If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Indeed. Can we apply that to everything?

My family is abroad and have all had covid-19. I'm not at risk and can legally travel.

But ya know, better schools, equality of life, being close to family were all secondary concerns against a newly discovered virus that didn't exist when we made that life choice

You/they weren't aware that the further you travel away from home, the more potential difficulties you could encounter if trying to go back and forth for visits?

You make your choices. You have to accepts the positives and negatives of those choices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

There’s also a connotation or theme from some posters that “holliers” is somehow a bad thing? There’s a lot of very strange people springing to the fore throughout this whole **** storm.

I've mentioned previously that half my family is from a country on the list for MHQ and we're overly concerned as to when and why the country is on the list.

We're concerned as to when we'll see them again, when we won't have to pay an extortionate amount to return to the country when we could be completely safe and healthy whilst other 'infected' people are allowed to roam free around supermarkets, etc. Concerned if something life changing happens where we have to make a huge decision whether to stay in Ireland or go and pay the extortionate fee on our return. Concerned as to why this country has been added whilst other countries with way more cases and variants are not on the list.

Not all of us are here for a 'hollier'.

If something comes up abroad, you can decide whether or not it is worth it to go and come back and pay. If it is, then go. If it isn't then don't go. It's quite simple. Not ideal choices maybe but the options are simple. It will be your choice. If you can't afford the emergency travel then you can reconsider whether you want to be that far away.

I worked in the US for years. Worked with a fella whose parents were living in France. He went home to see them around Christmas. Father was sick and dying. The work colleague decided to fly back to the US the day before New Years. The father took a turn and actually died when he was in the air. So when he landed, he had to book a flight back and it cost a few grand.

There’s also a connotation or theme from some posters that “holliers” is somehow a bad thing? There’s a lot of very strange people springing to the fore throughout this whole **** storm.

Yeah, I don't know where that is coming from. I used the word once and some other poster then flipped out at me "continually using it". It was them who seemed to twist it into something else.

Beats me why they got their knickers in a twist over it. I'd use it as a normal everyday word. Not that I'd use it every day of course. But a normal, albeit slang, word. It is other posters objecting to its use that are making a mountain out of a molehill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,470 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

If something comes up abroad, you can decide whether or not it is worth it to go and come back and pay. If it is, then go. If it isn't then don't go. It's quite simple. Not ideal choices maybe but the options are simple. It will be your choice. If you can't afford the emergency travel then you can reconsider whether you want to be that far away.

I worked in the US for years. Worked with a fella whose parents were living in France. He went home to see them around Christmas. Father was sick and dying. The work colleague decided to fly back to the US the day before New Years. The father took a turn and actually died when he was in the air. So when he landed, he had to book a flight back and it cost a few grand.

Very sad but your mate also didn't have to factor in the cost of €1,800 to stay in a hotel for 2 weeks to see his family if the US was on the list flying into France. It's apples and oranges.

The whole point is that the list is pointless if it's cherry picked.

The US is not on the list where Covid is/was rampant yet the Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands is. It is nonsense. It should be all or nothing and IMO, is 12 months too late. We have been given no timeframe as to when countries will come off, data behind country on the list or what we need to look out for to give us a glimmer of hope it won't be on the list. Not sure of your circumstances but not everyone can afford to fly off and return to MHQ with a huge financial burden over it as well.

Pre Covid, we already made the hard decisions to live abroad away from family. We knew the risks but didn't have to factor in a completely unprecedented virus that would make said the country they live in, on a list where it would require MHQ and a cost of €1,800 each or thereabouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Likely from people who rarely leave the country and don't get the importance of interconnectivity within the EU and between Ireland and the US.

Again, as i alluded to few days ago. Imagine the top brass of a US multicorp employing thousands here, arriving fully vaccinated and being placed in 12-14 days mandatory quarantine hotels with the Defence Forces leading out the bus you are forced onto?

You'd really question, was this the country you thought youd invested in.

Yeah. People are some eejits for not realising travel would be made more difficult for over a year. Sure it happens all the time.

Well posters appear to be implying family emergencies. As my post above (the example of the fella with parents in France), illustrates, an emergency will be an emergency regardless of corona and if/when it hits, you may find yourself in a bind.

If you leave Bray to work in the Australian outback and your twin brother leaves Bray to work in Dublin and then, god forbid, a family member is in an accident, your route home is going to be far more difficult logistically than your brother's. That is a downside of going away. How people could not be aware of that blows my mind.They may be people who never lived abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,470 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Well posters appear to be implying family emergencies. As my post above (the example of the fella with parents in France), illustrates, an emergency will be an emergency regardless of corona and if/when it hits, you may find yourself in a bind.

If you leave Bray to work in the Australian outback and your twin brother leaves Bray to work in Dublin and then, god forbid, a family member is in an accident, your route home is going to be far more difficult logistically than your brother's. That is a downside of going away. How people could not be aware of that blows my mind.They may be people who never lived abroad.

We know the risks, you're assuming we don't ffs.

We are fully aware that if something happens at home, we have to hop on a plane and go home.

We're frustrated that now there have been multiple restrictions placed on us having to return back to Ireland that make zero sense. That is the whole point of this, you're either choosing to ignore it or blatantly implying we're fools for not noticing this.

The whole point is that the restrictions have been placed on many countries on the list that makes absolutely zero sense and if they were from a place with higher risk - the US, we wouldn't have this issue, none whatsoever. Likewise with the EU - France for example that are gone back into another lockdown. (I'm not implying here France should be on it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,684 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Again, as i alluded to few days ago. Imagine the top brass of a US multicorp employing thousands here, arriving fully vaccinated and being placed in 12-14 days mandatory quarantine hotels with the Defence Forces leading out the bus you are forced onto?
    You'd really question, was this the country you thought youd invested in

I'd say that's more of a political question than a Travel one, should we exclude passengers because they invest in the country? I would say not..

Should a blanket hotel quarantine include fully vaccinated PCR negative passengers? Absolutely not... pure lazy feckless restrictions on the part of the Irish Government...
    If travel is to restart across the EU then vaccinated/Pcr negative passengers should travel freely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,684 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Strikes me that one poster here is on a permanent wind up. I'm amused people still indulge him. Even the choice of words such as 'holiers' is designed to annoy and provoke.

The "Ignore list" is a great thing..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

I know that man. These feckin' lizard people and their new world order. And they are doing it specifically just to stop you from going on your holliers. Well you and Jim Corr. The rest of us are just receiving the collateral damage from that.

Did you get the idea for that reply from my mentioning specifically in my post that I'm not into conspiracy theories?

You're getting desperate, surely there's still enough sycophantic sniveling praise of the Irish governments outlier policies in the arsenal to keep you going?

There isn't really a need to pull the conspiracy card when looking at these policies. The incompetence and cowardice cards are right there.

shil.mar wrote: »
    If you have any Information specially between UK and Turkey I will be glad to hear.

We're not in the UK.

We had a war about this.

We won.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,681 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Flyer1 wrote: »
    I just spent the week in Madrid ( for work ). The entire experience down was great, Dublin airport is essentially a ghost town. Very clean and the option of a pint with your substantial meal crap is still in effect at Marquette. Before boarding I was asked for proof of my negative PCR and QR code for Spain. The flight itself was absolutely fine, everyone wore their mask. Upon arrival in Spain it was standard passport control, show them my QR code and negative PCR and then continue about my life as a normal adult.

It is mind boggling when you see how different the situation is here - Madrid was bustling, crowded streets the norm, all shops open, able to pop in to a bar for a drink as you please. Everyone wears a mask all the time unless eating or drinking. There is a curfew at 11pm - 6am, it works well as most people are in and off the streets by 11. My business took me throughout the city and out in to a suburb, not once was I stopped and asked my business.

I met with some friends who previously lived in Ireland and they did not believe me when I explained the level of restrictions with which we are still being forced to exist.

The trip has certainly confirmed my thoughts that Ireland are making a pigs ear out of this whole thing. It was so nice to escape those putrid yellow signs, the irish media constant frenzy of negativity and to enjoy what is essentially normal life with a facemask. Even the busy metro was a pleasant experience.

At some point as a country we will need to put on our big boys pants and move beyond this obsession with locking down the entire country. We must move on.

Not once did I feel at risk on the entire travel experience, I have had 3 PCR tests in the last week and I will obtain another on my 5th day here.

Madrid isn’t the poster boy in Spain at the moment sadly. They’re pushing the covid rate average up for the country. Our president in the Valencia region ran an advertising campaign in Madrid in the run up to Easter to remind locals they can’t visit here over the holidays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 shil.mar

b0nk1e wrote: »
    We're not in the UK.

We had a war about this.

We won.

I am sorry and I respect, But I am interested to know both. I hope it is ok.. if anyone experienced or have heard something about..

The experience of a 74 year old Irish woman coming back from New Zealand to live here.

https://gript.ie/gran-surprise-quarantine-dublin/

Seems she only found out she’d have to quarantine before she left New Zealand and had to pay for the quarantine before she got on the plane. Says others didn’t get on the plane because of this. Again it’s to do with the stopover in uae. Whole experience sounds very distressing for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

gansi wrote: »
    The experience of a 74 year old Irish woman coming back from New Zealand to live here.

https://gript.ie/gran-surprise-quarantine-dublin/

Seems she only found out she’d have to quarantine before she left New Zealand and had to pay for the quarantine before she got on the plane. Says others didn’t get on the plane because of this. Again it’s to do with the stopover in uae. Whole experience sounds very distressing for her.

We need more stories like this to highlight the deep wrong that MHQ is.

Yes indeed we do.
    I found this story very upsetting tbh.

You/they weren't aware that the further you travel away from home, the more potential difficulties you could encounter if trying to go back and forth for visits?

You make your choices. You have to accepts the positives and negatives of those choices.

That's Grand. Let's apply to everyone and I'll continue to fly so.

You choose to go outside, it's on you if you encounter me

faceman wrote: »
    The rooms aren’t cleaned by staff nor are sheets changed by staff in MHQ. It’s up to the inmate to do it

And you pay 1,875 for the privilege !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,613 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Do you mean between Ireland and the UK and Turkey or between the UK and Turkey?
    If the latter then you're on the wrong forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

I am sorry and I respect, But I am interested to know both. I hope it is ok.. if anyone experienced or have heard something about..

Why don’t you ask people in Turkey or the UK about it? Better still, why don’t you just get the PCR test and quarantine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,806 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

The Irish, a great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Lillyfae wrote: »
    Why don’t you ask people in Turkey or the UK about it? Better still, why don’t you just get the PCR test and quarantine?

I don't know the answer to her question but why the vileness of reply? The person wasn't being smart or rude, but still a viper-like reply. This situation has turned people real nasty sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Hi
    Vaccination has started a long while. I have question about those who got vaccinated, can they flight abroad without PCR Test and quarantine?
    I do not understand why those whom have vaccinated have to take PCR test and be 10 days quarantined when they travel to some countries!
    If you have any Information specially between UK and Turkey I will be glad to hear.

regards

What type of travel? I believe Turkey has discussed prospect of letting people from the UK in without need for PCR test, quarantine or proof of vaccination for the summer. But as of now it's illegal to travel for non-essential reasons in the UK

What’s the story with PCR testing once in quarantine is it done on arrival at the accommodation or within 24 hours of arrival etc does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,808 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

You can travel from Ireland to Turkey without any checks, but only if you are going there to get a Brazilian buttlift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

Mandatory hotel quarantine is a joke.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

GazzaL wrote: »
    Mandatory hotel quarantine is a joke.

Unfortunately it’s here to stay. By autumn i’d say most countries will be on it. As long as there’s covid in the world ( it can’t be eradicated) quarantine will never be lifted because of the “ variants “ narrative . Non essential travel is going to be a thing of the past, travel is over. Very depressing. At least the light at the end of the tunnel for me is i’ll be in the USA by next year. I hadn’t planned to move before i retire but current circumstances in this cesspit has changed my plans.

As for the EU green travel pass no way in hell ( unless it freezes over) will NPHET or the government will opt into it.

This was the attitude of Niall Collins today:

“”On the issue of adding EU countries to the quarantine system list, Mr Collins said freedom of travel was an issue, adding that "there was no reason a meeting of minds cannot take place and why additional countries cannot be added". “

Ahhh Jaysis Mickey!!
    will ya stop, it will be grand, everything is not as bad as you seem to think.....