Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,295 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

. Vast majority under 40 but they all look like you and me. They ended up at the GPO by the looks of it.

They did indeed with there their National Party flyer in hand. They don't come across as the brightest, so please don't compare them to the rest of us.
    https://twitter.com/marktigheST/status/1365697574905208832/photo/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,682 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Keep in mind 13 more people have suffocated to death.

This too shall pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

flazio wrote: »

What a stupid thing to say unless you are aware of the final stage of the passing of all 13 individuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

People have the right to protest. Any violence is reprehensible but i'd like our leaders to at least acknowledge that people should be allowed protest and show their unhappiness at the current situation.

To post only the clashes from a small minority at the protest is missing the point

Maybe there have- but have the organisers of the peaceful protest gone on national TV or radio condemning the violence, or are they just behind closed groups on FB? Despite reading posts all day - i still have no idea who organised the march today

Have a bit of cop on, decency and respect.

What a stupid thing to say unless you are aware of the final stage of the passing of all 13 individuals.

That's literally how you die from Covid, you lose the ability to breathe.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭h2005

AdamD wrote: »
    Arresting people for throwing fireworks? Sure. For protesting? I really hope not.

Throwing fireworks? At a minimum was an attempt to maim a Guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

They died. Nobody needs to speculate what their final moments were like.

We're all aware of how horrible covid is.

That's literally how you die from Covid, you lose the ability to breathe.

Stop digging. It's a deplorable way to refer to the reports of 13 deaths.

This pandemic has really shown the worst of some of this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭prunudo

Scumbags are going to be scumbags, shame that what we'll see on the news and in media will be labelled as a violent protest by anti lockdown protesters.
    There is a large portion of society who are rightfully fed up with restrictions and would gladly protest or at a very minimum support the easing of restrictions. Doesn't mean we are all fire work throwing scum.

Your post was idiotic , I suggest it would not be wise to double down.

It's not idiotic, these people aren't just dying peacefully in their sleep. They are literally losing the ability to breathe. This is what those idiots in Dublin city centre need to understand. There's no peaceful way to die from Covid 19. It's a horrible way to go.

This too shall pass.

It's not idiotic, these people aren't just dying peacefully in their sleep. They are literally losing the ability to breathe. This is what those idiots in Dublin city centre need to understand. There's no peaceful way to die from Covid 19. It's a horrible way to go.

You really haven't a clue as to how insensitive your post was, have you?

prunudo wrote: »
    Scumbags are going to be scumbags, shame that what we'll see on the news and in media will be labelled as a violent protest by anti lockdown protesters.
    There is a large portion of society who are rightfully fed up with restrictions and would gladly protest or at a very minimum support the easing of restrictions. Doesn't mean we are all fire work throwing scum.

While true, it's very obvious from the video's today that only a certain section of society turned up today - the majority were males under 40. Where is the rest of society?

It's not idiotic, these people aren't just dying peacefully in their sleep.

Were you there at the passing of all 13? I suspect you weren't have some cop on and prehaps a little sensitivity aswell. I'm sure there are people here who lost loved ones to the virus, they don't need someone trying to plant a horrific image in their minds.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Reading this is so weird. About Mairead Ronan, the today FM presenter. Her husband and daughters got the virus early in the New Year. Herself and her son tested negative. But a month later herself and her son tests positive.

How can someone not get it when the first person in the house tests positive?

Can anyone make any sense of the whole thing?

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.rte.ie/amp/1198971/

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    You really haven't a clue as to how insensitive your post was, have you?
    I'm aware that the cause of death is an upsetting reality, but cases still in the high hundreds every day, the vaccine getting caught up in a commercial battle and people marching in Dublin asking to just write off the attempts to suppress this virus and make the deaths acceptable. Maybe a reality check as to how these people are dying is needed.

This too shall pass.

Reading this is so weird. About Mairead Ronan, the today FM presenter. Her husband and daughters got the virus early in the New Year. Herself and her son tested negative. But a month later herself and her son tests positive.

How can someone not get it when the first person in the house tests positive?

Can anyone make any sense of the whole thing?

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.rte.ie/amp/1198971/

There are hundreds of examples of this, maybe her test was false negative first time or false positive the second time. How come some people in a house can get the flu and others don't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,649 ✭✭✭boardise

Bluwave wrote: »
    The frustration at the nonsense restrictions boiled over today. If nothing changes then another week will bring out a bigger crowd.

I’m saying nonsense restrictions, which means that some of them are nonsense and unnecessary and some are not but they need to be reviewed and refined.

I just could not believe that the Government did not make a symbolic change last Tuesday - like easing the 5 km limit to 10.
    This would have conveyed the message that we were inching forward on a path to greater freedom and would surely have diluted some of the built up frustration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

prunudo wrote: »

Very true. However, when some, who presumably never went to the protest but are celebrating it becoming violent because it supposedly gets a point across, you do have to wonder

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

boardise wrote: »
    I just could not believe that the Government did not make a symbolic change last Tuesday - like easing the 5 km limit to 10.
    This would have conveyed the message that we were inching forward on a path to greater freedom and would surely have diluted some of the built up frustration.

Especially when no-one seems to be able to justify it, including Govt.

I'm aware that the cause of death is an upsetting reality, but cases still in the high hundreds every day, the vaccine getting caught up in a commercial battle and people marching in Dublin asking to just write off the attempts to suppress this virus and make the deaths acceptable. Maybe a reality check as to how these people are dying is needed.

Have you had somebody who has died with Covid.? I have, and your description was very wide of the mark. You wanted to shock but it was crass and insensitive in addition to being factually inaccurate. Stop trying to justify it and accept it was ill considered and badly executed.

Especially when no-one seems to be able to justify it, including Govt.

They tied the non eviction regulations to the 5km travel restriction. Lift the 5km and the eviction reg is lifted. Absolutely stupid why to implement a law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,355 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    They did indeed with there their National Party flyer in hand. They don't come across as the brightest, so please don't compare them to the rest of us.

Thats very funny and a bit sad too. But if you forget about the bad grammar for a moment I cant say I disagree with what they're trying to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,605 ✭✭✭tigger123

Just saw the footage on IT. Shower of scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

People have the right to protest.
    The right to protest ends at the point where you put anyone else at risk.

This rules that all forms of public assembly when you're in the middle of a public health emergency like this one.

Anyone with half a brain cell understands this.

Other forms of protest are not being prevented, such as striking, provided they don't involve putting the public at risk.

The Nazi Party who organised this march and several others have been getting away with unashamedly putting the public at risk for too long. Its good to see the Gardai finally taking some action.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

They tied the non eviction regulations to the 5km travel restriction. Lift the 5km and the eviction reg is lifted. Absolutely stupid why to implement a law.

Absolutely bonkers. How can people continue to have faith in health restrictions when it's clear that there are non health reasons for not wanting to remove them.

https://www.rtb.ie/emergency-measures-ended-new-protections-introduced-for-the-rental-sector

SeaMermaid wrote: »
    Its up to you to find out the answers to your questions. I don't have them nor will an online forum have them for you.

It's almost like it's not "clear" at all what needs to happen, when, for which restrictions to be lifted, isn't it?

You insist the roadmap to reopening is clear. So tell me, when will the ban on my next door neighbour operating his business be lifted? It's a very simple question which could be answered either with a date, or a set of metrics - if such an answer existed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Always_Running

This week compared to last week

1014 fewer cases
    638 fewer positive swabs
    28 fewer reported deaths
    169 fewer in hospital

Good progress all round this week. 4 more weeks of simliar progress and easing of restrictions (level 4) will be likely on April 5th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Another number in the 700s today..why still so high. Sigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭votecounts

boardise wrote: »
    not so simple when the ban on evictions is linked to it.