Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,304 ✭✭✭patnor1011

I disagree, at this stage it's proven to be safe so there's no "waiting" required.

Provided they're healthy and capable of taking it, anyone that doesn't take the vaccine is extremely selfish.

There is always waiting required. That is why developing vaccine or any medication take years and testing it take even longer.

There are no long term studies finished yet and for current vaccines they are expected to be finished, and results evaluated by spring of 2023.

Nothing even remotely selfish in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Glenomra

Fair play to the limerick students. Imagine partying in your
    late teens and early twenties.! The more young people behave as young people do, the quicker this hysteria will die down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,696 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Leftwaffe wrote: »
    Feel sorry for the students tbh. I got 4 good years of it when I was in college. Made a clown of myself a good few times but never made the news. A good few of them, if not all, are drunk no doubt. Will regret it now due to all the headlines. How could sh1t like that not have an effect on young people? Still being shaped for the future. Anyway, nobody wants to talk about that. It’s all about cases and numbers. Young people trying to live their lives.

Who’s have thought you’d ever look online and all the auld ones on Facebook are screaming “where’s his mask”.. “no social distancing”, etc. It’s just plain bizarre the whole thing. Some people will never come out of this.

I understand the public health side of it too, so don’t need a lecture off an armchair scientist here either. I just genuinely feel sorry for the students. And the sad people who are outraged about. Sad situation all round.

Agreed, they are definitely one of the groups I have the most sympathy for in all of this. If you think about someone who was in 6th year last year it is possible that they have missed out or been screwed over on their Leaving Cert, last days of school, Graduation, Debs, first year of college to date and still haven't been told when they can expect to see their friends again. Fairly significant milestones to miss out on at that age.

I'm not sure if this was the case everywhere, but I am fairly positive that in my sisters college all students were told that lectures would be delivered remotely after they had all booked accommodation for the year. Obviously didn't want to p*ss off all of the landlords and lose out on the money for student accommodation. If you throw a bunch of 20 year olds into housing and remove all social outlets, take away the main purpose they are there and have not even given a hint as to when they will be allowed out again, it doesn't take a genius to figure out what will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

prunudo wrote: »
    I think a lot of people in this country have forgotten what its like to be young. A few outdoor drinks and over exuberant dancing and people loose their ****. Bar another firework idiot the video's are no worse than the party on the astro pitch in Dublin or the scenes in Killarney with the phone box dancing.

I'm in my 40s now. I remember one time in my early 20s when I hadn't been living in dublin for long. I decided to stay up for Easter. Completely forgot about pubs being closed on good friday. Nearly went insane with the boredom of it. That was ONE day. When I think of all the freedom I had back then to go wherever I wanted and do whatever I wanted I'm actually stunned there haven't been tons more of these videos popping up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭alentejo

The hysteria about the Limerick Students. Yes it was wrong, however as a nation, the reaction just seems over the top! What have be become as a society?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

School closed already. Right decision by the sounds of it.

https://twitter.com/ToniTaylor546/status/1367041798149922817?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,304 ✭✭✭patnor1011

muddypuppy wrote: »
    If we tested the whole population at once we would have found around 200k cases, more cases in a single than all the cases so far. Really makes you think :pac:

If we tested whole population at once, the only thing we would achieve is extreme rise in transmission as they learned the hard way in Slovakia.
    Country applauded for early restrictions and mandatory masks even outdoors with very few cases and even less deaths.
    Then prime minister decided everyone has to be tested. Got few nods from the EU and praise on how proactive and caring they are and mass testing with people queuing for hours started. People were issued testing passports without which they were not allowed to go to work, threatened that they will have to stay quarantined in houses if they do not come and get it.
    Its only result was such spread that country now has the highest number of infected and death per capita.
    Dead giveaway of why it was done is that government contract for purchase of tests was awarded to a little obscure company nobody even knew about with personal connections to some people in the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭darem93

Yeah I feel really bad for students at the moment. My little sister was in Dublin for the first semester of her first year back in 2019 and she's basically been at home since. It does really upset her to know that the vast bulk of her undergrad has just been written off like that.

I remember my three years in Maynooth were the best years of my life. That is the time to party, to live freely and to make memories, so it must be incredibly hard on young people to have all that taken away from them.

I know it's a global pandemic and I don't encourage partying throughout it, but I do feel a lot of empathy for those students.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

that would fly in the face of the axiom that schools are safe.
    How so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

School closed already. Right decision by the sounds of it but that would fly in the face of the axiom that schools are safe.

https://twitter.com/ToniTaylor546/status/1367041798149922817?s=20

Well they clearly aren't safe

They are just willing to allow cases spread as it is essential for children and parents . However they can't come out and say that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

seamus wrote: »
    How so?

You are right sorry. I'll change it and leave it. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

wadacrack wrote: »
    Im probably the same age as majority of those students. Im not having that at all tbh. Its been going on a while in Limerick in student accommodation btw. People in public health have pleaded for it to stop for a few weeks. One of the reasons the rates in Limerick and Galway have remained high. The benefits are what young people get to party but business's and hospitals remain under pressure in the region. Its disgraceful tbh. Very selfish and I wouldn't excuse as they are young

So you're about 20, you were very young posting to this site when you joined up over 10 years ago. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

So you're about 20, you were very young posting to this site when you joined up 10 years ago. :P

25 so same age bracket. I'm in third level this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,368 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

Glenomra wrote: »
    late teens and early twenties.! The more young people behave as young people do, the quicker this hysteria will die down.

...and the more covid figures will go up. And the more they go up, the greater the exponential effect on figures such mass gatherings will have and soon, hey presto, we will be back in January 2021! Yeah, great idea, let's encourage more partying. Can't see any downside.

For the record, I completely sympathise with students. This is **** on everybody, but particularly them. As another poster said, my college days were the best days of my life. They were truly life altering. Hell I got together with my wife at just such a drunken second year party. So I really get how hard it is to ask them not to socialise. But bottom line is that there is no alternative for a few more months. And most students get this and are playing ball completely. Most Limerick students are playing ball. Most Galway students are playing ball. There are more students in Cork than in Limerick and Galway combined but our rates are down to 67 per 100,000. If the tiny minority who are ignoring the health advice keep acting as they are, there is simply no alternative but to take strict action to force them to abide.

...and the more covid figures will go up. And the more they go up, the greater the exponential effect on figures such mass gatherings will have and soon, hey presto, we will be back in January 2021! Yeah, great idea, let's encourage more partying. Can't see any downside.

For the record, I completely sympathise with students. This is **** on everybody, but particularly them. As another poster said, my college days were the best days of my life. They were truly life altering. Hell I got together with my wife at just such a drunken second year party. So I really get how hard it is to ask them not to socialise. But bottom line is that there is no alternative for a few more months. And most students get this and are playing ball completely. Most Limerick students are playing ball. Most Galway students are playing ball. There are more students in Cork than in Limerick and Galway combined but our rates are down to 67 per 100,000. If the tiny minority who are ignoring the health advice keep acting as they are, there is simply no alternative but to take strict action to force them to abide.

Which would be ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Skygord

https://hse.ie/eng/services/news/newsfeatures/covid19-updates/vaccination-programme-dashboard-as-of-28-february-2021.pdf

There were only 81,843 vaccinations in Ireland last week - well short of the 100,000 that were forecast by the HSE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

wadacrack wrote: »
    25 so same age bracket. I'm in third level this year.

Cradle robber :D

Skygord wrote: »
    https://hse.ie/eng/services/news/newsfeatures/covid19-updates/vaccination-programme-dashboard-as-of-28-february-2021.pdf

There were only 81,843 vaccinations in Ireland last week - well short of the 100,000 that were forecast by the HSE.
    AstraZeneca failed to deliver 25,000 doses last week. This was notified early in the week, but after the HSE had aimed for 100k. Which means in context the vaccination programme actually overdelivered by 6,000 doses. Nothing the HSE can do about missed deliveries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Skygord wrote: »

Because of delays with 25000 doses from AZ.

Probably more suited to vaccine thread.

you might think so but in the week that was with all that went on in Dublin, the gardai will look heavy handed, it's the same reason they didn't come out and disperse the BLM protests in blanch after they shot yer man, twould look like a brown shirts state and will make a point for those who say it is vast becoming so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

Glenomra wrote: »

Jesus H Christ

Shin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Golfman64

AstraZeneca failed to deliver 25,000 doses last week. This was notified early in the week, but after the HSE had aimed for 100k. Which means in context the vaccination programme actually overdelivered by 6,000 doses. Nothing the HSE can do about missed deliveries.

Should we be doing/have done side deals to contingency plan and anticipate this kind of issue?

As the saying goes, If your explaining you’re losing!

I guess in the context, an underperformance this week is ok if it is counterbalanced by an over performance in the week the missing doses are actually delivered. I think we will only really be able to judge the governments performance come May time and evaluate how close we are to target at that point as this is when we may be able to more significantly list restrictions assuming we meet our vaccination targets.

Golfman64 wrote: »
    Should we be doing/have done side deals to contingency plan and anticipate this kind of issue?
    There are no side deals to be done. We can make arrangements to purchase extra doses from manufacturers, and unallocated doses from the EU, but they will only be delivered after these manufacturers have fulfilled their current order books.

There is literally no way for us to increase the supply in the short-term.

These kinds of "missed delivery" issues will be less likely in the medium term and will be less impactful; 25k missed doses out of 500k isn't much of a problem.

Came across this and it's pretty shocking. Show's a few things that were known from the outset and is nice summary of the bull**** peddled on how this is spread.
    • kids can get it and spread it (index case back in feb) spread to community
    • travel is how this thing came in and is how the next variant will come.
    • they didn't even attempt to contact trace other kids exposed and what contact they may have had.
    • The CMO caught in his own lies about kids not getting it

https://twitter.com/PanelPowerIrl/status/1366185249038872583?s=20

And then the public is fed manure about the hospitality sector being a significant vector of transmission, "Covid-19 loves a drink" and other hysterical taglines. Blame one sector of society and absolve another (healthcare settings), implement emergency legislation to deal with protestors within days yet dally for months over mandatory hotel quarantine. There's more holes in the NPHET/Government approach than Swiss cheese, thankfully people are finally wising up to their shallow nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭d161

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Ah John mcguirk, he’s emerged from the woodwork again

He’s become similar to wifi Jesus paddy, happy to prey on those who don’t want to listen to reason to further his own cause. Similar to how he acted during the 8th debate.

He had no reason being on prime time And the gript is a nonsensical far right toilet paper.

I had never heard of gript until last week and for some reason I had confused John McGuirk with Justin Barrett and Youth Defence whom I had several run-ins with as a student. Perhaps they are linked, I've no idea, but I have to say I agreed with everything he said last night.
    I thought he came across as very articulate and balanced. And I was delighted to see a counter argument to Lock Down on MSM. The closest I've seen before on RTE before was Dr Ciara Kelly who very gently suggested that the Irish lock down was too much.

Whether you agree with lockdown or not, the official response to any dissent or protests has been an attempt to discredit and stop disagreement by lumping all who are against lock down with the far-right or uneducated conspiracy nut jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,467 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

There are no side deals to be done. We can make arrangements to purchase extra doses from manufacturers, and unallocated doses from the EU, but they will only be delivered after these manufacturers have fulfilled their current order books.

There is literally no way for us to increase the supply in the short-term.

These kinds of "missed delivery" issues will be less likely in the medium term and will be less impactful; 25k missed doses out of 500k isn't much of a problem.

HSE press conference on Thursday should clear it all up but they've said so far that the delivery is to be balanced this week & next so no overall impact on March and that they'll make up the numbers over the next 2 weeks.

Cant blame them as you've said for AZ knocking 25k off the delivery.

Prof MacCraith- the delay is “not a reduction in deliveries” and that the State can “recover completely what had been lost” from next weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭SeaMermaid

I wonder would it be worth exploring for Ireland to follow a similar vaccination path to the UK? Also early data shows pfizer and AstraZeneca reduces transmission of the virus.

The majority of covid cases and spread is occurring in younger adults. If even young adults are given one dose of pfizer, that will help with covid case numbers and spread.

I'm not saying older people should be denied a vaccine but getting Covid transmission down as much as possible will help a lot more people including the older people. I have the willpower to keep going the path of restrictions because I think it's so important but many people are getting fed up of lockdown. I do see a problem upcoming with a lot of the anti-lockdowners. In their minds, the pandemic will be over at that stage but the virus will circulate in unvaccinated adults. The rte investigates tallaght hospital showed the virus doesn't know age and there adults in their 20s and 30s and 40s waiting for hospital admission and all covid related.

Which would be ?

Fine everyone at the party, all students disciplined by their third level institution and the organisers subjected to the harshest punishment allowed by the applicable law (not sure what that is).

SeaMermaid wrote: »
    I wonder would it be worth exploring for Ireland to follow a similar vaccination path to the UK? Also early data shows pfizer and AstraZeneca reduces transmission of the virus.

The majority of covid cases and spread is occurring in younger adults. If even young adults are given one dose of pfizer, that will help with covid case numbers and spread.

I'm not saying older people should be denied a vaccine but getting Covid transmission down as much as possible will help a lot more people including the older people. I have the willpower to keep going the path of restrictions because I think it's so important but many people are getting fed up of lockdown. I do see a problem upcoming with a lot of the anti-lockdowners. In their minds, the pandemic will be over at that stage but the virus will circulate in unvaccinated adults. The rte investigates tallaght hospital showed the virus doesn't know age and there adults in their 20s and 30s and 40s waiting for hospital admission and all covid related.

I think if you vaccinate the younger cohort that partying is only going to grow and grow and thus the social mixing (with taxis, take away staff, off licence staff, etc). If we knew vaccines prevented spread it might be worth considering

Fine everyone at the party, all students disciplined by their third level institution and the organisers subjected to the harshest punishment allowed by the applicable law (not sure what that is).

Student of all ages have been so good throughout all of this. I think you are being OTT