Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Slinky, in January, we had a temporary blip and the system became overwhelmed to the extent that close contacts were not tested. I know because I was a close contact at that time. I never had a test and I was told that I would not be sent for one if I had not symptoms or only minor symptoms.

Contact tracing is great in theory. But it has its limitations.

As for the British variant, that is something we can only hypothesize. If half of the original "seeds" that were imported had been stopped, it would seem logical that we would have roughly half the number now.

Mindblowing science there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Ah yeah, sure all fine and dandy for yourself, once it doesn’t affect you right? :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Some people have families abroad etc etc

Incidentally i doubt it will be as long as 2024 in Australia. I’d say a fair bit of travelling will have started by then especially to low risk vaccinated countries.

Well it is fine and dandy for me and I’m very grateful, but I didn’t make the rules I’m just benefiting from them.

My brother and parents live in Ireland and I own land there, but would I want to be there? Eh..No thanks.

At least I’m being realistic, this isn’t going disappear overnight that’s for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Tazz T wrote: »
    Mindblowing science there.

Don't worry. You might be able to understand it some day ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

Harris restored some faith today, his words that he firmly believed.... grwat to see

Not the pass the book culture of hse to niac to committee for countries to Donnelly to someone else,

Im amazed were not calling for an election, they are clueless, where are the FF backbencher s they will be out of power forever soon

Varadkar's guaranteed to be Taoiseach again at the end of 2022. So he's happy to bide his time and be a thorn in Martin's side in the mean time. If no such guarantee was in place then we would certainly heading for the polls again soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

mandrake04 wrote: »
    Well it is fine and dandy for me and I’m very grateful, but I didn’t make the rules I’m just benefiting from them.

My brother and parents live in Ireland and I own land there, but would I want to be there? Eh..No thanks.

At least I’m being realistic, this isn’t going disappear overnight that’s for sure.

Like i said once it doesn’t affect you. Some people are closer to their familes than you are and are finding hard being apart.

It might not happen overnight but things will be better than your expert doom merchant view analysis. The UK/US are an example of that already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Don't worry. You might be able to understand it some day ;)

I did at university in 1987.

keep digging that hole for yourself. Actually the government will have you dug through to Australia soon.

saabsaab wrote: »
    Not at all. People coming here without tests yet!

Is that a question or a statement?

Reads like a question. So Yes, yes they are and that's the point. They are entitled to go home.

The report suggests people being refused permission to land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Tazz T wrote: »
    I did at university in 1987.

keep digging that hole for yourself. Actually the government will have you dug through to Australia soon.

1987? Jaysus. That's a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 AnaB

I cannot post a link but there are more good news are coming
    « State facing pressure from EU countries after expanding hotel quarantine list » - IRISH TIMES new article.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,682 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Slinky, in January, we had a temporary blip and the system became overwhelmed to the extent that close contacts were not tested. I know because I was a close contact at that time. I never had a test and I was told that I would not be sent for one if I had not symptoms or only minor symptoms.

As for the British variant, that is something we can only hypothesize. If half of the original "seeds" that were imported had been stopped, it would seem logical that we would have roughly half the number now.

Spain banned travellers outright visiting from the U.K. in December and that ban is still in place yet the British variant accounts for over 94% of cases now in Spain. It would have become the dominant strain in Ireland even if we built a wall to separate the north from the republic.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,682 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

AnaB wrote: »
    I cannot post a link but there are more good news are coming
    « State facing pressure from EU countries after expanding hotel quarantine list » - IRISH TIMES new article.

This is the article

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/state-facing-pressure-from-eu-countries-after-expanding-hotel-quarantine-list-1.4536562

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭1123heavy

Looks like the government are about to learn the hard way what happens when you bow to the baying mob when making decisions, rather than making them based on facts and legal advice.

faceman wrote: »

This is so fcuking damaging to Ireland. It’s not the MHQ per se.....it’s the lack of planning, the lack of consultation, the lack of any nuance or exception, the lack of consideration of vaccinations. It’s just bull in a china shop approach that a 14 year old might have put together. I don’t see how Donnelly is still in job in a months time

Having said all that, I feel a little sorry for Donnelly. Yes, he has brought this upon himself, he is not the most competent of politicians, and he has been disingenuous at best with some of what he has said. But he is still just a guy,,,,a husband and father. And he is going to get crucified here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭dalyboy

This is so fcuking damaging to Ireland. It’s not the MHQ per se.....it’s the lack of planning, the lack of consultation, the lack of any nuance or exception, the lack of consideration of vaccinations. It’s just bull in a china shop approach that a 14 year old might have put together. I don’t see how Donnelly is still in job in a months time

Having said all that, I feel a little sorry for Donnelly. Yes, he has brought this upon himself, he is not the most competent of politicians, and he has been disingenuous at best with some of what he has said. But he is still just a guy,,,,a husband and father. And he is going to get crucified here

I wonder is he going to be a Colt Seavers in all this for FF or is he bringing ole Micheal Martin with him.
    What’s the bets both will be scalped by the end of April.
    Could I get a 2-1 against ?
    I’m off to the bookies in the morning

PS , I don’t usually take bets on people’s political careers however considering the the economic carnage the above two guys have caused I’ll make a pleasurable exception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭dalyboy

1123heavy wrote: »
    Looks like the government are about to learn the hard way what happens when you bow to the baying mob when making decisions, rather than making them based on facts and legal advice.

It’s a wonderful article and is summoning the end of this hair brained half baked fiasco. I’m feeling tingles of hope that sanity will prevail soon and we can benefit from the proposed EU traffic light system which will be safe and industrially viable for this summer for Ireland .

It’s going to get very interesting today on the airwaves and online for mr Donnelly and quite shy mr Martin.

Absolute boon for FG and perfectly played (hats off guys) with both Simon Harris and Leo hitting out 12 hours beforehand against MHQ on 2 separate articles.

Like i said once it doesn’t affect you. Some people are closer to their familes than you are and are finding hard being apart.

It might not happen overnight but things will be better than your expert doom merchant view analysis. The UK/US are an example of that already.

I get your point Micky, but we all just have to accept the hand we have been dealt.

I have kids and they are my number one, they haven’t missed a day of school nor as my brother put it live like rats. My parents said a while back if anything thing happens to them I shouldn’t travel for a funeral that only 10 can attend, it’s a waste of time and money...stay where I am and look after my kids. That’s exactly what I intend to do.

As for me being a “doom merchant” it seems anyone disagree with you is a doom merchant. You do seem love a good argument.

Ok my “doom merchant” analysis says that there will be some level of restrictions wether it’s masks, testing etc for some time yet, I’m simply saying we are not going back to pre-covid life for some time. It’s not doom its reality.

Sure there might be some travel if vaccinated but we are not going back to 2019 levels for some time that’s the reality. The UK/US are doing better but still not out of the woods yet. Things can change very quickly we just don’t know what’s around the corner. Sure you said yourself in June & September last year Ireland won’t be going back into another lockdown, there’s been fairly harsh ones 2 since so your opinion and reality are two different things. I understand you want to travel to see you family in USA but it’s not me stopping you, I’m just giving my opinion as what has saved a lot heartache for my own family.

You might not like it, but I don’t care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

mandrake04 wrote: »
    I get your point Micky, but we all just have to accept the hand we have been dealt.

I have kids and they are my number one, they haven’t missed a day of school nor as my brother put it live like rats. My parents said a while back if anything thing happens to them I shouldn’t travel for a funeral that only 10 can attend, it’s a waste of time and money...stay where I am and look after my kids. That’s exactly what I intend to do.

As for me being a “doom merchant” it seems anyone disagree with you is a doom merchant. You do seem love a good argument.

Ok my “doom merchant” analysis says that there will be some level of restrictions wether it’s masks, testing etc for some time yet, I’m simply saying we are not going back to pre-covid life for some time. It’s not doom its reality.

Sure there might be some travel if vaccinated but we are not going back to 2019 levels for some time that’s the reality. The UK/US are doing better but still not out of the woods yet. Things can change very quickly we just don’t know what’s around the corner. Sure you said yourself in June & September last year Ireland won’t be going back into another lockdown, there’s been fairly harsh ones 2 since so your opinion and reality are two different things. I understand you want to travel to see you family in USA but it’s not me stopping you, I’m just giving my opinion as what has saved a lot heartache for my own family.

You might not like it, but I don’t care.

There’s really nothing not to like really, in my case anyway. Yeah sure i was incorrect last summer but now it is a totally different ball game . We now have vaccines. In fact my everyday life was never really affected. The 5km never applied to me thanks to my line of work. I have been doing 1k-1.5k a week. I was never locked up.
    As for my family in the USA. It’s all good there. By the end of the year i have no doubt I’ll be visiting them or at least be able to plan it so for me normality is just around the corner, dual citizenship is a great thing. For me it will be like 2019 in no time especially once I’m vaccinated.

Regarding masks etc it seems that vaccinated people can meet indoors with other vaccinated people without masks and without SD. That’s a very good start.

Jack1985 wrote: »
    Whilst I'd go to agree I'm reminded the clowns in opposition SF, LAB, SOC all want MHQ to all countries. A total disconnect with the society we are nowadays.

And don't get me started on that Alan Kelly giving out about Brazilians in January, the crowd who feed his f*t hole.

I think that's one of the major problems the Irish expected MHQ for the Brazilians not themselves.

Im totally with you here, theres need for a new progressive party to emerge,,, not the nutjobs on the left

There’s really nothing not to like really, in my case anyway. Yeah sure i was incorrect last summer but now it is a totally different ball game . We now have vaccines. In fact my everyday life was never really affected. The 5km never applied to me thanks to my line of work. I have been doing 1k-1.5k a week. I was never locked up.
    As for my family in the USA. It’s all good there. By the end of the year i have no doubt I’ll be visiting them or at least be able to plan it so for me normality is just around the corner, dual citizenship is a great thing. For me it will be like 2019 in no time especially once I’m vaccinated.

Regarding masks etc it seems that vaccinated people can meet indoors with other vaccinated people without masks and without SD. That’s a very good start.

Alright then Micky, good luck with eh..all that. Fingers crossed nothing goes wrong between now and the end of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

Department of transport saying airlines have limited capacity to check travellers flight history unless they are getting a direct flight from a high risk area...ok so fly through london or belfast on your way home job done.

seems there is no law either forcing airlines NOT to let you on the flight if you are coming from a high risk area...its the carriers discretion....aer lingus have said they are stopping people from boarding...ryanair have not commented...ok so we know which airline to book with...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

I don't see what's controversial about this. Fingers crossed for you buddy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Golfman64

I really don’t feel professionally sorry for SD at all. We all knew this sh1tshow would happen and the whole thing unravel (although not quite at the speed it has) yet he blindly pushed for this with no nuance or wider thinking even going against many in government. My own view is that FG conceded as they knew this would fall over and they could capitalise on it. It’s not great that our countries reputation and our economy is being used as a political pawn but nonetheless, it just yet another example of gross incompetence and an issue which is likely costing millions and countless days of valuable time when the ministers should be discussing the more pressing and important issues at hand such as the vaccine roll out and reopening of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭yoshimitsu

Come on Donny, you know you've crossed the line there... half seeds imported = half the number of infections? Because the virus needs to be stopped at the border, it doesnt spread like wildfire once it's in right?

Are you still pushing bleach injections? Drinking Dettol maybe? :pac:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,226 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Ive no sympathy at all for him.

In my opinion its actually worse that hes a husband and a father - hes destroying his childrens future as we`ll paying this loaned money back for the next 20 years.

A father and husband should really see the damage his decisions will do to the country and look at having an alternative look at things ie not listening to just NPHET but the other advisers at his disposal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Chuck Norris 2021

Meanwhile, sources said the pause of bookings for the State's mandatory hotel quarantine system will last for four days.

There are concerns that people will try to get around this by flying to Belfast or London first, before travelling to Ireland.

I must say even I didn't think the MHQ would implode so spectacularly. Wait and see, I think SDs next move will be check points on the border.

I'd love to be a fly on the wall when SD calls Ryanair to stop their flights, I'd say he'll be put straight through to Michael O'Leary. Wait and see, they'll be a 99c flight sale from France and Italy to Ireland before the week is out.

I have come up with the solution to the problem though. Rather than putting incoming passengers in internment, why not instead offer rooms to SD, NPHET and anyone who phones Joe Duffy. They can all stay in their rooms until 2023, perfectly safe.

I think the public has had just about enough now. I was on twitter (I know, not a reliable source) and the Independent had tweeted yet another Ronan Glen headline, telling us we needed to lock down for another 6 weeks to prevent a 4th wave. I actually started to feel sorry for him after reading the comments. But it is very clear, they have now lost the room completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Meanwhile, sources said the pause of bookings for the State's mandatory hotel quarantine system will last for four days.

There are concerns that people will try to get around this by flying to Belfast or London first, before travelling to Ireland.

I must say even I didn't think the MHQ would implode so spectacularly. Wait and see, I think SDs next move will be check points on the border.

I'd love to be a fly on the wall when SD calls Ryanair to stop their flights, I'd say he'll be put straight through to Michael O'Leary. Wait and see, they'll be a 99c flight sale from France and Italy to Ireland before the week is out.

I have come up with the solution to the problem though. Rather than putting incoming passengers in internment, why not instead offer rooms to SD, NPHET and anyone who phones Joe Duffy. They can all stay in their rooms until 2023, perfectly safe.

I think the public has had just about enough now. I was on twitter (I know, not a reliable source) and the Independent had tweeted yet another Ronan Glen headline, telling us we needed to lock down for another 6 weeks to prevent a 4th wave. I actually started to feel sorry for him after reading the comments. But it is very clear, they have now lost the room completely.
    :D:D

Another 6 week lockdown - to avoid lockdown!!

From the Indo. The rock of MHQ meets the hard place of vaccination passports. But I guess hardly anyone in Europe will have vaccinated by then anyway

“Covid-19 vaccination passports for travel between EU member states are expected to become law by mid-July.

EU ambassadors are meeting in Brussels today to sign off on plans for ‘Digital Green Certificates’ which will allow people to travel throughout the EU once they are vaccinated.

The European Parliament will debate the new certificates in the coming weeks and it is expected the EU directive will be signed into law in early June. Member states will be given a six-week grace period to introduce the new passes.”

From the Indo. The rock of MHQ meets the hard place of vaccination passports. But I guess hardly anyone in Europe will have vaccinated by then anyway

“Covid-19 vaccination passports for travel between EU member states are expected to become law by mid-July.

EU ambassadors are meeting in Brussels today to sign off on plans for ‘Digital Green Certificates’ which will allow people to travel throughout the EU once they are vaccinated.

The European Parliament will debate the new certificates in the coming weeks and it is expected the EU directive will be signed into law in early June. Member states will be given a six-week grace period to introduce the new passes.”

Don’t forget if you get the AZ vaccine, there’s a wait of between 12-16 weeks between doses before you’re fully vaccinated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

What an absolute load of bollocks, I plan on getting the vaccine but I presume my kids won't need this passport ?

So it's PCR testing for the kids anytime we want to travel now ?

utter madness...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭jellies

TomSweeney wrote: »
    :D:D

Another 6 week lockdown - to avoid lockdown!!

That's because 6 weeks lockdown at the end of a three month lockdown probably has about the same impact as 1 week lockdown at the start of the lockdown.