If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,511 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Not sure I understand why people think they shouldn't open the CTA.

There's an argument that it threatens our links with the EU.

https://m.dw.com/en/germany-classifies-uk-coronavirus-risk-region/a-57532159

Whether you think the variants are scary or not is irrelevant to the policy decisions of others. The fact is that the Indian variant is not currently widespread here, and unrestricted (even encouraged) travel from the UK is likely to change that in exactly the same way as the Kent variant did last year, is worth considering.

I'm not advocating for the CTA to be closed, but there is an argument there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Wallander

Lumen wrote: »

Whether you think the variants are scary or not is irrelevant to the policy decisions of others. The fact is that the Indian variant is not currently widespread here, and unrestricted (even encouraged) travel from the UK is likely to change that in exactly the same way as the Kent variant did last year, is worth considering.

If you scroll down to the bottom to the article you've linked to, you'll see there is no quarantine required at all still for travel from the UK to Germany if you have a PCR test or are vaccinated.

The terminology here is a little confusing. Almost the whole world is considered a 'risk region' by Germany, the UK was effectively previously considered among a small group of ultra-safe destinations like NZ and Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭dalyboy

German government restricting UK travellers is not going to stop the Indian variant spreading to Germany. It may buy them a few weeks of less volume of infections but it’s utterly futile in the grand scheme of things.

I hope it does not happen that Ireland is gets “piggy in the middle” treatment while Germany is potentially playing political chess with naughty (brexit) Britain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,936 ✭✭✭brickster69

dalyboy wrote: »
    German government restricting UK travellers is not going to stop the Indian variant spreading to Germany. It may buy them a few weeks of less volume of infections but it’s utterly futile in the grand scheme of things.

I hope it does not happen that Ireland is gets “piggy in the middle” treatment while Germany is potentially playing political chess with naughty (brexit) Britain.

If other countries were doing the amounts of testing the UK are, most countries in Europe will discover they have the Indian variant spreading already but not getting detected which is worse really.

“Wars begin when you want them to, but they don’t end when you ask them to.”- Niccolò Machiavelli

Wallander wrote: »
    If you scroll down to the bottom to the article you've linked to, you'll see there is no quarantine required at all still for travel from the UK to Germany if you have a PCR test or are vaccinated.

To be clear, if you have a positive PCR test older than 28 days.

Positively positive baby! :pac:

Right. The issue isn't necessarily what's epidemiologically correct, because there are political considerations.

Not least, if Ireland is going to open travel from the UK before travel from the EU, there is a risk of, eh, reciprocation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

Right. The issue isn't necessarily what's epidemiologically correct, because there are political considerations.

Not least, if Ireland is going to open travel from the UK before travel from the EU, there is a risk of, eh, reciprocation.

Presumably Portugal came under the same pressure, when the UK put it on their green list, they couldn’t relax restrictions for Brexit Britain and not for the EU, hence they said everyone in EU & UK now welcome for a holiday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

You reckon the ‘Indian we’re all doomed scariant’ is only in India, Ireland and the UK? You can be sure it’s throughout europe at this stage.

It’s not all doom and gloom:

https://twitter.com/sailorrooscout/status/1393724139857403905?s=21

Also the uk are aiming for this:

https://twitter.com/coronavirusgoo1/status/1393835389358587904?s=21

I think Varadkars dream at getting the CTA moving again in July will come true. Things are going to be a lot different come July/August.

Micky 32 wrote: »
    You reckon the ‘Indian we’re all doomed scariant’ is only in India, Ireland and the UK? You can be sure it’s throughout europe at this stage.

That is completely irrelevant to my point.

By the time mid to late summer comes your point will be irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

Mr.S wrote: »
    Regarding the travel fine, are there even checks at Dublin Airport for outbound and inbound flights anymore? I haven't seen anything.

MHQ I can see being extended for high risk countries.

Checks still there for outbound flights yes. Seemingly guards set up at 7am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭embraer170

Yep and asking every passenger their reason for travel.

It may not be at all fair to judge but quite a few passengers today looked like they were going off on holidays.

A couple in front of me couldn’t produce any justification for whatever their reason for travel was but were let through anyway.

Only 1 Garda working this afternoon (T1) so there wouldn’t be much time for extended discussions with anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 jn123

Where exactly are the gardai at the airport? Are they outside the entrances of T1 and T2, security and at the boarding gate? Is it possible to miss the garda going before 7am?

Does anyone have any guesses as to when the states will open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭embraer170

jn123 wrote: »
    Where exactly are the gardai at the airport? Are they outside the entrances of T1 and T2, security and at the boarding gate? Is it possible to miss the garda going before 7am?

Does anyone have any guesses as to when the states will open?

They are before you go through security. I am not sure if they are also on the approach road because I arrived at the airport on another flight.

I have not seen any at the fast track entrance (T1) or at the gates, but it doesn’t mean they don’t know up there sometimes.

I think it is best to expect to meet Garda and have a clear /coherent answer for any questions (and a document if necessary) rather than expecting to avoid them and being taken by surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,930 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Even if it is true that it only buys a few weeks (I don't accept that) that would mean far more vaccinated here so less people dead or seriously ill. So it is worth it.

saabsaab wrote: »
    Even if it is true that it only buys a few weeks (I don't accept that) that would mean far more vaccinated here so less people dead or seriously ill. So it is worth it.

From what I've read the Indian variant is probably more transmissible but not more pathological.

We're currently phasing our re-opening based on keeping case numbers/disease (take your pick) at tolerable levels.

This means the likely effect of greater seeding of the Indian variant in Ireland would not be more "people dead or seriously ill", but a slower reopening.

So it's really a tradeoff between one set of freedoms (the freedom to enjoy life within the borders of the country) and another (the freedom to travel).

The reality is that that our borders with the UK are so open already (via the north) that we don't have much control over this anyway, and arguably it's not worth fussing over what we can't control.

I see Australia won’t be opening it’s borders until at least mid 2022

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.rte.ie/amp/1221962/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,930 ✭✭✭saabsaab

From what I've read the Indian variant is probably more transmissible but not more pathological.

We're currently phasing our re-opening based on keeping case numbers/disease (take your pick) at tolerable levels.

This means the likely effect of greater seeding of the Indian variant in Ireland would not be more "people dead or seriously ill", but a slower reopening.

So it's really a tradeoff between one set of freedoms (the freedom to enjoy life within the borders of the country) and another (the freedom to travel).

The reality is that that our borders with the UK are so open already (via the north) that we don't have much control over this anyway, and arguably it's not worth fussing over what we can't control.

I'm not saying it is more deadly than other variants but if it transmits much more easily then more unvaccinated will catch it and consequently more will get sick and die. Whateven that % turns out to be. The North is not under our control but travel to and fro is more limited and not a reason to control what we can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 jn123

embraer170 wrote: »
    They are before you go through security. I am not sure if they are also on the approach road because I arrived at the airport on another flight.

I have not seen any at the fast track entrance (T1) or at the gates, but it doesn’t mean they don’t know up there sometimes.

I think it is best to expect to meet Garda and have a clear /coherent answer for any questions (and a document if necessary) rather than expecting to avoid them and being taken by surprise.

Thanks! Yeah I’ve heard of people going through the carpark to avoid them and also paying for fast track to avoid them at security. Anyone know if this works?

It can but you need to go past Gardai to get to the carpark and then also meet Gardai inside so how does that work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭EireLemon

Checks still there for outbound flights yes. Seemingly guards set up at 7am.

What makes you think it's from 7am?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Wouldn't pay much attention to be perfectly honest plus its from yesterday and clearly didn't get much traction.

Reads more like an opinion piece and doesn't contain any new information
    "the UK is rapidly revising its roadmap out of Covid-19" are they ? Because I've seen no changes. Click bait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

Rte writing the exact opposite

https://www.rte.ie/news/uk/2021/0515/1221764-uk-indian-variant/

The independent really has degenerated into an absolute rag. That's 2 for 2 days in a row publishing total lies in click bait headings. Yesterdays was about Portugal and the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

EireLemon wrote: »
    What makes you think it's from 7am?

A guard told me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Chuck Norris 2021

As someone due to travel early July, I wonder will the fine be lifted by then, but some restrictions might remain in place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 pouladuff_goal

There are 2 different checkpoints.

a) Outside the airport on the road to dropoff points - normally avoided if you use carparks or arrive by bus.

b) Just before you scan your boarding pass at security - be prepared to be questioned here. Some have claimed terminal 1 fast track avoids this. I have not seen this contradicted but I wouldn't rely on it. I don't think this will work in Terminal 2.

By all means use fast track in T1 but be prepared to meet a guard and answer questions on where and why you are travelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 813 ✭✭✭ngunners

Positive article but more obfuscation only mentioning ‘vaccinated’ people being able to travel and ignoring the other options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Micky 32 wrote: »
    I see Australia won’t be opening it’s borders until at least mid 2022

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.rte.ie/amp/1221962/

This was a cert. Zero coviders will be very quiet now.