Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

What actually happened was worse: Most of the country was in level 2 with just Dublin and (Donegal?) in level 3.

NPHET saw no need to put the whole country in level 3 but just a few days after saying that, Tony came back and demanded the whole country be put into level 5.
    As a compromise the whole country was put into 3 for a few weeks before being moved to 5.

The benefits of level 3 were already seen to be working just as we went into 5 (it hadn't been given time to work) but Tony said this was down to 'Anticipatory behaviour' and that people were acting like level 5 even though they were in 3.
    Basically he couldn't be seen to be wrong and needed to get credit for the drop in numbers.

This was the moment our elected officials lost control of this shambles...Tony should not have behaved in the reckless hysterical manner in which he did...our leaders didn't have the bottle to behave like leaders and stand him down...we have been run by TH since, he has us in a vice like grip and ain't letting go until he feels like it...what worries me is that he has clearly succumb to the rush of power, a dangerous individual to have in charge at this time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

It’s just obvious now how this is going to go. We’ve been told to knuckle down until April 5th but once that rolls around, they’ll come out patting themselves on the back for getting majority of the schools back safely.. but we’re not there yet.. the remainder of schools need to now go back on the 12th and we are prioritising their safe return. So just a few more weeks now, the end of this is truly in sight.. hold firm until May.. there is light peering through..More of the same ****.. bla bla blaaaaaaaaaa.

mohawk wrote: »
    I am not sure about this to be honest. There are studies that suggest catching colds and flus keep our immune systems primed. (I know we all hate getting them). Protecting the population from catching Colds and Flu could have massive unintended consequences.
    An example of an unintended consequence is Allergies. They have risen dramatically in the developed world in last couple decades. There are multiple reasons for this. It is believed one reason is that our immune systems don’t have to work as hard anymore as we aren’t exposed to parasites like we used to be.

I watched a video on Youtube, two doctors from California gave a 45 min presentation why lock downs are unhealthy for us, explaining just what you outlined the video got 5 million views very quickly before it was taken down!

What they were saying made perfect sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,079 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

It’s just obvious now how this is going to go. We’ve been told to knuckle down until April 5th but once that rolls around, they’ll come out patting themselves on the back for getting majority of the schools back safely.. but we’re not there yet.. the remainder of schools need to now go back on the 12th and we are prioritising their safe return. So just a few more weeks now, the end of this is truly in sight.. hold firm until May.. there is light peering through..More of the same ****.. bla bla blaaaaaaaaaa.

Then rinse and repeat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

This was the moment our elected officials lost control of this shambles...Tony should not have behaved in the reckless hysterical manner in which he did...our leaders didn't have the bottle to behave like leaders and stand him down...we have been run by TH since, he has us in a vice like grip and ain't letting go until he feels like it...what worries me is that he has clearly succumb to the rush of power, a dangerous individual to have in charge at this time!

I think If we'd just stayed in level 3 right through Christmas we'd be in a better spot now.
    That plus insisting on a negative test for incoming passengers (we were about 6 months behind the rest of Europe bringing it in in Mid January).

Leo did try to stand up to Tony to be fair but he was widely criticised and thus 'put back in his box'. Tony rules now and it's hard to see a way out despite vaccinations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Salon in Balbriggan shut down for a second day and two women arrested.

Meanwhile the real criminals go unpunished (after causing much pain and suffering) and thanks to our criminal justice system they can roam the streets freely with 30 previous convictions and potentially cause more misery for ordinary people.

You won't see a substantial Garda presence on the day the criminals cause more crime I'm sorry to say.

Only a substantial presence is required to arrest two women who were at a salon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I think If we'd just stayed in level 3 right through Christmas we'd be in a better spot now.

I disagree, I think people would have done what they effin liked anyway. The big issues over those Christmas weeks were household transmissions, too many people in one home, no extra ventilation, no social distancing in family settings. Honestly I believe whether it was at Level 1 or Level 21 in December, the outcome would have been more or less the same.

That plus insisting on a negative test for incoming passengers (we were about 6 months behind the rest of Europe bringing it in in Mid January).

Leo did try to stand up to Tony to be fair but he was widely criticised and thus 'put back in his box'. Tony rules now and it's hard to see a way out despite vaccinations.

I think so too, I think level 3 should be as severe as it gets, and that should only be used for a limited time.

Better handle on the airports like you said
    Use RAT in the care homes and schools
    Promote the use of Vit d

We'd have ended up with a better result.

But one man's ego in the wrong place at the wrong time can have devastating results.

Varadkar did try to stand up to him but the imbecilic media spanked him, Martin left him out in the cold...this was the moment our country took a very sinister path.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    I disagree, I think people would have done what they effin liked anyway. The big issues over those Christmas weeks were household transmissions, too many people in one home, no extra ventilation, no social distancing in family settings. Honestly I believe whether it was at Level 1 or Level 21 in December, the outcome would have been more or less the same.

The big issue over Christmas was the introduction of a much more transmissible variant that's now 90%+ of our cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

RobitTV wrote: »

Meanwhile the real criminals go unpunished (after causing much pain and suffering) and thanks to our criminal justice system they can roam the streets freely with 30 previous convictions and potentially cause more misery for ordinary people.

You won't see a substantial Garda presence on the day the criminals cause more crime I'm sorry to say.

Only a substantial presence is required to arrest two women who were at a salon.

I was driving through this morning and I must have seen about 14/15 guards out. I thought was the salon but then I thought no couldn’t be that many of them for that but obviously it was.

Larbre34 wrote: »

Level 3 was already starting to drive the numbers down just as level 5 kicked in so we likely would have ended up in the same position come the start of December without the pent up demand for retail and hospitality and socialising.

level 5 for those extra 6 weeks was essentially worthless in my opinion and caused more problems down the line because now people are fed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Level 3 was already starting to drive the numbers down just as level 5 kicked in so we likely would have ended up in the same position come the start of December without the pent up demand for retail and hospitality and socialising.

level 5 for those extra 6 weeks was essentially worthless in my opinion and caused more problems down the line because now people are fed up.

I genuinely think there is an element to this where when we see the cases go up and up and up we automatically restrict our own movements anyways. I reckon that’s what happened here in October and why the cases declined with level 3 and what would have happened in January anyway when the cases rose astronomically, even if level 5 was never imposed.
    I think psychologically we see the numbers rise and think jaysus I better not visit Mary this weekend after all, things aren’t looking great. I’ll leave it for another time. No need for the only option to be nuclear at all costs, no matter what.

I think when a large Garda presence is outside a salon to arrest a woman for trying to earn a living... you feel the country has maybe lost sight of what is important

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,636 ✭✭✭timmyntc

I genuinely think there is an element to this where when we see the cases go up and up and up we automatically restrict our own movements anyways. I reckon that’s what happened here in October and why the cases declined with level 3 and what would have happened in January anyway when the cases rose astronomically, even if level 5 was never imposed.
    I think psychologically we see the numbers rise and think jaysus I better not visit Mary this weekend after all, things aren’t looking great. I’ll leave it for another time. No need for the only option to be nuclear at all costs, no matter what.

They said it takes up to 2 weeks to see the effect of any measures or restrictions on new cases, so I doubt it was down to people self-policing once the cases got too high. It would've been too late at that stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭alexonhisown

It’s only right she was shut down. Do you think all businesses should open if they want to? I do agree there are certain restrictions that are too strict at the moment, but there are way too many cases for hairdressers to take the law into their own hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,858 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

I think when a large Garda presence is outside a salon to arrest a woman for trying to earn a living... you feel the country has maybe lost sight of what is important

Ben Gilroy involved, and there was appeals put out on social media last night for people to turn up ready to fight. Gilroy has been at the centre of incidents which turned violent before.
    Maybe as it played out there was excessive police, but where his lot are concerned the gardai will always err on the side of caution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,171 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

It’s only right she was shut down. Do you think all businesses should open if they want to? I do agree there are certain restrictions that are too strict at the moment, but there are way too many cases for hairdressers to take the law into their own hands.

Absolutely this.

Anyone can complain about how the government are handling or mishandling this, but when the decision to open a business becomes a subjective one, then what exactly is to stop every shop or pub or business doing the same?

I would bet that there would be manners put on anyone advocating this when the numbers spike and we are back to square ***ing one.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

you can think that and also think the number of gardai was excessive . very excessive imo. It shows a scummy nature tbh.

You don't get that many gardai out to a violent attack or when your house is being robbed.
    Go figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

Are you really defending 20 gardai at a hair salon to arrest 2 women. Somethings wrong with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Are you really defending 20 gardai at a hair salon to arrest 2 women. Somethings wrong with you.

The 20 Gardaí were not there to arrest 2 women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,636 ✭✭✭timmyntc

everlast75 wrote: »
    Absolutely this.

Anyone can complain about how the government are handling or mishandling this, but when the decision to open a business becomes a subjective one, then what exactly is to stop every shop or pub or business doing the same?

I would bet that there would be manners put on anyone advocating this when the numbers spike and we are back to square ***ing one.

We will not be back to "square ****ing one" because we are in the middle of vaccinating those most at risk from the virus.
    Also with the weather getting warmer and days getting longer, people are more inclined to socialise outdoors - that is the big factor in cases spiking in winter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

Glad to see the place open up, knew it would get shut down but if we see more and more if it they can't shut everywhere can they

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

Boggles wrote: »

Great use of resources anyways.

People just want to be treated like adults not scolded like children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Update: Hearing now that seven people have been arrested in Balbriggan after a demonstration in the area

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Akesh

What I find odd about the lockdown enthusiasts and the zero covid idealists is that they are simply just accepting NPHET's word for everything. The reason cases rose over Xmas was because 1) We stopped testing close contacts 2) We allowed people into the country from all of the world. This blaming ordinary people nonsense is really starting to grate me.

The questions that need to be asked:

1) Why does Ireland have the highest number of deaths in nursing homes in Europe despite having the harshest restrictions and not allowing visitors for well over a year?
    2) Did ordinary Irish resident citizens cause the spike at Xmas or was this the Government allowing people to return to Ireland from all over the world?
    3) Who is going to pay for the cost of these restrictions which were imposed with no public consultation or consideration for the economy?
    4) Why schools were 'safe' but Ireland has closed schools for the longest period of any other country in Europe?
    5) Why must the whole population be restricted for a virus that kills less than 2% of people, many of whom had serious underlying conditions (93%) with a median age of 83. Surely a better policy would have been to isolate those most at risk.

At some point over the coming months the public will reach breaking point as we are on a road to nowhere. Once the realisation hits home that the vaccine isn't a magic bullet, are we just going to give up at that point because almost everyone is suffering from fatigue with the continual mismanagement and a la carte approach taken by NPHET and the Government?

Locking everyone away is an admission of failure. Why wasn't capacity in the health service ramped up? Surely that is a more cost effective measure than paying the public and private sectors to sit at home.

As usual these decisions have been taken with absolutely no debate when they are already seriously damaging our economy.

My least favourite term of Covid has been 'following the science'. An apt phrase for people who haven't a clue what they are doing.

Fianna Fail, Fine Gael and The Green's will be finished after the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Great use of resources anyways.

Meanwhile there are innocent people getting stabbed to death a stones throw from Store Street station.

Drug dealing going on outside its front door.

What a shambles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,007 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Gardai arent gonna be able to cope once this really kicks off, government have lost the people badly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Boggles wrote: »

was there a info that Daniel Kinahan was turning up? Or what else were they there for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,171 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Update: Hearing now that seven people have been arrested in Balbriggan after a demonstration in the area

So that's why there were so many guards there?

Doesn't seem so unreasonable now imho

Elect a clown... Expect a circus