Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users Posts: 15,733 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

2ndcoming wrote: »
    Have you ever driven a van? Once you get used to them they're very comfortable to drive, they're designed to be driven. They're also designed for working - load carrying, being horsed about etc. If you're talking about doing any serious kind of work on the house it's a far better option. There's a reason why your plumber doesn't show up at the gate in a Renault Scenic with the seats down.

Maybe not your gate but I know a plumber who has had everything bar a Van for his job and one of them was a Scenic van full to the mebs with plumbing gear.
    Before that he had small cars like Opel Agila took the seats out and used it as a van. Last time I seen him he had a Dacia Sandero van. That is probably changed to something else now do as he changes cars more times than can keep count at least he used too.
    Yep drove a transit a few years back and it was very comfortable. The seating position is like on a chair with your legs down on pedals unlike my current car with Recarro bucket seats where your so low and your legs stretched out in front of you not comfortable for long drives at all.
    Comfortable a transit lol. That is the last thing I would say about them. The seating position in them is just horrible. Ford do great cars but terrible Van's. Now if you want a good comfortable van a VW Transporter is your man. VW might be terrible at cars but they make great Van's

• Registered Users Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

AMKC wrote: »
    Maybe not your gate but I know a plumber who has had everything bar a Van for his job and one of them was a Scenic van full to the mebs with plumbing gear.
    Before that he had small cars like Opel Agila took the seats out and used it as a van. Last time I seen him he had a Dacia Sandero van. That is probably changed to something else now do as he changes cars more times than can keep count at least he used too.

Comfortable a transit lol. That is the last thing I would say about them. The seating position in them is just horrible. Ford do great cars but terrible Van's. Now if you want a good comfortable van a VW Transporter is your man. VW might be terrible at cars but they make great Van's

Sounds like a right pain in the arse for a workman, I can see why literally all of the other ones on earth just buy a van.

Vehicles are designed for a purpose, throw a dozen bags of cement in the back of your Scenic and tell us how she drives. Be about as comfortable as the 5 children it was designed to carry would be in the back of a Berlingo.

Disagree on the Transit as well, I had an 06 Hi-cube LWB RWD and it was a joy to drive.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭Comment_below

2ndcoming wrote: »
    Have you ever driven a van? Once you get used to them they're very comfortable to drive, they're designed to be driven. They're also designed for working - load carrying, being horsed about etc. If you're talking about doing any serious kind of work on the house it's a far better option. There's a reason why your plumber doesn't show up at the gate in a Renault Scenic with the seats down.

If you need a 7 seater that you can occasionally put a wardrobe or something in the back of have at it - otherwise van all the way.

Yes I rented vans before. A transit (which was nice being the 2.2) and a Vivario. I found as a tall person leg space was limited as you couldn't recline the seat or push the seat back much. Also visibility was an issue obviously when reversing.

I'm not a tradesperson either so ill have to pay private tax, insurance, and also I won't be keeping tools etc in the van as tradespersons do. I just need a big cargo space for carrying bulky items for house renovations. I'm not driving onto a building site nor do I need shelving units installed in the van to keep tools etc nor will tools be kept in the van.

Summing up my needs, a 09 onwards 7 seater Scenic seems to tick all my requirements

• Registered Users Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2005-opel-astra/27747269

This Astra looks ok for the price. Seems to be a bit of NCT but no tax. I wouldn't be giving the full €750 for no tax but if you were in a bind it might tie you over.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 Drew P. Wiener

Thoughts on this? Tax is out a month now so technically not bangernomics, but looking for some insight

ˢᵗʳᶦᵖᵉˢ ʷᵒᵘˡᵈ ʰᵃᵛᵉ ᵗᵒ ᵍᵒ

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2010-car-mazda-for-sale-low-mileage/27824843

• Registered Users Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭duffman3833

Thoughts on this? Tax is out a month now so technically not bangernomics, but looking for some insight

ˢᵗʳᶦᵖᵉˢ ʷᵒᵘˡᵈ ʰᵃᵛᵉ ᵗᵒ ᵍᵒ

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2010-car-mazda-for-sale-low-mileage/27824843

If they are similar alloys to the Mazda 3 i had of that year, the alloys start to bubble with corrosion but since its bangernnomics, doubt it will even bother you :)
    Stripes definitely need to go, although you might lose some bhp if you do :D

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

ˢᵗʳᶦᵖᵉˢ ʷᵒᵘˡᵈ ʰᵃᵛᵉ ᵗᵒ ᵍᵒ

Since when did no tax exclude a car from the thread ?. Is this something I missed ?

• Registered Users Posts: 47 Drew P. Wiener

Since when did no tax exclude a car from the thread ?. Is this something I missed ?

My mistake!

*doh

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭gussieg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-yaris-verso/27833914
    lovely looking yoke , surprised its still there

• Registered Users Posts: 51,178 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

gussieg wrote: »

200.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

bazz26 wrote: »
    200.gif

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

• Registered Users Posts: 15,733 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

gussieg wrote: »

I would prefer to look at one of them or even drive one than the last generation Nissan Micra. An absolutely horrendous looking yoke. I turn away anytime I see one coming and look for something nicer to look at. The shame in driving one of them. I am not talking about the current one which is a really good car but the one that was out before it.

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭yamaha4life

Posted the other day, went to see it yesterday. Seller never mentioned it was running like a bag of spanners in the add so Silly me didn't bring my diagnostic.

Lambda reading was over just over 3
    Co was fairly high too

Eml light was on, oil was about halfway on the dipstick. Engine was warmish when i got there didnt start without throttle input. No mad smoke off it to be fair. It was very obviously down a cylinder.

Owner said he was told timing chain needs to be done. But said he didn't have a clue really and id believe him.

I decided to leave it there as without my diagnostic and driving a car down a cylinder about 50km stalling every time you put the clutch in didn't seem like fun must be getting old!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Definitely the right call there so. Scrap value is all its worth.

Chain most likely stretched after years of neglect.

What sort of a yoke are ya looking for?

There's betterthan that generation of micra to be had anyways.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,898 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Posted the other day, went to see it yesterday. Seller never mentioned it was running like a bag of spanners in the add so Silly me didn't bring my diagnostic.

Lambda reading was over just over 3
    Co was fairly high too

Eml light was on, oil was about halfway on the dipstick. Engine was warmish when i got there didnt start without throttle input. No mad smoke off it to be fair. It was very obviously down a cylinder.

Owner said he was told timing chain needs to be done. But said he didn't have a clue really and id believe him.

I decided to leave it there as without my diagnostic and driving a car down a cylinder about 50km stalling every time you put the clutch in didn't seem like fun must be getting old!

Looks obvious to me from the NCT pics in the Ad that it was in serious trouble, you did right leaving it there nothing but a ball of hardship probably never serviced in its life.

Looking for cheapest motoring i can get at the min long story! Yeah id be thinking it was a coil pack as he said it was running fine before parking up but without my diagnostic cant be certain but the timing chains do stretch very easily on that particular generation of nissan!

If chain is gone you wil get cam crank sensor fault or out of sync, multiple random misfire, if coil pack would be usually misfire on certain cylinder

• Registered Users Posts: 8,898 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Looking for cheapest motoring i can get at the min long story! Yeah id be thinking it was a coil pack as he said it was running fine before parking up but without my diagnostic cant be certain but the timing chains do stretch very easily on that particular generation of nissan!

If chain is gone you wil get cam crank sensor fault or out of sync, multiple random misfire, if coil pack would be usually misfire on certain cylinder

None of that tally’s with the excess smoke on the fail sheet, it’s either a blown head gasket or a completely worn out engine, broken piston ring etc. Anyway, it’s somebody else’s problem now.

CoBo55 wrote: »
    None of that tally’s with the excess smoke on the fail sheet, it’s either a blown head gasket or a completely worn out engine, broken piston ring etc. Anyway, it’s somebody else’s problem now.

I know but it had 0 smoke out of it when was there not black or blue,white. Coolant full and bright red, It was a strange one as you dont see that fail tacked onto petrol cars that often. Yeah he wont get what he is asking, if it ran ok I would have been off with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Looking for cheapest motoring i can get at the min long story!

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-nct-01-22/27782546

Offer 450 or 500 for this an he might take it.

Body work isn't great but good long test and they're great reliable cars.

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/27822984
    Honda Civic 1.8 petrol

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/27854438
    Toyota Corolla 1.4 D4D 2006

Went and viewed these two today.

Corolla was batterd wouldnt mind that too much but the driver side quater where the light goes on was fairly drove in. That aside there was no oil on the dipstick tried three times just to be sure, the dipstick was covered in a substance like tar but no oil present. Guy said a mechanic looked over it only two days previously and said it was perfect! Engine bay also screamed serious neglect left it there.

The civic was filthy inside and out, engine was sweet, windscreen was cracked and wasn't taxed until September as stated in add. Id get over the two shocks and the rest but the clutch was almost gone so didn't purchase that either seller kept saying he has a guy coming from dublin tomorrow giving him the asking so i said best of luck and thanks for leaving me view it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

What is the upper end of your budget?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭crasy dash

Honda Civic 1.8 petrol

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/27854438
    Toyota Corolla 1.4 D4D 2006

Went and viewed these two today.

Corolla was batterd wouldnt mind that too much but the driver side quater where the light goes on was fairly drove in. That aside there was no oil on the dipstick tried three times just to be sure, the dipstick was covered in a substance like tar but no oil present. Guy said a mechanic looked over it only two days previously and said it was perfect! Engine bay also screamed serious neglect left it there.

The civic was filthy inside and out, engine was sweet, windscreen was cracked and wasn't taxed until September as stated in add. Id get over the two shocks and the rest but the clutch was almost gone so didn't purchase that either seller kept saying he has a guy coming from dublin tomorrow giving him the asking so i said best of luck and thanks for leaving me view it.

Look out for an avensis 05-07 1.6 hassle free and cheap to repair plenty of parts in breakers if you want a cheap comfortable reliable auld yoke .
    I picked up an 06 last year with over 300k for 420 euro no nct but i drove it and it passed the nct no problem.
    They are not a complicated machine to work on anyway
    Sold it on after 6months and the fella is still going strong in it i see it every day

You aint going anywhere fast in one but it will start and go 99% of the time.
    People cant sell them bar fellas buying them for export

This one is even in waterford taxed until end of july and tested till november cheap motoring .Owner paid for a full years tax which is always a good sign few marks but still and current owner since september 18
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-avensis/27839312?campaign=14

crasy dash wrote: »
    Something like this even has a sniff ot tax according to the ad definitely an ex taxi but was the first yoke i found so threw it up
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-avensis-1-6-selling-770/27803787?campaign=14

Sound yeah, had one for a few months last year didnt like it lol was a big drop from an A6, had to replace two rear swing arms and the vvti solenoid for test, the swing arms are mad money in motor factors got a pair on ebay two different brands but @200 pair vs over €300 each i was happy enough. The rust was starting to creep in other areas so i sold it on. Replaced it with an a4 had that for 9 months starting to wonder why i sold it now!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭rn

Honda Civic 1.8 petrol

A term from selling tractors "off the land" applies to that Honda!

• Registered Users Posts: 210 ✭✭Doublebusy

@yamaha4life... How desperate are you - check out this chevy
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/chevrolet-lacetti-1-4-elite-nct-02-22-t-belt-done/27074854

Would anyone on here drive it.. I know of one that was used as a run about in a car parts shop and the thing couldn't be stopped

Doublebusy wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/chevrolet-lacetti-1-4-elite-nct-02-22-t-belt-done/27074854

Would anyone on here drive it.. I know of one that was used as a run about in a car parts shop and the thing couldn't be stopped

They have an opel astra engine as fair as I remember i did a head gasket on one at work one time, the waterpump is how you set the timing belt tension. Wasnt a bad car by any stretch suit people who just see cars like an appliance if you get me just to do the one job grand runaround.

Tax on that is on co2 €570 compared to €385, i had a daewoo lanos before for a short time but had the older opel engine again couldn't fault it very reliable. Bit thirsty though.

Im not at the desperate stage yet i posted up the cars earlier just in case anyone else on here had interest in them might save the trouble. The honda would be a nice car tidied up but i just don't have the motivation but thats another story altogether.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,178 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Ah here...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭wonski

So are you looking for a car or not?

You seem to view way more cars than you should for someone who isn't really looking ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Doublebusy wrote: »

Had a Lanos about 8 years ago, got 2 and a half years out of it for €350, rattly as hell but never let me down,