If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭JojoLoca

SusanC10 wrote: »
    Was just talking to my Husband about this whole MHQ now while he was grabbing a coffee from the kitchen.
    He thinks that even if the Government add EU Countries to the List now, that once we have a significant number of our population vaccinated and a significant number of EU population are vaccinated that there will be significant pressure both from at home and the EU to remove EU Countries at a minimum.

I'm wondering will they not make a big announcement about adding some EU countries now, but for example with a condition that home quarantine will be allowed for residents or that it will be shorter quarantine etc. Also, re. green pass coming in June, they have to have a plan in relation to this - accept or reject or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

SusanC10 wrote: »
    I didn't hear Coveney this am but did the Interviewer ask him if this is a temporary measure until the majority are vaccinated? Or ask anything in relation to the proposed EU "Vaccine Passport" ?

I think Ireland can forget about the EU vaccine passport. Here’s a nice reassuring comment from Coveney:

“”Make no mistake, the Government is at one about the need to respond to public health advice that we need to keep variants of concern out of Ireland and to use mandatory quarantine to the fullest extent that we can."”

I was accused of hyperbole last week but it really is game over people variants of concern will always be around :mad:

Roll on next year when i’m gone from this nanny state cesspit.

The only saving grace could be as the UK, Europe and the USA are all opened up and depressed pissed off vaccinated people watch and hear the planes begin to fly over our skies it could make fortress Ireland untenable to stay that way. Also people in government are humans too so i’m sure the likes of Varadkar would be eager to jet off to the sun like anyone else.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,225 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

I thought Coveney was one of the few sensible politicians we had.

Sadly it appears I was giving the man far too much credit.

So did I - I actually thought he`d be the next Taoiseach or FG leader - He has actually really let me down with this decision.And I always liked Coveney - ah well another one to add to the idiot list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭greenheep

I think it will come down to how effective the vaccines are against the variants of concern. Over the next few months we should start getting a lot more data on this and if it turns out the vaccines are still effective then that would remove the argument for MHQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Chuck Norris 2021

Just listening to Donnelly on Pat Kenny. He was asked what would happen with people flying in through Belfast, he said he would expect them to register for MHQ before their trip!!! He said that the European countries being added and due to variants of concern? He was asked about green travel certs and all he said was if the system and he suggested that it may benefit Irish people travelling to EU countries, but said nothing about our end. Apparently any such easing for the vaccinated here will be decided by NPHET. Belfast here we come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭BobbyBolivia

faceman wrote: »
    Coveney was on Newstalk this morning. Pretty much said the only hold up for MHQ for EU countries is capacity and it will be resolved by the weekend.

Between that and the inconsistency with how countries are selected, that’s curtains for anyone thinking of going abroad this summer.

Belfast could be an option but until we know how the U.K. is going to manage their vaccine passport and whether non U.K. people can travel without it remains to be seen

I didn't see the Irish government (or the real decision makers, NPHET and Twitter) allowing non essential travel any time soon, regardless of mandatory quarantine. Belfast was probably always the only option here to avoid fines.

The Belfast strategy for me at least was always going to rely on vaccination, to minimise all potential issues. So nothing has changed there either.

It will be August/September for most by the time that Belfast becomes a viable option.

And Belfast is an option for flying, or you could even take the ferry to Liverpool and have more options regarding flights in UK airports.

Alternatively you could have a holiday in a beautiful place like Cornwall, where pubs and restaurants will be open far before they will here.

The Belfast option will always be the thorn in the side of this government, because they cannot close the border, they cannot have land border checks and the CTA means Irish people can benefit from all policies that the UK government implement.

Indeed, currently you cannot leave the UK without a reasonable excuse, and travel to Ireland is counted as one, regardless of the purpose of the visit.
    If you are travelling to Ireland, the Channel Islands or the Isle of Man (the Common Travel Area) and that is your final destination, you have a reasonable excuse to leave the UK.
    Recommended evidence: tickets, travel itinerary, proof of address in Common Travel Area or other appropriate documents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Just listening to Donnelly on Pat Kenny. He was asked what would happen with people flying in through Belfast, he said he would expect them to register for MHQ before their trip!!! He said that the European countries being added and due to variants of concern? He was asked about green travel certs and all he said was if the system and he suggested that it may benefit Irish people travelling to EU countries, but said nothing about our end. Apparently any such easing for the vaccinated here will be decided by NPHET. Belfast here we come.

Here’s the million dollar question . Are they going to add the UK onto this communists wet dream mhq disaster?

If they don’t add the UK then we are free to “visit our relatives” in UK and bunny hop to anywhere in the EU or world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

I didn't see the Irish government (or the real decision makers, NPHET and Twitter) allowing non essential travel any time soon, regardless of mandatory quarantine. Belfast was probably always the only option here to avoid fines.

The Belfast strategy for me at least was always going to rely on vaccination, to minimise all potential issues. So nothing has changed there either.

It will be August/September for most by the time that Belfast becomes a viable option.

And Belfast is an option for flying, or you could even take the ferry to Liverpool and have more options regarding flights in UK airports.

Alternatively you could have a holiday in a beautiful place like Cornwall, where pubs and restaurants will be open far before they will here.

The Belfast option will always be the thorn in the side of this government, because they cannot close the border, they cannot have land border checks and the CTA means Irish people can benefit from all policies that the UK government implement.

Indeed, currently you cannot leave the UK without a reasonable excuse, and travel to Ireland is counted as one, regardless of the purpose of the visit.

I don't think Belfast travel will solely rely on vaccination, there will always be an option for PCR testing imo when they get going again.

greenheep wrote: »
    I think it will come down to how effective the vaccines are against the variants of concern. Over the next few months we should start getting a lot more data on this and if it turns out the vaccines are still effective then that would remove the argument for MHQ

There was never a reasonable argument for 5k limit and we still have that in place. NPHET or Twitter do not need a reasonable argument to demand certain restrictions.

Corholio wrote: »
    I don't think Belfast travel will solely rely on vaccination, there will always be an option for PCR testing imo when they get going again.

I know, I meant to reduce all issues for Irish people - such as on arrival to destination and on return.

The PCR may be viable but it could leave you open to either:
    1. Not being able to enter certain countries
    2. Having to isolate when there
    3. Complete a number of these PCR tests throughout your holiday.

Jaysis.
    I'm finding it hard to be positive. Putting EU countries in MHQ is something I really didn't expect to see.
    I just hope this is a very short term solution........

dalyboy wrote: »
    Here’s the million dollar question . Are they going to add the UK onto this communists wet dream mhq disaster?

If they don’t add the UK then we are free to “visit our relatives” in UK and bunny hop to anywhere in the EU or world.

The Good Friday agreement is not going to be jeopardised for this MHQ rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Santan

Is there ever going to be an opportunity for general public to question MM or Leo, Donnelly or even coveney, and not just allowing them on pat Kenny or rte and just run off work their own scripts, I know I would love to be able to put forward at least 10 questions on variants, MHQ, vaccine rollout and restriction easing that I never ever hear anyone asking in the last 6 months. I don't mean just a session of abusive questions for the sake of it and blowing off steam, but actual questions that will have to give us a better idea of what plans are being talked about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭IQO

Once the US removes their travel ban and reopens for visitors on ESTA visas I can see a booking on surge from Ireland for transatlantic flights - there is no way the Irish government would add the US to the MHQ list regardless how dire the situation would be there, so it would be a safe bet going there and not having to worry that your destination suddenly makes the MHQ list.

Also going to f.e. Mexico (no exit stamp) or anywhere in that region, followed by a visit to the US - and fly back from there to Ireland would be a safe option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Chuck Norris 2021

I think they're too afraid of the UK. Besides, like another poster said, they can't introduce a border in Ireland, and NI sure as hell won't create a border in the Irish sea or they won't have any buses left to take people to MHQ. Plus, he may need to pick their brains on how to run his internment camps so he needs to keep them on side.

Poor old egg head has dug a hole and doesn't know where to stop. He seems to think people flying in through Belfast will book MQH!! He used the analogy of the motorway speed limit, that there's not always someone there to enforce it but people still do it! He obviously doesn't spend much time on the motorway. I wish he was minister for transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Santan

I think they're too afraid of the UK. Besides, like another poster said, they can't introduce a border in Ireland, and NI sure as hell won't create a border in the Irish sea or they won't have any buses left to take people to MHQ. Plus, he may need to pick their brains on how to run his internment camps so he needs to keep them on side.

Poor old egg head has dug a hole and doesn't know where to stop. He seems to think people flying in through Belfast will book MQH!! He used the analogy of the motorway speed limit, that there's not always someone there to enforce it but people still do it! He obviously doesn't spend much time on the motorway. I wish he was minister for transport.

It's just insane that this is the level of competence that we have making these decisions, I mean if this kind of dribble was said in places I have worked in by senior managers, they would be expecting p45's or at least a demotion, but not here, here they get a chance to vote for a pay increase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,121 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

It’s really just fly home into Belfast rather than leave isn’t it?
    Going through fast track security I believe will see you though Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,852 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

There was never a reasonable argument for 5k limit and we still have that in place. NPHET or Twitter do not need a reasonable argument to demand certain restrictions.

The theory behind travel limits, be they 2k, 5k, 20k, county or island limits isn't a bad one... If an outbreak occurs in one zone that it won't spread to another, the virus then eventually runs it's course within these travel limits and they can then be relaxed

But in reality they're difficult if not impossible to enforce in this country

Gael23 wrote: »

Fast track security ATM yes but will that change come June ?
    I wont fly out of Dublin this summer full stop.

I like consistency and being assured of zero hassles that’s why it’ll be Belfast option in my circumstances. The troubles up north will (fingers crossed) be ok come mid May and coach service from Dublin to Belfast will be a nice start to my holiday.

Can’t wait for mid June to get out of here for 6-8 weeks of normal living again.

Fast track security ATM yes but will that change come June ?
    I wont fly out of Dublin this summer full stop.

How might it change?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

How might it change?

Well if people on here know about the lack of Garda at fast track, I’m sure the guards will get wise to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Fast track won't matter. The Gardai are at the entrance point to security before you scan your boarding pass.

I dont know why your trying to find ways around when your looking to go away in a few months. Who knows what the state of play will be come later in the summer

Fast track won't matter. The Gardai are at the entrance point to security before you scan your boarding pass.

I dont know why your trying to find ways around when your looking to go away in a few months. Who knows what the state of play will be come later in the summer

A logical thinking person like you knows that but Donnelly seems obsessed with variants and that threat isn’t going anywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

A logical thinking person like you knows that but Donnelly seems obsessed with variants and that threat isn’t going anywhere

While the majority of the population isn't vaccinated the threat isn't going anywhere.

You've been on these threads long enough to know like the rest of us that things change rapidly and when the majority of the population are vaccinated things will change then too

Exactly.
    Donnelly and now the general government are about to close off travel for a variant THAT DOES NOT YET EXIST.
    Let’s reread that again.

This is the benchmark these guys are working off. There’s no actual basis to believe that an all vaccine destroying variant will ever manifest but just close off travel “just in case” (???? Madness)

With that in mind there’s no hope of getting out of this mhq for 2021 or maybe 2022 and beyond.
    The only hope we have is a government collapse (which is unlikely after Coveney bending the knee to Donnelly this morning) or EU pressure.

It’s only for the grace of god we share a border with an international airport up a motorway otherwise we may as well live in a watered down North Korea controlled by a social media mob.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,225 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

E
    unlikely after Coveney bending the knee to Donnelly this morning)

**** - Donnellys ego will be bigger than Bonos!!!!!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,681 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

In terminal 1 the fast track entrance is a separate area to the main security area. It hasn’t been staffed by gardai up to now.

faceman wrote: »
    In terminal 1 the fast track entrance is a separate area to the main security area. It hasn’t been staffed by gardai up to now.

That’s what I’m thinking. You don’t go near the main security area. They can see you thiugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Wallander

Exactly.
    Donnelly and now the general government are about to close off travel for a variant THAT DOES NOT YET EXIST.
    Let’s reread that again.

This is the benchmark these guys are working off. There’s no actual basis to believe that an all vaccine destroying variant will ever manifest but just close off travel “just in case” (???? Madness)

With that in mind there’s no hope of getting out of this mhq for 2021 or maybe 2022 and beyond.
    The only hope we have is a government collapse (which is unlikely after Coveney bending the knee to Donnelly this morning) or EU pressure.

It’s only for the grace of god we share a border with an international airport up a motorway otherwise we may as well live in a watered down North Korea controlled by a social media mob.

I think it's very hard for the government to argue their plans are proportional. I don't believe they have valued EU Freedom of Movement rights with the respect they deserve, and I plan early next week to file a complaint with the European Commission.

This can be easily done online here:

https://ec.europa.eu/assets/sg/report-a-breach/complaints_en/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,681 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

It seems Coveney wasn’t talking common sense but was rather protecting his own interests by speaking out about MHQ - he wants a job in Brussels

It would also appear this article undermines any genuine concerns Coveney has.

https://www.independent.ie/opinion/comment/simon-coveneys-burning-ambition-to-land-top-350000-eu-job-hits-speed-bump-over-mandatory-hotel-quarantine-extension-40286857.html