If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Derek Zoolander

Call me Al wrote: »
    Yes.
    Because you've a backlog of 30k astrazeneca that hasn't been distributed, those appointments have already been cancelled, and according to news reports these people apparently can't all be accommodated until mid April.
    So maybe its time for them to use all 7 days of the week to clear this backlog.

I'm pretty sure once these 30k are available to administer once the hold on AZ vaccine has been lifted that they will use all 7 days to clear any backlog.

At the moment they can't use the AZ one and are waiting on deliveries from Pfizer and Moderna...

Yes.
    Because you've a backlog of 30k astrazeneca that hasn't been distributed, those appointments have already been cancelled, and according to news reports these people apparently can't all be accommodated until mid April.
    So maybe its time for them to use all 7 days of the week to clear this backlog.

Yes, but that's not relevant to what has been happening the last few Sundays when we have had more than enough capacity in the system to use the doses we had

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Yes, but that's not relevant to what has been happening the last few Sundays when we have had more than enough capacity in the system to use the doses we had

I know that.
    I'm just wondering will there be any attempts made at all, any at all, to actually use this Sunday, a day usually with little to no jabs done (so potentially plenty of slots available), to try to cover some of this backlog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Call me Al

I'm pretty sure once these 30k are available to administer once the hold on AZ vaccine has been lifted that they will use all 7 days to clear any backlog.

I admire you faith in them and their organisational skills.

Personally i think it's very misplaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I know that.
    I'm just wondering will there be any attempts made at all, any at all, to actually use this Sunday, a day usually with little to no jabs done (so potentially plenty of slots available), to try to cover some of this backlog.
    All of the individuals who missed out this week will be re-scheduled in for next week. They might try start on Saturday, but it's late notice for the people receiving it.

Nevertheless there is more than enough capacity in the system to do a "double week" next week.

I know that.

That would pre-suppose that AZ has resumed. Interesting article form another thread on why the blood clotting issues may have arisen. It goes to highlight why blindly putting in vaccination capacity may not necessarily be the most appropriate thing to do.

https://www.berlingske.dk/nyheder/dansk-professor-forkert-vaccineteknik-kan-udloese-blodpropper

Google translate gives the jist

In six weeks in the autumn, existing infrastructure administered 1.5 million doses of the flu vaccine in only 6 weeks. People to administer the vaccine wont be a significant issue at any stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

I admire you faith in them and their organisational skills.

Personally i think it's very misplaced.

Why, it's not a big ask, the vaccines will not come at a pace that will stretch health services.

At the most we are looking at million a month.

Well within their current experience, there is no self pity in that for you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Good news about the vaccines and swabs results would give us all a good dopamine Covid boost tbh. Much needed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Normal One

wadacrack wrote: »
    Good news about the vaccines and swabs results would give us all a good dopamine Covid boost tbh. Much needed!!

*George Lee sharpening knife*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Mod

Folks - take it to the vaccines thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭irishguy1983

There are 600,000 over 65s in Ireland - who account for 12 percent of the population and 92% of all COVID-19 deaths.

Given that 10 percent of the population have already been vaccinated, admittedly including many healthcare workers etc., surely we are approaching the point where the risk of hospitals becoming overwhelmed with the most vulnerable patients is approaching the X-axis?

Kind of thought that aswell - thought once we hit say 25% vaccination we would be at level 3 shall we say....Feels like they are waiting for nearly everyone to be vaccinated before we can meet up outside!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Stateofyou wrote: »
    Ah I see, so you're going to place the unreasonable burden of keeping up with 100's of individuals' personal stories and not miss a single post and remember them all? Give me a break. That is absolutely ridiculous.

If someone wants to come out and start with the condescending attitude towards others (for following guidelines) then they can expect to be pulled up for not following them.

Regardless of what was posted here before, that poster contradicted their own posts by saying they weren't going to be told what to do by government or NPHET, then goes on over a series of posts to show how the guidelines they broke were indeed within the guidelines that she was condescending towards me for following.

That doesn't make any sense at all. THere's no need for her to act the smug way she did towards someone for following guidelines, being told they're "hiding under the bed" in fear and then it emerges she herself follows them. I have a right to my opinion too. And then admit she sees at least one of her kids without there being any applied allowed reason for it. While the rest of us sacrifice seeing loved ones months on end? I don't think so. She chose to be smug and she chose to justify it (badly) no one made her do that.

There is genuinely no need for such hostility and aggression. The only condescending and patronising person I see around here is you.

If you follow these threads, you will remember the personal stories on both sides of the argument.
    You obviously don’t follow them, and that’s fine, but you went straight to attack mode and accused someone of lying to ‘save face’ about some very serious personal matters without clarifying anything or asking for more information.
    That alone is on you. Total overreaction on your part.

I have no intention of getting into a game of whataboutery with you, I am just confirming that I have seen @sweetmaggie post about her family over the course of the last year, so she wasn’t telling lies to justify herself to you. Which she doesn’t have to do, anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

Not sure if GP data was posted earlier. Not great really. The big jump in calls to GPs of yesterday not undone today. Slight rise in likely cases too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭big syke

Positive Swabs

Positivity Rate
    3.75%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Not great. We have stalled at best it seems. Lower than last Thursday so maybe not too bad

https://twitter.com/COVID19DataIE/status/1372572006818938887

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

507 positive swabs out of 13,514, 3.75%

Also yesterday's percentage was revised downward to 4.21%

Not amazing, but not getting worse either. Still a waiting game.

Those posts between us has nothing to do with you, SusieBlue.

This happens on this site time and time again, that when someone else is being unreasonable and deliberately provoking, then gets a different opinion and reaction, out comes the hyperbole of being accused of "hostility and aggression." A difference of opinion is not hostile nor aggressive.

I dip in and out of threads like a lot of people, and I don't commit people's personal stories or posts to memory. That's entirely unreasonable and ridiculous. That doesn't even make sense in this particular context where that poster contradicted themselves in their own posts today.

You're overreacting now and I could say hostile or aggressive towards me in confronting me about my own opinion towards people defending their breaking of guidelines in a condescending manner of posting towards others.

You can leave it right there because I don't appreciate you getting personal over this which is nothing to do with you. Leave adults to discuss their own posts for one. Secondly Mods have already been involved and also removed a post that was uncivil toward me. Leave it.

Nope, I was simply confirming that the poster in question had definitely posted about the things you have blatantly accused her of lying about, and that she shouldn’t have to justify that to you.
    You then sent back a hostile rant, most of which had absolutely nothing to do with my post, which was a complete overreaction.

I have no bother leaving it here because as I said I have no interest in a game of whataboutery with you, but it’s quite amusing that you are trying to give the impression you are being mature and taking the high road while making sly digs about ‘leaving the adults to discuss their own posts’ and making threats about mods.
    Passive aggressive, indeed.

wadacrack wrote: »
    Not great. We have stalled at best it seems.

https://twitter.com/COVID19DataIE/status/1372572006818938887

Stalled is ok, as vaccines starts to roll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

big syke wrote: »
    Positive Swabs

Positivity Rate
    3.75%

Not bad to be honest. I expected higher, but not increasing either, basically on par with last week. Waiting game really. Seems pretty similar to last October / November where things stalled for a week or so

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

I'm seeing the aggression coming from only one side.

Leave it SusieBlue. This is seriously immature harassing at this stage. You can't seem to let it go. Maybe step away and take a walk outside. Your friend would definitely suggest the same!! :)

PS: You CLEARLY have huge interest in 'whataboutery.' I'm asking you for a third time, leave it and stick to the thread topic rather than getting personal with me.

Ah come off it, what a load of hyperbole. I have made 3 posts on this thread over the last week, and you’re crying harassment. Maybe don’t be so quick to throw out baseless allegations of lying in future.
    For someone who wants the conversation to end you sure are going to a lot of trouble to keep it going.

I won’t waste my time engaging with someone posting in bad faith. Consider this exchange over :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,572 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Not bad to be honest. I expected higher, but not increasing either, basically on par with last week. Waiting game really. Seems pretty similar to last October / November where things stalled for a week or so

Testing numbers and case numbers are going to be screwy for a few days.

Friend of mine is working as a community swabber was done for the day yesterday before 2pm. According to him they've been doing about on average 250 tests a day, but it was closer to a 100 yesterday. Add to that GP's being closed, which was probably driving some of that drop and also people just putting off getting tested on Paddy's day.

According to him more people week on week are not turning up for tests, still a minority, but a bigger one than it once was.

That's all just one guys experience, so it mightn't be the same everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,426 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,496 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Leave it SusieBlue. This is seriously immature harassing at this stage. You can't seem to let it go. Maybe step away and take a walk outside. Your friend would definitely suggest the same!! :)

PS: You CLEARLY have huge interest in 'whataboutery.' I'm asking you for a third time, leave it and stick to the thread topic rather than getting personal with me.

Threadbanned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Helen Mc Entee now wants the Gardai vaccininated after the vulnerable . That would mean the 65-69 being pushed back once again . Must say that would seriously piss me off .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Monster249

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Helen Mc Entee now wants the Gardai vaccininated after the vulnerable . That would mean the 65-69 being pushed back once again . Must say that would seriously piss me off .

Yeah there's not really any need for that, what's paramount now is getting the vulnerable done so we can get the f*ck out of lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

iamwhoiam wrote: »

Yeah that's not going to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Monster249 wrote: »
    Yeah there's not really any need for that, what's paramount now is getting the vulnerable done so we can get the f*ck out of lockdown.

Surely it would be after group 7 they get vaccinated in at so after all the elderly and risk groups.

Arghus wrote: »
    Friend of mine is working as a community swabber

Fair play to them, but spending your days putting tiny bottle brushes up peoples noses is some job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Monster249

titan18 wrote: »
    Surely it would be after group 7 they get vaccinated in at so after all the elderly and risk groups.

That would be fine but getting in ahead of vulnerable would be unacceptable!