Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will the Rovers ever Return? Your pub megathread, Part 2 - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,306 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I was gonna say the only drink I'd want from a pub over an off licence is a pint of Guinness, but then, I presume takeaway pints are being served in plastic glasses?

Yeah for €6/€7 a pop, feck that I'd prefer go to an offy instead

I'd accept paying those prices if im in a pub/beer garden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Another 4k grant for businesses announced today for "outdoor dining".

They're ****ing raking it in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

Pussyhands wrote: »
    Another 4k grant for businesses announced today for "outdoor dining".

They're ****ing raking it in.

Which is all well and good if you have space for outdoor dinning. A lot of pubs dont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

ShyMets wrote: »
    Which is all well and good if you have space for outdoor dinning. A lot of pubs dont

Won't matter, they'll still claim it. Every pub has a smoking area of some kind. They'll get the cash anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

Pussyhands wrote: »
    Won't matter, they'll still claim it. Every pub has a smoking area of some kind. They'll get the cash anyways.

I can think of a few pubs in Dublin City Centre which haven't got a smoking area and this grant only applies to pubs which serve food. So that excludes the so called wet pubs

Have a feeling they will reintroduce the €9 meal rule/time limits or make some other stupid rule if they allow Hospitality reopen in the summer

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Have a feeling they will reintroduce the €9 meal rule/time limits or make some other stupid rule if they allow Hospitality reopen in the summer

They can reintroduce what they want but a lot of pubs wont enforce especially outside Dublin. That 9 euro/time limit rule was ridiculous anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Dickie10

yeah i would think by the time they open in what now sounds like july at the latest there will be zero enforcement on any restrictions, that stage we should according to pascal donohoe have 90% of adults vaxxed. looking at this weeks hospital numbers plummeting 2 weeks after paddys day and mothers day thats looking like very low numbers of people in hospital with covid if any at all. there wil be no call for any type of restriction at that rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

A reminder of what being in your local can be like

speckle wrote: »

Those were the good times

Not many of those type pubs around these days amd that was happening before covid.

Hipster micro brewerys with board games, books and poetry readings is the new pub life. Pop up trailers selling vegan food and trendy burgers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,249 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

speckle wrote: »

Jaysus, no self respecting barman would have their hands in their pockets, should be one hand on the guinness tap at all times....
    Those were the good times

Not many of those type pubs around these days amd that was happening before covid.

Hipster micro brewerys with board games, books and poetry readings is the new pub life. Pop up trailers selling vegan food and trendy burgers

I'm starting to think you've never actually been in a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,394 ✭✭✭✭zell12

TheJournal.ie - Hundreds of illegal shebeens believed to be serving punters every day
    Criminal gangs have turned their attention to smuggling kegs of beer into Ireland to feed the demand in illegal shebeens
    Many places raided have been operating as fully working pubs with kegs, beer fridges and spirits all set up in a professional manner.
    Vast majority of the watering holes were in rural areas, far from the nearest garda station.
    Revenue officers seized beer worth €66k while searching one truck at Rosslare, which disembarked from Pembroke. It contained nearly 17,000 litres of beer.

Like what happened during prohibition in the USA....need to get them open at least outside for public health reasons ;)

hynesie08 wrote: »

Jaysus, no self respecting barman would have their hands in their pockets, should be one hand on the guinness tap at all times....

Ach sure... look at the grace he has when moving... like a ballerina... doesnt even skip a beat singing while serving pints..a 'master of house' skill wise.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

I bet the stupid food rule is coming back, looks like its a summer of eating 2 slices of crap pizza and drinking shots to equal it out for me

I've said it before, but the max 15 persons at anyone time is a joke. Some premises have large outdoor areas so it should be based on a percentage capacity.

Did anyone come out and ask the question why was this rule enforced ? and give a straight answer

It's original purpose was so teens could stay longer at family functions

Was it to stop pub crawls and people getting drunk

It's a farce and would once again ruin the trip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Did anyone come out and ask the question why was this rule enforced ? and give a straight answer

I havent got a clue, why the gardai couldnt just turn a blind eye and let everyone be happy is beyond me, who in the hell did it help to force people to eat a few scabby slices of pizza or some cocktail sausages and chips. The only thing that happened is the lads on cocaine didnt do any lines before the pub and other lads were just doing shots or downing a few spirits at home to balance it out

Yes, loads of people, it was explained clearly and concisely to everyone, including you personally,

Which part didn't you understand?

Yes, loads of people, it was explained clearly and concisely to everyone, including you personally,

Which part didn't you understand?

Read so much stuff over the last year its hard to remember it all

Why was this enforced then ?

Why ?

Fine, we'll go round one more time.

Pubs were going to remain closed.

Restauraunts would be allowed open.

Restauraunts can only serve alcohol with a substantial meal.

Several publicans were going to open because they had a restaurant license.

The government called their bluff by allowing them to open but they had to act like Resteraunts.

This was extended to all pubs serving food.

The emphasis on Outdoor dining does mean it will only be food pubs/restaurants that have the space to serve outdoors will open. It almost guaranteed that its pints only to be served with a meal and possibly maximum of 15 people. Wet pubs again been screwed

This is only my assumption of what might happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭covidrelease

Fine, we'll go round one more time.

Pubs were going to remain closed.

Restauraunts would be allowed open.

Restauraunts can only serve alcohol with a substantial meal.

The government called their bluff by allowing them to open but they had to act like Resteraunts.

This was extended to all pubs serving food.

Nothing clear or concise there.

That's on you then.

The government called their bluff by allowing them to open but they had to act like Resteraunts

Are you saying they were planning to open but not serve food?

Yes, they were planning to open using their restaurant license, but allow people to drink only.

Have you a source for this plan please?

20th May 2020

The LVA said that its figures suggest that about 330 pubs will reopen at the third phase to serve food on their premises on the same basis as restaurants given that they have restaurant certificates “and accordingly are licensed restaurants”.

The emphasis on Outdoor dining does mean it will only be food pubs/restaurants that have the space to serve outdoors will open. It almost guaranteed that its pints only to be served with a meal and possibly maximum of 15 people. Wet pubs again been screwed

This is only my assumption of what might happen

Cant remember where I read it...from some gov source all pubs to be treated the same this time...a search would find it.