Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

wakka12 wrote: »
    Well the tide has finally turned, looks like a majority of the Irish public now support a more hasty reopening of society than was envisaged by the government.

80% support reopening of schools before summer
    70% support reopening of non-essential retail and other services before summer
    76% support allowing houshold visiting before the start of summer
    74% support foreign travel before summer
    88% support construction sites reopning before summer

The only outlier where a clear divide remains is -
    39% support indoor dining/pubs reopening before summer

Nearly hard to believe these answers are coming from Irish people.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/irish-times-poll-strong-support-for-reopening-society-as-soon-as-possible-1.4495298

About time, too - fantastic poll results.

Hopefully, this signals the end of the total influence of the HSE triumvirate.

thebaz wrote: »
    Was talking to a friend of mine who is 86 and has fully recovered from Covid , who had very mild dose -- Why are media not telling us his story, and the many other good stories , just 12 months of NPHET never-ending doom , telling us today eating and excersing are dangerous

Because the product being sold by media and social media companies now is the people who consume it. Ad revenue is the business model, and strongly evocative messaging is the best way to keep people tuning in and/or scrolling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

Well the tide has finally turned, looks like a majority of the Irish public now support a more hasty reopening of society than was envisaged by the government.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/irish-times-poll-strong-support-for-reopening-society-as-soon-as-possible-1.4495298

in a way...but then again people are not stupit,lockdowns are killing society 12 months is enough of this charade now...very positive to see this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,884 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Graham wrote: »
    I don't think the zero-Covid approach was ever endorsed by a large majority.

It's been promoted by certain sections of the opposition - just heard some harrowing tales today about how lockdown is affecting many young teenagers , terrified to leave ther home with over-anxiety and fear , really heart-breaking stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,306 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

in a way...but then again people are not stupit,lockdowns are killing society 12 months is enough of this charade now...very positive to see this

Well it finally puts to bed the notion peddled here by some that the majority are in favour of the current approach

This poll is actually the most optimistic I've felt in months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,832 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Somebody check on Kermit

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

thebaz wrote: »
    It's been promoted by certain sections of the opposition

It's been pushed by a few around the fringes, nothing more. It's never been endorsed by a large majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Aph2016

It's great to see the dominoes finally start to fall, and judging by the level of traffic on the roads and people out and about, compliance of these restrictions is on a downward trajectory. Hopefully the government start to take notice and reduce restrictions before they're forced to by non compliance.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Well it finally puts to bed the notion peddled here by some that the majority are in favour of the current approach

This.

It adds political pressure - and with that, should come results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Are the brits as worried about the British variant as the Irish are?

They're more worried about the South African variant currently.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Just looking at the survey now

Just over two thirds of the respondents think:

The level of restrictions is about right or There are not enough restrictions to safeguard the health of the population

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Aph2016 wrote: »
    It's great to see the dominoes finally start to fall, and judging by the level of traffic on the roads and people out and about, compliance of these restrictions is on a downward trajectory. Hopefully the government start to take notice and reduce restrictions before they're forced to by non compliance.

You could see it for the last month at least, the footpaths are busy, the roads are busy, much busier from the first few weeks of Jan.

The numbers dropped from a huge height and more people started moving about!

The last week has seen the crowds every where...numbers are down.

Even with all the deadly transmissible variants...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Graham wrote: »
    Just looking at the survey now

Just over two thirds of the respondents think:

The level of restrictions is about right or There are not enough restrictions to safeguard the health of the population

Yes at this moment in time but heavily favour things open before the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

This.

It adds political pressure - and with that, should come results.

Well, the restrictions have always mirrored public opinion, there has been regular polling throughout the pandemic. This is a big change of heart of Irish people, up until recently there was extremely strong and widespread support for lockdowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

The tide has turned:

About time too!

We should be hitting level 2 once the over 70's are done. That's a huge marker to hit and should allow widespread reopening of the country. Maybe level 1 in July with complete lifting of all restrictions in September. That would be a really good result. Disband NPHET once we hit 70% vaccinated, let the vaccine task force do their thing and stop the mass testing of the population. Really, people should only be getting the test in a hospital setting if required and will hopefully become a background test like flu.

What we will probably see is level 5 in april, level 4.5 in May, level 3.something to July, and maybe level 2 till October before we go back up to 3.5 till the following April.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

George Lee is on the news now harping on about new new variants. Big bulging eyes on him, vein in his neck popping with every breath. He really is a strange man. He’s the type of fella you’d see at the end of an apocalypse movie still scuttling around wasting time chasing his papers down the street that have blown away before he gets eaten by a zombie

The majority are in favour of the current approach. The majority also want it finished before the summer.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

George Lee is on the news now harping on about new new variants. Big bulging eyes on him, vein in his neck popping with every breath. He really is a strange man. He’s the type of fella you’d see at the end of an apocalypse movie still scuttling around wasting time chasing his papers down the street that have blown away before he gets eaten by a zombie
    id say anytime george has any experience of pleasure he whips himself on the back 10 times with his belt

He actually thinks the world is going to end...like really...he should be given a sandwich board and dumped in the city centre somewhere!

Just caught up on all of the posts from today. All three boxes were ticked - police state, house arrest and banana republic...in one day!

Penfailed wrote: »
    The majority are in favour of the current approach. The majority also want it finished before the summer.

Give it a few weeks of low numbers...this thing is swinging away from the Government.

TheDoctor wrote: »
    Yes at this moment in time but heavily favour things open before the summer.

Don't we all. Let's hope the case numbers support it.

Interestingly.
    • only 6 per cent favour the immediate reopening of pubs and restaurants
    • just 15 per cent of favour an immediate reopening of “all non-essential retail and services”
    • only 24 per cent support allowing intra-county travel immediately.
    • only 18 per cent support home visits being immediately permitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

As anti-restriction as I am I cant say i find this as hilarious as you do.
    I am not gay myself but I find it very sinister to imply that if you're gay you're into kids. Very sinister actually and very low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Or as we call him in our house The Dementor.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Just caught up on all of the posts from today. All three boxes were ticked - police state, house arrest and banana republic...in one day!

Arrest republic

House banana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,306 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Give it a few weeks of low numbers...this thing is swinging away from the Government.

I don't think it matters anymore. The constant negativity in the media coupled with the punitive enforcement measures targeting ordinarily law-abiding citizens plus the plan from the UK this week (the same week as yet another extension with no firm dates was announced here) means that people have finally had enough.

The demand now over the next 4 weeks will be to get the over 70s fully vaccinated with a significant lessening of restrictions being sought for the start of April.

People have finally had enough and can see through the nonsense that is our domestic coverage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Anything else to say on any of the many points that were made? Or just more childish sniping?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Aph2016 wrote: »

It's time to wake up and take back our country from the tyrants.

If you're stopped at a checkpoint and ask a guard for his hat he has to let you through if you show your passport singing 'the men behind the wire'

Guards have no power to stop anyone going anywhere under the natural laws of this country where the great man Michael Collins himself would be spinning if he thought for one second that Bill Gates' henchmen, modern day tans, were turning this country into a police state WORSE than North Korea, where people are prisoners in their own homes if they aren't already crippled with the fear of George Lee who is basically Lord Haw haw for the dzopes in nphet and the government.

60% in favour of going back to normal once the elderly and vulnerable have been vaccinated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

It's time to wake up and take back our country from the tyrants.

If you're stopped at a checkpoint and ask a guard for his hat he has to let you through if you show your passport singing 'the men behind the wire'

Guards have no power to stop anyone going anywhere under the natural laws of this country where the great man Michael Collins himself would be spinning if he thought for one second that Bill Gates' henchmen, modern day tans, were turning this country into a police state WORSE than North Korea, where people are prisoners in their own homes if they aren't already crippled with the fear of George Lee who is basically Lord Haw haw for the dzopes in nphet and the government.
    Ah here, satirical post I hope.