If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,768 ✭✭✭rogber

Am flying into Dublin in a couple of weeks and it is classifable as essential travel. I presume family member is allowed pick me up at airport without getting into trouble with the guards or risking a fine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

rogber wrote: »
    Am flying into Dublin in a couple of weeks and it is classifable as essential travel. I presume family member is allowed pick me up at airport without getting into trouble with the guards or risking a fine?

Absolutely - fine is only for leaving the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

June 2nd, I'm heading to Greece for 10 days.
    Plan is PCR test/bus to airport/Fast Track/Dental appointment in Greece printed out. A rather convoluted system to leave the country, but worth it for a week of morning swims, afternoon balcony beers and restaurant sunsets.

Be interesting to hear how you get on. Hope it goes well at the airport for you.

What is stated on your dental appointment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

A comment from Varadkar today :

“”He said it was likely there would be indoor dining before the return of international travel, but suggested there could be a common travel area with the UK sooner.””

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Tazz T wrote: »

Wow wish I'd known that before paying the FPN for one of my offspring. Thanks for the info niner. I'll direct the gard to this thread and your infinite wisdom next time.

When did you have to pay the fine btw?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭BobbyBolivia

Micky 32 wrote: »
    A comment from Varadkar today :

“”He said it was likely there would be indoor dining before the return of international travel, but suggested there could be a common travel area with the UK sooner.””

Do you have a source for that please?

Would be nice to not have to go through Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭naufragos123

bubblypop wrote: »
    We ALL want to travel, it's temporary and will hopefully be over soon.

The problem is the long term consequences.

Can we realistically hope that we will get back the affordable excellent connectivity from several Irish airports that we had come to enjoy? I would absolutely and fervently hope that we do but many in the know regarding aviation are saying that too much damage has been done by excessive travel restrictions over too long a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,931 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Can we realistically hope that we will get back the affordable excellent connectivity from several Irish airports that we had come to enjoy? I would absolutely and fervently hope that we do but many in the know regarding aviation are saying that too much damage has been done by excessive travel restrictions over too long a time.

I think that's a no. The trend will be against regular air travel and a few airlines may go bust. Let's call it as it is it wasn't affordable it was 'cheap'.

Wow wish I'd known that before paying the FPN for one of my offspring. Thanks for the info niner. I'll direct the gard to this thread and your infinite wisdom next time.

You are absolutely welcome but really no need to direct anyone, Gardai are aware already. Also no need to be smart, you were wrong, just accept it.

You could ask absolutely anyone with a knowledge of Irish law as well. No parent is responsible for the actions or penalties applied to a child in Criminal court / tickets and children as a general rule, cannot be the subject of a tort.

Garda or Guard fyi. There's no such thing as a "gard" which seems to be a mix of the Irish and English words.

Can you please clarify how exactly the Gardai forced you to pay a fine issued to a minor?

rogber wrote: »

Yes, send them a copy of your boarding pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Do you have a source for that please?

Would be nice to not have to go through Belfast.

It was mentioned somewhere in this link :

https://m.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/it-may-be-possible-to-offer-vaccine-to-everyone-who-wants-one-by-end-of-june-varadkar-40420353.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,936 ✭✭✭brickster69

It's like watching the Great Escape this thread. Just waiting for Steve McQueen to turn up on his motorbike next.

“Wars begin when you want them to, but they don’t end when you ask them to.”- Niccolò Machiavelli

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

Not for a long time I fear. The scariant populist brigade have forgotten we live on an island physically disconnected from the rest of our trading block. Per capita we have the fewest aircraft movements in Europe. So all those other countries who can drive, fly or get a bus still are flying more than us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭Tazz T

You are absolutely welcome but really no need to direct anyone, Gardai are aware already. Also no need to be smart, you were wrong, just accept it.

You could ask absolutely anyone with a knowledge of Irish law as well. No parent is responsible for the actions or penalties applied to a child in Criminal court / tickets and children as a general rule, cannot be the subject of a tort.

Garda or Guard fyi. There's no such thing as a "gard" which seems to be a mix of the Irish and English words.

Can you please clarify how exactly the Gardai forced you to pay a fine issued to a minor?

Children are issued with FPNs. I've paid one. Go look it up, don't find it, ignore and deflect with pedantic comments and then keep on spreading your disinformation and baffling logic. That comment wasn't meant for you. I normally ignore your nonsense and shall continue to do so like everyone else here.

Micky 32 wrote: »

Thanks, by that logic it's looking like sometime next month or early July for the CTA.

Had the lads onto me earlier regarding the NFL UK games so looking forward to a hassle free journey over all going well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Thanks, by that logic it's looking like sometime next month or early July for the CTA.

Had the lads onto me earlier regarding the NFL UK games so looking forward to a hassle free journey over all going well.

They can't stop you with the CTA anyway. Theres zero stopping anyone heading to NI

Children are issued with FPNs. I've paid one. Go look it up, don't find it, ignore and deflect with pedantic comments and then keep on spreading your disinformation and baffling logic. That comment wasn't meant for you. I normally ignore your nonsense and shall continue to do so like everyone else here.

They may have been issued with one but there was no need to pay it. By law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Same applies to you and Gozunda.

???

Hold your horses.

YOU claimed that parents are responsible for fines that the children get. That was your claim. That is complete bull****. You just pulled it from your ass.

Children can indeed get a ticket under the Criminal justice system as I stated.

YOU HOWEVER ARE NOT LIABLE FOR IT.

It is issued to them, NOT THE PARENT.

Children are not subject to travel fines at Dublin airport.

Again, just because each time you comment, it's incorrect garbage isn't my fault. Perhaps educate yourself a little more.

Here's your comment, in case you forgot your own comment:
    It's a fixed penalty notice. The parents are responsible for making sure it's paid. Same as when a child travels on public transport without a ticket.

Here's my answer:
    No parent is responsible for the actions or penalties applied to a child in Criminal court / tickets and children as a general rule, cannot be the subject of a tort.

So yeah, ignore me all you want. As long as people that read your incorrect info don't fall for it and land in trouble

bubblypop wrote: »
    ???

He ignores you because you expose his bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭naufragos123

saabsaab wrote: »
    I think that's a no. The trend will be against regular air travel and a few airlines may go bust. Let's call it as it is it wasn't affordable it was 'cheap'.

That would be the wet dream of the eco warrior brigade wouldn't it. All of us on our bikes and off on our holliers to Ballybunion and Bundoran like the good ole 70's.

The optimist in me thinks they may be disappointed though. Ireland did become wonderfully cosmopolitan and worldly, perhaps too much so to turn the clock back completely. Time will tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

What on earth is Varadkar on about at his parliamentary party meeting this evening?

“ He said it was likely there would be indoor dining before the return of international travel, but suggested there could be a common travel area with the UK sooner.”

I think they’re purposely trying to confuse everyone. This continuing gaslighting of the Irish public, airline industry, aviation sector is a joke at this stage.

Why is he not mentioning the digital green cert? Why is travel to the U.K. not happening now as their positivity rate is a measly 0.7%. What are we waiting for?

titan18 wrote: »
    They can't stop you with the CTA anyway. Theres zero stopping anyone heading to NI

I've brought Belfast up a ton already on this thread so well aware of the Belfast situation - and while I'm happy to head off to Belfast and waste a day or two of leave travelling (as I am based in the South of the country), others who I'd be going with on that specific trip can't afford to be away for that long for various reasons. It's realistically like 4 hours to get to Belfast and then the 8 hour ferry to Liverpool, followed by more travel in UK to get to London. Same for Manchester/Birmingham in other trips.

The Belfast option is more convenient for single people like myself. However I wasn't planning on heading over anyway until I am vaccinated, so being able to fly there from July onwards is definitely more convenient. It eliminates hours and hours of travelling time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭Unthought Known

Do you need to complete a passenger locator form when flying from England to NI? I understand you don't need to flying to England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

I've brought Belfast up a ton already on this thread so well aware of the Belfast situation - and while I'm happy to head off to Belfast and waste a day or two of leave travelling (as I am based in the South of the country), others who I'd be going with on that specific trip can't afford to be away for that long for various reasons. It's realistically like 4 hours to get to Belfast and then the 8 hour ferry to Liverpool, followed by more travel in UK to get to London. Same for Manchester/Birmingham in other trips.

The Belfast option is more convenient for single people like myself. However I wasn't planning on heading over anyway until I am vaccinated, so being able to fly there from July onwards is definitely more convenient. It eliminates hours and hours of travelling time.

Just fly to.london from Belfast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

Where are you going? As in your final destination?

There could’nt possibly be a CTA set up with Britain before our indoor hospitality opens and Leo knows that.

He’s also well aware people will fly to England and on to their European destinations.

The most straightforward and simplest thing our government could do is get us involved in the EU cert from Day 1. Would remove huge ambiguity about Belfast etc.

However Tony will have none of that so be prepared for an August roll out of that here and maybe a week or 2 when flights to Britain will be allowed from late July. The only consolation is that if a corridor is set up with Britain the €2,000 fine would surely go? Or would they dare keep it for everywhere except Britain?

Many items to ponder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

There could’nt possibly be a CTA set up with Britain before our indoor hospitality opens and Leo knows that.

He’s also well aware people will fly to England and on to their European destinations.

The most straightforward and simplest thing out government could do is get us involved in the EU cert from Day 1. Would remove huge ambiguity about Belfast etc.

However Tony will have none of that so be prepared for an August roll out of that here and maybe a week or 2 when flights to Britain will be allowed from late July. The only consolation is that if a corridor is set up with Britain the €2,000 fine would surely go? Or would they dare keep it for everywhere except Britain?

Many items to ponder.

Do we still have a fine?

We certainly do.