Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Sobit1964 wrote: »

Gov and NPHET recent meeting.....

“How can we keep the public scared and justify banning all international travel in the medium and long term ? “

“I know”

“Yes”

“Magical words”

“Which ones?”

“VARIANTS ... woooooo haaaaaaa”

“Any more ?”

“ Covid Placentitis ..... wooooooo haw haw”

“Brilliant. Now what about the media ? “

“Oh as usual , don’t worry about them”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

dalyboy wrote: »
    Gov and NPHET recent meeting.....

“How can we keep the public scared and justify banning all international travel in the medium and long term ? “

“I know”

“Yes”

“Magical words”

“Which ones?”

“VARIANTS ... woooooo haaaaaaa”

“Any more ?”

“ Covid Placentitis ..... wooooooo haw haw”

“Brilliant. Now what about the media ? “

“Oh as usual , don’t worry about them”

nphet are turning into a parody of themselves at this point. i honestly don't know how they expect anyone to take them seriously anymore when everything is hysteria to the max with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

dalyboy wrote: »
    The number of passengers arriving through Dublin Airport has increased with holidaying the main reason for foreign travel.

Data shows that between February 22 and 28, a total of 11,607 people entered Ireland through the country’s main airport

I have absolutely no evidence for what I am about to say, so on the balance of probability, it may be wrong.

However, how convenient it has become for NPHET to wheel out a new viral problem just when some hope of relaxation of restrictions is dim on the horizon? You would be forgiven to think that NPHET is within their room, plotting their next move to terrify the population - intentionally.

Gynecologists and obstetricians have come out to downplay the risk of COVID-19 and stillbirth, describing it as "extremely rare" - meaning that there may well be no correlation whatsoever.

It's frustrating.

I hate NPHET.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

I have absolutely no evidence for what I am about to say, so on the balance of probability, it may be wrong.

However, how convenient it has become for NPHET to wheel out a new viral problem just when some hope of relaxation of restrictions is dim on the horizon?

Gynecologists and obstetricians have come out to downplay the risk of COVID-19 and stillbirth, describing it as "extremely rare" - meaning that there may well be no correlation whatsoever.

It's frustrating.

I hate NPHET.

Even the Professor of the Rotunda has dismissed Nphets claims
    Prof Malone said it is not certain yet if the Covid infection caused the stillbirth.

"It is important to point out there is a difference between causation and association," he said.

"It is possible to find infection of Covid infections in the placenta, but it is a difficult thing to conclude that the Covid in the placenta caused the stillbirth. And that is what we don't know so far."

He said so far they have looked after 200 pregnant women in the Rotunda who have had Covid and there has been no adverse outcomes among all those women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭jams100

ypres5 wrote: »
    nphet are turning into a parody of themselves at this point. i honestly don't know how they expect anyone to take them seriously anymore when everything is hysteria to the max with them

It's also the media, even when NPHET do say something fairly balanced alot of the media outlets try make the headline as sensationalist as possible, sadly these "click bate" headlines are just what journalism has become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Even the Professor of the Rotunda has dismissed Nphets claims

I hope that all the parents to be - see this and can sleep somewhat easier. This bizarre utterance by NPHET causes a direct harm to the well being of expectant mothers and their unborn children in a time already fraught with huge stress.

Disgusting insensitivity at best to the bereaved parents, the 'professional experts' responsible should lose their public facing role and/or jobs over this.

My wife is three months pregnant - this is a subject very close to my heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

I hope people are starting to understand how toxic the media industry actually is...the hysteria, the unquestioned bureaucrats, so called experts, politicians...this past year has been an embarrassment for journalism but these traits have been evident in media for a some time now...think of all the rubbish that has been rammed down readers over the last 5 or 6 years in particular....they know we are addicted to our phones and emotive content.

In years to come, when we look back, the media's toxic influence on ordinary people should never be forgotten.

I hope that all the parents to be - see this and can sleep somewhat easier. This bizarre utterance by NPHET causes a direct harm to the well being of expectant mothers and their unborn children in a time already fraught with huge stress.

Disgusting insensitivity at best to the bereaved parents, the 'professional experts' responsible should lose their public facing role and/or jobs over this.

And, of course, the risk is conveniently unique to Irish expectant mothers.

COVID-19 is racist, it seems.

You can sleep easy at night; there is no risk, as practicing experts have already said.

To hell with NPHET.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Boggles wrote: »

“ Tánaiste Leo Varadkar told a meeting of the Fine Gael parliamentary party this evening that international travel accounts for 1% or less of Covid-19 cases in the country”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Placentitis is unfortunately common but until yesterday Covid Placentits didn't exist.
    I've searched it up and down the web and the only international media outlets reporting on it reference Ireland's reporting of it yesterday.

NPHET have actually invented this term.

The fact that they have brought this up despite admitting they don't know if covid has anything to do with the still births deaths and then including 2 of the deaths in the numbers anyway is an absolute disgrace.
    I've accused NPHET of scaremongering in the past but this is by far their lowest act.

Ireland must be the only country to include deaths of people who were never actually born in their statistics

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Well Ive just sent another email to my TD list with exactly the concerns regarding the covid placentitis. I don't expect a reply as they wont engage at all but I feel better doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

And, of course, the risk is conveniently unique to Irish expectant mothers.

COVID-19 is racist, it seems.

You can sleep easy at night; there is no risk, as practicing experts have already said.

To hell with NPHET.

To hell with nphet,rte and the government...we are coming into summer soon...does anyone think cases will be through the roof during the summer months ...common sense says no...i will be outside my 5k,having beers with friends,socialising and going on a nice foreign holiday whatever they say...happy friday

Placentitis is unfortunately common but until yesterday Covid Placentits didn't exist.
    I've searched it up and down the web and the only international media outlets reporting on it reference Ireland's reporting of it yesterday.

NPHET have actually invented this term.

The fact that they have brought this up despite admitting they don't know if covid has anything to do with the still births deaths and then including 2 of the deaths in the numbers anyway is an absolute disgrace.
    I've accused NPHET of scaremongering in the past but this is by far their lowest act.

Ireland must be the only country to include deaths of people who were never actually born in their statistics

They haven’t invented the term Norman, it’s an actual thing but incredibly rare. 11 reported cases worldwide amid 115,00,000 confirmed Covid cases. Those confirmed cases are in reality actually probably 3-4 times higher.

NPHET know this. But they know how the media works and how most of the public just read headlines. They made a premeditated decision to put this out into the public domain at the expense of people’s mental well-being. Unethical and manipulative.

Here’s the info:

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0143400421000205

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

They haven’t invented the term Norman, it’s an actual thing but incredibly rare. 11 reported cases worldwide amid 115,00,000 confirmed Covid cases. Those confirmed cases are in reality actually probably 3-4 times higher.

NPHET know this. But they know how the media works and how most of the public just read headlines. They made a premeditated decision to put this out into the public domain at the expense of people’s mental well-being. Unethical and manipulative.

Here’s the info:

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0143400421000205

I’m actually glad they didn’t invent the term. Thanks for that. I searched news stories and couldn’t find it anywhere before yesterday.

Adding deaths of two unborn before even confirming the cause really highlights how flawed our death reporting is.
    How many of the other deaths reported are like this?

Professor Jay Bhattacharya of Stanford University said in an interview a few months ago that he was taught as a medical student that doctors were not supposed to stoke fear or sow panic. Ireland, and to a lesser extent the UK, is home to a great number of doctors who do what Professor Bhattacharya was taught doctors were not supposed to do.

I’m actually glad they didn’t invent the term. Thanks for that. I searched news stories and couldn’t find it anywhere before yesterday.

Adding deaths of two unborn before even confirming the cause really highlights how flawed our death reporting is.
    How many of the other deaths reported are like this?

Well that’s another question entirely but if any data is ever unconfirmed you can be sure that NPHET will always err on the side of fear.

I hope more people will start to see behind the curtain a bit this week.

We have a public advisory committee who are the most risk averse and strategically conservative in Europe. They are being supported by a totally biased media set, one that we pay for, and their chief strategy for tackling Covid is lockdowns, lockdowns, blame the public and keep that public as unreasonably terrified as possible.

It’s an absolute disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

“ Tánaiste Leo Varadkar told a meeting of the Fine Gael parliamentary party this evening that international travel accounts for 1% or less of Covid-19 cases in the country”

Doesn't include onward transmission.
    A person who travels into Ireland and later tests positive will be defined as a travel-related case based on information provided to Public Health teams.

So, too, will any person they directly infect that Public Health teams or contact tracers are able to link to the original case.

However, onward transmission – should it occur – will not be labelled ‘travel-related

Also the introduction of new variants will be 100% caused by international travel.

Countries are not limiting access to their borders and bringing in testing and quarantine for the crack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭Russman

and their chief strategy for tackling Covid is lockdowns, lockdowns, blame the public and keep that public as unreasonably terrified as possible.

What country’s example should we have followed to tackle covid then ? Nearly all comparable countries have opted for the same approach to greater or lesser degrees.

Nobody “blames” the public, but the fact is if people stay apart the virus can’t spread.

What motivation have NPHET to keep lockdown going or keep people terrified ? It doesn’t stack up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

Russman wrote: »
    What country’s example should we have followed to tackle covid then ? Nearly all comparable countries have opted for the same approach to greater or lesser degrees.

Nobody “blames” the public, but the fact is if people stay apart the virus can’t spread.

What motivation have NPHET to keep lockdown going or keep people terrified ? It doesn’t stack up.

It would be great if Ireland would grow up and not need to 'follow a country' - I mean its not like these guys aren't paid world class wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭growleaves

Russman wrote: »

That in itself is neither here nor there.

There is a greater degree of global coordination than in the past, meaning that if a wrong decision is made by one country it may be shared by all countries. Which doesn't make it right.

Matteo Renzi and Giuseppe Conte have financial links to the Chinese Communists and allowed unfettered Chinese immigration into Lombardy. Conte "borrowing" their methods does not confer legitimacy on these methods.

Though it also happened in the past that multiple countries sometimes made poor decisions simultaneously:

The First World War

Eugenics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Kivaro wrote: »
    Smirked?
    That is your interpretation because that is the way you want to see it in your mind, but rational people would not see it that way.

Given that the poster concerned reckoned that 15 seconds was all they could spend listening to Sumption's measured and cogent appraisal,it is therefore unsurprising that his interpretation of the other clip,may be equally suspect.

What is VERY apparent in Sumption's series of opinion video's on the UK Government's handling of it's COVID situation,is his use of reasonable,lucid and very clear points of principle,in his questioning of what has become a very dangerous new Status-Quo in terms of basic freedoms in our societies.

He,quite reasonably,lays out that,for example,in terms of Mask Wearing,Vaccination and "Passport" usage He has settled for the "least worst" option,whilst being clear about his ambiguity to them.

I am far from an admirer of the United Kingdom's Justice System,and we in Ireland have many,and good reasons for that,however in the case of this Pandemic,Sumption has been a beacon of support to those of similar mind,far less elequent than himself,and has made a very good job of putting forward the contrarian position,largely without similar response from the Government "side".

Sadly his reasoning and methodology is spectacularly absent in this Republic,hence the universal adoption of the Official-Line in relation to last Saturday's events.

We must live with the line that anybody not buying into the Official Line is a Hard Right/Left activist or scumbag,and must be silenced.

That is the rod which will yet beat upon all of our backs.

Whatever one's opinion on the Man himself,his position on this issue deserves 50 minutes of anybody's time (Even at the expense of missing tonights NPHET briefing !)

15 seconds,alas,will tell you nothing.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Given that the poster concerned reckoned that 15 seconds was all they could spend listening to Sumption's measured and cogent appraisal,it is therefore unsurprising that his interpretation of the other clip,may be equally suspect.

What is VERY apparent in Sumption's series of opinion video's on the UK Government's handling of it's COVID situation,is his use of reasonable,lucid and very clear points of principle,in his questioning of what has become a very dangerous new Status-Quo in terms of basic freedoms in our societies.

He,quite reasonably,lays out that,for example,in terms of Mask Wearing,Vaccination and "Passport" usage He has settled for the "least worst" option,whilst being clear about his ambiguity to them.

I am far from an admirer of the United Kingdom's Justice System,and we in Ireland have many,and good reasons for that,however in the case of this Pandemic,Sumption has been a beacon of support to those of similar mind,far less elequent than himself,and has made a very good job of putting forward the contrarian position,largely without similar response from the Government "side".

Sadly his reasoning and methodology is spectacularly absent in this Republic,hence the universal adoption of the Official-Line in relation to last Saturday's events.

We must live with the line that anybody not buying into the Official Line is a Hard Right/Left activist or scumbag,and must be silenced.

That is the rod which will yet beat upon all of our backs.

Whatever one's opinion on the Man himself,his position on this issue deserves 50 minutes of anybody's time (Even at the expense of missing tonights NPHET briefing !)

15 seconds,alas,will tell you nothing.

Yes, there's no opposition in Ireland. The only democratic country in the world in which this is the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

RGS wrote: »
    That's not a plan.

Most plans contain KPI'S by which success is measured. The government plan is waffle.

Most people are seeking measurable metrics. This plan should set out what restrictions will be removed or altered depending on certain targets being met. But no our leaders have spent the last 12 months on the classic "we are not where we want to be" without stating what "where we want to be" is.

Exactly the same as what's happening north of the border currently. They've released their plan (which contains nine 'pathways' with five levels in each!) and told everyone that it's data driven, not date driven...yet they've kept everyone in the dark as to what the data is.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

It would be great if Ireland would grow up and not need to 'follow a country' - I mean its not like these guys aren't paid world class wages.

I suspect that it will eventually end up as being All About The Money.

Much COVID related spending carried out by this State,along with our nearest neighbour,has been carried out under Emergency Legisilative provisions,and thus free from the normal oversight and qualification procedures which exist largely due to past "situations" where money went missing or was lost due to questionable procedures.

A lot of Public Money has been spent,with,in some places....ICU capacity and staffing for example,somewhat little to show for it.

We would be naive indeed if we thought Luke O'Neill was the only well connected medic in this Republic....:rolleyes:

Just watch where the SAGE/NPHET/WHO bottle stops spinning.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

Why do the government cabinet bother meeting ahead of review of restriction levels? We should just ask Tony what the restrictions are going or be and by pass government. The funny thing is I'm not even trying to be funny here, I'm being serious.

You can tell Michael Martin and Darragh O'Brien don't agree with construction closed and are annoyed about it but are too cowardly to even question it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭Russman

What I mean is that if there was a better way or an easy solution out there to this problem, surely someone would have come up with it by now, no ? Just because our options are sh1t doesn’t mean there’s better ones out there.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

We are in for 5 or 6 months total of level 5 lockdown where we cant even get a haircut or go to the gym. Sitting back and being quiet as we are told to just " hold firm" "just a few more weeks" is just too much and we need to get our voices heard.
    In case it's not already been suggested, can I suggest that you address your concerns directly to the Chief Executive Virus, I suppose at Dublin Castle, Ireland? I'm sure the virus will give you a fair and generous hearing. Though you should be aware that it may decide to ignore you completely and continue to infect all of us at exactly the same rate person-to-person infection rate as before.

As regards your hair, you can buy one of these buzzy lads from boots and it'll sort out your skull-hair and other kinds of hair in double-quick time:

https://www.boots.ie/babyliss-for-men-11-in-1-carbon-titanium-trimmer-10266034

As for gym, well, you can open your front door and, so long as you keep a safe distance from other people, you'll be grand and safe from either transmitting the virus (if you have it) or catching it (if you don't) while engaging in reasonable levels of outdoor exercise within a few km of your home.

Hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,656 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

robindch wrote: »
    In case it's not already been suggested, can I suggest that you address your concerns directly to the Chief Executive Virus, I suppose at Dublin Castle, Ireland? I'm sure the virus will give you a fair and generous hearing. Though you should be aware that it may decide to ignore you completely and continue to infect all of us at exactly the same rate person-to-person infection rate as before.

As regards your hair, you can buy one of these buzzy lads from boots and it'll sort out your skull-hair and other kinds of hair in double-quick time:

https://www.boots.ie/babyliss-for-men-11-in-1-carbon-titanium-trimmer-10266034

As for gym, well, you can open your front door and, so long as you keep a safe distance from other people, you'll be grand and safe from either transmitting the virus (if you have it) or catching it (if you don't) while engaging in reasonable levels of outdoor exercise within a few km of your home.

Hope this helps.

Thankfully the vaccination programme is gathering speed so soon enough I won’t have to read such pontifical drivel.

Irish citizens have been some the worlds most suppressed for almost a year now, the justification of such a young nation to be so is baffling and very worrying in some ways

It’s completely anti science and a throwback to religious Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Went for a walk with my boyfriend this evening in a local linear park (River Dodder) and omg there was so many outdoor parties going on! All very young like 16-20 but really big groups like a few 15-20 group parties and multiple groups of 4 or 5. That's the first night since the summer I've ever seen anything like that in my local area, it was like a halloween night loads of loud speakers and people shouting and singing.

Can't blame them really , can only take so much especially at their age and with an end date or final destination still not alluded to it will only make people break restrictions faster than they might otherwise as they don't even know when is more or less acceptable to do that with absolutely no indication of a timeline to go off.