If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

bubblypop wrote: »
    lol!
    don't travel then, simples :D

Understand Ireland are a member of the EU, simples

I understand that thanks!!
    What that has to do with quarantine during a pandemic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,361 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Obviously you've no clue of any of these conditions.

Somebody can get through a long haul flight through short term meds or mindfulness....

It is a different story for medium term internment in what is basically a prison hotel.
    You don't know me and my experience with PTSD.
    I understand the condition well unfortunately. You throwing that term around for having to quarantine in a nice hotel for 12 days is a joke.

12 days is medium term?....Come on now.

gmisk wrote: »
    You don't know me and my experience with PTSD.
    I understand the condition well unfortunately. You throwing that term around for having to quarantine in a nice hotel for 12 days is a joke.

12 days is medium term?....Come on now.

I'm pretty sure being dragged from the airport, only other option being brought to Ballymun Gardai station or being locked into a hotel room in Santry with no key to the hotel door might just cause some mental scarring going forward?

I don't think you own what PTSD is.

How is this even being entertained. What a scummy country we have turned into in a few months if we are allowing this happen. What i say might not tie in with populist outrage but somebody needs to say it. As what is happening right now is degusting. And thank god for Coveney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,361 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I'm pretty sure being dragged from the airport, only other option being brought to Ballymun Gardai station or being locked into a hotel room in Santry with no key to the hotel door might just cause some mental scarring going forward?

I don't think you own what PTSD is.
    You are making a lot of claims and assumptions about what happened...when you don't know.
    It happens in other countries, it's 12 days in a hotel it's not a fecking gulag.

I didn't claim to own what PTSD is....I was responding to your pretty horrible comment directed at me.
    "Obviously you've no clue of any of these conditions."
    Put simply I do.

gmisk wrote: »
    You are making a lot of claims and assumptions about what happened...when you don't know.
    It happens in other countries, it's 12 days in a hotel it's not a fecking gulag.

I didn't claim to own what PTSD is....I was responding to your pretty horrible comment directed at me.
    "Obviously you've no clue of any of these conditions."
    Put simply I do.

Hold on a minute, you are totally misquoting me. I said you obviously have no clue of these conditions if you do not consider the quoted conditions capable of resulting in such issues in people. Horrible, is a complete exaggeration.

Who is doing this? Some Asian countries and Auz and NZ? The former with very questionable human right records and Aus is certainly not a place anybody with the freedoms we know in the EU would like to live, their government are extremely conservative and anti immigrant.

The EU does not want to follow these countries, we are better than that and have more respect for each other and our individual situations.

Apologies for any insult caused, it most certainly was not deliberate.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,681 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

How is this even being entertained. What a scummy country we have turned into in a few months if we are allowing this happen. What i say might not tie in with populist outrage but somebody needs to say it. As what is happening right now is degusting. And thank god for Coveney.

I hate to say it but I agree with your sentiment. It’s not my perspective on MHQ driving it but the mob mentality that has brought us to this position. Even in this thread, and the other covid thread, the 2 women who were arrested are being referred to with derogatory terms and insults. The Irish family returning from Australia who complained, were also insulted and belittled, with no empathy.

Over a very short period of time we have freely given up our freedoms, civil liberties and with many Irish people turned into curtain twitching self righteous knobs. While there is a pandemic, nobody is challenging these matters in a productive capacity with the exception of Michael McNamara.

If people want MHQ that’s fine, but people should also be strictly demanding clear exit strategies, end dates and appeal mechanisms for exceptional cases. The only people doing that are the civil Liberty groups, who have also been publicly knocked for highlighting civil Liberty issues with MHQ and other covid measures.

Of course the counter argument is pandemic etc and that’s fine. But what does that mean? Cancer remains the number killer in Ireland and that didn’t change during the pandemic. Yet cancer screening services have been severely curtailed and there is a massive backlog of cases. Yet there isn’t much noise from the public about that. The gov strategy has been to resource covid and take resources from nearly every other health area. And before someone says “cancer isn’t contagious”, you’re missing the point. The gov are doing this because they can, and because people aren’t demanding otherwise. MHQ was introduced because people demanded it.

Even though the MHQ has a current end date of June, Leo has already said it will be in place for at least a year. Even if you’re pro MHQ, you should be demanding these things too. End dates, accountability, transparency etc.

The mentality of MHQ has been akin to prisons, lock them up, no sympathy, “you shouldn’t have travelled”. A narrow, blinkered view of a very complex situation.

Today I bought a bottle of champagne for an Irish lady who lives here in Spain who I never met before. She turned 80 today and was eating lunch alone. I overheard her say it was her birthday to the waiter. I got talking to her. She had no family with her because they all live in Spain. Her husband died a couple of years ago. Her family can’t travel because covid, and she can’t travel because covid. (She’s safer here in Spain anyway)

To many in this thread you’ll say, ah but covid you can’t travel, we’re all suffering, sacrifice, it’s not an essential trip yada yada. Look a lonely 80 year old woman in the eye and your definition of what essential travel is will change rapidly. A bottle of champagne was a drop in the ocean for what she must be feeling at this point in her life.

The kicker for me with her story was this, she’s fully vaccinated.

faceman wrote: »
    I hate to say it but I agree with your sentiment. It’s not my perspective on MHQ driving it but the mob mentality that has brought us to this position. Even in this thread, and the other covid thread, the 2 women who were arrested are being referred to with derogatory terms and insults. The Irish family returning from Australia who complained, were also insulted and belittled, with no empathy.

Over a very short period of time we have freely given up our freedoms, civil liberties and with many Irish people turned into curtain twitching self righteous knobs. While there is a pandemic, nobody is challenging these matters in a productive capacity with the exception of Michael McNamara.

If people want MHQ that’s fine, but people should also be strictly demanding clear exit strategies, end dates and appeal mechanisms for exceptional cases. The only people doing that are the civil Liberty groups, who have also been publicly knocked for highlighting civil Liberty issues with MHQ and other covid measures.

Of course the counter argument is pandemic etc and that’s fine. But what does that mean? Cancer remains the number killer in Ireland and that didn’t change during the pandemic. Yet cancer screening services have been severely curtailed and there is a massive backlog of cases. Yet there isn’t much noise from the public about that. The gov strategy has been to resource covid and take resources from nearly every other health area. And before someone says “cancer isn’t contagious”, you’re missing the point. The gov are doing this because they can, and because people aren’t demanding otherwise. MHQ was introduced because people demanded it.

Even though the MHQ has a current end date of June, Leo has already said it will be in place for at least a year. Even if you’re pro MHQ, you should be demanding these things too. End dates, accountability, transparency etc.

The mentality of MHQ has been akin to prisons, lock them up, no sympathy, “you shouldn’t have travelled”. A narrow, blinkered view of a very complex situation.

Today I bought a bottle of champagne for an Irish lady who lives here in Spain who I never met before. She turned 80 today and was eating lunch alone. I overheard her say it was her birthday to the waiter. I got talking to her. She had no family with her because they all live in Spain. Her husband died a couple of years ago. Her family can’t travel because covid, and she can’t travel because covid. (She’s safer here in Spain anyway)

To many in this thread you’ll say, ah but covid you can’t travel, we’re all suffering, sacrifice, it’s not an essential trip yada yada. Look a lonely 80 year old woman in the eye and your definition of what essential travel is will change rapidly. A bottle of champagne was a drop in the ocean for what she must be feeling at this point in her life.

Nobody has been strong enough to stand up against the mob. The biggest failure of politics i have seen, there is no opposition to the madness. So those constructive people who support robust measures but understand the realities are now treated as extremists and the militant right.

Would love anything than to escape to the Med for 6 months but cannot due to work.

I don't want to be a part of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Nobody has been strong enough to stand up against the mob. The biggest failure of politics i have seen, there is no opposition to the madness. So those constructive people who support robust measures but understand the realities are now treated as extremists and the militant right.

Would love anything than to escape to the Med for 6 months but cannot due to work.

No point moaning about your situation. Either fix it if it bothers you that much or don't keep going on about it.

Better advice would be to be a bit happier and learn to live with it. Save your travel for later on in the year or next year. You can double up then. No big deal

No point moaning about your situation. Either fix it if it bothers you that much or don't keep going on about it.

Better advice would be to be a bit happier and learn to live with it. Save your travel for later on in the year or next year. You can double up then. No big deal

Thanks for your pep talk Kermit, but it is bigger than that .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

faceman wrote: »

Very sad story...

Wait what, MHQ for a full YEAR ?????

Gael23 wrote: »
    Once the regulations on non essential travel go I cannot see how the airport fines can continue but that’s just my thoughts.

It's an interesting one but does it mean only people within 20km of the airport can travel? Seems harsh.

People seem to forget that being a member of the EU comes with a list of committments that must be kept .

Sometimes they suit your needs, sometimes they do not.

Ireland breaching EU treaties would be a disgraceful move and open to significant litigation.

Nearly every eu state pays fines for breaching eu agreements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

hmmmm, well with the constant shifting of the goal posts, new variants, need to get constant new vaccines I can't see travel ever resuming.

God knows when I'll get back to Ireland, I was hoping for 2021 ... then thoiught 2022 , now I'm thinking realistically 2023 - it's a joke.

I really don't know WHY they want these restrictions to go on forever, it makes no sense, yet here we are a year later and travel restrictions are worse if anything - and set to get even worse.

If you refuse to go to hotel quarantine on health reasons I wonder what they can do.

Some people may fear for their safety in such a place.

I can see huge and costly law suits in the future for people getting compensation for being held inhumanely

It's a hotel. are you going too claim that someone TRAVELING either home after being on holiday or away to a holiday has ptsd from staying in a hotel?

People get detained every single day of the week for various reasons. Many in less favorable conditions. In Garda custody, direct provision, special schools, hospitals........ None get claims

I would rather be at home but ffs let's be realistic here

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

OK, let's drop the PTSD stuff

It's a hotel. It's a couple of weeks, and people who decide to travel into Ireland from the relevant countries know the score before they board a plane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

The problem I have with the 'wait as long as it takes for travel' crew is that they don't seem to be bothered about having any sort of plan or route of it, other than 'wait for the vaccinations', then it'll be 'wait a while longer until other countries are', in a perpetual kicking it down the road yet not demanding or offering any way out.

It's sad to see that a lot of the blame shifting the government and authorities did throughout this worked on a lot of people. Once camera's were pointed at people arriving back in airports, the twitter and facebook Karens and Johnnies suddenly forgot about the mess made at Christmas and were aiming the pitchforks at travellers. Just genuinely sad to see really more than anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

Gael23 wrote: »
    Yes agree. I’d say from June when the digital green certificate comes in they will have to soften the tone

I reckon that's exactly what will happen. The government will then be able to blame the nasty EU anyway when they 'have' to open up. This will also get ultra-conservative (because they are afraid to be scapegoated again) NPHET off the hook too. When the opposition continue to play populists by publicly seeking tougher restrictions that they never actually wanted in the first place but backed the government into a corner, the government can shrug their shoulders and point at the EU 'bureaucrats'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

It's an interesting one but does it mean only people within 20km of the airport can travel? Seems harsh.

It's distance just for exercise as you are only supposed to leave your house for essential reasons which going on a jolly up is certainly not
    If you want to go on holiday, pay the fine and then stay 2 weeks in MHQ, no sympathy from me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭dalyboy

UDAWINNER wrote: »
    It's distance just for exercise as you are only supposed to leave your house for essential reasons which going on a jolly up is certainly not
    If you want to go on holiday, pay the fine and then stay 2 weeks in MHQ, no sympathy from me

Or head to Belfast and do neither . Loads of sympathy from me

Thanks for your pep talk Kermit, but it is bigger than that .

Of course it is. There are thousands of families who prematurely lost loved ones.

If we had no restrictions, then that number would be higher.

Not only that, but with hospitals at, or over, capacity, non-emergency health would have been postponed. People posting about cancer treatments earlier. Imagine the bedlam in trying to get an appointment for a check up or a procedure if the hospitals, and tents out in the carpark, were all full of Covid patients.

That is what is bigger than you postponing your holliers for a few months. I wouldn't be arsed going anywhere at the minute anyway. Too much hassle even if I got to go somewhere. Places shut or reduced capacity. Might be alright if you just want to sit on your hole on a beach for a week. Not if you wanted to do interesting things.

TomSweeney wrote: »
    hmmmm, well with the constant shifting of the goal posts, new variants, need to get constant new vaccines I can't see travel ever resuming.

God knows when I'll get back to Ireland, I was hoping for 2021 ... then thoiught 2022 , now I'm thinking realistically 2023 - it's a joke.

I really don't know WHY they want these restrictions to go on forever, it makes no sense, yet here we are a year later and travel restrictions are worse if anything - and set to get even worse.

I'd would guess that, assuming you are in a country that will have some sort of reasonable vaccination program and controls in place, that you would be able to get back to Ireland easily enough by the end of the year. Things may not be fully opened, but I'd say that getting here should be relatively straightforward by then. Maybe not 2019 straightforward, but more simple than April 2021

Of course it is. There are thousands of families who prematurely lost loved ones.

If we had no restrictions, then that number would be higher.

Not only that, but with hospitals at, or over, capacity, non-emergency health would have been postponed. People posting about cancer treatments earlier. Imagine the bedlam in trying to get an appointment for a check up or a procedure if the hospitals, and tents out in the carpark, were all full of Covid patients.

That is what is bigger than you postponing your holliers for a few months. I wouldn't be arsed going anywhere at the minute anyway. Too much hassle even if I got to go somewhere. Places shut or reduced capacity. Might be alright if you just want to sit on your hole on a beach for a week. Not if you wanted to do interesting things.

Not all travel is for holidays. In fact, right now I would say that very little is. So continually using the word holliers intentionally infantilises those who are travelling for whatever reason. But you know that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭dalyboy

I don’t know your personal circumstances obviously so I’m just throwing this out to you :-
    2 possible options
    (1) If you can use your skills to set up a business online ?

(2) Loads of online recruiting going on at the moment that may allow you to take the concrete blocks off your feet and get out of this hell hole.

Admittedly this hinges on your personal situation (family , present housing etc) and your skill level etc etc)

I’m presently weighing up a move out of here semi permanently and factoring costs of living abroad will be much lower than here , accommodation costs much lower and better quality, tax system fairer and general long term freedom of a restricted life are all being criteria considerations.

I’ve kids here in Ireland so the move will be a dramatic life and lives altering embarkment however being self employed I need to provide for my family and sadly this country is not going to be an easy place to either live or do business for a long time to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭acequion

Anybody so ignorant as to contemptuously dismiss travel as a "jolly" doesn't get the time of day from me. That's the mentality of the mob who bayed for these embarrassing detention centres. You only need read their posts on this and other threads to see their hostility. They would quite happily drag this country back into the dark ages. I wonder will they be as hostile to the wide world out there when we most likely will have to put out the begging bowl yet again. And who will they blame if the world gives us the cold shoulder?

Mod: Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭JoeExotic81

Beasty wrote: »
    OK, let's drop the PTSD stuff

It's a hotel. It's a couple of weeks, and people who decide to travel into Ireland from the relevant countries know the score before they board a plane

Mod: Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭JoeExotic81

Nobody has been strong enough to stand up against the mob. The biggest failure of politics i have seen, there is no opposition to the madness.

I think it's Michael McNamara, an independent Clare TD who is the only one I've seen standing up to government in relation to this and other hugely worrying decisions being passed through law. It's a frightening time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,681 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

TomSweeney wrote: »
    Very sad story...

Wait what, MHQ for a full YEAR ?????

Yes, and “difficult to reverse”

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/varadkar-says-mandatory-quarantine-will-probably-be-for-a-year-if-brought-in-1070313.html

UDAWINNER wrote: »

Ah jesus christ. I can't keep explaining the law anymore.

5km under level 5 is for exercise. This isn't, this is part one of easing restrictions.