Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,235 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

muddypuppy wrote: »
    3h4HCh5.png

New map of the semaphore EU system is out, Ireland moved from all red to mostly orange this week (https://reopen.europa.eu/en).

So strange not to have UK and NI included .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Cheers

I've looked high and low on the Irish Times site and elsewhere and the story is now gone, which is very strange

"2,000 Covid cases acquired in Irish hospitals since the year began" was there at 5pm

But but look at this scary graph of how a house party led to 1 hospitalization.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,283 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Now I wonder what could have re-opened again recently ....

everything-is-fine-nothing-to-see-here-move-along-now.jpg

Yes, as I've said and as they said themselves, they did talk about schools, a lot.

Perhaps I've given the impression that they didn't, but they did: frequently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

They will re-open more school years regardless of any rises. They'll put most of them down to "household outbreaks" again and around and around we go

We're in a race for vaccinations in arms versus the (very slow) re-opening of things

Schools re-open ---> Big increase in cases --> Other things blamed --> Full Lockdown 5 with schools closed ---> Cases reduce ---> Infinity loop till we have a real amount of vaccines arriving per month around June

At least by June/July the Schools will be closed again, a much better supply of vaccinations should be here and people will be outdoors a lot more

It really feels like a fight till then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,870 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

June.

Yea right.

Your just setting yourself up for more disappointment with such a statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Monster249

They will re-open more school years regardless of any rises. They'll put most of them down to "household outbreaks" again and around and around we go

We're in a race for vaccinations in arms versus the (very slow) re-opening of things

Schools re-open ---> Big increase in cases --> Other things blamed --> Full Lockdown 5 with schools closed ---> Cases reduce ---> Infinity loop till we have a real amount of vaccines arriving per month around June

At least by June/July the Schools will be closed again, a much better supply of vaccinations should be here and people will be outdoors a lot more

It really feels like a fight till then

That's what happens when you surrender control of a country to a board of doctors.

We have such cowardly, weak leadership.

Arghus wrote: »
    Yes, as I've said and as they said themselves, they did talk about schools, a lot.

Perhaps I've given the impression that they didn't, but they did: frequently.

Two things;

- Thread is moving fairly fast tonight, and

- I'd literally rather watch paint dry then watch the Monday and Thursday briefings anymore

They might be talking about the Schools now, but they've been so much in denial in the past about them it's laughable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,263 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Monster249 wrote: »
    Why do they expect the numbers to keep exponentially decreasing when Dublin is packed every day?

It's quite obvious that people are out and about, retail parks are absolutely wall to wall on weekends like normal pre-covid, people are just getting tired of this.

What are they doing in retail parks ?
    The shops are mostly shut ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭OwenM

AdamD wrote: »
    It's a borderline meaningless statistic if their estimated spread is that wide

Correct, the 'Epidemiological Modelling Group' clearly haven't a scooby doo if this is what they are saying, anyone know if they are still refusing to publish the model and how they arrive at the number?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Monster249

iamwhoiam wrote: »

Airside in Swords is a prime example. All but one or two shops open.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

iamwhoiam wrote: »

Airside retail park swords

Woodies, b and q, Harvey Norman, Currys, PCWorld, DID,, Petstop, Halfords

All open, massive queues of traffic last weekend when I drove past

Cheers

I've looked high and low on the Irish Times site and elsewhere and the story is now gone, which is very strange

"2,000 Covid cases acquired in Irish hospitals since the year began" was there at 5pm

16% of all cases when we were getting over 6000 a day were health care workers so no surprise there .
    But not the way Fintan puts it , you know that .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,283 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Two things;

- Thread is moving fairly fast tonight, and

- I'd literally rather watch paint dry then watch the Monday and Thursday briefings anymore

They might be talking about the Schools now, but they've been so much in denial in the past about them it's laughable

No problem. I totally understand how the briefings may bore the arse of many, many people. I'm not constantly on the edge of my seat watching them either, but I find the epidemiology interesting and actually beneficial, in my opinion, in terms of understanding the bigger picture.

And I think those involved do a good job of explaining things in a logical and thought out manner, with a lot more expertise and clarity than our politicans. But I'm sure many on here don't agree with me - and that's fine.

I also think the briefings are useful in terms of being the canary in the coal one. Things that are brought up in the briefings - particularly related to trends of the pattern of the virus - can often times, not always of course, be signs of what is coming down the tracks and what the politicans and Prime Time contributors will be mangling and spinning over a few weeks later. And that we'll all be effected by.

But having said that, every Monday and Thursday, you'll have people on here - not you, not everyone, but some - ranting about what was supposedly said or wasn't said at the briefings - when it's obvious they haven't watched them.

Personally, I'd feel like an idiot, talking about things that didn't happen at something I didn't watch, but, sure to each their own!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,436 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

If only we could trick the authorities into believing Travellers were really Students, watch the crackdown then.
    Bit of a bug bear of mine ( I have noted it a few times as I have a son who is a student, a responsible one I may add) how the students are targeted and our minority friends get a free pass. It seems none but a few recognise the acceptable level of discrimination in open view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,516 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Of course, why allow comments when you know for a fact you'll have to close them within 5 minutes. The journal comments section is a cesspit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭brookers

When this is all over, serious questions are going to be asked about the 'customs' and 'traditions' of that community, given the utter disregard they have shown for their own health and that of the wider populace.

Don't say that to Jennifer o Connell, she was telling us all in the Irish Times what awful people we were and racist to imply that travellers are bad people when only a few might cause trouble. Growing up we were really good to travellers, my mother let them boil eggs in her kettle over a fire. My father and brother were exceptional. One day my mother took sick and my brother was being watched going to see her in hospital. The man who my brother was good to and thought of as a friend came and tried to rob his house. He was caught red handed.

Very strange they pulled that story

It was at the top of their front page. As in, it was their lead story

Maybe it was wrong / factually incorrect ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,055 ✭✭✭✭titan18

If only we could trick the authorities into believing Travellers were really Students, watch the crackdown then.
    Bit of a bug bear of mine ( I have noted it a few times as I have a son who is a student, a responsible one I may add) how the students are targeted and our minority friends get a free pass. It seems none but a few recognise the acceptable level of discrimination in open view.

Nah, need to trick them into thinking they're all far right lockdown protestors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Hospital numbers at 8pm

Total 341 (down from 345 last night)
    ICU 87 (down from 92 last night)

Last Thursday
    Total 427
    ICU 103

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

The travelling community have, by and large, taken the absolute piss since the start of this. Most of them don’t wear masks, seem to be able to magically be able to skip queues in shops by virtue of being travellers and the level of disrespect they show to others at these massive fcuking funerals which NO guards seem to ever do anything about and NO politicians seem to address is just disgraceful. Simon Harris jumped out of bed in the middle of the night to shame students who, a year into this mess, decided to let loose outside and have a bit of craic. Travellers have relentlessly taken the piss since the start and it’s tumbleweeds from those in authority. Pavee point had some cheek the other week coming out insisting travellers be brought up the vaccination list due to being vulnerable, eh maybe try telling them to wear masks so, stop throwing massive fcuking funerals and have a bit of respect for the general public who have to tolerate their ****ehawkery.

Arghus wrote: »

But having said that, every Monday and Thursday, you'll have people on here - not you, not everyone, but some - ranting about what was supposedly said or wasn't said at the briefings - when it's obvious they haven't watched them.

I don't think that's the point we're trying to make. It has nothing to do with watching or not watching the briefings.

You can not watch the briefings and still read a summary elsewhere

It's that they flat out lied about the Schools upto now and blamed the vast majority of outbreaks in them on "household transmission"

So you'll understand why we then take anything they say now about Schools with a couple of large bags of salt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,080 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Good progress again thankfully

TheDoctor wrote: »
    Hospital numbers at 8pm

Total 341 (down from 345 last night)
    ICU 87 (down from 92 last night)

Last Thursday
    Total 427
    ICU 103

Marked improvement over past week, encouraging to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,918 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I would liken it to the Orthodox Jews not complying with Israeli restrictions, the photos from that funeral was insane, how can you police a crowd like that and the Israeli police are one brutally rough police force, but they can't do a thing to this crowd to get them to comply.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

The travelling community have, by and large, taken the absolute piss since the start of this. Most of them don’t wear masks, seem to be able to magically be able to skip queues in shops by virtue of being travellers and the level of disrespect they show to others at these massive fcuking funerals which NO guards seem to ever do anything about and NO politicians seem to address is just disgraceful. Simon Harris jumped out of bed in the middle of the night to shame students who, a year into this mess, decided to let loose outside and have a bit of craic. Travellers have relentlessly taken the piss since the start and it’s tumbleweeds from those in authority. Pavee point had some cheek the other week coming out insisting travellers be brought up the vaccination list due to being vulnerable, eh maybe try telling them to wear masks so, stop throwing massive fcuking funerals and have a bit of respect for the general public who have to tolerate their ****ehawkery.

One law for them, and another for the rest unfortunately. Plus ça change, government turning a blind eye as ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

jackryan34 wrote: »
    And in that year nothing has changed here

If we dropped all restrictions tomorrow and partied like it was 2019 we would be Lombardy in 8-12 weeks

That poor town. Will it ever have a reputation for anything else ever again. Ground zero COVID. 99% of Bergamonians are still alive today . People go on like it's Chernobyl ! :pac:

I would liken it to the Unorthodox Jews not complying with Israeli restrictions, the photos from that funeral was insane, how can you police a crowd like that and the Israeli police are one brutally rough police force, but they can't do a thing to this crowd to get them to comply.

Bang on .
    Its containment they are aiming for and that's all .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Qiaonasen

seamus wrote: »
    Can you quote these German epidemiologists?
    I'd love to get a translation of what she actually said.

Because the fact that she was talking about plans to lift restrictions doesn't match up to any assertion that she also claimed they were in a new wave.

I expect the "third wave" was a reference to the increase in cases that started in December. They've got cases down low, but not as low as last Summer, hence the caution.

There are no indicators at present that Germany is entering a new wave.

So no wave them, just a regional outbreak.

Edit forgot the link:
    https://www.dw.com/en/coronavirus-digest-germanys-third-wave-has-begun/a-56833513

Would just like to point to Seamus who two weeks ago refused to believe the next wave was starting in Europe and Germany in particular. Germany has gone from 5000 cases per day to approximately 15000 per day in two weeks. Basically next week we will be back to November December levels and the lockdown hasn't even been lifted.
    Also noteworthy is that the surge started before schools opened two weeks ago. The R number went positive then. Since then, they have opened schools, hair dressers and nail salons and shops by appointment. So the question is how long until they have to introduce full lockdown and it will likely be more strict than the last one.
    I predict 100.000 cases per day and disaster and a serious humbling of the German health System by Summer due to pandemic fatique. Also with the amount of spread currently happening in Eastern Europe and Germany our vaccines will be in serious trouble by summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,290 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

I would liken it to the Unorthodox Jews not complying with Israeli restrictions, the photos from that funeral was insane, how can you police a crowd like that and the Israeli police are one brutally rough police force, but they can't do a thing to this crowd to get them to comply.

I take it you mean Orthodox Jews or, more accurately, Ultra-Orthodox Jews.

The Unorthodox ones are grand.