If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Micky 32 wrote: »
    You’re sounding like a parrot again. Let who know?? I’m sure the qualified people already know. VSBG’s? Now you are being silly, grow up.

Let who know? - let the WHO know. They call them "Variants Of Concern".

Now, for some silly reason, call it intuition, or even just a hunch, I get the impression that they might be concerned about these variants. I'm not sure why I think that. Maybe I have it wrong and they aren't concerned about them at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Why don't you let them know. I get the impression that these Variants of Concern might be causing them undue, ya know, concern.

We could help them out by alleviating those concerns by just telling them that there are posters on boards.ie that know they are nothing to be concerned about.

Then they can rename them from VOCs to VSBGs - "Variants? Be Grand". No need for them to be bothering with all that oul' science and medicine malarkey.

I’m concerned about you getting Post Covid - ‘don’t know what to do with my life disorder’ PC DKWTDWMLD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Let who know? - let the WHO know. They call them "Variants Of Concern".

Now, for some silly reason, call it intuition, or even just a hunch, I get the impression that they might be concerned about these variants. I'm not sure why I think that. Maybe I have it wrong and they aren't concerned about them at all.

The main thing is the vaccines work against them. The worry is the transmissable aspect. Getting out of control until enough get vaccinated like in India. It’s great to see that the vaccines are protecting the HCW’s over there.

nocoverart wrote: »
    I’m concerned about you getting Post Covid - ‘don’t know what to do with my life disorder’ PC DKWTDWMLD

That's a variant of other posts I've seen on here.

A variant of concern no less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Not all of us tend to gravitate towards caravan parks dude. There are other types of holidays too. Some people may consider them synonymous but the world is a big place. I'd recommend always opening ones mind and ones horizons.

That was kind of my point dude. You’re so afraid of variants you’ll have to stick with caravan parks. Bring the sun cream just in case... you seem sensitive.

nocoverart wrote: »
    That was kind of my point dude. Your so afraid of variants you’ll have to stick with caravan parks. Bring the sun cream just in case... you seem sensitive.

You don't need to restrict yourself to caravans dude. They probably wouldn't be the best place to be in a pandemic anyway. They might indeed be nice - I'm not knocking your choices so please don't take offence. I can't really comment as I've never been inside one but they don't tend to look very clean when you see them on the telly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,511 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Micky 32 wrote: »
    The main thing is the vaccines work against the 4 VOC.

That's one of the main things. The other is the implication for herd immunity of more transmissible variants.

Crudely, if classic Covid was R0=2.5, herd immunity would be at 60% pop vaccinated, with R0=5, herd immunity is at 80% vaccinated.

So you need either more people vaccinated, or more effective vaccines (at preventing infection and transmission, protection against death is irrelevant) or you need behaviour changes like social distancing to remain in place (because that reduces R), or some combination of all of these.

Given that the world is going to take at least a year to get vaccinated, the most obvious step for us in the EU to take against more transmissible new variants is to require both vaccination and PCR tests of travellers going to and from places with high rates of infection outside the EU, which really isn't much of an imposition. People already get jabbed or otherwise dosed with far more risky pharmaceuticals to protect against things like malaria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭mmclo

Politico

VACCINATION CERTIFICATE DISPUTE: After the EU’s second trilogue on vaccine certificates didn’t bear much fruit Tuesday, some in the Council started to think about how to accelerate their campaign to win over MEPs, according to officials from all three institutions involved. “This summer we all want sun, sea and sundowners,” said one EU diplomat after a meeting of EU ambassadors, who talked about the affair on Wednesday. “It would therefore be a very big surprise if citizens had any kind of understanding for a delayed agreement on the digital green certificate.”

Well. The problem is it’s also true that “we all want to be sure that everything is done to reduce the COVID risk,” the diplomat added. So there is not much appetite for the European Parliament’s position that a negative test should have the same value as a complete vaccination for travelers, according to several diplomats. In fact, some countries want to reserve the right to impose additional requirements or quarantines if needed. One more unresolved dispute that has been there from the outset? Parliament’s insistence that tests have to be free for citizens. For MEPs, it’s a weak proposition politically since they aren’t really in a position to offer to pay for their request.

Ticking clock: The hope is still to get to a deal next week, but negotiators have a long way to go. So what happens if there’s no agreement by the next European Council meeting on May 24-25? “Leaders will take over and this will be passed as a Council recommendation,” said one diplomat. “You can literally hear the clock ticking.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

mmclo wrote: »
    Politico

VACCINATION CERTIFICATE DISPUTE: After the EU’s second trilogue on vaccine certificates didn’t bear much fruit Tuesday, some in the Council started to think about how to accelerate their campaign to win over MEPs, according to officials from all three institutions involved. “This summer we all want sun, sea and sundowners,” said one EU diplomat after a meeting of EU ambassadors, who talked about the affair on Wednesday. “It would therefore be a very big surprise if citizens had any kind of understanding for a delayed agreement on the digital green certificate.”

Well. The problem is it’s also true that “we all want to be sure that everything is done to reduce the COVID risk,” the diplomat added. So there is not much appetite for the European Parliament’s position that a negative test should have the same value as a complete vaccination for travelers, according to several diplomats. In fact, some countries want to reserve the right to impose additional requirements or quarantines if needed. One more unresolved dispute that has been there from the outset? Parliament’s insistence that tests have to be free for citizens. For MEPs, it’s a weak proposition politically since they aren’t really in a position to offer to pay for their request.

Ticking clock: The hope is still to get to a deal next week, but negotiators have a long way to go. So what happens if there’s no agreement by the next European Council meeting on May 24-25? “Leaders will take over and this will be passed as a Council recommendation,” said one diplomat. “You can literally hear the clock ticking.”

Like Brexit, it will go to the wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Wallander

Looks like they have a plan - and it's about as clear as mud:

Vaccinated people will be able travel abroad for foreign holidays from July under plans to be discussed by Cabinet.

A memo is being drafted by the Department of the Taoiseach to clear the way for overseas holidays on a graduated basis over the summer months.

It is expected non-essential travel between Ireland and Britain will be permitted from July followed by the easing of restrictions on flights to EU countries based on vaccination levels and the rate of the virus in certain countries.

Travel to the US and elsewhere will happen at a later date.

Ireland will sign up to the EU’s digital green certificated system for vaccinated passengers but the Government will make their own decision on which Ireland will allow travel to and from.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/health/holidays-abroad-for-fully-vaccinated-on-the-cards-from-july-40421029.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

Wallander wrote: »

Vaccinated people will be able travel abroad for foreign holidays from July under plans to be discussed by Cabinet.

A memo is being drafted by the Department of the Taoiseach to clear the way for overseas holidays on a graduated basis over the summer months.

It is expected non-essential travel between Ireland and Britain will be permitted from July followed by the easing of restrictions on flights to EU countries based on vaccination levels and the rate of the virus in certain countries.

Ireland will sign up to the EU’s digital green certificated system for vaccinated passengers but the Government will make their own decision on which Ireland will allow travel to and from.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/health/holidays-abroad-for-fully-vaccinated-on-the-cards-from-july-40421029.html

More shambolic half arsed measures it is so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I didn't think (or it is our governments just being asses again) that you could pick and choose what EU countries to allow travel to/from when signed up to the digital green certificate thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

titan18 wrote: »
    I didn't think (or it is our governments just being asses again) that you could pick and choose what EU countries to allow travel to/from when signed up to the digital green certificate thing.

Almost certainly you can't. Won't stop the cowardly whingers begging FF to try though, delaying the rest of us and the EU getting on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

mmclo wrote: »
    Politico

I would presume Ireland is the leader of the group saying that a negative test cant be seen as equal to a vaccine cert and are looking to impose additional requirements or quarantines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Chuck Norris 2021

I think this may be nothig more than another shameless, keep 'em home to spend money attempt. I think a lot of what they are saying is related to restriction free travel. They positively cannot allow vaccinated people to travel, while not allowing unvaccinated people. It's descrimination. I think we will be able to travel sooner, it's just that we'll have certain restrictions, like testing and home quarantine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Shower of f*cking doddery equivocating bedwetters. Just get on with it. Arseholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

Once again a "journalist" at the indo repeatedly calls the green cert a "vaccination passport" for "vaccinated people", which is a lie.

Expect several more layers of stupid on the plan too eg travel permitted to Latvia and Romania with no quarantine but Portugal and Greece added to MHQ list due to vague unquantifiable "concerns".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

I think this may be nothig more than another shameless, keep 'em home to spend money attempt. I think a lot of what they are saying is related to restriction free travel. They positively cannot allow vaccinated people to travel, while not allowing unvaccinated people. It's descrimination. I think we will be able to travel sooner, it's just that we'll have certain restrictions, like testing and home quarantine.

Ya I think when they mention “travel will be allowed” the travel they refer to is travel similar to pre covid. Travel will happen before that but will be subject to quarantine etc.

How long more can they extend the fine for is the question? If they want to open a travel corridor woth Britain the fine has to go. Surely? Or will we have a €2,000 fine for everywhere except Britain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

Ya I think when they mention “travel will be allowed” the travel they refer to is travel similar to pre covid. Travel will happen before that but will be subject to quarantine etc.

How long more can they extend the fine for is the question? If they want to open a travel corridor woth Britain the fine has to go. Surely? Or will we have a €2,000 fine for everywhere except Britain?

I think the plan is deliberate confusion. They want people spending money in Ireland, so let people believe it’s not safe to travel. Most people blindly accept what they are told.

Nothing would surprise me at this stage. If Donelly had a brain he'd be dangerous. And that other sandel wearing, bike riding excuse for a minister would love us all going on holidays on donkeys. I can't see how they can justify the fine much longer. I think as well as that they're starting to lose the support of their own parties big time. I honestly can't call it at this point. One thing is becoming clear though, the green cert isn't worth the paper it's printed on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

M_Murphy57 wrote: »
    Once again a "journalist" at the indo repeatedly calls the green cert a "vaccination passport" for "vaccinated people", which is a lie.

Expect several more layers of stupid on the plan too eg travel permitted to Latvia and Romania with no quarantine but Portugal and Greece added to MHQ list due to vague unquantifiable "concerns".

Actually taking today's offering from the indo with this one from yesterday about Irish people trapped abroad for weeks and months at a personal cost of thousands because of a false positive in their PCR test says to me that the ****wits in government probably *are* pushing for the green cert to be for vaccinated people only.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/frantic-calls-from-irish-people-trapped-abroad-as-they-repeatedly-received-residual-positive-covid-tests-40418573.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

The fine will not survive but please get back on to TDs and the EU Commission in respect to it. Wrong on many levels.

Come the second half of June/early July, I expect that sun destinations will start easing the rules for entry to waive the negative PCR requirement and do random testing. Ireland will not extend MHQ to more EU countries if there are high vaccination rates (we will all be in the same boat). The big question for re-entry into Ireland is whether we will insist on a negative PCR even if someone is vaccinated? They may try but expect some back peddling on that one very quickly

So the government plans to control what EU countries people can travel to or not......I certainly hope that Ursula von der Leyen reads the Independant. That statement alone would cause war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

Why are they only talking about Vaccinated people ? What about children then ?

Also, I didn't think the EU Cert meant that Countries could pick and choose which Countries within the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭JojoLoca

The fine will not survive but please get back on to TDs and the EU Commission in respect to it. Wrong on many levels.

Come the second half of June/early July, I expect that sun destinations will start easing the rules for entry to waive the negative PCR requirement and do random testing. Ireland will not extend MHQ to more EU countries if there are high vaccination rates (we will all be in the same boat). The big question for re-entry into Ireland is whether we will insist on a negative PCR even if someone is vaccinated? They may try but expect some back peddling on that one very quickly

It would be a hard sell for the vaccines for younger people if they still have to pay for tests and quarantine etc.

SusanC10 wrote: »
    Why are they only talking about Vaccinated people ? What about children then ?

Also, I didn't think the EU Cert meant that Countries could pick and choose which Countries within the EU.

I think it was a poor attempt to coax everyone to accept the vaccine. They cannot descriminate like that.
    As for the green cert, it would appear from evidence provided by others on here that they can pick and chose. They'll only implement the parts that Tony allows them to, like the good little boys they are...

Has anyone had a response from the EU yet since Monday's barrage of complaints?

Also, it may be useful to draw up a list of people we can voice our concerns with on twitter.

I'll start the list with Cathal Crowe TD, Fianna Fail Spokesperson on Tourism and Aviation.

I think it was a poor attempt to coax everyone to accept the vaccine. They cannot descriminate like that.
    As for the green cert, it would appear from evidence provided by others on here that they can pick and chose. They'll only implement the parts that Tony allows them to, like the good little boys they are...

I must have missed that - about being able to pick and choose for the Green Cert.
    Will have a read back to try to find it.

Tbh - I am now a bit confused about the EU Green Cert and what it will mean to Irish residents trying to travel within the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Has anyone had a response from the EU yet since Monday's barrage of complaints?

Also, it may be useful to draw up a list of people we can perform a coordinated hit on twitter.

I'll start the list with Cathal Crowe TD, Fianna Fail Spokesperson on Tourism and Aviation.

Mod

A coordinated hit? Are you for real? Dont post in this thread again.