Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

So the attempt to stop people coming into the country has resulted in a rush of people coming into the country. Another genius plan by our wise leaders goes off without a hitch

You can only laugh at this point.

also i seen people that land in cork or shannon are brought by bus to the quarantine hotel in dublin....i would love to see a minute by minute account of someone flying into cork airport right up until the door on their hotel room is closed in dublin...how many people they come into contact with and how many of these dangerous people actually end up getting infected by the staff dragging them around the country....what logical person thinks this is acceptable apart from treating people like criminals its nuts

Anyone who is footloose and can work from home should book an Air BnB for 3 months and hop on the next plane to Dubai.
    I celebrated my son's 4th birthday last week, spending the past 4 days in a resort here. He and his sibling had great fun in Legoland Water Park and the adjacent theme parks, as small children should. The hotel, food, and pool were splendid, doing good business. He's back at school from today, delighted to be meeting his friends after the Easter break.

In the past week or so, I've accepted that I can do nothing about the idiotic lunacy / mass hysteria that now firmly rules in Ireland. Whenever I see our Dunning-Kruger politicians and journalists - Donnelly, Mehole, Varadkar, Coveney, McEntee, Donohue, George Lee, Eamon Ryan - or the NPHET Clergy pontificating about the "difficult place we're in", "variants", and the "criticality of the next few weeks", I picture the man who burned his house down while trying to kill a spider with a blow torch. He stands agog, silhouetted against the flames, scratching his arse in the darkness as he stares uncomprehendingly at his folly thinking it was a good night's work.

There will doubtless be kilometers of books written by economists, psychologists and historians in the next 10-15 years analyzing how this non-event of a pandemic somehow morphed into the greatest demonstration of cowardly group-think, political cowardice, and life-destroying nonsense in recorded human history.

Meanwhile I've booked the family two short stays this summer, two weeks in Seychelles in July, followed by another week in the Maldives for August. I'm thankful I live in a country where the leaders have vision, courage, and competence.

I'll decide at the end of the year whether or not I should put my house in Ireland on the market. I see little sense in relocating there after years of planning. I don't think I'd be doing my kids any favors in the long run, what with multiple industries laid waste and the country mired in the most despicable debt imaginable. And just wait until the far left take over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

What is the story with freight drivers? Will they have to quarantine? What about specialist service workers? Could this lead to breaking of contracts? If someone flies to Frankfurt and drives to Strasbourg do they have to quarantine in return?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Is it true that up to 80,000 people are waiting for Passports to be issued / renewed from the Passport Office? This should be investigated. Is this not against International Law to refuse to issue citizens of Ireland with a Passport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Anyone who is footloose and can work from home should book an Air BnB for 3 months and hop on the next plane to Dubai.
    I celebrated my son's 4th birthday last week, spending the past 4 days in a resort here. He and his sibling had great fun in Legoland Water Park and the adjacent theme parks, as small children should. The hotel, food, and pool were splendid, doing good business. He's back at school from today, delighted to be meeting his friends after the Easter break.

In the past week or so, I've accepted that I can do nothing about the idiotic lunacy / mass hysteria that now firmly rules in Ireland. Whenever I see our Dunning-Kruger politicians and journalists - Donnelly, Mehole, Varadkar, Coveney, McEntee, Donohue, George Lee, Eamon Ryan - or the NPHET Clergy pontificating about the "difficult place we're in", "variants", and the "criticality of the next few weeks", I picture the man who burned his house down while trying to kill a spider with a blow torch. He stands agog, silhouetted against the flames, scratching his arse in the darkness as he stares uncomprehendingly at his folly thinking it was a good night's work.

There will doubtless be kilometers of books written by economists, psychologists and historians in the next 10-15 years analyzing how this non-event of a pandemic somehow morphed into the greatest demonstration of cowardly group-think, political cowardice, and life-destroying nonsense in recorded human history.

Meanwhile I've booked the family two short stays this summer, two weeks in Seychelles in July, followed by another week in the Maldives for August. I'm thankful I live in a country where the leaders have vision, courage, and competence.

I'll decide at the end of the year whether or not I should put my house in Ireland on the market. I see little sense in relocating there after years of planning. I don't think I'd be doing my kids any favors in the long run, what with multiple industries laid waste and the country mired in the most despicable debt imaginable. And just wait until the far left take over!

I always find it surprising to read about people who allow their allegiance and admiration to be bought for so little!

But hey, they might give you a few vouchers you can give to people as presents to get their tits done.

You should put it on now, the market is crazy, properties are going way above asking.
    How's the time to sell ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

And you wonder why people think your posts are condescending.

Aye without doubt. However i’m finding it hard to put him on my ignore list. Sometimes his posts are entertaining :D also he does have an air of positivity about him, he does constantly remind us MHQ will be temporary. He’s not a doom merchant. :pac:

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Aye without doubt. However i’m finding it hard to put him on my ignore list. Sometimes his posts are entertaining :D also he does have an air of positivity about him, he does constantly remind us MHQ will be temporary. He’s not a doom merchant. :pac:

And you need that positivity Mickey!! :)

also i seen people that land in cork or shannon are brought by bus to the quarantine hotel in dublin....i would love to see a minute by minute account of someone flying into cork airport right up until the door on their hotel room is closed in dublin...how many people they come into contact with and how many of these dangerous people actually end up getting infected by the staff dragging them around the country....what logical person thinks this is acceptable apart from treating people like criminals its nuts

Well what is it? Are they infecting all these staff (i.e. that bus driver) or are the travellers Covid free after their PCRs? There seems to be a bit of flip-flopping going on among the anti-any-restriction people. The people would be on the bus for longer, but it's not like the Pony Express in the Wild West where every rider carries the cargo on a leg of the journey before handing it over to the next one - I'd imagine that the bus driver can do the journey in one step.

But you would be happier with more quarantine hotels? Is that what you are advocating? I think they are working on that though. Another poster posted a link about one organised for Wexford. I am sure that they will open up one in Cork, particularly if concerned citizens like yourself raise the issue and put pressure on them to designate more hotels. That should assuage your concern then - no?

In general, they shouldn't really be busing people from Cork to Dublin or anywhere else in the country for that matter. Even if there is no covid. I know there are probably refugee obligations what with the UN and EU etc. But maybe we should take the opportunity to look at trying to implement a quota system?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

What is the story with freight drivers? Will they have to quarantine? What about specialist service workers? Could this lead to breaking of contracts? If someone flies to Frankfurt and drives to Strasbourg do they have to quarantine in return?

Nope. None of them will need to quarantine and none will even need a covid test. That along with the North is showing this up for what it is. A farce and a waste of time.

Well what is it? Are they infecting all these staff (i.e. that bus driver) or are the travellers Covid free after their PCRs? There seems to be a bit of flip-flopping going on among the anti-any-restriction people. The people would be on the bus for longer, but it's not like the Pony Express in the Wild West where every rider carries the cargo on a leg of the journey before handing it over to the next one - I'd imagine that the bus driver can do the journey in one step.

But you would be happier with more quarantine hotels? Is that what you are advocating? I think they are working on that though. Another poster posted a link about one organised for Wexford. I am sure that they will open up one in Cork, particularly if concerned citizens like yourself raise the issue and put pressure on them to designate more hotels. That should assuage your concern then - no?

In general, they shouldn't really be busing people from Cork to Dublin or anywhere else in the country for that matter. Even if there is no covid. I know there are probably refugee obligations what with the UN and EU etc. But maybe we should take the opportunity to look at trying to implement a quota system?

i would be happier with no MHQ because it doesnt make sense its not stopping covid being spread...if a passenger lands in cork with a negative test they should be allowed go on their merry way...why are we putting people in quarantine when people who test positive in the community are just told to isolate at home....the bus driver can do cork to dublin in a couple of hours but if hes positive he might just pass it on to his unfortunate passengers? how many people are on these buses?they would most likely have to stop once for a toilet break? on the side of the road or in a petrol station do you think?same with guards,security,porters,receptionists ect ect....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Another challenge in the High Court, again from someone fully vaccinated

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0411/1209125-court-quarantine/

This is insanity. How on earth can anyone defend measures that are denying people the chance to see their dying family? It's inhumane.

This shows the vile people who are doing this to Irish nationals,

by the way what is your opinion on the most recent high court challenge by a fully vaccinated israeli man who flew home to see his father who is dying of cancer and who collapsed and his now in intensive care...his appeals have been denied so far and his father might pass away at any minute...does quarantine still make sense?

hope stephen donnelly is proud of himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Arturo Delgado

This is insanity. How on earth can anyone defend measures that are denying people the chance to see their dying family? It's inhumane.

Absolutely. If it was my father I know I wouldn't be stopped. Absolute scandal and more proof how nutty this whole pandemic has been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

People want the New Zealand system. That system includes denying people seeing their loved ones before they die. That's the reality of it.

I'm against it for various other reasons though.

i would be happier with no MHQ because it doesnt make sense its not stopping covid being spread...if a passenger lands in cork with a negative test they should be allowed go on their merry way...why are we putting people in quarantine when people who test positive in the community are just told to isolate at home....the bus driver can do cork to dublin in a couple of hours but if hes positive he might just pass it on to his unfortunate passengers? how many people are on these buses?they would most likely have to stop once for a toilet break? on the side of the road or in a petrol station do you think?same with guards,security,porters,receptionists ect ect....

Well if you are against MHQ, then put forward a logical argument against it.

Going on about a bus driver is distraction. If 20 people come in from France after Thursday, they will all be on the same bus and be all quarantined together. That is one bus driver and one location rather than them getting all different buses to different locations - i.e. 20 bus drivers and 20 locations. (That's not even allowing for the fact that the MHQ will put off non-essential travellers)

by the way what is your opinion on the most recent high court challenge by a fully vaccinated israeli man who flew home to see his father who is dying of cancer and who collapsed and his now in intensive care...his appeals have been denied so far and his father might pass away at any minute...does quarantine still make sense?

hope stephen donnelly is proud of himself

The fella who flew to Israel 6 weeks ago? It's a tough situation he placed himself into. I think it's very bad form through for the anti-any-restriction people to be jumping on his case just to use it to further their own agenda

Here is an example of an article that was published before your man went to Israel https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/hotel-quarantine-concern-for-civil-liberties-sparks-changes-to-system-1083002.html

Another one here https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/arid-40228283.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭pottokblue

we are not all present when a loved one is born we might not all be present when they die. Its a privelidge not a given right to be bedside at a loved ones death. I was lucky that my granny passed in November 2019 my mother was bedside in the weeks leading up to her death but my granny passed alone during the night as my mother and aunt would return to their own home at night. I spent one night at her bedside as did my mother and aunt in the nights leading up to her death but not the death night.

I'm totally against MHQ as travel to visit family/friends living/unwell/dying is essential for me. But for now it'll be zooom visits as my mental health would be severely strained by MHQ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,470 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Another challenge in the High Court, again from someone fully vaccinated

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0411/1209125-court-quarantine/

Absolutely disgusting case, incredibly cruel.

Hope he wins and gets to spend some valuable/quality time with his father.

Well if you are against MHQ, then put forward a logical argument against it.

Going on about a bus driver is distraction. If 20 people come in from France after Thursday, they will all be on the same bus and be all quarantined together. That is one bus driver and one location rather than them getting all different buses to different locations - i.e. 20 bus drivers and 20 locations. (That's not even allowing for the fact that the MHQ will put off non-essential travellers)
    but if all them 20 french passengers have negative tests why put them in MHQ? if you gave me a choice of standing in a poorly ventilated room with 20 french passengers with negative covid tests or the staff that are employed to get them there and look after them from gardai to the staff that bring them food or hand them the key to their room guess which i woould choose as least risk of contracting covid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Eamon Ryan on radio this morning saying those who are fully vaccinated may soon be exempt from quarantine.

They know they're losing these cases I think

The fella who flew to Israel 6 weeks ago? It's a tough situation he placed himself into. I think it's very bad form through for the anti-any-restriction people to be jumping on his case just to use it to further their own agenda

Here is an example of an article that was published before your man went to Israel https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/hotel-quarantine-concern-for-civil-liberties-sparks-changes-to-system-1083002.html

Ahh yes blame the victim.

How do you know that he hasn't lost his job due to Covid in the first instance and opportunities led him to Israel?

Or the fact Israel was on the MHQ list with no explanation for literally a wet week and then removed for again, no explanation. If he flies home when Israel isn't on the list, he'll be out of quarantine in 5 days.

It's his father ffs, we don't get this time back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,931 ✭✭✭saabsaab

but if all them 20 french passengers have negative tests why put them in MHQ? if you gave me a choice of standing in a poorly ventilated room with 20 french passengers with negative covid tests or the staff that are employed to get them there and look after them from gardai to the staff that bring them food or hand them the key to their room guess which i woould choose as least risk of contracting covid?

It's not about them it's about the wider community which must be protected. Anyway test can be negative and you are still infected.

rte top headline today

Absolutely disgusting case, incredibly cruel.

Hope he wins and gets to spend some valuable/quality time with his father.

The father is in intensive care. There would be no visitors regardless of whether you are coming from Tel Aviv or Tallaght.

Too many families have had to go through it already. Which is why we need restrictions and MHQ. One can't, with a straight face, feign concern for a specific individual, while simultaneously railing against restrictions which should help us get back to normal here sooner.

We can get back to normal here, but we need people to behave. Some people won't behave and that means that we need legally binding restrictions and controls.

I'm happy to postpone my own travel abroad for months or even a year or more if it means that we can get back to normal here locally. Others might prioritise their trips abroad. These are the real consequences of local restrictions.

rte top headline today

Well that's not unexpected. It's a High Court Challenge on a point of law, and topic, that is currently of interest to most of the country.

How do you know that he hasn't lost his job due to Covid in the first instance and opportunities led him to Israel?

Ah sure how do I know he's not the (second) coming of the Messiah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Is it true that up to 80,000 people are waiting for Passports to be issued / renewed from the Passport Office? This should be investigated. Is this not against International Law to refuse to issue citizens of Ireland with a Passport?

So it seems. The workers in the passport office are working from home, so can’t be allowed remote access to such confidential information. I’d like to know what are they doing while they’re working from home then? How are drivers licences still being issued? They are issuing emergency passports - an emergency is defined as death or grave illness of an immediate family member, with a need for urgent travel within the next few days or for emergency medical treatment of the applicant. The Emergency team will request proof of emergency (From dfa.ie)

No mention of essential work reasons though. I’m surprised not more is being said about this. You can imagine the backlog there will be when they resume issuing passports again.

The father is in intensive care. There would be no visitors regardless of whether you are coming from Tel Aviv or Tallaght.

Mr Jennings told his lawyers that his father is still in intensive care and no family members are permitted to enter, but they are hopeful that if he enters his final hours, family members might be allowed to spend a short time with him.

Seems like there is a small % of that happening hence why he is pushing for it. 0.01% chance is worth it.