Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

How it started : two weeks to flatten the curve

How it's going:
    https://twitter.com/Reuters/status/1370876576737337350

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Parachutes

bb1234567 wrote: »

How it's going:

It's psychological abuse of people on a global scale.

The disease pales in comparison with the so called "cure"

I find it funny and kinda ironic that the anti-lockdown, anti-restrictions crowd are glued to this thread day in and day out. I know it's been a bit rainy lately but there's a world outside that you can visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

How it's going:

Couldn’t try anything like that with the Westmeath lads

They would insist on getting to cosy with the sheep

I find it funny and kinda ironic that the anti-lockdown, anti-restrictions crowd are glued to this thread day in and day out. I know it's been a bit rainy lately but there's a world outside that you can visit.

And you can only spend so long in the park, it's no surprise the thread is busy. Anyway it's right that people are giving out about , it's absolute madness, and there's few places to vent apart from here, well twitter if you want to correspond with complete lunatics but this is the only place I've seen where people voice concerns/issues about lockdown in an actually constructive and coherent manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

5k of the world

People are bored off their tits and pissed off of course they are posting here a lot. No where else to vent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Aside from the fact that exercise is only permitted within 5km of home, there is a bitterly cold prevalent wind accompanied by freezing rain most days

So despite the patronising tripe, if one actually adheres to the public health guidelines, they wont be out discovering the “world outside”

It's the pro lockdown, pro restrictions type who are the hermit shut ins. They are in love with this "new normal" If Covid disappeared in the morning they'd come up with some other reason to continue lockdowns.

I love the old normal and will never stop exposing this scam for what it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Parachutes wrote: »
    It's the pro lockdown, pro restrictions type who are the hermit shut ins. They are in love with this "new normal" If Covid disappeared in the morning they'd come up with some other reason to continue lockdowns.

Fair play. What's the scam?

Yeah, fair enough. My weekend so far was walking about 10k and buying enough take-out coffees to wonder if I'd get home without wetting myself. It's a weird world right now, but hey. We're alive.

Parachutes wrote: »

It's funny you say that, I think it's clear from their comment that they are not following the restrictions, as Fintan pointed out we are under 5km limit, don't think anyone following that would be talking about the world we have outside to explore . Personally I think the only ones who advocate for measures as strict as the current ones are in positions of employment where their routine happens to be more normal/relatively unchanged from the 2019 routine, and they don't feel the full effects of it, or they only loosely follow them, picking and choosing when it's okay not to properly follow them.

Yeah, fair enough. My weekend so far was walking about 10k and buying enough take-out coffees to wonder if I'd get home without wetting myself. It's a weird world right now, but hey. We're alive.

And good for you that sounds nice, I think the 5km rule is ridiculous, so I personally don't think anybody should be following it but I also don't think anybody should be advocating for it most especially if they don't follow it themselves!

Fair play. What's the scam?

That we need severe restrictions and lockdowns in order to stop the spread of covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭Dickie10

i think easter will be tough on people, ironically we irish dont seem to put much valu on paddys day especially when its mid week, always thought the gvernment were crazy in not putting paddys day the closest sunday/monday to the event. having a bank holiday monday instead.

And good for you that sounds nice, I think the 5km rule is ridiculous, so I personally don't think anybody should be following it but I also don't think anybody should be advocating for it most especially if they don't follow it themselves!

It was a long walk within 5 or so K of where I live. Legs were killing me.

Two interesting maps I came across on twitter , unrelated to COVID..but pretty shocking. I knew Ireland had the youngest European population, but didn't think it was such a dramatic difference. And the fact Ireland is one of only 5 European countries where over 80% of the population live in lower density housing, with Ireland being the very lowest rate of apartment living in Europe - 92.7% of Irish people live in houses.
    https://twitter.com/winding_sios/status/1370886012587630601
    https://twitter.com/winding_sios/status/1370887653856534528

Ireland does have one of the lowest COVID death rates in Europe, but would make you wonder how much is down to these very helpful pre existing factors, along with restrictions.
    If not for our awful hospital capacity, I wonder could we have been like the Sweden of Europe, doing alright with fairly light restrictions. I know Sweden is brought up a lot but I really don't think some countries like Italy, Spain or UK could have successfully availed of that approach, tried too many times with clearly pretty disastrous results.

Here’s a funny one French actress pulls a stunt at awards ceremony against restrictions
    https://www.rt.com/news/518006-french-actress-strips-masiero-protest-covid/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭bloopy

One way or another the current restrictions are ending.
    They are not sustainable anymore and will become increasingly unenforceable over the next few weeks.
    People are breaking and it is not just those who have been against the restrictions since near the beginning.
    What we are doing at the moment is not living with Covid, it is merely existing with Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

bloopy wrote: »
    One way or another the current restrictions are ending.
    They are not sustainable anymore and will become increasingly unenforceable over the next few weeks.
    People are breaking and it is not just those who have been against the restrictions since near the beginning.
    What we are doing at the moment is not living with Covid, it is merely existing with Covid.

Yip.
    This country (and a lot of European countries) are dancing on the head of a pin right now.
    6-8 weeks from now is going to be a huge challenge to our guys in Leinster house.
    Comatose levels of restrictions fatigue has already happened a few weeks ago imo.
    Coffee shops may as well be open in my area with 50-100 people sitting on walls right outside the shop doors.
    5km restrictions? What a joke. Just pick from all the exemption excuses and on you go (too right if you do)
    Weather is going to break all remaining “don’t meet with your friends or families in the garden” horsesh1t talk too. BBQ parties will be nonstop.

What does the government do to stop this ?

They’ve one hell of a dichotomy.
    (1) Drop the restrictions to actual liveable levels and reopen the economy partially.

(2) double down . This would entail going FULL despot / tyrannical and draft in the army for assistance. Additionally rip up the constitution by rewriting our civil laws and empowering the Garda to levels never seen b4.
    ——————————-
    Option (2) I hope is off the cards. The Gardai would end up losing a lot of long term favour and societal cooperation.

Very interesting times ahead in the near term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭moonage

Here in Ireland we complain about how severe the restrictions are compared to other countries who have a more "balanced" approach.

But that's like someone in a very harsh prison envying someone in a less harsh prison. The other fellow is still in a prison.

Ultimately almost all countries are taking broadly similar approaches in their total over-reaction to this relatively harmless virus. All countries are being led down the same path and will end up in the same place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

The cure cannot be worse than the problem, Trump called it long ago, A man speaking common sense, and before some smartarse says how many deaths in the US, I ask how many deaths in the UK, Belgium other hard lockdown countries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

How it's going:

9a86d3782547f3cd8c049138efa16251yo-wtf-god-s-status.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

...within 5k of your house for exercise only.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 146 ✭✭Neagra

GK Chesterton quote “When men choose not to believe in God, they do not thereafter believe in nothing, they then become capable of believing in anything.

my take on the pro lockdowners is this .
    as people turned their back on Christianity they need something else to fill the void.
    and its filled by celebrities, wokeism, eco terrorism, self hatred of their own country and its people, anti white racism and statolatry - i believe a form of pagan worship of the state.
    essentially many young people have stopped believing in religion and have turned to fascism - for some they are so naive they just dont know it but for others they know the only way they can achieve their agendas is to have an all powerful state and to strip away peoples civil liberties.

that is why i have never followed this nonsense - a previous poster put up Aubade by Philip Larkin - i would suggest people read this as it very depressing but it is excellent. We all die we just need to come to some sort of acceptance - and enjoy our live the best we can while we can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

Neagra wrote: »
    GK Chesterton quote “When men choose not to believe in God, they do not thereafter believe in nothing, they then become capable of believing in anything.

my take on the pro lockdowners is this .
    as people turned their back on Christianity they need something else to fill the void.
    and its filled by celebrities, wokeism, eco terrorism, self hatred of their own country and its people, anti white racism and statolatry - i believe a form of pagan worship of the state.
    essentially many young people have stopped believing in religion and have turned to fascism - for some they are so naive they just dont know it but for others they know the only way they can achieve their agendas is to have an all powerful state and to strip away peoples civil liberties.

that is why i have never followed this nonsense - a previous poster put up Aubade by Philip Larkin - i would suggest people read this as it very depressing but it is excellent. We all die we just need to come to some sort of acceptance - and enjoy our live the best we can while we can.

Maybe the reason Irish people have turned their backs on religion and the Catholic Church is down to the churches behaviour in the last 100 years. You're making the assumption that atheists have a void in their lives that is nonsense.
    When men choose not to believe in a god they most certainly do not thereafter believe in nothing. When people free themselves of religious nonsense they start to believe in science and living life to the fullest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Maybe the reason Irish people have turned their backs on religion and the Catholic Church is down to the churches behaviour in the last 100 years.
    Absolutely. But the propensity to defer to a clergy-class and to be controlled by shame is still very much alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Maybe the reason Irish people have turned their backs on religion and the Catholic Church is down to the churches behaviour in the last 100 years. You're making the assumption that atheists have a void in their lives that is nonsense.
    When men choose not to believe in a god they most certainly do not thereafter believe in nothing. When people free themselves of religious nonsense they start to believe in science and living life to the fullest.

you both can be right, people turned their back on the church for good reason.
    The church doesn't accurately represent Christianity anyway.

But that created some void that has been filled mostly (IMO) with materialism and to a lesser degree social/politics.
    You speak of science but this isn't really the case , science is about learning and debate/counter debate but science i read about today seems like a cult...people screaming about science and how dare you deny it.
    And of course censorship of those that say "no".

Christianity has many negatives but has been over whelming positive in the main.
    western society has been built on Christian ideals and anyone who thinks that is bad are not serious people.

as Christianity has faded people have not began to believe in science - that is actual nonsense.
    instead ireland has imported from america its two worst vices - materialism and individualism.
    where once we believed in community and spiritualism.

irish people are a spiritual people whether that be paganism, nature, Christianity or even their own version of Christianity they can live with.
    but the puritans, the fundamentalists, they have removed the beads and the collars and got down from the pulpit.
    But they have not gone away you know - they just have changed sides.

Nearly overlooked this gem of an article in Indo two days ago:

"Public health officials are this morning pleading with the public to “pull back” in an effort to keep the virus suppressed as they are beginning to see “early, worrying signs that they have seen before”.

There are signs that people are mixing more than they were a few weeks ago, according to Professor Philip Nolan, modelling expert with Nphet.

He issued a plea to the public to not squander “52 weeks of sacrifice” by letting their guard down too early.

“In 10 weeks’ time we will be in a different place, and 10 weeks further down the line we’ll be in a much different place but I worry that we will squander the sacrifice of thousands of people over the last 52 weeks if we rush to do things too quickly in the next 10-20 weeks,” he said while speaking on RTÉ Radio One's Morning Ireland."

Welcome to the boy who cried wolf. "Just hang in there a few more weeks, then another few weeks after that as we keep moving the goalposts to dampen all hope". And let's not delude ourselves professor, we have already been forced to squander a year of our lives with nothing in return. And nothing to aspire to as this will inevitably be taken away.

Is it any wonder then that the general public have grown fed up of being treated like casual pawns, and grown indifferent to the same "worried" rhetoric week in and week out. We're no longer afraid, and have a newfound appreciation for our civil liberties. The bludgeoning stick known as "daily cases" is well and truly broken, who in their right mind gives a fiddlers at this stage without the spotlight being shone on declining hospitalisations/ICU admissions. Stop holding peoples' livelihoods to ransom, accelerate the vaccine rollout and open up the country for business.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0314/1203889-niac-recommends-suspension-of-use-of-astrazeneca-vaccin/

is any further proof needed that these cnuts are not going to go away
    if they wont free you, then free yourself.
    fcuk them