Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    Where are you more likely to spread it in a supermarket or on the beach on your own? Answer using your common sense and logic please.

Using common sense & logic which is essential? Food or a walk on the beach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

Graham wrote: »

Exercise is essential

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

Locotastic wrote: »
    No they won't because they aren't in lockdown now as such, people deciding for themselves what is an acceptable risk and acting accordingly.

More people coming to the realisation each day that realistically we are able to go and do what we like and we'll be mainly unrestricted.

Folk sweating about if they are 'allowed' to go 6km from home will become a minority.

I consider not being able to go retail shopping, visit restaurants, pubs and travel overseas as being in lockdown as such.

There is a good point about there being a level of deaths from the virus that are tolerable, and a level of hospitalisations that are manageable, and not going for a zero Covid policy I would say the current levels are in that bracket. Some argue that because we have started vaccinations we should increase that tolerance. I would argue the opposite. We have a highly effective vaccine that will be protecting all of the most vulnerable in only a few weeks time. Restrictions are frustrating and incredibly difficult to tolerate for most, but a few more weeks so all those most at risk are vaccinated is not outrageous in the grand scheme of things. If come May all the elderly and those with pre existing conditions are vaccinated, and the vaccinations of the groups further down have begun there is no reason that level 3 or even lower should be on the cards. I will be protesting with the most vociferous of you if by that stage the government are keeping level 4 or above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Exercise is essential. Just stay away from the super spreader beaches.

I will be protesting with the most vociferous of you if by that stage the government are keeping level 4 or above

Start working on your placards so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,258 ✭✭✭User1998

RobitTV wrote: »
    Imagine living in Dublin City Centre, where you can only walk around the empty city centre each day with no scenery. You wouldn't bother most days.

I think you forgot about the Phoenix Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I find it a very sad state of affairs if the chance of being "allowed" to travel a little bit more than 5km is considered as a win here.

10km will make very little difference to anyone outside Dublin or the other cities, and many in the commuter counties will see very little difference even if they do extend to county borders.

The restoration of our right to travel our country freely without fear of being asked for "your papers" by the Gardai is the only win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I find it a very sad state of affairs if the chance of being "allowed" to travel a little bit more than 5km is considered as a win here.

10km will make very little difference to anyone outside Dublin or the other cities, and many in the commuter counties will see very little difference even if they do extend to county borders.

The restoration of our right to travel our country freely without fear of being asked for "your papers" by the Gardai is the only win.

Countrywide travel will take quite a while yet

I'd be surprised if we're back to that by July

Funny intercounty travel has only been allowed for 8 days since October

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

User1998 wrote: »
    I think you forgot about the Phoenix Park

Very much depends on where you live in Dublin. Phoenix Park is quite a walk outside of the centre of the city. It wouldn't be within 5km for everyone.

I have no problem with people walking there. But there is nothing wrong with going to a beach and having a walk. Exercise should be encouraged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭acequion

I read this from a poster on the aviation forum and it's the most sensible thing I've read all weekend.
    Covid19 is never going away, variants are going to evolve on a regular basis now, just like with the 'normal' flu. All we can do is vaccinate the most at risk as best we can, give them 6 monthly/yearly boosters targeted at new strains like with the flu, and then accept that new reality and go back to normal life.

I'm rapidly losing patience with the pro lockdowners and those who will blindly follow the most nonsensical laws. It's well established that Ireland is one of the most lockdowned countries in the world. It's well established that this has had and continues to have a detrimental impact on mental and physical health not to mention the social and economic consequences, the worst yet to come. It's well established that the Govt, who we all voted for in good faith literally 5 minutes before the pandemic took hold, are to put it mildly, a disappointment.

The above quote sums up where we're at. Those still screaming and projecting irrational, hysterical fears on to everybody else, claiming that you're some sort of traitor to the land if you go 8km rather than 5km or that you are a major Covid threat if you have a few trusted people to your house, need to get a grip. Now!

RIP to all those who died of Covid but also to all the other undocumented deaths and illnesses and miseries people have suffered during this horrible period. But it really is time to become more pragmatic, more humane, more responsive to all the other needs of our population and that means finally LIVING WITH COVID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

More movement = more spread of the virus.

Those ignoring the restrictions are moving more.

It's not complicated.

So moving around on your own is spreading the virus?

You do realise that some restrictions can be ignored with zero risk?

Or do you believe that going for a stroll on your own (movement) can spread the virus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭Zardoz

RobitTV wrote: »
    Irish Independent has now transformed into the Daily Star overnight

'Lockdown Ireland: Tight Covid restrictions until May as virus surges'

What surge would this be? is my imagination playing tricks

Any old excuse for the Govt and Nphet to continue their illogical blanket lockdown will be seized upon.

There might be a small increase in cases in Dublin so lets lock down the entire country the exact same way because of that.

I think you should probably read my post again because that's not what I said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

I think you should probably read my post again because that's not what I said.

That's exactly what you implied!

The first poster said:
    Lovely stroll on the beach this morning, 20km away from my abode. Garda presence is minimal, took a few back roads just in case. And I'll do it again, find that arbitrary boundaries are easily negated. #livingonmyterms

The poster responded to the above post by saying this:
    DellyBelly wrote: »
    I'm really surprised at the amount of people who are giving the 2 fingers to the restrictions. To me its the reason we are still in the mess we are.. Very disappointing

That is clearly and example of a person moving about on their own.

When I stated this you replied with:

It's not complicated.

It's there in black and white in the context of someone moving about on their own beyond their 5km you believe that they are spreading the virus.

You can be as obtuse as you want but you've already implied that someone moving about on their own is spreading the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Parachutes

It's not complicated.

I wear a mask in my bed at night just in case covid creeps in the window and strikes me in my sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

How is someone going to catch covid walking on a windy beach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

You do realise that some restrictions can be ignored with zero risk?

Or do you believe that going for a stroll on your own (movement) can spread the virus?

Some people change their clothes and shower after just being out for a walk or in a supermarket (after disinfecting every item of shopping individually).

Going for a walk or going grocery shopping are not high risk activities but there are folk who are terrified and will be left with challenges to overcome when life goes back to normal.

The media scaremongering and lack of balance will have a lot to answer for. Its not hard to see why certain people are afraid to go beyond their permitted 5km and think in doing so that they are taking a huge risk.

Meanwhile a growing number of people enjoy their freedom going wherever they want and making decisions for themselves (it's kind of nice with less people around anyway).

You can be as obtuse as you want but you've already implied that someone moving about on their own is spreading the virus.

"I'm really surprised at the amount of people who are giving the 2 fingers to the restrictions."

Note 'restrictions', plural, as in more than one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,738 ✭✭✭scamalert

so goverment says prob allowing 2 household to meet because people already break that rule :confused::cool: its pathetic at this stage if people need to think for themselves for numb nuts to lift these idiotic rules at this stage.

as yes admitting covid is here to stay is only way out, yet because government cant cope with more then 200 people at any time, they figure its best to keep people locked up as much as possible is only way.

cant see many siding with this nonsense any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

[QUOTE=RobitTV;116718372

There is no sense of entitlement as you suggested. Going for a walk along a beach is hardly a risky situation. Let people decide for themselves and extend the 5km non-essential travel limit to county limits.[/QUOTE]

"There is no sense of entitlement as you suggested."

Of course there is - read the posts here where people think they are entitled to break the restrictions.

"Going for a walk along a beach is hardly a risky situation."

What constitutes risk is a separate matter. I am talking about breaking restrictions. Not clear why some people feel entitled to breach restrictions.

Rosita wrote: »
    "There is no sense of entitlement as you suggested."

Of course there is - read the posts here where people think they are entitled to break the restrictions.

"Going for a walk along a beach is hardly a risky situation."

What constitutes risk is a separate matter. I am talking about breaking restrictions. Not clear why some people feel entitled to breach restrictions.

Ye I do feel entitled to walk on the beach on my own. Don't care what you think.

Parachutes wrote: »
    I wear a mask in my bed at night just in case covid creeps in the window and strikes me in my sleep.

In The Philippines there is a push for mask-wearing at home: https://www.philstar.com/headlines/2021/03/15/2084462/doh-makes-new-push-wearing-face-masks-home

"The health department on Monday pushed anew for the wearing of face masks at home as part of efforts to curb the rising number of coronavirus cases in the country.".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Rosita wrote: »

When restrictions are contradictory and don't make sense, and cause more harm than good at this point, people will question them and ultimately decide for themselves.

Laws and restrictions must be fair and proportionate to the issue they propose to address. That's one of the pluses of living in a democracy. These current restrictions are neither fair nor proportionate.

What worries me more is the effect this "crisis" has had on communities - we've always been a nation of begrudgers and don't like anything/anyone that stands out as "different", but the Covid response has ramped this up to ridiculous levels.

It's that latter problem that is more serious for this country and which will take far longer to resolve than any threat from CV-19.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    When restrictions are contradictory and don't make sense, and cause more harm than good at this point, people will question them and ultimately decide for themselves.

Laws and restrictions must be fair and proportionate to the issue they propose to address. That's one of the pluses of living in a democracy. These current restrictions are neither fair nor proportionate.

What worries me more is the effect this "crisis" has had on communities - we've always been a nation of begrudgers and don't like anything/anyone that stands out as "different", but the Covid response has ramped this up to ridiculous levels.

It's that latter problem that is more serious for this country and which will take far longer to resolve than any threat from CV-19.

What I think concerns a lot of people is the possibility that level 1 is the 'degree of normality' Glynn has mentioned on a number of occasions. That level still has heavy restrictions, including mask-wearing and social distancing. The media seem to be starting to push the idea of level 1 being 'normal life' There was an article in the Irish Mirror the other day comparing level 1 with life in Australia and New Zealand. I have friends who live in Australia who tell me that there are zero domestic restrictions (Victoria is a bit behind the other states, but it scrapped masks in shops the other day and so it appears to be the case that the intention is to scrap them altogether, by which I mean on public transport and in taxis). But we have no idea whether there's an intention to scrap mandatory mask wearing in Ireland. There's no level 0 in that 'living with covid plan', and in our nearest neighbour Dr Mary Ramsay of PHE is of the opinion that mask wearing and social distancing are low level measures that people have got used to. I can't see NPHET not being influenced by what happens next door.

When will Professor Nolan no longer be extremely concerned about case numbers? When will Dr Glynn ever move beyond 'a degree of normality'? The answer is that we have no idea.

There are detailed protocols around reporting of positive cases here. Anyone who has been confirmed positive in the proceeding 12 weeks are reported as a positive test in the swab data but are never included as a new confirmed case. CT of over 35 is not reported as positIve case for someone with no symptoms without a repeat test and only if there is also an epidemiological link and they have not previously tested positive.

Thank you.

Based on what Dr Bhattacharya said, do you think Professor Nolan is right to be constantly concerned about any and every slight rise is case numbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,738 ✭✭✭scamalert

In The Philippines there is a push for mask-wearing at home: https://www.philstar.com/headlines/2021/03/15/2084462/doh-makes-new-push-wearing-face-masks-home

"The health department on Monday pushed anew for the wearing of face masks at home as part of efforts to curb the rising number of coronavirus cases in the country.".
    wouldnt use country that has seen larger spike of suicides due to failed pandemic response that caused more harm then CV19 ever would.

https://www.rappler.com/nation/suicide-rises-philippines-pandemic-drags-on-2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

What I think concerns a lot of people is the possibility that level 1 is the 'degree of normality' Glynn has mentioned on a number of occasions. That level still has heavy restrictions, including mask-wearing and social distancing. The media seem to be starting to push the idea of level 1 being 'normal life' There was an article in the Irish Mirror the other day comparing level 1 with life in Australia and New Zealand. I have friends who live in Australia who tell me that there are zero domestic restrictions (Victoria is a bit behind the other states, but it scrapped masks in shops the other day and so it appears to be the case that the intention is to scrap them altogether, by which I mean on public transport and in taxis). But we have no idea whether there's an intention to scrap mandatory mask wearing in Ireland. There's no level 0 in that 'living with covid plan', and in our nearest neighbour Dr Mary Ramsay of PHE is of the opinion that mask wearing and social distancing are low level measures that people have got used to. I can't see NPHET not being influenced by what happens next door.

When will Professor Nolan no longer be extremely concerned about case numbers? When will Dr Glynn ever move beyond 'a degree of normality'? The answer is that we have no idea.

It's a lot harder to reduce restrictions than it is to introduce them. I have found myself wondering the same, when will masks no longer have to worn by secondary students or in shops?

We gave up a lot in the blink of an eye. It will be much more difficult to regain our 'normal lives' than it was for it to be taken away.

I think normal will only return iwhen enough people stop heeding the nonsense restrictions and rules and say enough is enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    Ye I do feel entitled to walk on the beach on my own. Don't care what you think.

I don't get the "don't care what you think" comment
    Why personalise it? Not about me.

It was a generalised comment that some people seem to feel they are above the law that relates to others and it's not clear why.

On a personal level I could give a fiddler's what you think you're entitled to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

People simply won't accept social distancing long term. Social and sexual urges can only be contained for so long, the dam has to break eventually and when it does, it'll involve clusters of people breaking the rules and having house parties and dates, and soon other groups will see them doing this and follow suit.

The lucky few who are introverted enough to be able to survive without physical interaction with other humans are completely delusional if they believe that people will maintain social distancing indefinitely. It goes against the latter two of the three most fundamental instincts human have, to eat, to f*ck and to congregate with other humans.

Asking people to eradicate these instincts is like asking people to stop breathing, or asking a kid not to scratch an itch when they have the chicken pox, or asking someone to hold it in when they need to go to the jacks. Sure, people can do it. But there is a finite amount of time for which people actually have free will over these things. Once that time elapses, base instincts will take over and people will - albeit with varying degrees of guilt - congregate and shift. There's simply no way they won't. To do so would be in defiance of four billions years of evolution.