If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,994 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Because it's an absolute waste of everyone's time yet ye seem convinced that the eu has some sort of overlord / principle position over Ireland.

Not a single complaint has achieved anything but sure, Knock yourself out ace, it's not my time your wasting

What are you talking about? Do you understand that Ireland has pooled sovereignty as a result of its membership of the EU and that our laws and constitution are subject to compatibility with Union law? Core amongst these are the fundamental freedoms. The European dimension has been very relevant to these over the past 30 years especially from striking down the laws against homosexuality, determining that women not alone have the right to travel to hve abortions but are entitled to information about lawful abortion services available in other member states etc. All European matters whether ECHR (admittedly not an EU competence) or ECJ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

I'm planning to do this in July, can't trust Ireland's international travel policies, and want to get to Switzerland with my swiss girlfriend for a couple weeks to meet her family, etc. Has anyone read any issues doing this recently?

The North is not open for foreign travel at the moment, England has an alleged date of May 17th as the date for it to start so presume the North will follow suit then.

Marcusm wrote: »
    What are you talking about? Do you understand that Ireland has pooled sovereignty as a result of its membership of the EU and that our laws and constitution are subject to compatibility with Union law? Core amongst these are the fundamental freedoms. The European dimension has been very relevant to these over the past 30 years especially from striking down the laws against homosexuality, determining that women not alone have the right to travel to hve abortions but are entitled to information about lawful abortion services available in other member states etc. All European matters whether ECHR (admittedly not an EU competence) or ECJ.

The European Court of Human Rights has nothing to do with the EU.
    So that whole post is irrelevant to any of our laws or EU laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,167 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

SusanC10 wrote: »
    I think having children makes it harder.
    They won't be vaccinated if they are younger. And if they are teens, they may be able to get the vaccine in August.
    And Parents are also tied to School Holidays. We always go abroad at the end of June (pre-Covid). August would be out of our budget tbh for what we like on a holiday.
    Realistically, it will probably be 2022 before we go abroad now.

Harder but not impossible. I’ve a 3 and 5 year old as we are going to Portugal for last 2 weeks of august. If I have to pay for 2 pcr tests for kids so be it, will be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭MizMix

Harder but not impossible. I’ve a 3 and 5 year old as we are going to Portugal for last 2 weeks of august. If I have to pay for 2 pcr tests for kids so be it, will be worth it.

Are you sure you will need to get them tested? In France under 11's are exempt anyway (my husband is vaccinated) so early summer it would just be one for me...hopefully by late summer none required at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭kittensmittens

dalyboy wrote: »
    Totally legal.

Hop , skip , jump.
    =
    Hop (drive/bus to Belfast airport)
    Skip (the stupid 2k fine)
    Jump (onto a plane to non-rip off and hot locations)

I posted last night re going abroad from Belfast as well :D
    Is a pcr test or anything else(vac cert?) required coming and going from Belfast do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

I'm planning to do this in July, can't trust Ireland's international travel policies, and want to get to Switzerland with my swiss girlfriend for a couple weeks to meet her family, etc. Has anyone read any issues doing this recently?

I am coming the other way in July but will be driving and getting ferry from France to Ireland. I'm very sure by July France will not be on any hotel quarantine list but I am prepared to quarantine for 5days if needs be but it really shouldn't need to be the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

Holy Moly this guy who is a Minister for State, that I’ve never heard of is really promoting the travel cert as a vaccine passport.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/ireland-leadingeurope-in-developing-digital-green-certfor-travelling-between-countries-minister-says-40378931.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,994 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

bubblypop wrote: »
    The European Court of Human Rights has nothing to do with the EU.
    So that whole post is irrelevant to any of our laws or EU laws.

The abortion, right to travel etc related to freedom of movement (ie treaty rights not Euro Convention on Human Rughts) and thus ECJ. Read my whole post again and see that I had already stated the point re ECHR not being EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭dalyboy

I posted last night re going abroad from Belfast as well :D
    Is a pcr test or anything else(vac cert?) required coming and going from Belfast do you know?

Honestly don’t know at the moment however once the entire country is free for us to travel(7th May onwards) it’s a massive anomaly that will likely be addressed officially.

Example:- you are free to drive from Dundalk to the giants causeway on a day trip with no pcr required upon return to rep Ireland soil same day/night.

Landing in Belfast airport will obviously depend on UK legalities for inbound returnees AND where you are landing from both of which are not yet clarified by the UK authorities.

There’s a good few hoops to jump through atm but I’ve no doubt by the end of this month it’ll be a lot clearer as to what we can and cannot do from Belfast airport.

I’m personally heading away in mid June from Belfast - Spain. I’ve already booked my Ryanair flight (refundable if needed)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 conal08

mmclo wrote: »
    Dublin to Brussels today via Amsterdam. All grand, no Gardaí and only checks on PCR & Antigen by airline and airport people. Bar cursory border control no state authority interacted me at all. Gardaí were at Airport yesterday afternoon when I went to Randox. Effectively tests were all that mattered. There are self quarantine requirements in both countries but Dutch don't even look for address.

Worst situation vis a viz Covid was Thalys train, they don't seem to mind packing people in!

Won't be back until fully vaccinated

Hi, what time was your outbound flight from Dublin airport? Just wondering if the Gardaí show up at a certain time i.e. is it easier to fly early without getting caught

Marcusm wrote: »
    The abortion, right to travel etc related to freedom of movement (ie treaty rights not Euro Convention on Human Rughts) and thus ECJ. Read my whole post again and see that I had already stated the point re ECHR not being EU.

The right to travel for abortion was brought in by a referendum. The case that went to the courts before that brought about the need for a referendum was the AG v X.
    Which was dealt with in the Irish courts and didn't go anywhere near a European court.
    So entirely based on our constitutional rights.
    Freedom of movement is a fundamental right of the EU and applies to goods, services and people, and it gives EU citizens the right to live and work anywhere in the EU. It doesn't give anyone the right to holiday anywhere, nor does it take away a states right to control their own borders. Ireland is not part of schengen, for example.

And as you did say, even if a case went to the ECHR, that has nothing to Do with our membership of the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

So the news weeks ago was reporting that Iceland would do away with testing and quaranteen for vaccinated travelles, but from here - https://www.covid.is/categories/travel-to-and-within-iceland

Everybody must undergo testing on arrival to Iceland. This includes children, those who have been vaccinated and those who have already had COVID-19.

Everyone should quarantine, but passengers who present a vaccination certificate or a certificate of previous infection only need to be quarantined until a negative result is obtained from the border testing.

Testing and quarantine Those who do not present a vaccination certificate or a certificate of previous infection at the border must quarantine for five days and go for another test at the end of quarantine. Passengers coming from high-risk areas are required to stay in a quarantine hotel during quarantine.

So will this be the standard going forward ? having to fork out $$$$$$ for PCR tests when we are all f*cking vaccinated ?

They say this is the final lap of this , but I see it as the new permanent restrictions and "new normal" becoming permanent.

A real sh1t show to be honest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭mmclo

The right to travel for abortion was brought in by a referendum. The case that went to the courts before that brought about the need for a referendum was the AG v X.
    Which was dealt with in the Irish courts and didn't go anywhere near a European court.
    Freedom of movement is a fundamental right of the EU and applies to goods, services and people, and it gives EU citizens the right to live and work anywhere in the EU. It doesn't give anyone the right to holiday anywhere, nor does it take away a states right to control their own borders. Ireland is not part of schengen, for example.

And as you did say, even if a case went to the ECHR, that has nothing to Do with our membership of the EU.

SPUC v Grogan eventually went to ECJ on abortion information which was related to travel. The Charter of Fundamental Rights (EU) is part of the treaty and must be applied by all courts and is broadly similar to ECHR. EU has also itself acceded to the ECHR

https://eur-lex.europa.eu/resource.html?uri=cellar:933f9cc8-d29d-43d6-9b92-8fe519950093.0002.03/DOC_1&format=PDF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Except in times of public health crisis or national defence
    Freedom of movement can be curtailed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭mmclo

conal08 wrote: »
    Hi, what time was your outbound flight from Dublin airport? Just wondering if the Gardaí show up at a certain time i.e. is it easier to fly early without getting caught

07.00 - None there at 5.30 am, were there the day before when I went to Randox and checked out my reasons and documentation with them while I had the chance, all good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,968 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

theres a push by british MPs to discourage leisure travel, so no doubt this will filter into the conciousness of the irish authorities and they could easily do the same
    “The UK government should discourage all international leisure travel to prevent the importation of new variants into the UK, in order to reduce the risk of a third wave and further lockdowns,” the report states, adding that financial support must be given to the travel industry. “This recommendation should be implemented immediately and reviewed on a quarterly basis.”
    https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2021/may/03/holidays-abroad-should-be-discouraged-to-stop-covid-third-wave-say-mps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

https://news.sky.com/story/covid-19-mps-urge-ministers-to-maintain-ban-on-foreign-holidays-after-17-may-amid-variant-fears-12293772
    Government told to 'discourage' foreign holidays to protect UK from coronavirus variants

Do they realise that this line of reasoning has no end ?

100% of the globe could be vaccinated and it could be 2027 and still "Variants"!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,968 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Australia is also toying with the idea of closing their borders until the entire world is vaccinated. As in, full on MHQ for many years to come.
    https://www.skynews.com.au/details/_6251492053001

the reality of this is stark. Is this what Zero Covidistas have in mind for Ireland ??
    “Given that we’ve locked ourselves away from the rest of the world, how are we going to reopen those borders and have some tolerance for this virus in the community.

“If we’re going to shut everything down after a few cases, we are going to be a convict island nation locked away from the rest of the world.”

Except in times of public health crisis or national defence
    Freedom of movement can be curtailed

As I said, every state retains the right to control their borders, they can also make laws in their own country.
    Freedom of movement doesn't even come into it.
    All states can derogate depending on circumstances, from treaties.

mmclo wrote: »
    SPUC v Grogan eventually went to ECJ on abortion information which was related to travel. The Charter of Fundamental Rights (EU) is part of the treaty and must be applied by all courts and is broadly similar to ECHR. EU has also itself acceded to the ECHR

https://eur-lex.europa.eu/resource.html?uri=cellar:933f9cc8-d29d-43d6-9b92-8fe519950093.0002.03/DOC_1&format=PDF

The EU hasn't actually acceded to the echr, they may do in future and they have been talking about it for years but it has not happened.

The point I was making was to a poster who basically thinks we have given up our 'sovereign rights' to the EU. We have not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,380 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

saabsaab wrote: »
    They can't recoup if most go abroad. People I know that go every year have said to me that they aren't going this Summer at least.
    What’s the bets that our fine country will keep mandatory 2 week home quarantine on return from international travel far longer than anywhere else, thereby effectively eliminating foreign travel as an option for pretty much anyone who does not work from home and forcing those who really want to get away into the waiting arms of ‘staycation providers’ and the exorbitant prices that they will no doubt be charging.

dodzy wrote: »
    What’s the bets that our fine country will keep mandatory 2 week home quarantine on return from international travel far longer than anywhere else, thereby effectively eliminating foreign travel as an option for pretty much anyone who does not work from home and forcing those who really want to get away into the waiting arms of ‘staycation providers’ and the exorbitant prices that they will no doubt be charging.

It depends is the answer to the above question.

Our government is definitely eager to have us Irish avail of the €300 per night wet staycation “offers” however they’re also in need financially of attracting US tourists and rich golfing etc European visitors too.

There’s no legal reality or sellable paradigm that would allow these US/EU tourists arrive in Ireland and skip a 14 day quarantine all the while an Irish traveller upon their return to Ireland would be essentially victimised due to their citizenship and be ordered to stay isolated for 14 days.

Will vaccinated people Irish or otherwise get a 14 day quarantine waiver ?
    Our government have a carrot here that they should be using to persuade any remaining vaccine doubters into having the jab by mid summer. A “no jab, no international travel” if you will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,512 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

dalyboy wrote: »
    an Irish traveller upon their return to Ireland would be essentially victimised due to their citizenship and be ordered to stay isolated for 14 days.

It's important to recognise that this isn't about Irish citizenship, it's about Irish residency.

There are lots of EU citizens resident in Ireland who are not Irish citizens but are being deprived of their freedom of movement.

Also Brits, but we obviously shouldn't expect EU institutions to defend their rights now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,512 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

As an example of the current weird asymmetry of travel restrictions, my fully vaccinated mother is planning a trip to visit me next month from her residence outside of Ireland, and as far as I can tell this breaks no restrictions, but I am unable to travel in the other direction.

Lumen wrote: »
    It's important to recognise that this isn't about Irish citizenship, it's about Irish residency.

There are lots of EU citizens resident in Ireland who are not Irish citizens but are being deprived of their freedom of movement.

Also Brits, but we obviously shouldn't expect EU institutions to defend their rights now.

I genuinely stand corrected. You are correct regarding the citizen / resident term and the distinction should be highlighted. Our policy on 14 day quarantine is far reaching for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

LarryBird wrote: »
    There isn't a chance this summer will be normal or anywhere near it for travel. They will keep the country more or less locked down until September and the kids going back to school to encourage families to stay home. The price of holidaying in Ireland is absolutely unattainable for most working families and it's more or an ordeal than a holiday anyway.

I have always thought ( since the announcement of the vaccines) that if we are ever allowed to travel again it will be at least the autumn. By that time the masses will be inoculated and we should have at least travel bubbles to the UK, europe and the USA. If that doesn’t happen by then i think you may have to throw your suitcase into the dumpster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Wrong

Article 45
    Freedom of movement and of residence
    1. Every citizen of the Union has the right to move and reside freely within the territory of the Member States.
    2. Freedom of movement and residence may be granted, in accordance with the Treaty establishing the European Community, to nationals of third countries legally resident in the territory of a Member State.

Wrong

Article 45
    Freedom of movement and of residence
    1. Every citizen of the Union has the right to move and reside freely within the territory of the Member States.
    2. Freedom of movement and residence may be granted, in accordance with the Treaty establishing the European Community, to nationals of third countries legally resident in the territory of a Member State.

Do you mind pointing out where that says I am wrong?
    It says exactly what I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Do you mind pointing out where that says I am wrong?
    It says exactly what I did.

This is what you said

‘it gives EU citizens the right to live and work anywhere in the EU. It doesn't give anyone the right to holiday anywhere’

Where is the restriction on holidays that you speak about?