Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭shtpEdthePlum

ShadyAcres wrote: »
    Great wildcamp last night two counties over. Refreshed, rejuvenated and happy.
    Saw a checkpoint but luckily managed to turn around and go a different direction.
    Going for another camp during the week. If I'm caught, im caught🀣
    TYFYS
    MOR316 wrote: »
    Wouldn't be out of place in a WWII diary ffs
    With the temperature last night I was going to say it probably felt more like the Tom Crean voyage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

pjohnson wrote: »
    Pandemic - “an epidemic occurring worldwide, or over a very wide area, crossing international boundaries and usually affecting a large number of people”.

Your point was?

you can google and cut/paste the first definition? word for word.
    well done YOU. Mastermind!:rolleyes:

pity you can only cut / paste half of what's there.
    Im sure it was merely an accident you missed the bit that diluted your argument. See bold below. That's the point. SEVERITY.
    A pandemic is defined as “an epidemic occurring worldwide, or over a very wide area, crossing international boundaries and usually affecting a large number of people”. The classical definition includes nothing about population immunity, virology or disease severity.

you can have mild pandemics that we don't have to sh1t the bed over.....wow...who knew? certainly not you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,213 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

paw patrol wrote: »
    you can google and cut/paste the first definition? word for word.
    well done YOU. Mastermind!:rolleyes:

pity you can only cut / paste half of what's there.
    Im sure it was merely an accident you missed the bit that diluted your argument. See bold below. That's the point. SEVERITY.

you can have mild pandemics that we don't have to sh1t the bed over.....wow...who knew? certainly not you.

You asked for the definition now get in a huff over being given the first definition.

Just because you boys still think its "just a flu" is irrelevant to the definition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Graham wrote: »

you reckon going camping was just like WWII?

seriously

What an embarrassing misinterpretation of that post!

You asked for the definition now get in a huff over being given the first definition.

Just because you boys still think its "just a flu" is irrelevant to the definition.

Nope. You suffer from selective reading. always to suit your view.
    I see a pattern in this with your posting and your inane replies - replies that offer nothing either.

BTW it's not just a flu.
    Having seen FLU - Influenza Type A - actual flu not man flu - in one of my kids in 2018 covid is a mere headache in comparison.
    Edit - of course in our experience and that of the 99.9%

Nope. You suffer from selective reading. always to suit your view.
    I see a pattern in this with your posting and your inane replies - replies that offer nothing either.

YOU accuse me of selective reading :pac:

Great to see Covid hasn't changed you anyway.

Covid just a headache. Priceless alas it appears getting Covid may have just made you worse than before.

YOU accuse me of selective reading :pac:

Great to see Covid hasn't changed you anyway.

Covid just a headache. Priceless alas it appears getting Covid may have just made you worse than before.

well that isn't what I said - you missed "in comparison" . AGAIN:rolleyes:

I'd have covid every day over Influenza (real flu). The experience of 2018 for my kid was horrific. The 2 weeks of covid dramatically less so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,559 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Jaysus, we have come full circle (again) 'just a flu' and 'Tony wants to ban pints'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Anyone here that isn't old or vulnerable, is a hypocrite if they are taking this blackmail vaccine and at same time, bitching and rightfully so, about these nphet and government clowns ! Loads of my mates have decided not to vaccine are, they are zero risky, healthy. Why would you pump your body with this dollar grabbing, risky vaccine... its lunacy...
    well that isn't what I said - you missed "in comparison" . AGAIN:rolleyes:

I'd have covid every day over Influenza (real flu). The experience of 2018 for my kid was horrific. The 2 weeks of covid dramatically less so.

I 2nd that . My daughter had influenza in 2018. I was genuinely fraught with worry for her. I know approx 40 people who have tested positive for covid. Not one of them has reported anything other than “like a mild COLD” (never mind flu)

We should have begun a government series of deprogramming the fear of this 99% + survival happenstance mild illness months ago. We can’t click a switch and expect that society and the economy will just reignite . The fact they haven’t attempted to calm fears at this point spells intent to drag this on long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

MOR316 wrote: »
    So you think it's acceptable for someone to go camping, where they are causing no harm to anyone, to be stopped, questioned and have a fear of heavy fine over them? Or even people trying to visit elderly relatives or friends who need help

Going by your post history, I know you support Tony and the lads but, come on! If you can't see how ridiculous and draconian that is, then I'm not bothering engaging with you any further.

Restrictions are needed now in certain doses but not Catholic Church 1940s levels!

"I can't meet you, there's a pandemic!"
    "I can't marry you, there's a pandemic!"
    "I can't go for a piss outdoors, RTE said so! There's a pandemic!"
    "I can't leave my house, there's a pandemic!"
    "I can't go camping with my family, there's pandemic!"
    "I can't have sex with someone, there's a pandemic!"
    "I can't meet my friends for a few minutes, there's a pandemic!"
    "I can't go for a drive outside 20km otherwise I'll be fined or possibly arrested, there's a pandemic!"

Shall I go on?

Absolutely nothing stopping click and collect! Nothing stopping beer gardens opening or take away pints! People have been doing it since February!!
    Nothing about this pandemic should be stopping people going camping with their families, by themselves or even going for a drive!

So yes, whilst restrictions are needed, they're not needed to the extent they are now! Once it starts to affect you, you'll understand!

I see there is a litter problem now...Jeez, I wonder what started that?
    It's not normal though, there's a pandemic going on so we'll use that excuse

Never knew the Catholic Church had a strong hold in Isreal, UK etc where they also used travel restrictions/ lockdowns / limits on socialising etc to help keep down the rate of infection and only really started opening with min 50% of eligible adults were vaccinated. We've less than than that and restrictions are already been rolled back. But fuk it "beer gardens and pints"!

On top of that heap of hyperbole you listed - its not individuals who are the issue- its the the usual crowds who would decamp with 50 of their mates for a bit of wild camping partying involving large amounts of booze and etc.

And btw people "trying to visit elderly relatives or friends who need help is allowed" has been allowed right the way through the pandemic. If you really believe you haven't been allowed to "leave your house" I'm not surprised you're confused.

The ****e writen about the pandemic is truely something else :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

The EU announced today that fully vaccinated Americans can come to Europe for holidays this summer, so what is Ireland going to do?
    Bars and restaurants in large portions of Italy are now open for outdoor dining and drinking. And what is happening in Ireland?

With the €12 billion in spending cuts announced by Minister McGrath this morning, has the Irish government done any type of cost/benefit analysis on the damage done by continuing with Level 5 restrictions to our economy for a country with such a low number of hospitalisations and ICU cases?

Why is Ireland so "special" that we have the longest and strictest lockdown on the planet? I thought that Irish humans were part of the vertebrates group? This is certainly not apparent in our Dail.

Tony is a big fan of the auld mass though if this is accurate:

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/mass-confusion-up-to-50-people-allowed-at-mass-from-mid-may-but-not-for-weddings-or-funerals-40354914.html

A fairly big "if" to be fair though given the usual kite-flying in the days leading up to an announcement.

If accurate, I wonder what science says having 50 people indoors is safer than eating outdoors? Have NPHET once again found evidence that contradicts what experts worldwide have found? We really should be paying these people more, they're obviously the best in the business.

I know sure, I used always bring cans to mass and make a bit of Super Sunday out of it.

Seriously though, things are opening up, more today, contrarian nitpicking based on hear say will just drive you nuts.

Boggles wrote: »
    I know sure, I used always bring cans to mass and make a bit of Super Sunday out of it.

Seriously though, things are opening up, more today, contrarian nitpicking based on hear say will just drive you nuts.

I havent seen this thread this riled up since they opened construction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Would be great if every news story and article about covid had to start by stating it's survival rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭growleaves

Graham wrote: »
    You can go out lads.

'No time, too busy posting about the restrictions' :D:D:D

Back on topic, it's good to see another slight easing starts tomorrow.

I think at least one of those posters has a young child so has to stay in.

I was out Thursday, Friday and Saturday night.

But I thought 'staying safe' was contemporary man's raison d'etre? Is it now considered safe by everyone here to go out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,776 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Nice to see our beloved Gardai keeping us all safe this sunny weekend.

https://twitter.com/gardainfo/status/1385951679703564290?s=21

I see that tweet has been deleted now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,983 ✭✭✭Russman

Would be great if every news story and article about covid had to start by stating it's survival rate.

Or maybe its hospitalisation rate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,693 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Seriously though, things are opening up, more today

Just for clarity, what's opening up today?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,285 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

That wouldn't sell papers/clicks or airtime though. There's a lot of people/companies doing very well out of all this between interviews, advertising, subscription fees etc.

Penfailed wrote: »
    Just for clarity, what's opening up today?
    The zoo

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    That wouldn't sell papers/clicks or airtime though. There's a lot of people/companies doing very well out of all this between interviews, advertising, subscription fees etc.

Correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,693 ✭✭✭Penfailed

The zoo

That's dangerous. The place will be overrun with wild animals...

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭Sharpyshoot

Penfailed wrote: »
    That's dangerous. The place will be overrun with wild animals...

It’s outdoors so it’s safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Kivaro wrote: »
    The EU announced today that fully vaccinated Americans can come to Europe for holidays this summer, so what is Ireland going to do?
    Bars and restaurants in large portions of Italy are now open for outdoor dining and drinking. And what is happening in Ireland?

With the €12 billion in spending cuts announced by Minister McGrath this morning, has the Irish government done any type of cost/benefit analysis on the damage done by continuing with Level 5 restrictions to our economy for a country with such a low number of hospitalisations and ICU cases?

Why is Ireland so "special" that we have the longest and strictest lockdown on the planet? I thought that Irish humans were part of the vertebrates group? This is certainly not apparent in our Dail.

Interesting about the US. The US State Department released a statement on the 19th with the advisory that it "strongly recommends U.S. citizens reconsider all travel abroad. With the State Department icaning against travel to 80% of the world
    As a result of the update, some 8 out of 10 nations around the globe are classified as “Level 4: Do Not Travel.” More than 100 countries were recategorized Level 4, including popular destinations such as Canada, France, Mexico and the U.K."

Ireland is also on the list for Do Not Travel.

Afaik its something to do with the Pandemic. But I could be wrong :cool:

https://www.cnbc.com/2021/04/24/covid-80-percent-of-world-is-unsafe-for-travel-amid-pandemic-state-dept-warns.html

https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/traveladvisories/traveladvisories/ireland-travel-advisory.html

And bars etc may be reopening in Italy but currently Italy has a minimum five-day quarantine for all European arrivals or Italians arriving from European destinations. All arrivals will have to take a negative test at the end of the five days in order to leave quarantine. Otherwise travelers must remain in quarantine until they show a negative test.

Travelers from Austria and Non-European countries must quarantine for 14 days, with another mandatory test at the end of the period..

Italy opening of restaurants etc comes with the provisio that country is still recording thousands of new infections each day and a stubbornly high Covid-19 death toll. Virologists and scientists in Italy advising the government have voiced concern about easing of these restrictions too soon...

Btw we "don't have the longest and strictest lockdown on the planet"...

I guess with all that we're trying to keep our rate of infection down until we get at least 50% of tte adult population vaccinated as per international best practice atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

And if every news story about case numbers in India had to start by stating the population (1.4 billion), and how many die there each year from malnutrition or easy preventable diseases.

It’s outdoors so it’s safe.
    My garden is outdoors

Cans to mass isn't a bad shout. Could make a drinking game out of it - take a drink every time people stand up or sit down, down the rest of the can when they kneel. You'd be in great form by the end of it.

You do have a point on hearsay, but if this does end up being announced I really can't see the logic in it. Indoors is risky. Even as someone in favour of speeding our opening, I'd be hesitant about being too hasty when it comes to anything indoors.

50 ould wans spaced 10 meters apart masked on a Sunday morning listening to a priest helped by a couple other people, the majority of which will probably have been vaccinated is a world apart from letting 10s of 1000s of people back to work in cramped kitchens and bars all over the country, where a false since of security would only be natural.

That's before you even consider the gathering before and most definitely after any of these outdoor sessions by the likes of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Haha
    Brilliant
    So people who want the country open are the contrarians

I thought the contrarians were the people who originally shut down the economy and society disproportionately to a 99.7% survivable virus.

The same people who now still continue to claim most outside sports/dining/drinking is unsafe (with a confirmation of 0.1% outdoor transmission)

The same people who procrastinate to show a plan to reopen Ireland in line with our vaccine of the over 60’s and over 65 vulnerable already complete?

Are they not the real contrarians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,293 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

"95% of students in school not killed in latest US minority shooting incident"
    "2.8 million Irish drivers were not involved in a single vehicle road accident in Donegal yesterday"
    "Mother-of-not-eighteen through to the Love Island final"

Not quite the same