Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXII-215,743 ROI (4,137 deaths)111,166 NI (2,036 deaths)(22/02)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Early numbers today.

Sunday: 764 swabs out of 14,901, 5.13%
    Today: 609 swasb out of 11828, 5.15%

7-day is now 5.29%, lowest since 24th December.

While the trend has definitely slowed, it's still there and still downward. Settled on roughly 10% drop week-on-week.

We've now had
    - 5 days of less than 900 positive swabs.
    - 6 days with positivity rates under 5.5%

Contextually, less than 800 positive swabs and 5.5% tomorrow would be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Very interesting, Mike Ryan on Radio 1 asked about variants and basically dismissed them and said measures work on them and vaccines work on them.

I hope McConckey listened to it, what he said yesterday is appalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭landofthetree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Very interesting, Mike Ryan on Radio 1 asked about variants and basically dismissed them and said measures work on them and vaccines work on them.

M Martin should also take note of what Ryan said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,710 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

M Martin should also take note of what Ryan said.

All the cabinet are using 'variants' for excuses around communications and delays. They sound so coached.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

All the cabinet are using 'variants' for excuses around communications and delays. They sound so coached.

Like toddlers that learned a new word.

I see McConkey on twitter has started laying out a 20 point plan on what more the government could do.

18hours later he has made it to point 3

Best reply was:
    https://twitter.com/noelio85/status/1363829608349589508

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,604 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

timmyntc wrote: »
    You can't dismiss valid criticisms of the govt as someone just posting negative news for the sake of it.

Are we supposed to ignore any hard questions because they are negative and might hurt your feelings?:pac:

? I praised him for being consistent, my feelings are good, thanks for your concern

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,435 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

The public are not angry about the communication. They're angry about the message.

9 weeks is too long. Things need to reopen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,360 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

The public are not angry about the communication. They're angry about the message.

9 weeks is too long. Things need to reopen.

Really? Because the overwhelming message I'm seeing is "we thought it would be may, but we didn't expect to read it in the mirror"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Kha1993

According to the IT, one third of people ventured outside of 10km from home last week. And that’s just those being honest.

Yesterday’s nice weather will surely push that figure higher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Is this plan due tomorrow?

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Really? Because the overwhelming message I'm seeing is "we thought it would be may, but we didn't expect to read it in the mirror"

Stuff gets leaked all the time.

The people expressing annoyance about the communication are just the moaners that favoured Level 5 but now are secretly against it but can't complain about it..So they moan about the "messaging".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭titan18

That's feck all of a decrease from last week. Not good

Kha1993 wrote: »
    According to the IT, one third of people ventured outside of 10km from home last week. And that’s just those being honest.

Yesterday’s nice weather will surely push that figure higher.

Surprised its that low. Large parts of the country need to travel further than that for the supermarket, work, doctor and a whole lot of other valid reasons

titan18 wrote: »

Compliance is the issue now. A lot of people have given up.

Ya, I get that, as I am one of those people, but still with nowhere to actually go, I'd still expect it to decrease. Not like we've any spread in shops, gyms, restaurants etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Whilst we all would like to see numbers decrease quicker it's still a 5% decrease on the same day last week

Roscommon where I live according to the CSO figures, 51% stayed within 10km of their home. As the weather picks up I expect that figure to decline further.

The km thing is irrelevant. People can visit someone within 5k and spread the virus.

I don't agree with km limits.

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Whilst we all would like to see numbers decrease quicker it's still a 5% decrease on the same day last week

From what I can see, the two day figures are

764 and 609 (this week) vs 752 and 645 (last week) which isn't a big decrease when you look at the two days. Positivity is down at least on both days as we did more tests this week.

And they want to send kids back to school?

Compliance will be a thing of the past as kids and young adults return to the classrooms and playgrounds.

From what I can see, the two day figures are

764 and 609 (this week) vs 752 and 645 (last week) which isn't a big decrease when you look at the two days. Positivity is down at least on both days as we did more tests this week.

Yes not big changes but at least it's still decreasing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

The km thing is irrelevant. People can visit someone within 5k and spread the virus.

I don't agree with km limits.
    It's a blunt instrument to persuade as many people as possible not to move too far from home. The household restrictions are supposed to take care of the infection risk. If they haven't already been broken they will be first to go in the next month or so. It is noticeable that most Gardai now just ask about work and wave you through.

And they want to send kids back to school?

Compliance will be a thing of the past as kids and young adults return to the classrooms and playgrounds.

Kids need to go back to school

Online learning doesn't work for younger kids in particular

One of the reasons we're all being asked to stick to restrictions is to get kids their education

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Tyrone212

I caught the end of the news. Mentioned that it would take another couple of weeks for legislation regarding quarantine and 1 month until hotels will be ready.

Wtf is going on. Biggest inept shower of slow coach idiots I have ever seen in my life. Ban flights from these countries and anyone who stepped foot in these countries in the previous 3 weeks until yous get the finger out. It is not that difficult. Jesus Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Tyrone212 wrote: »
    I caught the end of the news. Mentioned that it would take another couple of weeks for legislation regarding quarantine and 1 month until hotels will be ready.

Wtf is going on. Biggest inept shower of slow coach idiots I have ever seen in my life. Ban flights from these countries and anyone who stepped foot in these countries in the previous 3 weeks. It is not that difficult. Jesus Christ.
    Legislation is rarely if ever quick. The concept of forced quarantine is a new one and needs to be done right legally. We have no direct flights from Brazil, nor SA as far as I know, Britain is CTA and then there is the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,042 ✭✭✭Ficheall

is_that_so wrote: »
    Legislation is rarely if ever quick. The concept of forced quarantine is a new one and needs to be done right legally.
    It's been nearly a year, though. Developing vaccines isn't quick either, but people really pulled the thumb out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Tyrone212 wrote: »
    It is not that difficult.
    If restricting inbound travel was not that difficult, it would have been done last May. It's an easy PR win for any government.

Turns out it is that difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭tucker1971

is_that_so wrote: »
    Legislation is rarely if ever quick. The concept of forced quarantine a new one and needs to be done right legally.

This is an emergency. Surely it can be passed without all this nonsense?

The bottom line is we remain in lockdown over a govt failure to introduce mandatory quarantine at the airport.
    They keep saying we have to keep an eye on variants, that they are failing to stop coming in! Its actually comical at this stage.