go into a barbers to get your hair cut. You are allowed to go into a hardware shop to buy paint. You are allowed to go into a bookies to place a bet.

That is their modus operandi. Coffee is not.

If the bookies are allowing people to stay all day and drink coffee that's their decision. I don't know if it directly contravenes the law but is certainly against the spirit of it.

And look if you want to stay there and drink takeway coffee that's fine. But it's rather amusing that you are comparing this to having a nice coffee/meal out in a proper cafe/restaurant. To try and prove a very tenuous point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,236 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Last chance at this.

Can you post a link to that law?

The gathering wasn't within restrictions. You happy enough with that? Is it only some restrictions you think are valid?

I don't see what my mood has to do with it.

If people are going to protest in large numbers, I much prefer like the organizers pleaded for and the vast majority complied, try do it as safely as possible.

You are lost here. You must wear a mask in a bookies, therefore while it may not specifically be called out, it’s not possible when following guidance.

UDAWINNER wrote: »
    I wouldn't take a pension to go that sectarian, murdering state. Hey whatever floats your boat

I think you are talking about Gaza which is ruled by jihadist terrorist nutjobs who want to kill all the Jews and create a global Caliphate.

Israelis will be living working and socializing as normal while you will have to sit out in the wind and rain to enjoy a pint or a meal.

Hey whatever floats your boat

Graham wrote: »
    and?
    You know what the question is Graham !

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

You know what the question is Graham !

It's been explained to you that retail has reopened, hospitality hasn't. It's even been explained why.

I can only guess that either confuses you or you just want to keep labouring the point for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

I think you are talking about Gaza which is ruled by jihadist terrorist nutjobs who want to kill all the Jews and create a global Caliphate.

Israelis will be living working and socializing as normal while you will have to sit out in the wind and rain to enjoy a pint or a meal.

Hey whatever floats your boat
    Sorry, It's the israelis who were murdering innocent children, families all last week with people like yourself ready to defend them. Going to a country that openly slaughters innocent people doesn't float my boat, maybe yours

If people are going to protest in large numbers, I much prefer like the organizers pleaded for and the vast majority complied, try do it as safely as possible.

Thousands of people gathered together against restrictions - no problem. Some of those attending not wearing masks as it's not a restriction to wear a mask outdoors - problem. Yeah?

Sorry, It's the israelis who were murdering innocent children, families all last week with people like yourself ready to defend them. Going to a country that openly slaughters innocent people doesn't float my boat, maybe yours

The jihadists fired hundreds and hundreds of rockets at innocent Israeli men women and children. Israel responded by killing top Hamas terrorists and fanatics firing the rockets who use civilians as a human shield.

Israelis will be getting back to normal while you still wear a mask and shiver in the cold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

You mean the state that is protecting it's citizens from jihad murderers ?

and has done the best in the world in dealing with covid ... yeah that state ...

Fantastic place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

This really doesn't make much sense. So the right to peaceful protest has been removed but it's okay by you as long as organisers make the right noises for compliance of select restrictions?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Take discussion of Israel and the Palestinian conflict to the relevant thread in CA. It's not for discussion here

Graham wrote: »
    It's been explained to you that retail has reopened, hospitality hasn't. It's even been explained why.

I can only guess that either confuses you or you just want to keep labouring the point for some reason.

The only thing confusing is how yourself and a few others defend the most ridiculous restrictions over the last year but when another one is highlighted the it's basically "non retail is open" .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Degag wrote: »
    Whether i have or haven't is irrelevant. Whether it happens generally before Covid is irrelevant. It's what happens currently. And while people may be hanging around in certain bookies i'd be pretty sure it's not legal.

Your post didn't say anything about it not being legal, it said you doubt it's happening , plus it is legal there is no time limit on bookies

But not during this pandemic.

Okay.

???? Still please answer the question what the difference is between coffee in a bookies and in a coffee shop ? You can't like the rest of the merry men here because you know it's ridiculous.

Thousands of people gathered together against restrictions - no problem. Some of those attending not wearing masks as it's not a restriction to wear a mask outdoors - problem. Yeah?

I don't remember 1000s of people gathering to protest restrictions.

I also don't understand your point.

The organizers of the event you were at asked people in attendance to wear masks you told me the vast majority did.

What's your problem exactly?